Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pobol y Cwm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,503 ✭✭✭✭Also Starring LeVar Burton

Jesus I hate that lady that's treating her bf like **** the ones who were looking at buying the flat recently.

Pure emotional abusive rap, he should kick her out the door!

Sioned and Ed - they seem to be ramping up to a domestic abuse storyline there, although there's more to it than Sioned just being nasty - Ed killed someone (which Mark went to jail for, until new evidence proved it wasn't him) and when Sioned found out she stood by Ed (her fiancée at the time) so they're the only two who know the truth currently, but then right before their wedding Ed went and slept with Sioned's sister, Sioned found out and married him regardless and then he went and slept with Sarah (but I don't think anyone knows about that).

So essentially Sioned is blackmailing Ed into staying with her to save face and also because I think she does genuinely love him, but due to the circumstances that love has become a bit skewed. He's not exactly Mr. Innocent though - don't feel too bad for him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 370 ✭✭The Wolverine

Oh my the plot thickens :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,503 ✭✭✭✭Also Starring LeVar Burton

I actually felt a bit sorry for Ed the past couple of weeks, despite everything, but looks like he's well and truly gone off the deep end now.

The festival was a bit cringey - they could've done with a few dozen more extras. Good to see Courtney reappear though, she's been awol for a couple of months now (I wonder if the actress was doing exams or something this year).

Yeah that was some belt she got off the wall :eek:

Started watching round a round last night had 4 episodes built up. Was a little bit hesitant first few minutes but got to like it too. It hasn't as much of the Hollyoaks feel as I feared.

It's like the soap/drama intensity of Pobol upped maybe 10\15% will stick with it for now

Would ye be interested if I started a thread for it?

Have like 2 weeks worth of Ros Na Ruin to watch yet :p

Started watching round a round last night had 4 episodes built up. Was a little bit hesitant first few minutes but got to like it too. It hasn't as much of the Hollyoaks feel as I feared.

It's like the soap/drama intensity of Pobol upped maybe 10\15% will stick with it for now

Would ye be interested if I started a thread for it?

Ah yeah, start a thread for it anyway - I only started watching it myself right before it took it's summer break, so I still don't know all of the characters or anything, but I'm sure I'll stick with it, it's definitely got it's own charm.

What was Sion Whites story? What was his job and what did he go to prison for?

He looks like a lad that would play a vicar

What was Sion Whites story? What was his job and what did he go to prison for?

He looks like a lad that would play a vicar

Don't think he was actually a Vicar, but he was essentially the face of the church and led most of their services - he also does translation work for his main job though. He never went to prison, but he was found guilty of embezzling money from the church to buy the pub (and then there was a whole thing where Megan found out and he panicked to get the money back so she'd keep quiet about it, which is how Garry got involved and now owns the pub). He was married to Britt (Garry's sister) and their marriage essentially fell apart on account of the whole situation. He got found out by the police when Chester (Britt's son) found out about everything and ratted Sion out. Then I can't really remember why but Chester was pissed at Sion and Garry so burned down the chapel while all 3 of them were inside in a weird revenge, which is why they had the festival to raise money for the church. Anyway, Sion went to trial and was given a suspended sentence with something like 7 months house arrest, which is when he went a bit doolally feeling that wasn't punishment enough gave away everything in his gaff for free.

Hope that clears things up slightly (missed a bit of the middle of that story myself, so bit hazy on some of the details)

Thanks for the info :)

What is the point of that Dol or at least the actress, she speaks more English than Welsh

Also is the title translated as "People of Cwmderi" ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,038 ✭✭✭Go Harvey Go

Also is the title translated as "People of Cwmderi" ?

People of the Valley. :)

When it was briefly shown nationwide on BBC2 in 1994, it was billed as just that - if it had been billed as Pobol y Cwm, it probably would have attracted fewer non-Welsh viewers. ;)

What is the point of that Dol or at least the actress, she speaks more English than Welsh

Dol was brought into it last year and her general story is that she learned Welsh in school so understands fairly well, but doesn't have a lot of confidence speaking it - she asked everyone in the village when she first arrived to only speak Welsh to her as it'd help her learn faster and gradually she has spoken more and more Welsh since she arrived (she hasn't been in it that long - less than a year I think). It's common enough that a lot of Welsh people are like that and the producers wanted to represent it in the series - pretty much the same for a lot of people with Gaeilge actually, people understand more than they can speak.

I think the actress who plays Dol isn't a fluent Welsh speaker anyway, so she's similar to the character - actually spotted her in Miss Peregrine's Home For Peculiar Children when I watched the other day, she had a very small cameo in it.

Oh that's interesting a nice story angle so

How is Sion Chester's grandfather? Does he have another son who was with Brit?

Brit locking in Dani gave me a good smile, whatever about others not wanting him at the wedding I think she doesn't want him there as it will wreck her whole "wedding planner" wedding day

How is Sion Chester's grandfather? Does he have another son who was with Brit?

