If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Garda Traffic on Twitter

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

It's a calculated risk but if they ever decide to go legit in the future getting cover with no insurance conviction will be near impossible.

not after 7 years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,596 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

nice_guy80 wrote: »
    not after 7 years

But will they be able to stay off the road without getting caught for 7 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,749 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

It's a calculated risk but if they ever decide to go legit in the future getting cover with no insurance conviction will be near impossible.

I get the feeling those people don't worry or plan that far ahead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,677 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

wait until they discover colour printers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,994 ✭✭✭ironclaw

pippip wrote: »
    Don't assume just cause a car has L plates and a single occupant its a Learner driving though.

Its been done to death but if you are driving with L plates up, even if you are a fully licensed driver, you should be hit with the L plate legislation fines and points. If nothing else, its a lazy tax. They are up for a reason so take them down then they arn't required. Should trucks and vans continuously display all the warning signs for hazardous materials they might be carrying?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,765 ✭✭✭oleras

ironclaw wrote: »
    Its been done to death but if you are driving with L plates up, even if you are a fully licensed driver, you should be hit with the L plate legislation fines and points. If nothing else, its a lazy tax. They are up for a reason so take them down then they arn't required. Should trucks and vans continuously display all the warning signs for hazardous materials they might be carrying?

Driving school cars would be exempt in this world of yours, ya ? :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,723 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

But will they be able to stay off the road without getting caught for 7 years.

who knows.
    like grand theft auto

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,832 ✭✭✭✭Blatter

What's stopping people putting up fake insurance disks?

My latest policy was sent by email. I just had to print it out in colour, cut it out and stick on the car window.

There's absolutely nothing stopping me editing that, printing it out and using it for next year while not actually renewing.

As far as I can tell, the only way of getting caught for this is actually being in an accidentbin which case your insurance policy will be checked out. You avoid detection at checkpoints.

Many may think this is a risk worth taking in the face of current insurance prices as when you eliminate the threat of checkpoints, your chances of getting caught in any given year are probably less than 1%, depending on how competent a driver you are and how regularly you're on the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,685 ✭✭✭ongarite

Blatter wrote: »
    What's stopping people putting up fake insurance disks?

My latest policy was sent by email. I just had to print it out in colour, cut it out and stick on the car window.

There's absolutely nothing stopping me editing that, printing it out and using it for next year while not actually renewing.

As far as I can tell, the only way of getting caught for this is actually being in an accidentbin which case your insurance policy will be checked out. You avoid detection at checkpoints.

Many may think this is a risk worth taking in the face of current insurance prices as when you eliminate the threat of checkpoints, your chances of getting caught in any given year are probably less than 1%, depending on how competent a driver you are and how regularly you're on the road.

Most cars will have an ANPR system in place that reads the car registration plate & lets them know if tax/insurance is out.
    http://garda.ie/Controller.aspx?Page=106&Lang=1

They have phased out discs completely in the UK, relying solely on ANPR.
    It works very well in the UK, you wouldn't get a mile down a busy road without being pulled over.

GDY151

ongarite wrote: »
    Most cars will have an ANPR system in place that reads the car registration plate & lets them know if tax/insurance is out.
    http://garda.ie/Controller.aspx?Page=106&Lang=1

They have phased out discs completely in the UK, relying solely on ANPR.
    It works very well in the UK, you wouldn't get a mile down a busy road without being pulled over.

The poor Gardaí in this country are forced to work harder not smarter with technology a good 20 years behind any other EU state.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,246 ✭✭✭pippip

ironclaw wrote: »

I know they should, although there is no law. But the fact is they just can't. The L plates are just not designed for constant removal. I've a set up in my car for the missus learning and they are so difficult to not only place in the window but getting them to stay stuck is an absolute nightmare.

In the last few months the gardai have taken to placing a checkpoint at the entrance to my estate and I've lost count of the amount of times I've gone through, been stopped every time to show licence. And its still easier for me to do that than take down and put up the L plates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,885 ✭✭✭✭flazio

Get a clear plastic sheet, cut it to just above the legally required size of an L plate, tape it to the windscreen on 3 sides. Print out a big red L. (Laminate it if the windscreen gets damp regularly). Slide it in when the learner is driving, slide it out when they aren't.
    It comes in really handy when a learner and a novice are sharing the same car.

This too shall pass.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,832 ✭✭✭✭Blatter

flazio wrote: »
    Get a clear plastic sheet, cut it to just above the legally required size of an L plate, tape it to the windscreen on 3 sides. Print out a big red L. (Laminate it if the windscreen gets damp regularly). Slide it in when the learner is driving, slide it out when they aren't.
    It comes in really handy when a learner and a novice are sharing the same car.

I think it's ridiculous that there are so many cars going around with L AND N plates.

In situations where a learner and a novice are sharing the same car, the L plate should be sufficient for both drivers.

There's zero benefit to having both up. In fact, there are only drawbacks. The front and back windscreens are clogged up more than they need to be and other drivers don't know whether they're sharing the road with a novice or a learner. A learner driving in a car with both N and L plates muddys the waters from the perspective of other road users. And the whole point of these plates in the first place is to equip other road users with useful information in so that they can react and treat the learner or novice driver appropriately.

Ideally, drivers would drive only with the appropriate plates displayed. Failing that, use just L plates and everybody assumes the driver of that car is a learner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

Blatter wrote: »
    A learner driving in a car with both N and L plates muddys the waters from the perspective of other road users.

why not just assume they are a learner?

ANPR equipped cars are a rarity outside major cities

I've talked to a few guards about this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,466 ✭✭✭h3000

0118 999 881 999 119 725 3

GDY151

h3000 wrote: »
    Jaysus

Great they have impounded, most are let go on their merry way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,917 ✭✭✭GM228

Great they have impounded, most are let go on their merry way.

Seized for no NCT, Gardaí have no legal power to seize a vehicle with bald tyres or which is unsafe, which IMO is stupid, they should most definately have that power.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,940 ✭✭✭✭bear1

So if that car had no nct it would have been let off?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,519 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

bear1 wrote: »
    So if that car had no nct it would have been let off?

No if had nct it be allowed once licence and insurance are in order.

You can drive with defective tyres but if caught fine and points but allowed to carry on.

GDY151

You can drive with defective tyres but if caught fine and points but allowed to carry on.

And they wonder why 30 odd more people are dead on the roads than last year, the mind boggles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,749 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Those tyres are well beyond defective. I'd hope a Garda could get creative around what offence they could be charged with rather than be sent on their merry way. I'd try driving with reckless endangerment to other road users.

GDY151

Beyond the failed NCT there should be other criteria they can seize a car...
    • A bald tyre
    • Non working headlights (both of them)
    • Non working tail lights (all of them)
    • Non working brake lights (all of them)
    • Body parts rubbing off the ground

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,143 ✭✭✭job seeker

No if had nct it be allowed once licence and insurance are in order.

That's no good though, don't you get the same for being abit over the speed limit? When this tyre could blow out going down the road.. Like to say that tyre is fcuked is an understatement!

GDY151

job seeker wrote: »
    That's no good though, don't you get the same for being abit over the speed limit? When this tyre could blow out going down the road.. Like to say that tyre is fcuked is an understatement!

I suppose once they don't feature the car on Twitter and it then kills 4 or 5 people down the road because the car has no traction on the road whatsoever they are grand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,210 ✭✭✭pablo128

GM228 wrote: »
    Seized for no NCT, Gardaí have no legal power to seize a vehicle with bald tyres or which is unsafe, which IMO is stupid, they should most definately have that power.

The driver was an unaccompanied learner too. Should they be let drive on?