Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Aldi and Lidl checkout system

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,741 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

dbagman wrote: »
    how hard is it to have your empty bags open in the trolley ready to go? I always pack at the till. whats the point in putting the stuff in the trolley twice?

100%

I pack at the till and work just as fast as the operator..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,950 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

Snakeblood wrote: »
    There's an absolute right answer, overall, which is that it's best for everyone to all pack at the ledge, not at the till on average. They do time and motion studies for this kind of thing to find out what works best if people actually adopt the system.
    No, you're wrong. As myself and others have pointed out in this thread, not everybody uses a trolley in Aldi and Lidl. When you use a basket, you are supposed to transfer your items from the basket to the trolley and leave the basket at the front of the till. How do I transfer my scanned items from the till to the sill after payment? With absolute great difficulty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,466 ✭✭✭Snakeblood

MeatTwoVeg wrote: »
    So you're arguing that you're doing it wrong.

No, I'm admitting I'm doing it wrong for the majority, but I'm doing it right for me on a personal level. I'm arguing that there is an absolute best way for the majority that gives the greatest utility to all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,466 ✭✭✭Snakeblood

No, you're wrong. As myself and others have pointed out in this thread, not everybody uses a trolley in Aldi and Lidl. When you use a basket, you are supposed to transfer your items from the basket to the trolley and leave the basket at the front of the till. How do I transfer my scanned items from the till to the sill after payment? With absolute great difficulty.

That's a good point, actually, I hadn't considered that.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 861 ✭✭✭MeatTwoVeg

Elliott S wrote:
    Some people here have claimed they can pack as fast as the cashier scans. Firstly, I doubt it. Secondly, that sounds like terrible packing. Packing has to be done right, no matter where one does it.

Just because you can't do it doesn't mean others can't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,741 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

It's very easy - involves putting things on the conveyor in the right order to start with.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

Clampdown wrote: »
    It's not always rounded up, half the time it's rounded down so you pay less then.
    And most people spend a bit more than 1.18 in the supermarket, if you're paying extra it's very rarely going to be 1.7% extra
    Can't believe I actually had to explain that tbh
    You did not have to explain.
    And you missed the point.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

Snakeblood wrote: »
    That's a good point, actually, I hadn't considered that.

Some shops had that rule that you couldn't take the baskets past the tills(because people were robbing them), but most have changed now as they have alarm tags on the baskets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,475 ✭✭✭Elliott S

Nobody can. If you're packing that fast, you're not doing it right. It's your shopping to wreck, I guess! I just don't understand such short-sighted laziness. That is if you even ARE packing as fast as the cashier is scanning, which I doubt. So you're doing crap packing, not saving any time and holding people up. Makes perfect sense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

This rounding up thing is a pain in the hoop.
    In my last job I used to go to the same shop every morning. Every time I paid cash they rounded it up, I never had it rounded down.
    This day my amount came to, let's say, 3.93. They charged me 3.95 to pay in cash. I gave in 4 euro and was handed back 5 one cent coins. I was fuming

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,521 ✭✭✭✭mansize

I like Lidl's rounding it's accurate.

Mr Price only round up when I pay

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 643 ✭✭✭Corca Baiscinn

I was in Lidl today with a basket but had bought a good few items. I tried to remember all the good advice here , smiled and let a lady with only a few items go ahead of me, used the waiting time to put my items on the belt in the right order for packing. (I had picked up an empty box in the veg section to pack them into and carry to car) However, plan was scuppered when the cashier dropped my glass bottle of cooking oil which pooled at the feet of the next person queuing! She summoned help but it was a few minutes before it arrived. I used the time to go and collect another bottle of oil but the next customer was stuck as her goods were already on the belt behind mine. The two lads cracked the predictable joke to the cashier re her having a smashing time and poured a bag of flour on the oil. I left before the clear up was complete, bank hol probably not the worst day for it to happen!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

In the Aldis and Lidls I shop at, the collection points for the baskets are AFTER the tills, by the window sills.
    In fact, they have started putting merchandise in the area in front of the tills where people were abandoning their baskets as a section of the public doesn't seem to be able to understand the system.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,855 ✭✭✭✭road_high

I always take the basket with me, scan and pack into basket and then bag on the sill...it's not rocket science surely?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

road_high wrote: »
    I always take the basket with me, scan and pack into basket and then bag on the sill...it's not rocket science surely?

