Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

UFC 205: Alvarez v McGregor (Event Discussion) - FAQ's in OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

Faugheen wrote: »
    I should clarify that I don't think Conor's rattled by any means, just in case.

Ah yeah, I know you weren't. I just don't believe it was staged.

But I do believe, as per usual, there's a bit of sportmanship/acting up from McGregor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,293 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

McGregor via Decision
    Gamebred wrote: »
    Thats true, but not as successful at least ppv wise.
    Lukker- wrote: »
    He brings at least a million PPV's all by himself. The company needs him after such a big takeover, what other stars could they use to push a record breaking year, honestly?

Without a doubt, he may end up being the biggest star the UFC ever see and their bottom line will take a big hit when he calls it a day but regardless the show goes on without him.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭Gamebred

Alvarez via Submission
    The biggest losers will be the media when hes gone, him alone is keeping these lads in the money with all the click bait and big events.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭wonderfullife

McGregor via Decision
    Anybody thinking "it's staged" needs to give themselves a good talking to.

Do you honestly, hand on your heart, think Conor is texting Eddie telling him what to do? Or allowing Dana White to 'stage' something?

Not a prayer.

What happened is very easy to explain. Much like Nate did, Eddie had it in his head if Conor was late that he'd bounce and, unlike Nate, he'd return.

Kea (Dana's long-time bodyguard) picked Conor up one handed and dragged him off-stage. You can pull muscles being yanked around like that.

It WAS "staged" in the sense that Eddie had a plan in his head of what he was going to do. Conors reactions were just himself. He sat back down until Eddie threw the chair behind him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,534 ✭✭✭xtal191

Alvarez via Submission
    https://twitter.com/TheNotoriousMMA/status/290673904421322753

He's been saying 1 round 3 years now,get the money on 1st round lads.

Staged my ballbag, Eddie couldn't make it look convincing that he was ignoring Conor and focusing on his phone never mind fool an audience into believing anything else that happened. Conor's a whirlwind, everyone else just hangs on and waits for it to blow over and don't get sucked in if you can avoid it, he knows how to make a show but as for any of it being pre-scripted other than an idea in Conor's head of what he'll do for some devilment? Not a chance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 435 ✭✭newbbieb

xtal191 wrote: »

When the presser was on it was some indictment of the difference between the earnings of the fighters where Woodley the WW champ was sitting videotaping the FW champs antics,just so he could post it on his social media to garner some extra hits/revenue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,883 ✭✭✭✭AbusesToilets

Hilarious that Alvarez grabbed the wrong belt.

Alvarez via Submission
    If you compare this press conference to the one a few week ago its night and day, Eddie done ok last time wasnt flustered soon as he was left up there on his own today he knew he couldnt handle fronting it all fielding questions with Conor not there I think he lost face coming back he should've done a Nate answered till Conor arrives then leave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

Alvarez is hard not to like. Makes me a bit uncomfortable when Conor is really going for him verbally, but I suppose its still entertaining all the same.

Really hoping for a great fight tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,265 ✭✭✭Richard tea

McGregor via Decision
    Looking back at the Presser something doesn't seem right with eddie. He seems quite agitated. Conor mentioning he looks gaunt and sporting black eyes. I have a feeling eddie is carrying an injury and or he is finding the weight cut tough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭wonderfullife

McGregor via Decision
    Phenomenal photo from Dave 'Yogurty' Fogarty (Ginger_Beard_Photos) of Stephen Thompson in the Open Workouts.

vo7szb.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,378 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

McGregor via Decision
    It's an average photo, of an phenomenal kick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,718 ✭✭✭EagererBeaver

McGregor via Decision
    I don't know whether it was staged or not and frankly, I don't care. What was Eddie doing with his chair though? He got up, folded his chair and sorry of threw/slid his chair in behind McGregor's. To what end?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,752 ✭✭✭johnpatrick81

McGregor via Decision
    Mellor wrote: »
    It's an average photo, of an phenomenal kick.

He's sorted if he ever fights Struve!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

McGregor via Decision
    My take on the presser is that Conor and Dana were up for a bit of craic but Eddie's energy ruined it.

It's clear that McGregor likes to bring a bit of WWE-esque dramatics to these things and so you need someone who will give a bit of it back. Like when Nate said 'Fcuk you, fcuk your belt' etc. McGregor's response to Nate was glee and started pounding the table...

