Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy Chit Chat- Please read Mod note in post #1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Keepgrowing

OverRide wrote: »
    How come you attend liquid milk meetings if you're not a liquid supplier?

Btw someone should tell that person that spoke that avoiding calving cows on Xmas day or at any time in mid to late December and early January isn't rocket science,just lock up the Bull/Semen fridge in march
    Works wonders

Winter supplier so in same game. No harm to have a listen

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭farmerjj

Calving at 30 mths, bananas.

He was probably the lad who spoke from the floor of the liquid meeting the other night. Told us how hard work liquid is calving all yr round and how it's fooked as no young lad is prepared to calve cows Christmas Day.

He's dead right, young lads have a lot more cop on than that.

Why is calving at 30months "bananas"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,185 ✭✭✭blackdog1

mahoney_j wrote:
    See the latest willy waving reports are up (Coop performance )output per cow up 3.3% litres wise and sokids sold up 3.5% to 458 kg on nearly 80 kg less meal per head .84% cows. Alved in 6 weeks ,100% heifers calved down at 22/24 months this ebi fad and Holsteins working its magic for me anyway . Few things stood out ,average supplier in my coop only 296 kg ms sold ,14.2 ltrs milk produced ,3.35% protein ,6 week calving rate 62% and only 56% heifers calved at 22/24 months .......

Hate to say it mahoney_j but those others probably are high ebi too. Right cow right management is key. High ebi is no good if managed wrong

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

farmerjj wrote: »

Because you're wasting money and they get too big and they're harder to get in calf in the future because of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,609 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Calving at 30 mths, bananas.

He was probably the lad who spoke from the floor of the liquid meeting the other night. Told us how hard work liquid is calving all yr round and how it's fooked as no young lad is prepared to calve cows Christmas Day.

He's dead right, young lads have a lot more cop on than that.

Losing out on 6 months worth of milk along with having an extra bunch of fully grown stock around the place eating but not bringing anything back. Have too many of em here in the last few years. Slowly putting a stop to it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,609 ✭✭✭Mooooo

pedigree 6 wrote: »

Because you're wasting money and they get too big and they're harder to get in calf in the future because of it.
    Wouldn't be gone on the harder to get in calf part. Have cows here that calved at 30 months that have 370 day intervals since. If they were bulling to calve at 24 months and didn't hold that's a different story

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,704 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

blackdog1 wrote: »
    Hate to say it mahoney_j but those others probably are high ebi too. Right cow right management is key. High ebi is no good if managed wrong

Management def key ,won't agree or disagree on ebi as I genuinely don't know be nice to see if that data could be got .interesting stat from coop farm walk in my place last spring on my top ebi cows. V lowest .highest ebi cows all calved consistently in Feb with high conception rates whereas my later calving cows were my lowest ebi ,had lowest fertility sub index and took 3/4 serves to go in calf ......

Mooooo wrote: »
    Wouldn't be gone on the harder to get in calf part. Have cows here that calved at 30 months that have 370 day intervals since. If they were bulling to calve at 24 months and didn't hold that's a different story

I think it's the bigger frame part and maybe put on too much condition.
    We tried a few, years ago and they were harder get in calf the next lactation or the lactation after. But they never lasted here whereas the heifers that calves down at 2year old are usually grand.
    But it was probably a management problem with them letting them get too fat.
    Same as not calving at 2 year old a management problem.

The montbeliarde is the same. People let them get too big and calve them down at 30 or 36 months and fertility is never the same after. So now they're trying to breed a Monty like a Bf small and thick as they last longer.
    We bought Monty xbreds calves and fed them well and calved them at 2 and the seller couldn't believe how we did that as he never did that. We still have a few 9th calvers here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 665 ✭✭✭OverRide

Winter supplier so in same game. No harm to have a listen

Oh True!
    What advantage does Glanbia give you for winter milking if you do that,are you contracted to a certain amount
    I presume you're in the fixed price schemes too,are they inside or outside the winter contract?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,185 ✭✭✭blackdog1

mahoney_j wrote:
    Management def key ,won't agree or disagree on ebi as I genuinely don't know be nice to see if that data could be got .interesting stat from coop farm walk in my place last spring on my top ebi cows. V lowest .highest ebi cows all calved consistently in Feb with high conception rates whereas my later calving cows were my lowest ebi ,had lowest fertility sub index and took 3/4 serves to go in calf ......

Thing is like it or not you have to get high ebi bulls because that's pretty much all Ai companies are selling. I'd say 90% of farmers are using bulls over 200 ebi because that's what the sales men are selling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

whelan2 wrote: »
    Some lads make things so hard on themselves. 2 strict groups of calving here . Calving interval of 380 according to icbf report last night. Few carry over cows increasing that

That's good going Whelan. Not so long ago you had three calving groups I think and calving for a good portion of the year. 380 is respectable, I'd be well pleased if I was getting close to it. Still over 400 here. Going back to winter calving as we're at the limit of what the farm can carry over the summer if drought hits as normal. We'll be buying feed from next summer on. No way we'll be able to grow enough on our own land base.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,704 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Thing is like it or not you have to get high ebi bulls because that's pretty much all Ai companies are selling. I'd say 90% of farmers are using bulls over 200 ebi because that's what the sales men are selling.

