Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy Chit Chat- Please read Mod note in post #1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

It takes some one special to become a mod, the kinda guy that wears a hi vid and takes control of parking at a funeral :):)
    Every parish has one or two
    I don't go to funerals anymore.

They wouldn't give me a hi-vis jacket:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

Date 13/10/2016 B/FAT-4.47 PROT-3.96 LACT-4.59 SCC-91 UREA-29

Doing 18L with 3.6kgs meal. No silage yet

Date 13/10
    BFAT 4.05
    PROT 3.73
    LACT 4.74
    SCC 121
    MILK UREA 39
    LITRES/COW 19.1
    3kgs 16% meal 1kg rolled barley
    Getting silage for 1 hour after each milking.

Dissappointed with pr% took a dive when introduced silage. Was 3.85 on grass went back to 3.7 when started but coming up again. Feed 1 kg barley in troughs with wheelbarrow and plastic plum pudding container (came in at 1 kg when full):D and then pull 1 kg of meal on top when cows are in for the morning milking.
    Unusually enough am starting to wonder about the meal some cows have more milk in the evening milking than morning and milked 8.30am and 5.30pm.
    I'm lazy I know, milking lasts 50 minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,705 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

pedigree 6 wrote: »
    Date 13/10
    BFAT 4.05
    PROT 3.73
    LACT 4.74
    SCC 121
    MILK UREA 39
    LITRES/COW 19.1
    3kgs 16% meal 1kg rolled barley
    Getting silage for 1 hour after each milking.

Dissappointed with pr% took a dive when introduced silage. Was 3.85 on grass went back to 3.7 when started but coming up again. Feed 1 kg barley in troughs with wheelbarrow and plastic plum pudding container (came in at 1 kg when full):D and then pull 1 kg of meal on top when cows are in for the morning milking.
    Unusually enough am starting to wonder about the meal some cows have more milk in the evening milking than morning and milked 8.30am and 5.30pm.
    I'm lazy I know, milking lasts 50 minutes.

Don't get feeding the barley with the 16% nut whichbin all likelihood contains barley ???,will pull back ur protein% too of overall meal going

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

mahoney_j wrote: »
    Don't get feeding the barley with the 16% nut whichbin all likelihood contains barley ???,will pull back ur protein% too of overall meal going

Well I suppose
    1 it's cheaper.
    And 2 I needed extra energy which the grass this time of year has none.

And I had a problem of way too high milk urea so put it in to bring it down.
    I was spreading too close to grazing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 334 ✭✭C4d78

Signpost wrote: »
    What type of teat spray do ye all use? I've been using Deosan Teatfoam but at 47 euro per 20 litres I'm getting a bit fed up of the price. On pre & post spraying this time of the year so I know its good for that but going forward next year when just on post surely a good cheaper alternative? I've no scc issues for years here so the spray is prob working alright but still very hard to justify the expense of it

Have been using Deosan Teatfoam too for a few years but tried changing away from it this Summer with low milk price.
    Let's just say it ended up costing me more in the long run with treatment costs and dumped milk as a result of cheaper product.
    Lesson learned. If it ain't broken.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 334 ✭✭C4d78

What are lads planning on doing with empty cows this year. Prices of cows straight from parlour in marts at the moment seems to be on the floor.
    Will ye dry soon and try put some flesh on them and then take to mart or will most milk them on until drying off before Christmas break.
    If they got a month on an outside block with just grass would they add much value or would they need to be getting meal also.
    Don't want to have them over the winter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,609 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Locked up here but will sell some to feedlot in next week or so, will milk on more on winter diet and factory around Xmas or the new year and will roll over a few more milkier ones to calve next Oct. Will use beef straws on them. They will allow me to serve for just the 4 weeks to keep autumn calving compact

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,143 ✭✭✭RightTurnClyde

blue5000 wrote: »
    4wd, windows, doors etc.

