Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why are men dropping out of society? - mod note in 1st post

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭oik

If the economic model set out as neoliberalism is supposedly to provide the jobs

It is a failure of it....when it can't provide said jobs??

In effect you are saying neoliberalism is the brainchild of feminist movement to keep men down???

Its fun drawing illogical conclusions to suit an argument :D :pac:

So ergo you support communism??

Eh... yeah... whatever you say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,043 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

mzungu wrote:
    I have no idea why he mentioned feminism though, as to my mind what he was suggesting had nothing to do with it. But, leaving that at the door, what he suggested may help some people, and that is a big plus.
    This is feminism. Not feeling they have to conform to unreasonable gender roles such as always being the breadwinner.
    mzungu wrote:
    I think your man from the Rubberbandits was saying that basically men do not have to fit into stereotyped roles. They should go with what feels comfortable and that nobody expects any different. This I think is a good message and given that they are popular among youngsters, that might resonate with them a lot more.

You agree with it but don't see it as feminism. I'm always disappointed that the mad aul bints on the internet are thought to be the proper feminists and actual feminist ideas, like freeing men and women from gender roles, are seen as something other than feminism.

This is feminism. Not feeling they have to conform to unreasonable gender roles such as always being the breadwinner.

You agree with it but don't see it as feminism. I'm always disappointed that the mad aul bints on the internet are thought to be the proper feminists and actual feminist ideas, like freeing men and women from gender roles, are seen as something other than feminism.

How do you know that freeing men and women from gender roles will solve the problem. I think they'll either find new gender roles or continue to be aimless in life. Instead of providing for a woman they'll turn to other less productive pursuits.

I think the pressure on men to provide is probably the only thing stopping 80% of men from spending the rest of their lives glued to the Xbox and internet porn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,845 ✭✭✭py2006

oik wrote: »
    I think the pressure on men to provide is probably the only thing stopping 80% of men from spending the rest of their lives glued to the Xbox and internet porn.

Jaysus! :rolleyes:

The pressure is nothing like what it was up to 30 years ago or so. So in replacement the majority of men obviously have to rely on porn and videogames?!? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,857 ✭✭✭professore

A school friend of mine committed suicide when he was 20. He had women throwing themselves at him all the time, so that wasn't his problem. I don't know what was, no one did. He just shot himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,239 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

Maybe that's the reason for MGTOW.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,043 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

oik wrote:
    How do you know that freeing men and women from gender roles will solve the problem. I think they'll either find new gender roles or continue to be aimless in life. Instead of providing for a woman they'll turn to other less productive pursuits.

The problems described in this thread, by MGTOW, are created by men who can't fulfill the 'provider' gender role of the past.

The MGTOW crew don't seem to be the cream of the crop anyway. They seem a bit fatalistic rather than being interested in actually doing anything to improve themselves in their own eyes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

The problems described in this thread, by MGTOW, are created by men who can't fulfill the 'provider' gender role of the past.

The MGTOW crew don't seem to be the cream of the crop anyway. They seem a bit fatalistic rather than being interested in actually doing anything to improve themselves in their own eyes

pretty much. Its a compensation thing, rather than trying to improve yourself , you just sit in your huff and blame society.

Its the same way as the women who describe themselves as feminists never match up to the 'societal expectations' left for them . Feminists tend to be overweight, unattractive unemployed, underachieving, child-less, pessimistic, low self confidence and happy to stay there and expect the world to adapt.

MGTOW's tend to be unemployed/minimum wager's , living at home, pessimistic, low self confidence, not conventionally attractive.

its the same cycle of not bothering your arse on self development and instead wallowing in sadness for the rest of your life showing hatred for the half the planet of the other gender and blaming them for everything.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,310 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

You agree with it but don't see it as feminism.

I see the 1970s Mens Liberation Movement as being the main figurehead for telling men that nobody expected them to live up to masculine stereotypes, thus popularising the concept. Put a different way, the movement wished to make them aware of the potential "costs of masculinity" when one adheres to certain stereotyped traditional roles (* Messner 1998). It was this idea that found traction in 70s academia that offered young men an alternate viewpoint on what was possible as regards breaking free of the rigidly defined roles prior to that time.

Of course, when I say Mens Liberation, I am specifically referring to the egalitarian incarnation of it, and NOT the anti-feminist faction that broke away from it in the late 70s to form what we now today call the MRA ( "Red Pill" and all those different manosphere groupings etc). Those ideals of casting aside traditional male roles espoused by the Mens Lib movement made their way into the mainstream from that point in the mid 1970s. It is why we would today see it as common sense, rather than as part of the philosophical foundations of a movement. Indeed, I would imagine most parents tell their children not to subscribe to stereotypes, it is good life advice and one might say common sense. But, you would never see them (parents, or anybody else) stating that it was part of a particular ideology. Things have gone long past that point.

