But its cold outside

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭Younganne

Donedea 50 k - Week 3
    Plan for the week

Mon| Tues| Wed| Thur| Fri | Sat | Sunday
    K'Bells| 5m Easy | 7m Steady| 5m Easy & K'bells| Rest|K'Bells & Session: 15 mins warm up, 12 x 1 min hard, 2 mins easy, 15 mins cooldown| 13m Easy

Monday 5th December
    Plan
    yesterdays missed 12m
    Actual 10k

So I didn't have enough time to fit in the 12 m at lunch time and work is too busy to take extra time off so I Compromised and did the 6m I was missing from last week plan. I took it nice and easy and really enjoyed the run and it would have been lovely to be able to add another 6m on.

Definitely warmer out there today, no hat, no gloves and not feeling cold. Mainly on the trails for this one as I was on the hunt for wildlife!!:rolleyes::rolleyes: I stopped a few times because as part of the 31 Day Christmas challenge is a wildlife photo challenge!!

10.05, 10.04, 9.51, 10.15, 10.02, 10.02, 9.58(.30)
    Total 6.30 in 1.03 @ 10.03

Not sure if i'll make Kettlebells this evening. I've a lot on this week so there make be a bit of chopping and changing!!:eek:

WTD: 6.30m
    MTD: 23.28m
    YTD: 1563.72m

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭racheljev

Younganne wrote: »
    Thanks everyone. It just getting too common these days hearing about young people getting sick and not recovering. Carpe Diem!!

Niamh's injury is a problem with her kneecaps being off track. It's to do with weak hips just like her Mother!! Thought we were on top off it but came back Saturday. She's not 14 until January but is already 5 ft 8.5" tall so it's something we need to keep an eye on as she's still growing!!

So sorry to hear about your friend, too many young people going at the moment.

My Niamh is having knee issues at the moment - she took a big stretch over the last few months and her muscles have yet to catch up with her bones :) Physio is treating her for Osgood Schlatter (not sure if I spelt that right!), lots of stretches and strengthening and unfortunately some time off from gymnastics. Not good for her (and my!) sanity. Hope your wee woman is back on the pitch soon.
    And by the way, your training looks like it's going really well, long may that continue!

racheljev wrote: »
    So sorry to hear about your friend, too many young people going at the moment.

My Niamh is having knee issues at the moment - she took a big stretch over the last few months and her muscles have yet to catch up with her bones :) Physio is treating her for Osgood Schlatter (not sure if I spelt that right!), lots of stretches and strengthening and unfortunately some time off from gymnastics. Not good for her (and my!) sanity. Hope your wee woman is back on the pitch soon.
    And by the way, your training looks like it's going really well, long may that continue!

Thanks Rachel. Only good thing is football season is over for a few weeks, it's just County trails that are on. She swims for the winter!!

Good news is she got called for the final round, but is only allowed turn up this Saturday if physio says it's ok. If not, she's back in January, which gives her a chance to get fully better and a bit stronger!!

Donedea 50 k - Week 3(rest of the Week)

Tuesday 6th December
    Plan
    5m Easy
    Actual 5m easy

easy run around the Park at lunch time. Sports massage in the evening. Piriformis still very tight so its recommended that if i want to get to the Start of the 50k, i have to drop the kettlebells as they are causing me back issues. :eek: kettlebells dropped!!!

9.38, 9.36, 9.30, 9.36, 9.36, 9.41(.10)
    Total 5.10m in 48.54 @9.35

Wednesday 7th December
    Plan
    7m Steady
    Actual 7m Steady

Didn't get out at lunchtime, too busy so headed to Mams and ran around Navan after work. Very warm out but lovely run.

9.15, 9.11, 9.11, 9.10, 9.11, 9.08, 9.12, 9.09(.11)

Total 7.11 in 1:05:16 @ 9.11

Thursday 8th December
    Plan
    5m
    Actual 0m

Away down the country at an appointment and when I got back to Navan, there was no-one available to mind the youngest who was with me, so headed home to no run. I was tired sand had a headache anyway so didn't mind.

Friday 9th December
    Plan
    Rest
    Actual 5m easy

Work Christmas party on today but was determined to get this done, Got the desk cleared so headed out just before lunch and got a lovely easy run in the drizzly rain!!!