....roof :):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Keepgrowing

C4d78 wrote: »
    What are lads planning on doing with empty cows this year. Prices of cows straight from parlour in marts at the moment seems to be on the floor.
    Will ye dry soon and try put some flesh on them and then take to mart or will most milk them on until drying off before Christmas break.
    If they got a month on an outside block with just grass would they add much value or would they need to be getting meal also.
    Don't want to have them over the winter.

Scan done, test done so seperate and sell to a feeder. Will sort them next week. Will sell some immediately and another bunch at Christmas. Will not feed them under any circumstance.

Use Lactospray here comes ready to use. Can be used post or pre. €1200 for an 1000 litres and will do the year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,748 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

What are culls making straight from parlour now ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,827 ✭✭✭visatorro

whelan2 wrote: »

Big frame cows 700, lighter smaller frame cows 450/500, ex yard outta the parlour.

visatorro wrote: »
    Big frame cows 700, lighter smaller frame cows 450/500, ex yard outta the parlour.
    pm me the number please

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 811 ✭✭✭yewtree

Have a few empty young cows. Half thinking of bulling in November and selling next August. A few lads in DG said there would be market in UK for them. Anyone expierence doing this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

Feck that, old jeep only way to go, heater,radio,coffee....luxury.

3rd year with 23 yr old trooper cost me 450, quad too dangerous on hills here, I always prefered motorbikes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

100-150 below weight as a rule with exceptions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Seems to be almost no end of incalf heifers for sale on DD, for in around 1100 asking! I'm scanning in a week or so, at least I know if it doesn't go well I've plenty of options!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,796 ✭✭✭stanflt

Timmaay wrote: »
    Seems to be almost no end of incalf heifers for sale on DD, for in around 1100 asking! I'm scanning in a week or so, at least I know if it doesn't go well I've plenty of options!

Neighbour bought 5 milkers for less than 5k in carnaross last Thursday- no demand for cows

Timmaay wrote: »

Tim they're making much much more. Heifers calving in Feb/mar selling last week for €1500 xbred that is though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

They seem to be dearer this time of the year, find better value in feb-april calved down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,796 ✭✭✭stanflt

Tim they're making much much more. Heifers calving in Feb/mar selling last week for €1500 xbred that is though

Did you try buying or selling them????

140 cows on offer at sale last week- less than 60 sold

I've 40 incalf for sale that I would happily let go at 1500 today- avg ebi 180 80 milk index etc and most on bull contract

stanflt wrote: »

I've 40 incalf for sale that I would happily let go at 1500 today- avg ebi 180 80 milk index etc and most on bull contract
    See the Monamore sale is on in a week or 2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

The few xbred for sale with an asking price are around 1300, if I was to buy in I'd happily pay the bit extra for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,705 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

stanflt wrote: »

Any nice pkk stock in that bunch .......

Grasstec I think are looking for xbred stock to export.

Cows went thru the strip wire last night the feckers, reduced there days out by a day. If it wasn't for this dry spell coming they'd be going in this week, a lot of rain after falling in the last 3 days

It made a lot of rain here last night, puddles everywhere and the cows lying down around 3 ditches and not inclined to come in for milking.

Little enough damage though.

It made a lot of rain here last night, puddles everywhere and the cows lying down around 3 ditches and not inclined to come in for milking.

Little enough damage though.
    Mine were like lunatics yeaterday evening, pushing up in the parlour. Time to dry off some of the first calvers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,851 ✭✭✭✭Water John

All cattle react negatively to weather. Sucklers got very restless yesterday evening and had to be moved before they moved themselves.

Mine were like lunatics yeaterday evening, pushing up in the parlour. Time to dry off some of the first calvers
    Mine are gone fierce lazy. Coming in to milking doing only 1km/h and standing chewing the cud with the gate open to go out. The last 3-4 in every round have to be driven in as well.

I'm trying to keep them out for another while as I'm trying to finish a short roadway to connect up with the farm roads and allow me to do on/off grazing. Atm, the cows have to go through the dry cattle shed at the feed face so there is a lot of driving cattle around the place to get the cows in and out.