Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion Part 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

mayo.mick wrote: »
    Regarding not being able to afford a commercial director,

https://twitter.com/MrNiallMcGarry/status/791023526954299392

Fair play to Niall McGarry,a very successful Mayo man and may I be so bold as to add Castlebar native.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,067 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

If you hire the right Commercial Manager, they should pay for themselves in multiples. It's a bit of a strange statement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭Squatman

h the sponsorship deals the Dublin's and Kerry's attract but hopefully we gain more traction in the [/quote]

How many "Dublins" are there?, how many "kerrys" are there? Thats rte punditry lingo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 511 ✭✭✭boosabum

PARlance wrote: »
    If you hire the right Commercial Manager, they should pay for themselves in multiples. It's a bit of a strange statement.

That is true, but there will be a lag in realisation of the revenue as most likely deals would take months to conclude before any money is seen.
    There was a figure of €50,000 mentioned as a cost to the county. I think this is a bit conservative when you think of employer PRSI, pension contributions etc. This role (if it ever exists) would require an experienced person who could maximize revenue potential and i doubt they come cheap. The other aspect to this is that any legacy community related partnerships may be phased out which potentially may lead to loss of goodwill

boosabum wrote: »
    That is true, but there will be a lag in realisation of the revenue as most likely deals would take months to conclude before any money is seen.
    There was a figure of €50,000 mentioned as a cost to the county. I think this is a bit conservative when you think of employer PRSI, pension contributions etc. This role (if it ever exists) would require an experienced person who could maximize revenue potential and i doubt they come cheap. The other aspect to this is that any legacy community related partnerships may be phased out which potentially may lead to loss of goodwill

50 does seem low, can only image that that's the basic. I would have thought it would be near double that. It would be a worry if they think it's 50 as that is a salary of 45 for the employee. The right person will cost more than that.

There would be a lag but you're probably looking at getting a return after 6-9 months. Considering there's a turnover of 3-4 million, I think it's short sighted. The cost of this lag is relatively small in the overall scheme of things.

The Senior and Intermediate finals on Saturday evening are going to be streamed. On the mobile so can't link.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,515 ✭✭✭mayo.mick

The Senior and Intermediate finals on Saturday evening are going to be streamed. On the mobile so can't link.

http://www.localstreaming.club/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,980 ✭✭✭Panrich

Would a competent commercial manager potentially shine a torch into corners that have a few skeletons?

First action any commercial manager should do is talk to Eurolink Motorway Operation Ltd who run or owe the M4 toll in Longford and look for a percentage of all the tolls they collect on match days. Be interesting to know how many €2.90's were collected on the day of the final and replay.

boosabum wrote: »
    First action any commercial manager should do is talk to Eurolink Motorway Operation Ltd who run or owe the M4 toll in Longford and look for a percentage of all the tolls they collect on match days. Be interesting to know how many €2.90's were collected on the day of the final and replay.

Scrap the Commercial guy so, we just need a Mayo Tax on Tolls, Irish Rail, Topaz and Roddys....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,914 ✭✭✭statto25

Scrap the Commercial guy so, we just need a Mayo Tax on Tolls, Irish Rail, Topaz and Roddys....

Don't forget car flags and them covers for the wing mirrors

statto25 wrote: »
    Don't forget car flags and them covers for the wing mirrors

And the lads selling hats, flags or headbands

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭PressRun

Went to see Westport and Shrule. Enjoyable game. Westport were the better team and probably should have won by more if they'd converted a few more chances. A few poor wides, but they dominated the midfield, especially in the second half. Some nice kick-passing on show. Conor Mortimer made an appearance for Shrule. Looks like he's been enjoying the beer, but kicked a decent point.

Twas a lovely night for a match, I have to say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Great news Niall McGarry's offer of ten thousand euro towards the salary of a commercial manager for Mayo GAA has been accepted.

Tweet this evening.

"Offer accepted,Mayo GAA will get their much needed commercial manager!Hugely important to support your home place."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,545 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

I can't say I'm the biggest fan of his websites but fair fecking play to him if that's the case. A Castlebar man getting big things done. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭MaroonAndGreen

seligehgit wrote:
    Great news Niall McGarry's offer of ten thousand euro towards the salary of a commercial manager for Mayo GAA has been accepted.

Has he got that kind of money? What does he do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,545 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

Has he got that kind of money? What does he do?

Owns Maximum Media, umbrella company for Joe.ie and Her.ie. I'd imagine he's extremely well off, still a great thing to do for Mayo GAA though, no matter how deep the pockets are.

generous contribution no doubt. i wonder could he have offered his business acumen also in terms of the experience in growing the "JOE" empire. I'd imagine he would have lots of great ideas which could be harnessed to provide
    commercial return

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Fair play to Niall, a massive GAA fan and a tasty enough footballer in his time. Pi*sses me off though it takes an outside influence to come in to fund it, I might be cynical but it just stinks of Mayo Co board just more worried about money than growing the Mayo GAA brand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,402 ✭✭✭naughto

yop wrote: »
    Fair play to Niall, a massive GAA fan and a tasty enough footballer in his time. Pi*sses me off though it takes an outside influence to come in to fund it, I might be cynical but it just stinks of Mayo Co board just more worried about money than growing the Mayo GAA brand.
    Ya the county board are rotten to the core. What difference in taking this mans money but not from a fella in New York

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭Bunny Colvin

The time to grow it was a couple of years ago during the Horan era. That being said, I don't think the following we've built up during the last few years is going away. We now consistently have one of the biggest followings in the country, league games, or for the latter stages in Croke Park. Fair play to McGarry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭PressRun

naughto wrote: »
    Ya the county board are rotten to the core. What difference in taking this mans money but not from a fella in New York

Cos he's a media figure who tweeted about it and it gained traction. It forced their hand.

I'm going to hold my optimism on this until we see where the money ends up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 683 ✭✭✭Rockfish

naughto wrote: »

Corrupt? i presume you're being sarcastic? :confused: The situation with the fella in NY is completely different. Friend of mine got a ticket off him for the replay, had the name of on eof the players on it, he's giving big bucks to individual players it seems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 737 ✭✭✭ethical

Has anyone noticed all the money the County Board makes from "ticketless matches" usually underage competitions.I was recently at McHale Park,on a very wet Friday night where 4 minor teams put on a wonderful display of football.The biscuit tin had been replaced by a "saddle bag",money was grabbed,no ticket was handed over ......and there were about 2000 people in attendance that particular night,nice money if you can get it!!!!!!!! Mayo will never win anything when this sort of sh!t goes on,screw everyone and then screw them again and again.DISGUSTING!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,735 ✭✭✭Fowler87

Too many auld lads still involved who are too set in their ways, has hindered Mayo GAA progress outside of the field for years. The mess created at fundraising events in New York and elsewhere is already known about. So for this to happen is a massive boost. Maybe they're finally getting sense. Fair play to the lad McGarry. Mighty gesture:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,234 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

mayo.mick wrote: »

Really great service that streaming.

6 to 4 to Castlebar at HT by the way

Mitchells running away with it. Impressive win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,440 ✭✭✭✭km79

Mitchells running away with it. Impressive win.

Is there any particular reason Neil Douglas has not been given a proper go in the league for Mayo ?
    Has to be worth another look
    Paddy durkan had an outstanding game too
    1 3 from play