9.51, 9.32, 9.30, 9.11, 9.37, 9.49
    Total 5.10m in 49.47 @ 9.46

Saturday 10th December
    Plan:
    15 min easy, 12x1 min hard/2 min easy, 15 min easy
    Actual: 15 min easy, 12x1 min hard/2 min easy, 15 min easy

Few drinks last night so pushed this out to afternoon, wasn't sure how fast to push the 1 mins hard so went fairly hard alright!! some of them were grand, some were tough enough, but got it done without having to take extra rest or spewing!!!:eek:
    Right hamstring and IT band bit tight on finishing!!! Will keep an eye on them!!

15 mins @ 9.54,
    6.56, 6.29, 6.12, 6.08, 6.15, 6.18, 6.24, 6.28, 6.16, 6.24, 6.16, 6.12
    15 mins @ 9.58, .30m @ 9.50

Total 7.10m in 1:08:56 @ 9.43

Sunday 11th December
    Plan:
    13m Easy
    Actual 13m easy

had to get this done early as taking the kids to see Santa in Ardgillian Castle and wouldn't be home until late!! (very disappointing, will stick will Slane Castle next year. The real Santa was there last year!!

I took in plenty of hills and ran all this by feel. Right hamstring slightly tight again but no big issue with it!!! Mile 11 had some very fast downhill sections so explains the faster pace!!! Lovely run. Had the company of a dog for 3.5m... had to run up a hill to get her home again!!!

10.04, 9.57, 9.36, 9.42, 9.45, 9.43, 9.36, 9.52, 9.46, 9.46, 9.22, 9.36, 9.37, 10.04(.20)

Total 13.20m in 2:08:28 @ 9.44

WTD: 43.91m
    MTD: 60.89m
    YTD: 1601.33m

Horray Week 3 completed 100% !!!

Donedea 50 k - Week 4
    Plan for the week

Mon| Tues| Wed| Thur| Fri | Sat | Sunday
    Rest| 6m Easy | 6m Steady, 1m Easy, 1m @ 8.20| 6m Easy | Rest| Session: 1m warm up, 5 x 5 mins @ 8.20, 3 min rec, 1m cooldown| 15m Easy

Monday 12th December
    Plan
    rest
    Actual Rest & Sports Therapist emergency visit!!

So the right hamstring was a little tender after yesterdays run but no big issue. However after spending the rest of Sunday on my feet, it was pretty bad by Sunday night. I treated it and headed off to bed. Monday Morning and I was limping and it was very painful and it got worse as the day progressed.

Got a cancellation with sports therapist and he got to work on if after work Monday evening.
    Ouch ouch ouch:eek: he told me it was "Catonic" ie(in an immobile or unresponsive stupor) and he gave out to me for the extra run I did last Monday. He said that he though I was more "clued in than that" and he's right!!:( I should have know better. needless to say the 31 day run challenge is finished and i will rest on my rest days #biggerpicture!!

Anyway he taped up hamstring and front of leg as it has travelled into my adductor and IT Band and he rubbed out my leg hamstring which was tight but not half as bad

Tuesday 13th December
    Plan
    6m Easy
    Actual 0m

No run Tuesday either as it was still very sore. and i was like a bear with a sore head so went to bed earlier than usual!!! Did my stretches :rolleyes:

Wednesday 14th December
    Plan
    6m Steady, 1m Easy, 1m @ 8.20
    Actual 6m easy + a bit extra to get lunch

So legs greatly improved today and limp is gone, so headed out at lunch for my run. Was thinking if it holds up, i'll do the 8 miles on the plan, then told myself to cop on :o and just do an easy run.

The further i ran the better the legs felt so ended up getting the 6m easy done. Rained throughout this but is was not in the least bit cold. When i got back to work, i remembered I had no lunch so popped into office, grabbed some money and headed over to the canteen to get a wrap made up. 1.50pm and they had everything packed away.:mad: I was told prepacked sambos was all that was available. The hot food had all been packed away too, except for chips & sausages (leftovers from breakfast usually) so i though feck that and headed over to the TeaRooms and got a delicious toasted wrap made up and really enjoyed it after my shower!!

9.41, 9.54, 9.45, 9.51, 9.49, 9.48, 9.37,(.69) 9.57(.26)

Total 6.95 in 1.07 @ 9.47

WTD: 6.95m
    MTD: 67.84m
    YTD: 1608.28m

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Look after yourself, not like you in fairness, you are normally 'clued in'. Bigger picture is right.

