Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dash cam thread (car videos only)

I don't know why but I read the YouTube comments on that video and now I want to kill myself.
    I just looked at the comments and :rolleyes: just remembered why I never look at youtube comments!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,294 ✭✭✭kirving

Very lucky not to lose the bike here. Saw a similar incident on Road Wars or the line a few years ago where the police were very close to charging the driver. The video seems a little long, but the incident does start right when the video does if you watch closely.

404251.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,294 ✭✭✭kirving

Really terrible cycle path design here, but the cyclist ignores the yield sing and pulls out right in front of the car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,847 ✭✭✭✭Shannon757

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭jimbis

That's some idiot lad thinking he's one of these Russian crazy drivers that can cut through any traffic....... But fails to see the executive route down the hard shoulder :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,277 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

i think I can safely say I've never seen anything quite like that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 133 ✭✭bennya

One from the weekend. Cue some comedy Bosco impersonations from my wife.

One from this morning,
    I dont care about cyclists running red lights IF common sense is used but this lad could have been minced.
    There is zero visibility up to his right because of the bridge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,719 ✭✭✭Hal1

Shannon757 wrote: »

Just seen this similar incident posted on imgur.
    hekwSSB.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,565 ✭✭✭K.Flyer

Betcha the road wasn't the only place left with skid-marks after that one.. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,127 ✭✭✭job seeker

As previously mentioned, the Cooooo was unreal!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,942 ✭✭✭Danbo!

Very lucky not to lose the bike here. Saw a similar incident on Road Wars or the line a few years ago where the police were very close to charging the driver. The video seems a little long, but the incident does start right when the video does if you watch closely.

Was driving through Wales to Holyhead a few years back when a bunch of lads in a 5 series estate and an A6 estate belted past, at what must have been 95-100mph, each with roof rack with 4 bikes. 5 minutes up the road, all oncoming traffic is flashing their lights. The A6 is stopped in the overtaking lane with a bike rack wedged under the front of the car, there's bits of bikes everywhere and the 5 series is in the hard shoulder about 500m up the road with four young fellas running down the hard shoulder towards the A6. Idiots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,866 ✭✭✭fancy pigeon

job seeker wrote: »
    As previously mentioned, the Cooooo was unreal!

Chaps an amateur :P Needs a real car for a real coooo and reek :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,299 ✭✭✭twin_beacon

Chaps an amateur :P Needs a real car for a real coooo and reek :p

I think its best left to the farmers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,277 ✭✭✭km991148

Really terrible cycle path design here, but the cyclist ignores the yield sing and pulls out right in front of the car.

Can barely see if there is a yield here (or if there is it looks like there is crap all over the path) - but I am pretty sure the cyclist doesn't even check behind him at all!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,812 ✭✭✭✭josip

Yeah, crap cycle path design but that shouldn't come as a surprise to any cyclist.
    That look is called "the life-saver" for a reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,277 ✭✭✭km991148

josip wrote: »
    That look is called "the life-saver" for a reason.

As an occasional cyclist its surprising the amount of ignorance you see when you are on the bike (amongst other bike users).

The amount of cyclists that will pull out in front of ye is shocking - maybe RSA should do a campaign on the life save for cyclists only.. similar to the motorbike ones.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,265 ✭✭✭Riva10

OSI wrote: »
    These geniuses working for Irish Rail operating a consaw on a blind bend with no warning signs up, and no protection for either themselves or the passing traffic:

Near Carrigtwohill Co. Cork ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,277 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

Riva10 wrote: »
    Near Carrigtwohill Co. Cork ?

Looks like Malahide to me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,158 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Seve OB wrote: »
    Looks like Malahide to me

Yup. Not far from Portmarnock, just bought a house near there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

OSI wrote: »
    These geniuses working for Irish Rail operating a consaw on a blind bend with no warning signs up, and no protection for either themselves or the passing traffic:

That needs reporting. Accident waiting to happen with that carefree approach to health and safety

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,565 ✭✭✭K.Flyer

Hope they stopped as cars were passing, otherwise some cars are going to be left with rust speckles all down the left hand side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,110 ✭✭✭✭neris

random stuff from last few days

km991148 wrote: »
    maybe RSA should do a campaign on the life save for cyclists only.. similar to the motorbike ones.

The most recent RSA ad campaign with the cyclist turning right or avoiding obstacles is focussed at drivers being on the look out for cyclists and giving them space. The vast majority of near misses I see involve a cyclist doing something stupid, and I cycle 150km a week. There needs to be a campaign focussed at cyclists.

I'd love to see an ad showing cyclists a drivers point of view seeing cyclists with terrible lights, turning out of sideroads, etc, moving out without signalling, etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

Clontarf Road yesterday morning.
    I just missed the right hand filter light.
    Generally a good queue will form for that busy right hand turn lane for the docks/eastlink bridge/eastpoint business park.

Now and again you'll get a cheeky fecker who will drive up the centre lane and think their car is a motorbike and they're entitled to cut in at the front of the queue.

This dangerous idiot just kept going and turned right against the red filter light. There was a green straight ahead light, but the right hand filter was definitely red.

Can't read their reg number from the video footage though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,217 ✭✭✭moonshadow

Clontarf Road yesterday morning.
    I just missed the right hand filter light.
    Generally a good queue will form for that busy right hand turn lane for the docks/eastlink bridge/eastpoint business park.

Now and again you'll get a cheeky fecker who will drive up the centre lane and think their car is a motorbike and they're entitled to cut in at the front of the queue.

This dangerous idiot just kept going and turned right against the red filter light. There was a green straight ahead light, but the right hand filter was definitely red.

Can't read their reg number from the video footage though.

Are you one of the twins off "Gogglebox" ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,632 ✭✭✭mrsoundie

More Australian swearing! Strewth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,101 ✭✭✭dickwod1

Mini compilation ...

dickwod1 wrote: »
    Mini compilation ...

What's happening the last "how did they know know?" clip?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 891 ✭✭✭Falcon L

Looks like they sell cheap Chinese tyres in Australia too! :D