Lahvlahn Thread from 18/11/16 so to speak

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,846 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

someone sitting on the seats?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,596 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

3 minutes, I'm sure he won't be able to do much tourist damage in that time.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,119 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

Calling Wichita, Kansas. Come in, caller.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,051 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

Here's the lineman from the county..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

a robot on holidays

what a time to be alive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,417 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

snubbleste wrote: »
    There's a webcam?

Here's a still image from it

Picture-412.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,417 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Stephen Hawking?

GDY151

Who told him to talk to Joe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,829 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

Rude culchie bastards taking your seat on the bus?
    Sit on another one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,699 ✭✭✭thecretinhop

If anyone does not think the strength of alan p does not flow strong in fateen then listen to the website part wt actual f glorious though i nearly crashed laughing.

GDY151

Rent a car next time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 722 ✭✭✭Park Royal

If its one thing Irish people hate its "control" eg reserving seats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,846 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

Common problem- often they don't turn on those names til the train is full. Used to happen me on 505 Friday train Dublin Sligo. Get on train 30 minutes early, take seat, train full lights go on 5 minutes before train departs. luck of the draw if the lights went on or not above your head. there should be certain carriages only that allow reserving, not the ability to pick anywhere on the train

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,119 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

"witch it aahh"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

Reserved seats should be scrapped. They cause more hassle than they're worth. You get on the train, you take a seat if you can get it. End of.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭Hector Bellend

Reserved seats should be scrapped. They cause more hassle than they're worth. You get on the train, you take a seat if you can get it. End of.

There's nothing wrong with reserving seats.

Its the pig ignorant passengers who are either too stupid or too ignorant to pay attention to whats going on around them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

scrap the numbers and bring back the smoking cars

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

Has Joe ever been more one sided on a topic. The whole thing is discussed with Joe's bias and his loaded questions. The inference being that the father is doing something wrong by leaving his daughter out of the will.

What? Only about a million times! Come on now Peter - Ivan Calorie and the "hasn't he suffered enough comment?" - and that was BEFORE most of the really dodgy stuff came out; anything Fianna Fail/Bertie/CJ-related; most Catalick Church stuff; his buke(s); de unwell......I could go on listing topics until de next Funny Fryday so to speak.

scrap the numbers and bring back the smoking cars on planes!

FYP.

Should I listen back? Text WHOY for Yes or I KNOW DAT for NO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,621 ✭✭✭Fujitsu10

Should I listen back? Text WHOY for Yes or I KNOW DAT for NO.

Worth a listen alright, we had a guy who said that womin don't get a second name until they get married. Certainly caller of the day. He touched on the subject of the "T"'s toward the end and was moved along quickly.

So WHOY!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,699 ✭✭✭thecretinhop

Whoy all the way the redneck farmer touched on joes huge pause (Dead air) money and joe had a surreal talk to himself about a non existant web cam amongst other nuggets

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,829 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

Here's the lineman from the county..

Is he still on the liiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiinnnnneeeeeeee?

Innit marvellous though; a whinging Yank can call into Lahvline from the middle of Witches Tar and have a good auld moan about ignorant dossers taking his reserved seats.
    Technology is wonderful. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,920 ✭✭✭Demonique

There's nothing wrong with reserving seats.

Its the pig ignorant passengers who are either too stupid or too ignorant to pay attention to whats going on around them.

It's not the fault of passengers if Irish Rail are too thick to put up the notices saying seats are reserved before they start allowing passengers on board.

If I'm one of the first people on a train and I sit in what I think is an unreserved seat only for the seat to become a reserved seat before the train departs I'm not going to move if the person who's name is on the seat shows up. They can sit in another empty seat and if the train is full, tough luck.

It's never happened to me though, but I've seen the reserved seat lights light up on other seats ten minutes after they started letting passengers on

People aren't pig ignorant because they have the audacity to think that reserved seats will be shown to be reserved when they get on the train in the first place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,082 ✭✭✭An Claidheamh

lazygal wrote: »
    So where do those of us who don't like the angelus on RTE go 'back' to?

