Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Amiko Alien2 / SAB / GM / ST7162 ** ENIGMA ** Discussion Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 714 ✭✭✭cork_south

Been using the latest version of Vix for a while.
    Great image, better than Hyperion.

http://www.vix4projects.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?459-Amiko-Alien-2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,772 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

conor-mr2 wrote: »
    Im finding that there's no plugins being provided at the moment with the Vix4.

It just sayings downloading list and then nothing. Anyone else experience this with the image?

I had that problem with an older vix image. Updating to latest sorted it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,456 ✭✭✭The high horse brigade

lawred2 wrote: »

What's the best way to update and keep your settings?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,772 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

What's the best way to update and keep your settings?

Not sure. I started afresh. Wiped everything and reconfigured. Vix comes with almost everything you need in terms of plugins. Only thing I had to add was oscam.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 6,080 Mod ✭✭✭✭Nowso

thats in softcam plugins menu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭conor-mr2

lawred2 wrote: »

Thanks for the response. I've the latest image but Ill probably just reimage it.

I was even considering sniffing the traffic to see whether it was something on my end firewall related.
    I dropped Zardoz's image onto it just to have a look.

Interestingly thus far I prefer the Spark boot :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,701 ✭✭✭deezell

pod2011 wrote: »
    Has anyone got a link to a working rte player plugin for AA2 E2?
    All versions out there old and green screening on my box. Was working up to very recently. Has anyone still got Rte player working on Enigma2? is there an on demand plugin alternative that works? Drawing a blank after much searching.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 63 ✭✭pod2011

Im the same after a lot of searching I cannot find one that works, caused a boot loop and had to reflash, finally have box set up, had forgotten there is so many tweeks to do after reflashing,good job I saved a txt file with instructions for myself last time! She will have to watch rte player on the tablet!!

Whats the error message it displays on the greenscreen?

It is a python plugin with a plugin.py file so perhaps it needs tweaking.

Whats the error message it displays on the greenscreen?

It is a python plugin with a plugin.py file so perhaps it needs tweaking.

It's about 10+ lines from the crash log file. I'll cut and paste it here when I get a chance. Looks like errors in url responses. Yes it's a 26k python file, there are a few variations and tweaked versions out there but all go back to Jan 2013 when the original was posted by Roger this on boards, here, http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056847041. He's not posted in some time. I'm guessing player is being tightened down as a subscription/region locked service, this plugin maybe has run its course.

Heres the last part of the crash log, for anyone who can comment please do. The 403 forbidden http error looks ominous.

Traceback (most recent call last):
    File "/usr/lib/enigma2/python/mytest.py", line 225, in create
    return screen(self, *arguments, **kwargs)
    File "/usr/lib/enigma2/python/Plugins/Extensions/rteplayer/plugin.py", line 527, in __init__
    response = urllib2.urlopen(req)
    File "/usr/lib/python2.7/urllib2.py", line 126, in urlopen
    File "/usr/lib/python2.7/urllib2.py", line 406, in open
    File "/usr/lib/python2.7/urllib2.py", line 519, in http_response
    File "/usr/lib/python2.7/urllib2.py", line 444, in error
    File "/usr/lib/python2.7/urllib2.py", line 378, in _call_chain
    File "/usr/lib/python2.7/urllib2.py", line 527, in http_error_default
    HTTPError: HTTP Error 403: Forbidden
    connectionLost? [Failure instance: Traceback (failure with no frames): <class 'twisted.internet.error.ConnectionLost'>: Connection to the other side was lost in a non-clean fashion: Connection lost.
    ]
    [eDVBCAService] free slot 0 demux 0 for service 1:0:19:835:3EA:2174:EEEE0000:0:0:0:
    [eDVBCAService] free service 1:0:19:835:3EA:2174:EEEE0000:0:0:0:
    decoder state: play, vpid=-1, apid=-1
    DEMUX_STOP - pcr - ok
    DEMUX_STOP - video - ok
    VIDEO_STOP - ok
    AUDIO_STOP - ok
    DEMUX_STOP - audio - ok
    AUDIO_CONTINUE - ok
    DEMUX_STOP - ttx - ok
    start release channel timer
    adding Resource DiseqcTester
    resources: {'DiseqcTester': <function DiseqcTesterMain at 0x20f5e64>}
    (exit code 5)
    getResolvedKey config.plugins.crashlogautosubmit.sendAnonCrashlog failed !! (Typo??)
    getResolvedKey config.plugins.crashlogautosubmit.addNetwork failed !! (Typo??)
    getResolvedKey config.plugins.crashlogautosubmit.addWlan failed !! (Typo??)
    ]]>
    </enigma2crashlog>
    </crashlogs>
    </openpli

Much appreciated that log...