Thanks B, yes it was a timely reminder to stick to the plan!!!;) I definitely felt like a bauld child!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,822 ✭✭✭Annie get your Run

+1 to that, those challenges are not always the best idea :D rest is very important! Glad to hear no permanent damage done.

So I though I escaped lightly last week, but not so.

I ran 6m easy on Thus after Coach instructing only easy runs for the rest of the week. Hamstrings held up well but the pains have moved elsewhere. Well the pain was in the tights last week but the hamstring were a bigger issue.

Thursdays run was the last run I did. :eek:

I now have pains in my legs constantly running along the outside of both thighs and I had to resort to medication. Its still there but is easing each day. Nightime is the worst when I'm lying on them. So its rest for a few more days and when the pain goes completely we'll take it from there.
    I'm hoping complete rest for week will sort it out cause I don't like what Dr Google has to say about it!!! :eek:

Dammit, sorry to hear that Anne but no googling! Hopefully you get it sorted asap - good plan to rest for this week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 10,903 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Ouch. Stay away from Google while you are resting. Hope it's nothing. Careful now!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

Sorry to hear that Anne. Was wondering where you were on Strava. Keep us posted and try not to worry as it might just come right in a few days. I'm sure you're up to your eyes with all the xmassy stuff right now, so not a bad time to have to take a bit of a break from it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,140 ✭✭✭martyboy48

How are the legs now Anne??? Hopefully some improvement, but whatever you do don't try to rush things...

Hopefully you'll be back to normal soon 😊

Thanks Guys:D

So legs were greatly improved yesterday and although the running gear has been to work with me all week, I resisted the urge to go out!!

Today I collected the kids from school for their Christmas holidays and as it was such a beautiful day we went walking. So me, 2 kids a dog and a very excited puppy headed off over the back roads. It was fun!!:eek:. We did 1.5 miles and legs were great. So I decided I'd go for a short run.

When we got back, I foam rolled the lower back and stretched before heading out with a delighted dog, 2 outings in the one day!!:D
    No bother on the legs during this and so kept it going and did 6m. Iced the piriformis when I got back, just to be sure.

9.54, 9.57, 9.50, 9.45, 9.53, 9.52
    6m @ 9.52 in 59.11

If there are no issues with the legs tonight(although the medicinal hot whiskeys may mask any issues;) I will do another run in the morning and a longer run Saturday morning.

Happy Christmas to one and all and may you all have a happy & safe Christmas and may all your wishes for 2017 come true!!!:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,140 ✭✭✭snailsong

Glad you're back, it sounded serious.
    Careful now....

snailsong wrote: »
    Glad you're back, it sounded serious.
    Careful now....

to be honest i was a bit worried.:eek: Usually a niggle will disappear but this was constant and in different locations at different times. But it eased with the week off and thankfully no issue with it since. Hip is still a bit niggly but doesn't bother me while I'm running!!!

I hope everyone had a lovely Christmas.

So I've been working my way back and although Coach told me to just keep things ticking over I was aware that i had missed 2 weeks of the plan so I planned on trying to do the main parts of the last week i missed.

So last Thursday was 6m easy, and on Friday the Storm kept me inside so nothing for it but i had to get the treadmill back into action. Its in the toy room so a cleanup was in order and i finally found it again!!!:D

The usual outdoor runners were a tad mucky :eek: for the treadmill so put on my previous pair and off i went. First mile and the calf tightened up terribly and i had to stop after the first mile and stretch it out. I was a bit worried but decided to try another mile. I was telling myself it was the treadmill surface and the legs weren't use to it and the different runners so just kept going and it worked itself out. Picked up the pace and went to steady miles for the rest of the run. The treadmill turns off automatically at 59.59 so last half mile was a little faster to get it all in.

9.40, 9.43, 9.07, 9.06, 9.08, 9.04 8.20(.50)
    Total 6.5m in 59.59

Woke up with a sore throat, running nose and constant sneezing on Christmas Eve morning so decided to play it safe. No time on Sunday as i was busy cooking, eating & Drinking!!!:D

Week 6 of 12 Donadea

Monday 26th December

Monday was a beautiful day so headed off with the dog for a 6 ish mile run. at 1.5 m I came across a sheep caught in a wire fence. I was unable to free it and hadn't the heart to run on and leave it, so had to backtrack to the farmers house which is in a long, mucky drive to the house. He was just having a bit of lunch and would be out shortly,told him he'd need wire cutters and so off I went my good deed done. Headed on the road and informed the Sheep, Help was on its way as i passed him:D.