'Go back' to when adults didn't moan about censoring things they don't like.

GDY151

New Saturday night chat show for Mrs Browne, wonder will Joe be a guest so to speak...
    Comedy star Mrs Brown is to front a new Saturday night TV show on BBC One.

All Round to Mrs Brown's will be hosted by Agnes Brown, the female alter-ego played by Brendan O'Carroll in the sitcom Mrs Brown's Boys.

O'Carroll said: "The entire cast is excited by this. I think Agnes may be worried that she'll need a bigger kettle to make tea for everyone that's coming round!"

The series will be shown later this year.

http://www.bbc.com/news/entertainment-arts-38563190

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

If it's like Mrs Merton, it could be another big ratings success.

the_mrs_merton_show.jpg

Doesn't it say it all that RTE didn't come up with this show. Like or hate Mrs. Brown, it has been a massive success in terms of viewership figures.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

New Saturday night chat show for Mrs Browne, wonder will Joe be a guest so to speak...

http://www.bbc.com/news/entertainment-arts-38563190

Probably a rip off of Mrs Merton, possibly going towards Dame Edna or Dick Emery. Won't be tuning in either way. I've nothing against Brendan O'Carroll, or his brand of humour. If he can revamp 1970's smut and make a few million out of it, then more power to him, I've the remote to switch channels, no problem there.

What plsses me off no end is the amount of fawning that there is over him, from RTE, the media and his buddy Duffy in particular. We are supposed to love him, if we don't it's because there's something wrong with us. Comedy is probably the most subjective form of art/entertainment that there is, we can't like all genres of comedy, neither should we.

But we are supposed to fawn over O'Carroll because he has done well. It seems to be some kind of inferiority complex that we have, that any success needs to be constantly celebrated, even though the majority of us just think "fair play to him" and carry on with our lives. The particular nadir of this was O'Carroll been given Marion Finucane's chair for a weekend, which he used to promote himself and his mates as well as going on his own personal rants against one and sundry.

I was never fond of BO'C since he was doing a gig in Rathmines in the 90's and essentially picked on one fella and abused him all night. He wasn't slagging him, or taking the mick, he was just picking on him and abusing the crap out of him, even when he was told to STFU, he kept at it. A couple of bouncers told him eventually to pack it in as they couldn't guarantee his safety. RTE gave him plenty of time to promote himself with his regular appearances on the Late Late Show, TV and radio. I'm glad he made something out of it, it would be nice if he'd pay a bit more tax here as a thank you.

Meanwhile the most successful Irish "entertainer", a certain Conor McGregor is lambasted left, right and centre by various self-styled "commentators with their finger on the pulse of the nation" including his truly Joe Duffy. i don't watch MMA, I've nothing against it, it's like synchronised swimming or hockey, it's simply a sport that i have no interest in, but more power to McGregor for doing well at it.

I wish BO'C all the best with the show, but please RTE, the Irish Independent and the usual suspects, don't ram it down my throat for 6 months straight that he is doing a show for the BBC.

I will wait in vain I suspect.

EDIT: I see Lady Chatterton got the same Mrs Merton idea as myself as I was typing that. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

Red Kev wrote: »
    EDIT: I see Lady Chatterton got the same Mrs Merton idea as myself as I was typing that. :)
    Red Kev, we should be relieved that it's likely to be a rip-off of Mrs Merton.

Can you imagine if they decided to go down the 'At Home with the Kumars' route and we have to put up with the entire Mrs Brown's Boys cast on a couch :D

kumars2.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,417 ✭✭✭Mena Mitty

Red Kev, we should be relieved that it's likely to be a rip-off of Mrs Merton.

Can you imagine if they decided to go down the 'At Home with the Kumars' route and we have to put up with the entire Mrs Brown's Boys cast on a couch :D

kumars2.jpg

I loved the Kumars at number 42 and Goodness gracious me. There's something about that kind of humour...O yeah I remember now, it's funny, it makes me laugh. I would love to see an Irish version. People from Pakistan and India have a great sense of humour.

Looks like I was being smart there Lady C. Didn't mean it to come a across that way.