And I was told in Lid, once, to not leave the basket at the sill but at the start of the conveyor. Hence I now pack at the till. I never have much anyway in Lidl so it's a quick pack.

I put my basket in the place provided which is before the till in the aldis I shop in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭evolving_doors

dfeo wrote: »
    It shouldn't though. Why should people pack AT the till when there's a preparation are for that very purpose. It wastes time and hold up everyone.

I can pack quicker than the cashier throws em at me..
    Yes, I'm that good.
    In your face OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,113 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Gebgbegb wrote: »
    I can pack quicker than the cashier throws em at me..
    Yes, I'm that good.
    In your face OP.

It is a challenge, I find the only way to keep up is strategic placing of your goods on the belt, bulky stuff first, then small, that way you should be able to be pretty much item for item by the time they have hit the small stuff. Your main problem is if the person in front of your has not cleared from the loading area before cashier has commenced the scanning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭evolving_doors

It is a challenge, I find the only way to keep up is strategic placing of your goods on the belt, bulky stuff first, then small, that way you should be able to be pretty much item for item by the time they have hit the small stuff. Your main problem is if the person in front of your has not cleared from the loading area before cashier has commenced the scanning.

Yes very good Daniel San, you are most learned..
    Also another tip..
    Always pack vertical,
    If the person in front has not cleared away in time just push em over to the ledge and fling their groceries on the ground. Security will agree with you and cashier won't even blink, in fact they will inwardly compliment your efficiency.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,113 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

I've been going Lidl/Aldi for a few years, in the olden days neither had baskets in store, only trolleys so basically if you only went for a small number of items you would bring your own bag around the shop and pack your stuff in to it and then unload at the checkout. I now notice pretty much all of them have now got wheeled baskets, is it acceptable to still bring the bag around and load my stuff, I kind of feel a little like a shoplifter but for speed it's the best way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,855 ✭✭✭✭road_high

I put my basket in the place provided which is before the till in the aldis I shop in.

And? They also provide those at the sill area too so there's no excuse. I do this in ALDI and Lidl all the time, it's just logic

Logic is packing your items into bags as they are being scanned not adding a needless additional two steps to the process. They also don't have place for the baskets at the sill in the Aldi's where I shop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,846 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

Can these lads not ring Michael Graham's show?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,224 ✭✭✭Going Forward

Why anyone would want to be able to do it in the first place and then want to blow a trumpet about their achievements is unsettling.

It's how I imagine the chats that mice in those spinning wheels have.

I'm surprised that people here are not admitting to running around the shop with a stopwatch in one hand, pushing others out of the way given the rush they're admit to being in.

"My time is precious.

I've better things to be doing."

Two constant excuses for the technical strategies tested and employed at the checkout to beat the cashier and save time.

But the panic which only seems to manifest itself at the checkout.

How come?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 861 ✭✭✭MeatTwoVeg

How come?

Time is a finite resource.
    The more time you spend doing mundane stuff, the less you have to spend on things you'd prefer to be doing.
    It's not a terribly difficult concept to grasp.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,224 ✭✭✭Going Forward

Time is a finite resource.
    The more time you spend doing mundane stuff, the less you have to spend on things you'd prefer to be doing.

It's not a terribly difficult concept to grasp.

It is actually!

Why are these people even bothering with physically shopping if their time is really so precious?

A bit of proper organisation and online shopping would save these people far more time and energy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

There needs to be an express checkout for 10 items or less, some people that have a full trolley let you go past, but there are others that are gowls

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,121 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Such angst about something that just needs a bit of cop on.

Aldi.... get it into the trolley/basket and pack after. No worries.

Any other place (rare for me lol), move to a closed till area and pack away.

I always put myself in the place of the person behind me (could be me), where the person in front is faffing around and has no spatial awareness of the delay to others.

It is basically being NICE and considerate. Soon most will get with the program I suppose, but it's a long haul just the same.

Anyway, enjoy your Christmas shopping, it's all happening now. Feck sake.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

@Spanish Eyes I like that attitude so you can go ahead of me at the till if you only have a basket of stuff:D