So once I hear 403 forbidden I think hmm User-Agent problems.
    The offending piece of code is here:

url = "http://feeds.rasset.ie/rteavgen/player/azlist/?platform=playerxl&quot;
    req = urllib2.Request(url)
    req.add_header('User-Agent', 'Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-GB; rv:1.9.0.3 Gecko/2008092417 Firefox/3.0.3')
    html = str(response.read())
    response.close()

Now I am able to connect to that url with my own browser.
    But when I do so in a python shell I get our friendly error:
    Traceback (most recent call last):
    File "<stdin>", line 1, in <module>
    File "/usr/lib/python2.7/urllib2.py", line 155, in urlopen
    File "/usr/lib/python2.7/urllib2.py", line 438, in open
    File "/usr/lib/python2.7/urllib2.py", line 551, in http_response
    File "/usr/lib/python2.7/urllib2.py", line 476, in error
    File "/usr/lib/python2.7/urllib2.py", line 410, in _call_chain
    File "/usr/lib/python2.7/urllib2.py", line 559, in http_error_default
    urllib2.HTTPError: HTTP Error 403: Forbidden

Looking at the line:
    req.add_header('User-Agent', 'Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-GB; rv:1.9.0.3 Gecko/2008092417 Firefox/3.0.3')

The User-Agent string could be blocked by Rte but that's too much hastle for them to do.
    What is interesting is that the string isn't formatted correctly. There's a missing closing bracket. It should be

req.add_header('User-Agent', 'Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-GB; rv:1.9.0.3) Gecko/2008092417 Firefox/3.0.3')

Now when I make that change in the code:

url = "http://feeds.rasset.ie/rteavgen/player/azlist/?platform=playerxl&quot;
    req = urllib2.Request(url)
    req.add_header('User-Agent', 'Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-GB; rv:1.9.0.3) Gecko/2008092417 Firefox/3.0.3')
    html = str(response.read())
    response.close()
    print html

I get no errors.

So everywhere in the plugin.py file you see the line:

You would replace it with

Note I've not got an Enigma image with this plugin installed at the moment. I shall try to test this later today myself by reloading Zardoz's hyperion image but as its New Year's Eve I cant make any promises today at least but I will get to this over the next day or two.

Much appreciated that log...

.............So everywhere in the plugin.py file you see the line:

You would replace it with
    req.add_header('User-Agent', 'Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-GB; rv:1.9.0.3) Gecko/2008092417 Firefox/3.0.3').......

You Nailed it. Working again. All those years and the other end of things obviously ignored the erroneous syntax till now. A missing bracket can crash a space shuttle! I love this forum for this. I'm going to take up Python, maybe when I retire. Thanks again.

RTE Player plugin_py.zip

Excellent to hear.
    You're very welcome.

I knew that writing web crawlers in Python for work would come in handy some day :)

Excellent to hear.
    You're very welcome.

I knew that writing web crawlers in Python for work would come in handy some day :)

Proper use of the skill!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 63 ✭✭pod2011

Thanks Conor & Deezell,much appreciated,
    Here is the RTE Player Plugin 2017
    Happy new year!

Same to youse with knobs on!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,150 ✭✭✭how.gareth

Savage bit of work done there folks!

lads has anyone a link for the 5.5 please? the bare image if possible but a back up would do aswell, i cant work out the polish site

how.gareth wrote: »
    lads has anyone a link for the 5.5 please? the bare image if possible but a back up would do aswell, i cant work out the polish site

Latest
    https://drive.google.com/file/d/0BztHgAu7cL-QaEEtVEFpbXgwQjg/view?usp=sharing

Happy new year!

in a zip format how do u install it ? do you replace files ?

deezell wrote: »

cheers deezell i have it all set up and running fine but its not connecting to the server for plugins or epg, am i doing something wrong or would the server be down?
    edit, i started with a bare image

Nowso wrote: »

use the zip extractor with it and it will give you the two files in the enigma2 folder ready to go

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭Tefral

Nowso wrote: »

Unzip, ftp contents to usr/lib/enigma2/python/plugins/extensions/ rteplayer. If replacing the faulty player, just change plugin.py file. If new install then ftp all including the rteplayer folder. Reboot and go. It works really well, it uses the the rte playerxl which is free from the leading ads and compulsory break ads.

Tefral wrote: »
    whats on your image deezell?

Still using Zardoz PKT 4.5. I'm a bit of a dinosaur, takes me a while to move on. I've it well set up with Z's plugins, of which I use just oscam, samba, webif, cool, and rte player. No wifi dongle, an ex sky wifi extender I found under a bed connects the network, a 1TB usb powered hdd I scrounged from job IT for storage. Best features are not really box specific, being able to watch streams from home while away, set timers, use dcc and dB edit remotely to tidy up stuff. Tempted by Vix4.

cheers deezell i have it all set up and running fine but its not connecting to the server for plugins or epg, am i doing something wrong or would the server be down?
    edit, i started with a bare image

Both need the network connection. Check that first. ( though cross epg down loads data from the sat feed if using astra 28.2 setting, I think it needs the network initially. )

Unzip, ftp contents to usr/lib/enigma2/python/plugins/extensions/ rteplayer. If replacing the faulty player, just change plugin.py file. If new install then ftp all including the rteplayer folder. Reboot and go. It works really well, it uses the the rte playerxl which is free from the leading ads and compulsory break ads.

since vix 4 has ondemand plugin done a complete install of rte player and works fine

main think i use enigma 2 for tbh , thanks

Both need the network connection. Check that first. ( though cross epg down loads data from the sat feed if using astra 28.2 setting, I think it needs the network initially. )

network connection is fine, im getting all the channels no prob and oscam is running fine, webif is showing some crazy error screen on the laptop but oscam shows up on it grand.

Webif not working, Corrupt files? I'd reflash.