Sion was Chester's Stepfather - Sion and Britt were married. Sion is Granddad to Arwen (Ffion's daughter). He has 2 other sons (Macs & Huw) other than Iolo who have both left the show - I think Macs is Ffion's dad, he seems to get a mention every so often. There's been at least 2 actors who have played Macs, but originally he was played by Iwan Rheon (best known as Simon from Misfits & Ramsay Bolton from Game of Thrones).

Wow some good acting talent has come from there so, Ioan Gruffudd too

Yeah, as far as I know, Ioan Gruffudd and Iwan Rheon are the two biggest names to have been in it, but that's not bad going.

Believe it or not there was actually a crossover week of Pobol Y Cwm and Ros na Rún at one point there (12 years ago) to celebrate the Celtic Languages. I think the general plot was that several of the Cwmderi gang travelled to Spiddal for some reason or other, but Iwan Rheon was one of them (of the current Pobol cast I believe Sion and Dai were there). Róise (as you can probably guess from the picture) and Peadar were definitely involved from the Ros na Rún side, but not sure who else - I'd assume Tadhg, Séamus and Máire would've been a part of it anyway.

FqOKRs.jpg

Holy Cliffhanger Batman!

Usually watch the following day 6pm episode, but as I'm off working for another soap opera next week, decided to catch 8pm episode of Pobol y Cwm on the player as I probably won't get a chance to watch any of next week's until next weekend when I'm back home again, but after that ending might have to try to keep up to date while I'm away...

I'll spoiler this, just in case ye won't see it until the Monday 6pm subtitled airing, but
    if they kill off Courtney to protect Ed and Sioned I'll be so disappointed. If someone has to die, why can't it just be Gwyneth - she does my head in

On a side note, I've started doing Welsh lessons on the Duolingo app there last week and I'm pleasantly surprised with the amount I had already kinda picked up from Pobol y Cwm and Rownd a Rownd subconciously.

Argh, thanks to shockingly bad internet access, can't watch any of the post wedding aftermath until the weekend, and just went to message a friend on twitter, but first thing that popped up on my twitter feed was a huge spoiler from Pobol y Cwm and now I'm just raging at myself for going near twitter to begin with. #FirstWorldSoapOperaProblems

On the plus side, I just realised its only 7 weeks from today the first episodes of Ros na Run I worked on kick off, so that cheered me up somewhat.

If your man looking after refugees is true to life will he bring one back who will end up being an ISIS fanatic and blowing up Dai's hardware shop :D

As much as I didn't want to see Courtney go, the aftermath has been great so far, although I think its a tad out of character for DJ to be such a dick about everything, regardless of how much he hates Eifion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,807 ✭✭✭Jurgen Klopp

Jesus Jim's family is all kinds of fecked up

He had a child with Angela but is now with her mother?! Oh my God :eek:

Oh I was trying to research did that Meic die only recent enough and he owned the bar and cafe? Who did Garry buy the pub off?

Also the awkward moment when you have a genuine change of your ways only for your mother to nearly kill the one person who gave you a chance and made you want to reform :P

#kevin

I suppose what's gonna happen is when Sioned is found out to be lying and the one attacking Ed, once she says he killed someone and attacked Gwenyth no one will believe her and think she's telling more lies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

Is the one who plays Sheryl actually bald in real life? If not, that's good make up.

Ok, need some help, if anyone can oblige.

I haven't watched Pobol y Cwm in nearly a year, but trying to get back in to it and currently catching up with the last few weeks on the S4C player, but so far I've got one big question (I may have one or two more over the next few weeks)... How did the story with Sioned and Ed end? and is Ed still in the show? Thanks in advance.

Sorry haven't looked in here in ages as there was no action.

Sioned kept physically and emotionally abusing Ed to the point where the village believed her except Anita's niece Kelly, who had walked in on her beating Ed.

The village bought her story as Sioned was thrown down the flat stairs and Ed found her. However it was in fact Gwen the one that was engaged to Sion White that did it as she overheard Sioned and Ed talking about how it was he that attacked Gwen in the alley if you remember and knocked her out in a random fit of rage

Anyway Ed went to the local cliffs and left his personal effects on the edge in a suicide, however a body was never recovered so I assume there's scope that he faked his death but nothing so far.

Eventually the village found out it was Sioned that was abusing Ed and she was outcast, can't remember how think Kelly voice recorded her.

If you have anymore questions feel free to PM me as I might not look in here

Sorry haven't looked in here in ages as there was no action.

Sioned kept physically and emotionally abusing Ed to the point where the village believed her except Anita's niece Kelly, who had walked in on her beating Ed.

The village bought her story as Sioned was thrown down the flat stairs and Ed found her. However it was in fact Gwen the one that was engaged to Sion White that did it as she overheard Sioned and Ed talking about how it was he that attacked Gwen in the alley if you remember and knocked her out in a random fit of rage

Anyway Ed went to the local cliffs and left his personal effects on the edge in a suicide, however a body was never recovered so I assume there's scope that he faked his death but nothing so far.

Eventually the village found out it was Sioned that was abusing Ed and she was outcast, can't remember how think Kelly voice recorded her.

If you have anymore questions feel free to PM me as I might not look in here

Excellent, thank you. :D

That was really the only thing that I was wondering about, as I managed to piece pretty much everything else together from the stuff I caught up on, on the player...