Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Third & Final US Presidential Debate

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,586 ✭✭✭4068ac1elhodqr

Think the Moderator won, no one else.
    I'd like to have seen some cats or jugglers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,653 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

Billy86 wrote: »
    Obama is a 'n*gger', Trump would find it impossible to believe people want 4 more years of anything even like that.

0.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,520 ✭✭✭learn_more

It's so funny watching Fox News. They have to talk in favour of Republicans but my God, you can see they are finding it very very difficult. I don't think we'll ever see anything like this ever again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

Overheal wrote: »
    You really should redact that post.

Oh don't get me wrong, it's not my opinion at all - it's Trumps, disgusting filth that he is. He is well known to have used that term many times, and is Birther In Chief.

Not many impartial people here tonight.

Well, I mean we're over a year into this thing, after the final debate... it would be genuinely odd to not have picked a side by now.

Act like a scumbag, get treated like a scumbag. Follow that up by spending the guts of 90 minutes making an utter fool of yourself in front of the world, and it's to be expected.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 259 ✭✭flogthebog

Obama is a 'n*gger', Trump would find it impossible to believe people want 4 more years of anything even like that.

Wow.

Jesus these "members of the public" are bloody terrifying...
    (abc news)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,603 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

I thought he did well

futuramafry.jpg

Act like a scumbag, get treated like a scumbag. Follow that up by spending the guts of 90 minutes making an utter fool of yourself in front of the world, and it's to be expected.

Wow again

Overheal wrote: »
    You really should redact that post.

For what it's worth, I have since reported my own post (didn't know you could)! :p

Just say what you think, don't hold back...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,988 ✭✭✭Enzokk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,188 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

I think objectively Trump is a terrible candidate to be President.

Clinton made him look foolish tonight, even more so than the first debate.

flogthebog wrote: »
    Wow.

The real wow is how up until a few months ago he was still claiming the first black President of the US must have been born in another country. As I said... act like a scumbag, get treated like a scumbag.

For what it's worth, I have since reported my own post (didn't know you could)! :p

I have reported your posts on your behalf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,996 ✭✭✭Duck Soup

Lovely quote from the Republican strategist Nicole Wallace: "Basically tonight he lay down in a coffin with a hammer and nails and hammered the lid shut."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,725 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

The immediate reaction from MediaITE's online poll (before spoofing has good chances of taking place)

399601.PNG

Ah the bookie traders are back in from their smoke break, some slight drifting (or value) now on Trumptown, 5.5 but no 6.0 as of yet.

Screen_Shot_2016_10_20_at_03_54_54.png

Wonder what will happen if folks decide to void, or just not to bother voting due to universal lack of appeal.

Polling is done among likely voters, so it's not a direct function of voter turnout. Probably won't see any wildly off variation from projections.

Clinton will become President.

And if that doesn't happen... Clinton will become President.

I know you like value bets, but there is absolutely none to be had on Trump in this one. It's been finished for a few weeks now, and is only going to get worse for him.

Thats pretty much what already happens. Last election had about a 42% turnout. There's never been a turnout higher than 45%.

U.S._Vote_for_President_as_Population_Share.jpg

Initially voting laws were very draconian, limited to land owners, etc etc

~Rebel~ wrote: »
    Thats pretty much what already happens. Last election had about a 42% turnout. There's never been a turnout higher than 45%.

Actually this is slightly off, as that figure doesn't entirely take into account ineligible voters - the estimated figure of just eligible voters for the last election was more like 53% turnout for 2012. Which is still pretty horrendous.
    (We're not much better to be honest though).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,902 ✭✭✭✭8-10

Jason Miller on FoxNews is hilarious right now

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,897 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

Is it too late to introduce a 3rd candidate? Anyone would do...
    Well, I'm voting for Johnson. Then again, I live in California, so it's not as if it matters much, but even if I were in a swing state, there's no way I'd vote of either of the two. Unfortunately, the way the 'rules' work around here, it's a self-defeating circle. You can't get a third party up on the stage because they're not 'big enough' to deserve it. But until you can get that third party visibility to show its stuff, they can't get big enough... So, maybe my vote will help for four years from now.

Unsurprisingly, Clinton brought out the stereotypical 'for the children' gun control crap saying that Heller was about keeping guns away from toddlers. Oddly, the word "toddler" or "child" does not appear once in the holding opinion, given the case had nothing to do with it.

I'll be fairly surprised if she doesn't win at this point, Trump just does himself in without any help from anyone else. But, that said, don't underestimate her unappeal to folks in mid-range places like Ohio. Trump's a blowhard, got it. This debate isn't going to convince more people of that, as I think it's already well cemented. But Clinton has to avoid pissing off those who aren't coastal liberals. She doesn't have people excited about voting for her so she has the solid base who don't need her to talk about such things in order to vote for her, but, she really needs to avoid encouraging people to vote against her.

Trevor Noah is on fire tonight. I'll try to post the clip when I find one.

8-10 wrote: »
    Jason Miller on FoxNews is hilarious right now

Who is this utter cretin!? :D

"He's not alienating female voters with his comments" Just.......................

EDIT: Oh, did't know he's on the Trump team. Makes sense now, at least.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,475 ✭✭✭Elliott S

learn_more wrote: »
    It's so funny watching Fox News. They have to talk in favour of Republicans but my God, you can see they are finding it very very difficult. I don't think we'll ever see anything like this ever again.

Yer wan from Breitbart on the Channel 4 coverage was struggling too and distanced herself from his election results and rigging comments.
    Duck Soup wrote: »
    Lovely quote from the Republican strategist Nicole Wallace: "Basically tonight he lay down in a coffin with a hammer and nails and hammered the lid shut."

Not all that eloquent but interesting!