30mins later on my return the sheep was still stuck and a man and his daughter were trying to free it. I couldn't believe he hadn't appeard yet. Chatted for a few minutes with the man and his daughter and then the farmer turned up.....lovely run, very busy road today between lots of people walking, dog walkers, kids on bikes, kids on horses and plenty of cars I've never seen my quite little country road so busy!!!!

9.48, 9.51, 9.55, 9.30, 9.42, 9.41, 9.25, 9.40(.31)
    Total 7.31m in 1:10:48 @ 9.41

Tuesday 27th December.
    Little Princess 8th Birthday so spent the day watching her choice of movies. Went for an easy 3m on treadmill later in the evening while the dinner was cooking.

9.54, 9.50, 9.45,
    Total 3.1 in 30:29 @ 9.50

Wednesday 28th December

Another beautiful day and decided to do the Sat session from the previous weeks plan with the hope of doing the long run tomorrow so still following the format.

1m easy, 5 x 5 mins @ 8.20 off 3 mins rec, 1m easy.

Programmed the watch and away i went . Lovely run and really enjoyed it. Cold but the sun was shining so delighted to be able to be out training.

9.35, 8.13, 8.12, 8.06, 8.11, 8.10, 9.32 (1.22m)
    Total 6.75m in 1:01:13 @ 9.04

Thursday 29th December.

Headed to Navan for 9am and met with another runner who was planning 5 miles but this got me out early otherwise i'd have been putting it off for the day. #QueenofProcrastination

We did 5.5 together and then i left her to continue with the rest of my plan. I wasn't feeling the love for the run and was contemplating just doing a short one and pushing it out to later int he week, but knew i'd struggle for time so decided to suck it up and move on. stopped at the shopping centre at 7.7 m and used the toilets and the few minutes break did me the world of good and i felt must less stiff and sore and eased the pace as i continued and the rest of the run was so much better.

Ended up doing 16m but no harm as I'm 2 long runs behind!! no bother on the hips while running, quads were feeling it a bit by the end!!!

10.09, 9.42, 9.54, 9.34, 9.27, 9.39, 9.37, 9.43, 9.43, 9.35, 9.46, 9.49, 9.40, 9.41, 9.46, 9.44,

Total 16.05m in 2:36 @ 9.43

So an easy run on Saturday will bring my 2016 running year to a close.

WTD: 33.21m
    MTD:119.70m
    YTD:1660.14m

Happy Christmas New Year Anne :) Glad to see you're back on track! The poor sheep though :(:( (I don't eat lamb, they're too damn cute!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭hillsiderunner

Happy Christmas New Year Anne :) Glad to see you're back on track! The poor sheep though :(:( (I don't eat lamb, they're too damn cute!)

They taste *lovely* ;)

Glad to hear there was no real injury, Anne.

You've reminded me of a time I freed a sheep whilst on a hill/trail run. I'm sure he baa'd 'thaaaanks' as he ran off. Now I've decided on the route for my morning run. Haven't been up ther in a while.

Saturday 31st December
    20 min recovery run

Took the puppy for his first run and we did 2miles. He was very enthusiastic trying to keep up with the other seasoned running dog on the way out but not quite so on the return leg while going up a little hill. :D

There was some sort of hunting going on and about 3 minutes after we turned just beside the bridge we heard voices shouting out "on the bridge " and a load of gun shots rang out. We ran a little faster than planned!!:eek:

WTD: 35.23m
    MTD:121.72m
    YTD: 1662.16m

So Thank you 2016, thats a Wrap

HAPPY NEW YEAR TO YOU ALL:D

So as 2016 comes to a close and on the Eve of my 45th Birthday I had a look back on my running goals for 2016 .