So, to bring this all back home, basically what the Rubberbandits were talking about was not feeling under pressure to conform to any stereotypes. They called it feminism, however, I believe it comes from the Mens Lib movement that popularised it in the US for young men. However, I would not state that men need the ideals of the egalitarian wing of the 70s Mens Lib movement as a catchall for solving their problems. For this reason, I would have also disagreed with the Rubberbandits if they said "young lads need 1970s Mens Lib in their lives". Yes, I think avoiding traditional stereotypes is good advice. Yes, I think it might help some people. But, do I see it as a bulwark against male suicide? Unfortunately not. They are many other factors at play there, gender roles, if it features there at all, is probably way down the list. I don't fault the chap for getting the conversation out there, in fact anything that opens up a wider discussion on it is good. I do not agree with how it was framed, though.

Like I said in my previous post, ideologies for serious matters like these should be kept at the door. I do not think shoehorning them into the debate over the rates of male suicide will come to any good.
    I'm always disappointed that the mad aul bints on the internet are thought to be the proper feminists and actual feminist ideas, like freeing men and women from gender roles, are seen as something other than feminism.
    Just to be clear, I do not conflate the zany ideas of third wave or fourth wave (Tumblr/Twitter clicktivism and the likes) as being a major part of feminism in general. Nor do I believe it represents the majority of people who would identify as feminist

* Messner, M. A. (1998). The Limits of “The Male Sex Role” An Analysis of the Men's Liberation and Men's Rights Movements' Discourse. Gender & Society, 12(3), 255-276. Chicago

• Closed Accounts Posts: 564 ✭✭✭Mr Arrior

I'm in my early twenties and I was always of the opinion that I should be buying lots of things for a future girlfriends. Not from any women but its how all the romance stories go. I was even going to go as far as to start saving now in advance so I will have some money aside for my next girlfriend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,049 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

Mr Arrior wrote: »
    I'm in my early twenties and I was always of the opinion that I should be buying lots of things for a future girlfriends. Not from any women but its how all the romance stories go. I was even going to go as far as to start saving now in advance so I will have some money aside for my next girlfriend.

dont mind that crap, if she respects you, she wont give a ****e what you buy her of dont buy her. she justs wants to be with you. go off and enjoy your life and enjoy every penny you worked hard for

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,857 ✭✭✭professore

I bought an ex girlfriend a book I knew she would like when I was a broke student. When I handed it to her she excitedly said "Is it jewellery?" and the disappointment on her face was hard to hide when she unwrapped it and saw it was "Just a book". That was when I knew she wasn't the woman for me.

Ah don't be at that craic. Only on Valentines day and birthdays or if you're married.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,239 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

professore wrote: »
    I bought an ex girlfriend a book I knew she would like when I was a broke student. When I handed it to her she excitedly said "Is it jewellery?" and the disappointment on her face was hard to hide when she unwrapped it and saw it was "Just a book". That was when I knew she wasn't the woman for me.

The book sounds like a very thoughtful gift. Definitely better off without someone like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭BigDuffman

I haven't seen this posted yet https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vWUI quite relative to discussion of men's feeling of inadequacy for not providing. Irish men need feminism apparently. Usually agree with everything Blindboy says, amazing speaker and mental health advocate. Some of this rings true, but not all. I'm not a feminist, I don't think I need to be either, but I agree with the sentiment of independence and equality.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 832 ✭✭✭HamsterFace

professore wrote:

And on the other side of that, I've bought my wife diamonds, necklaces, watches and various other bits of jewellers but her favourite gift from me, and the best reaction I got, was from a book I wrote some nice messages in. Her reaction to it showed her to be a keeper for me. Hence being my wife!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,478 ✭✭✭eeguy

Pretty much like Japanese men are increasingly turning to.

Between working, gaming, online entertainment, internet porn and girlfriend chatbots, they neither need nor want the company of a real woman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40 Lamentabli sane

the_syco wrote: »
    The church ensured people were clueless about themselves, and the power this gave the church enabled the church to belittle anyone who questioned it. People no longer care about church, and are now pleasing themselves, rather than some blueprint the church once forced upon them.

There is nothing more liberating than having your passions subordinate to reason, and reason subordinate to God. Being a slave to emotions, sexuality and social pressure is a sorry way to live your life. "Pleasing yourself" is a sorry way to live your life. Catholic teaching frees people from that, of course you have to engage with it to fully comprehend this statement.

The church had no qualms with using the women as slaves for the rest of their lives in the past, and selling their children off to the highest bidder. The church viewed rape as the womans fault, and now the woman has the power, not the church.