Good. Variety of Bulls in all catalagoues from high ebi to high type to X Breds etc .farmer has to educate himself on his herds shortcomings before picking Bulls .i usually have most of my Bulls picked in janurary once year end milk records and ebi reports are in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,123 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Not in all cases, ai rep here is a mine of information on bulls from usa/canada/england, has a bull bible book that contains some amount of info

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

That's good going Whelan. Not so long ago you had three calving groups I think and calving for a good portion of the year. 380 is respectable, I'd be well pleased if I was getting close to it. Still over 400 here. Going back to winter calving as we're at the limit of what the farm can carry over the summer if drought hits as normal. We'll be buying feed from next summer on. No way we'll be able to grow enough on our own land base.

Still at 410 here. One good HO who has justifiably carried over from Feb 2015 until late next March adds about 4.5 onto that figure tho ha!

I can't remember what thread I possibly read this on here, if I buy a fixed capital item from up north, I obviously cannot claim back the vat on it right? Is there any way I can get the vat removed from it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

mahoney_j wrote: »
    I noticed the same thing earlier this year, all the earlier calves are the high EBI ones and the later ones drop consistently downwards to the end.

That's despite using the same team of bulls through the herd.

Infertility is breeding itself out of the herd:)

Timmaay wrote: »
    I can't remember what thread I possibly read this on here, if I buy a fixed capital item from up north, I obviously cannot claim back the vat on it right? Is there any way I can get the vat removed from it?

Nope
    The only way you can get UK vat taken off stuff from the North is if you are vat registered in the Republic ,by giving them your Vat number

(I sent you a pm the other day btw...)

Nope
    The only way you can get UK vat taken off stuff from the North is if you are vat registered in the Republic ,by giving them your Vat number

If you're friendly with a tillage farmer/contractor who id vat reg maybe they could bring in the item and sell it to you. You then have a vat invoice for your claim.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭farmerjj

pedigree 6 wrote: »

I ,d disagree always feel if you got a heifer calving down at 2yrs you gotta push them to get them up to weight for breeding where you have no need on pushing a 6month older heifer, and usually they produce more milk in year one, i would,nt go back to 2yr old heifer calving,s unless heifer is strong.

I had my best spring calving ever this year.
    I just looked up my report on ICBF.

Calving Interval 363.
    6 week calving 84%
    63% female 36% male Non ai.

mostly fr/ho type a few monty type, commercial type.

Will I ever see a spring like it again? Don't know, hope so.

I ,d disagree always feel if you got a heifer calving down at 2yrs you gotta push them to get them up to weight for breeding where you have no need on pushing a 6month older heifer, and usually they produce more milk in year one, i would,nt go back to 2yr old heifer calving,s unless heifer is strong.

You're welcome to visit.

Calves here get thrown out to grass about 10/12wks old (once weather ok), 1kg of meal (18%p always) and fresh leafy grass kept in front of them the whole time, 2nd year the meal comes out and by this time of the year I'm starting to hold them back, getting ready to calf down at 2yr old. I certainly wouldn't call that pushing them. We use to always have a few sows end up not calving down until 3yr, at a guess you'd have less than a 50 50 chance of getting them past a 2nd lactation.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,860 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

If you're friendly with a tillage farmer/contractor who id vat reg maybe they could bring in the item and sell it to you. You then have a vat invoice for your claim.

Is this 100% legal though?

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 607 ✭✭✭jack o shea

Is anyone gone once a day yet lads? Thinking of it from Sunday on. On another note has anyone put up a shed lately?have an old dung stead in good order the concrete floor and walls, was thinking of making a straw bed 4 bay shed, any one care to give a rough guess on the cost of steel, timbers and Sheeting? Thanks.

Oh True!
    What advantage does Glanbia give you for winter milking if you do that,are you contracted to a certain amount
    I presume you're in the fixed price schemes too,are they inside or outside the winter contract?

I've a contracted volume to supply. It's split from Oct 1 to Dec 31 and Jan 1 to mid Feb. you can supply all in any month Oct/Dec in one month and get that bonus but you'll not get other if you don't supply in Jan/Feb.

We have some fixed price but that in no way affects the winter bonus.

Base
    + fixed
    + solids
    + Contract bonus

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

I think if you're buying from a vat registered business you should be charged the appropriate vat rate on the equipment by the seller.

Just looking at the Journal ads now, some tractor prices are specified as being ex vat so if a non vat registered farmer buys that tractor, he would have to be charged the vat on top.

I stand to be corrected on that though.

Grow the calf, grow the cow.
    If there's a time to push an animal it's in the first 2 years and that's when she'll respond to good nutrition.

Get up to 8-900 gms of milk powder and copious amounts of conc pre weaning
    Fresh grass every 4 days with after grass from early June. Timely dosing, top quality silage with smaller ones separated and you'll get heifers calving at 22-25 mths no bother

blue5000 wrote: »

As long as it's not a company I can't see the problem. Different with a company as there could be a technical problem with company charter or articles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,445 ✭✭✭Waffletraktor

blue5000 wrote: »

As long as it's not a company I can't see the problem. Different with a company as there could be a technical problem with company charter or articles.
    If your mate kept it a few months and sold it on then as not fit for purpose it was purchased for?

I've a contracted volume to supply. It's split from Oct 1 to Dec 31 and Jan 1 to mid Feb. you can supply all in any month Oct/Dec in one month and get that bonus but you'll not get other if you don't supply in Jan/Feb.

We have some fixed price but that in no way affects the winter bonus.

Base
    + fixed
    + solids
    + Contract bonus
    Is that with Glanbia? Is it a similar bonus to liquid contract,it's the same timescale as liquid except with the latter it's all of February?