They were:
    1. Stay Injury free
    2. Run Rotterdam Marathon
    3. Run Dublin Marathon
    4. Qualify for Boston Marathon I need 3 hrs 55mins or faster for 2017
    5. try get a few PBs along the way

At the start of 2016 my PBs were:
    5k - 23.21
    10k - 49.56
    10 mile - 1.27.54
    Half Marathon - 1:48:45
    Marathon - 3.57.47

So this has been my best year of running
    1. Stay Injury free - Thankfully nothing major, usual few niggles.
    2. Run Rotterdam - PB achieved 3.55.25
    3. Run Dublin - New PB 3.49.38
    4. Qualify for Boston! need 3.55 for 2017 - Well I didn't get qualification in time for 2017, but have it for 2018!!
    5. try get a few PBs along the way. . . .

New PBS are
    5k - 22.46
    10k - 47.21
    10m - 1:21:57
    Half Marathon - 1:45:11
    Marathon - 3:49:38

I've run 1662.16 miles this year.

Have to say I'm very happy with how the year went and thanks as always to Declan & my family for facilitating my training and to Coach Myles Splitz .

Here's to an injury free year for 2017 and a few more PBS would be great. :D

Brilliant Anne :) Fantastic year for you and Happy Birthday!!

Happy birthday, young wan!
    Great success in 2016, I see from the interwebs you have continued the good form into the new year.

Sunday Jan 1st 2017

Tom Brennan 5km Phoenix Park.

Decided on Friday that i would sign up for this as i missed the Robbie Byrne 5k last week in Navan.
    Was sorry this morning that i had:rolleyes: but got up, dressed, had breakfast and headed for Dublin. I had a few drinks last night to ring in the New YEar and there wasn't a bother on the head but the Stomach wasn't great. That was down to the bucket load of Chocolate i ate!!!:eek:

Anyway did a warmup run over to Furze Rd to collect my number and the teeshirt (not sure if its grey or brown but lets just say dirty water colour :eek:) and ran back to car again to drop off teeshirt and pin on number and then back again to the start.

Had a short chat with Tang and then i moved back down the field. The start caught me by surprise as it was 11.59 and the watch had turned off so bit of a panic to get it back on, just in time as i crossed the start line.

I had decided that i would run this and not race it but straight away i was passing people and felt very comfortable. Mile 1 came in at 7.23 and i was thinking this would get me in at around 23 mins so not a bad run.

I was still passing people all the time and so i just kept with it. Mile 2 came in at 7.08 so decided to try maintain that.
    Mile 3 was alot tougher and the breathing went on me so i was sounding like a donkey being strangled!!! I tried to get some air into my lungs but knew this is what happens when i'm pushing things!!! Had a few moments where i though that stomach was going to clear itself but no managed to hold on there too!!!
    Mile 3 came in at 7.05

I was really hanging on now and there was a big gap to the people in front of me and then i realised we had to go the long way around the outside of the cones on Chesterfield Ave to turn onto Furze road. I got great encouragement from the stewards here (they could all hear me coming:o) Mrs Tangs should-out along here really helped too.
    There was a Brother Pearse runner coming behind me and he was getting great support from lots of people and have to say he helped me with my finish as I was not letting him by me. last bit .18 came in at 6.17
    7.23, 7.08, 7.04, 6.17(.18)

Total 3.18 in 22.44 @ 7.09 2 second PB but its a PB all the same

Garmin 22.43
    Chip 22.44
    5th in F45 and 26th Female overall

I'm really surprised with the PB as i was definitely not feeling it beforehand but delighted with it all the same.

Onwards to Donadea now . I've to put the head down and lots of work to do over the next 6 weeks!!

Great to meet up with Tang & MarthaStew after and to meet for the first time Yaboya1 and Duanington

Felt great when i got home , showered and fed!!! Delighted with my new Garmin 235 i received for my birthday so might have to go for a little trot tomorrow to test it out!!!

WTD: 40.18m
    MTD: 4.95m
    YTD 4.95m

Happy New Year to all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

Well done Anne, great to start the new year with a PB!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭Bungy Girl

Just leaving this here. Quietly. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,388 ✭✭✭laura_ac3

Well done. Good luck with the last few weeks of training.

Bungy Girl wrote: »
    Just leaving this here. Quietly. :D

Thanks for that Bungy Girl but not sure if I could make the table for any of these...unless they are going to be age graded for auld ones like me!!!!

I'll give a stab at the 800m on the track over the summer and would attempt the mile but as for the others, way outside my times for now!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Singer

Nice going Anne, PBing is a great way to start the year. Maybe you should have a few drinks the night before every race!