The Magdalene laundries definitely had issues. But this very much seems like a problem peculiar to the Irish Church. Nowhere in Catholic teaching are such strict punishments required. Take Jesus and Mary Magdalene: she was simply told to "sin no more" after showing contrition. Our God is a loving and gentle God, but His servants are only human.

No, people do not take the church seriously anymore, and don't care about it's stupid values anymore.

Those who take life and their salvation seriously would also very much take the Church seriously.
    They have abandoned the church that sought to control them through fear and blackmail.

Christianity is not about obeying a set of rules and being terrified. Through Baptism we become children of God. You get to talk to God as to a Father. By willingly obeying God's Commandments we become more like Him. Our life becomes filled with goodness, joy, beauty, love, courage, patience... It becomes very noticeable. Look at Mother Theresa for example.
    The god people did a damn good job of ensuring suicide statistics weren't kept, especially in rural areas.

Hmm, were any suicide statistics kept at all?
    Your church forbid them to thing, forbid them to question, and once they got rid of the church, they had to find the answers themselves.

Some of the most evil events in history emerged as a result of people abandoning God, when they tried to mold society according to themselves. Communism (100+ million killed), Nazism, the slaughter of the French Revolution... Time and time again.

Most people have no Faith. They do not seek it, they do not ask for it. Their consciences are constantly silenced by non stop entertainment. Look at all those people on buses, trains, ect who cannot spend a minute in silence, because maybe a thought about where their life is going would creep in. If people even tried to respond to God's call urging them to be partakers in His joy there would be a lot less misery in this world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

The Magdalene laundries definitely had issues. But this very much seems like a problem peculiar to the Irish Church. Nowhere in Catholic teaching are such strict punishments required.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Canadian_Indian_residential_school_system

Might want to STFU with the pontificating about your sick little cult, it won't get any better for you here.

Bambi wrote:
    Might want to STFU with the pontificating about your sick little cult, it won't get any better for you here.

Its obvious that there have been many many people in the Catholic Church that should be rotting in a jail cell rather than anywhere near a Church but they are bad people using the Catholic faith to commit crimes. They do not stand for the Catholic faith and its very petty to insult the good people of the church by calling it a 'sick little cult'.

Oh no my good man, the magedelene laundries and the residential schools were'nt a bunch of rogue nuns going off on a solo run

It was institutionalized abuse carried out by an insitution: The Roman Catholic church

The church not only stands for the faith, it is the faith, thats part of the deal for the good folk in that cult. If they don't believe that then they're not catholics

Bambi wrote:
    Oh no my good man, the magedelene laundries and the residential schools were'nt a bunch of rogue nuns going off on a solo run
    Bambi wrote:
    It was institutionalized abuse carried out by an insitution: The Roman Catholic church
    Bambi wrote:
    The church not only stands for the faith, it is the faith, thats part of the deal for the good folk in that cult. If they don't believe that then they're not catholics

Well none of that is what Catholicism stands for. The Church could be messed up in aspects but that is humans running it. Im not defending the Church, I'm defending Catholicism.
    And stop with the condescending tone. Its not a dig at you but its not very fair to talk to people like that.

Well none of that is what Catholicism stands for.

The Nicene creed says otherwise, one holy catholic apostolic church. Either you're signed up to the church being the catholic faith or you're a protestant. ;)

Yes but that was before evil people decided to do what they want in it.

Edit: Wait, that quote has nothing to do with my point. That's referring to a well run Church, which it hasn't been.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 832 ✭✭✭HamsterFace

Bambi wrote:

It wasn't just the church, the entire Irish society was complicit. You can blame your folks and grandparents too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,628 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

This thread really took a turn away from the first two pages that I wasn't anticipating

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭PucaMama

It wasn't just the church, the entire Irish society was complicit. You can blame your folks and grandparents too.

This is a point I made before (not on here) people lay all the blame on the church for this but what about parents who put their children in these places

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,321 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

OK folks please can we get off the t'is the church's fault, it's getting really old an Irish catchall at this stage, never mind wildly off topic

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,673 ✭✭✭mahamageehad

This is a load of nonsense. Seriously. I'm mid 20s, boyfriend is early 30s. I make the majority of the money, pay for bills, holidays etc. On occasion he gets little gifts for me or prepares little surprises- some of my favourite chocolate or having dinner ready when I get home. That's all I've ever wanted from him. While I have met a few girls that expect you to buy their love, the majority are not like that. They're the type of girls you want to be avoiding. Dude, you're in your early 20s, you've loads of time left yet. Many girls in their early 20s right now are still self conscious and shy like yourself, it just shows in different ways.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭kunst nugget

I'd be the quiet and caring guy in the corner. Growing up, I was sure id have plenty of success with women in my twenties but it isn't the case. I can't say one woman I've liked has liked me back but tbh I've come to terms with it all now.

How did you think it was going to happen that women were suddenly going to start being interested in you?