Eddie on the other hand though, with the pregnancy stuff, just took the buzz out of the whole thing. He effectively pricked the balloon with that comment and the chair sliding was just odd. Neither here nor there. He has no cop on. He even missed an obvious comeback for when Conor said he wanted all the belts on that side as all he had to say was "Well, you might be able to get Joanna's".

The more I see of Eddie the more I dislike him. Calling the Irish fans sad was odd. Why bother? Tell them to go fcuk themselves or something but a comment like his just puts a bad vibe into the whole thing. I think when someone's response to a slagging is to throw back the type of comments that he does, it's because he has been got to. Why else would you want to inflict low blow remarks otherwise.

Tyron is another who seems to take it all too personally. When he was booed a few months back he should have ignored it. He makes it worse by commenting on it. A thousand times worse.

I'm another who will be rooting for Karolina. She is so down to Earth and appreciative of just being there. I don't think she will win but would be excellent if she did as I don't think there's another fighter on the card who wants to win more than she does.

Oh and where the hell has Owen Roddy disappeared to. Love his vlogs but he's been awol for over 48 hours now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

McGregor via Decision
    Eddie is aldo rattled imo.

Love karolina to win she has a lovely smile

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,752 ✭✭✭johnpatrick81

McGregor via Decision
    If Eddie mentions the "tirteen" thing again he should have his "half Irish" status rescinded.

Is he really half Irish? 1 of his parents fully Irish? Or one of those great great great grandmother half Irish Americans?

He comes across as a chump. I hope McGregor makes him look foolish Saturday. Eddie is probably gonna just try and shove McGregor up against the fence as much as possible. Unless McGregor scares him with an early strong guillotine attempt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,718 ✭✭✭EagererBeaver

McGregor via Decision
    ricero wrote: »
    Eddie is aldo rattled imo.

Love karolina to win she has a lovely smile

I've a feeling her smile might not be so lovely at about 4am on Sunday morning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,882 ✭✭✭Saipanne

McGregor via Decision
    Purple Pacman to win then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,038 ✭✭✭✭ctrl-alt-delete

McGregor via Decision
    If Eddie mentions the "tirteen" thing again he should have his "half Irish" status rescinded.

Is he really half Irish? 1 of his parents fully Irish? Or one of those great great great grandmother half Irish Americans?

He comes across as a chump. I hope McGregor makes him look foolish Saturday. Eddie is probably gonna just try and shove McGregor up against the fence as much as possible. Unless McGregor scares him with an early strong guillotine attempt.

McGregor should have told him that would be the only half of him left at the end of the fight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 518 ✭✭✭Brendan Filone

Gintonious wrote: »
    Cw72S-OWgAAHquk.jpg:large

Take the tag off your fur coat.

Reminds me of Giant Reed:

2d2dv60.jpg

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,075 ✭✭✭Nift

I hope he wins, he obviously played up at the presser, he kind of has to be late now and you can imagine Dana encourages it, he's not stupid. But if he loses its going to really check him this time. That's what he sets himself up for every time by doing those things; generates great entertainment but leaves him open to ridicule if he loses.

McGregor via Decision
    Nift wrote: »
    A good couple of inches? So what he's over 6 foot or 5,11? What is it with mcGregor fans that they can't accept his height. It's bordering on weird.

I think the suggestion was that Alvarez was shorter.
    Do you think they are the same?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,075 ✭✭✭Nift

Mellor wrote: »
    I think the suggesting was that Alvarez was shorter.
    Do you think they are the same?

Sorry sorry yeah totally misread. I sit beside a guy who swears CMG is just huge.

McGregor via Decision
    Nift wrote: »
    Sorry sorry yeah totally misread. I sit beside a guy who swears CMG is just huge.

Unless that guy is a dwarf, he is wrong.

That said, McGregor isn't particularly tall. But he's big for his size, in that he's quite broad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,764 ✭✭✭ASOT

McGregor via Decision
    McGregors microphone was still on here :pac:

https://twitter.com/SandhuMMA/status/796959219945762816

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,054 ✭✭✭D.Q

in work, can't watch, what was said?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 786 ✭✭✭TheNap

Alvarez via Submission
    Everyone is rattled . Im rattled . I'm too emotionally invested in this .