Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mouse under my bed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Biggest risk with poison is that they die inside your house. Not always easy to find. The smell is rancous. Serious. You'd want to move out. Never mind the ethical issue of letting them die horribly instead of an instant neck break.

Fuzzy Clam wrote: »
    I've caught 2 meece in the last few days under the sink.
    There's at least one more though and this little beggar has learnt how to get the peanut butter off the trap without setting it off.
    I opened the door earlier on and there it was nibbling away happily.

Try tying a piece of rasher rind around the bait, they will pull on it (sometimes set the trap off without getting hit though). But they keep working at it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,293 ✭✭✭Fuzzy Clam

Try tying a piece of rasher rind around the bait, they will pull on it (sometimes set the trap off without getting hit though). But they keep working at it.

After posting the message here earlier , I went into the hall and my dog was looking under the sideboard. Sure enough, the mouse was under it.
    Funny thing is, now any time I say to my dog "where's the mouse?", she goes starts looking under all the furniture. :)
    I've another problem as well, I put down 2 traps last week and I can't remember where the 2nd trap is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 259 ✭✭howdoyouknow

Fuzzy Clam wrote:
    After posting the message here earlier , I went into the hall and my dog was looking under the sideboard. Sure enough, the mouse was under it. Funny thing is, now any time I say to my dog "where's the mouse?", she goes starts looking under all the furniture. I've another problem as well, I put down 2 traps last week and I can't remember where the 2nd trap is.

Ask the dog

Fuzzy Clam wrote: »
    After posting the message here earlier , I went into the hall and my dog was looking under the sideboard. Sure enough, the mouse was under it.
    Funny thing is, now any time I say to my dog "where's the mouse?", she goes starts looking under all the furniture. :)
    I've another problem as well, I put down 2 traps last week and I can't remember where the 2nd trap is.

haha! We had stables when I was a teenager and the mice would run straight up the walls, our Lab Fionn was obsessed and a bit scared of them. Shout "mouse!" at him, he'd start running around looking at corners, in the house as well!

I had a friend who lived in a shack more or less in Stoneybatter. The gaff barely had a roof on it. They poisoned the rat that they saw in the kitchen. It died behind the fridge. Three years later I think there is an aftertaste when I think about it. You do not want rotting rodents in your floorboards.

Also traps are more humane. They kill instantly instead of letting the poor little mouse basically get the worst hangover known to man. And die from it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,325 ✭✭✭iLikeWaffles

maudgonner wrote: »

That where Madness got heir inspiration from.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,438 ✭✭✭corner of hells

I had a friend who lived in a shack more or less in Stoneybatter. The gaff barely had a roof on it. They poisoned the rat that they saw in the kitchen. It died behind the fridge. Three years later I think there is an aftertaste when I think about it. You do not want rotting rodents in your floorboards.

Also traps are more humane. They kill instantly instead of letting the poor little mouse basically get the worst hangover known to man. And die from it.

Reminds me of time I was rewiring a school and one of our apprentices lifted a cieling tile only to have a rat jump out of the cieling void in front of him , bounce of his shoulder and make a run for it.

I'm still not the better of it 20 years later.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

Why the fck have I read this thread. Major case of the heebeegeebees now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,439 ✭✭✭tupenny

I've heard of them being poisoned and heading for the tank in the attick for water...
    I'd def be going with the traps!!

tupenny wrote: »
    I've heard of them being poisoned and heading for the tank in the attick for water...
    I'd def be going with the traps!!

Unless your drinking out of the toilet what's the bother?

Don't you brush your teeth in the bathroom? And shower with that water?

Don't shower or brush me teeth :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭Stigura

Just went to get tomorrows dinner out of the freezer. Nice steak.

Came up with a bag of frozen mice. Nope!

Stigura wrote: »

read that as frozen ice lol.

What? You keep snakes too then?

How!! I'm confused!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,597 ✭✭✭gctest50

That's where the water for your nice warm bath comes from

or toothpaste tasting a bit off these days ?

from elsewhere :

I changed a couples boiler back in Jan from gravity sytem to sealed combination.

I was up in the loft removing the cold water storage tank, when I found this...a very dead rat in the [attic tank]. They'd been brushing their teeth and bathing with the fella for a long time.

I vacumed him up, he was like sludge.

pic of same - DON'T Click etc

Budges; Canaries :)

But, I do trap ridiculous numbers of mice, every Autumn through to Summer. They're fresh, clean, unbaited. Seem a shame to waste them.

And, I hope to one day get another Snapper turtle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,129 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

The meeces are getting cold out there at this time of year.

I get a few little long tailed field mice from the park at the back always around now or a bit later depending on the weather. That's cos I'm a divil for keeping the back door open when I'm in the kitchen on a nice day! Note to self....

I don't pay any heed. They don't go forth and multiply and seem to disappear quickly enough. I love the little field meeces to peeces. But just one or two will do!

Budges; Canaries :)

But, I do trap ridiculous numbers of mice, every Autumn through to Summer. They're fresh, clean, unbaited. Seem a shame to waste them.

And, I hope to one day get another Snapper turtle.

But the mice in the freezer!! (Edit - I understand now. Fair play. But the steak was still good to eat!)

I kept budgies all my life too! Never canaries though. My mother had some finches when she was young. I'm currently budgie-less but at the moment is not the right time for more budgies.

We'll talk about budgies in another thread or something.

Two cats at the moment. Only ever owned budgies and regular pets like cats, dogs, and horses, yes horses are pets!

To the poster above and the water tank - yep! We fished several dead mice out of our attic tank in the past. Some people so seem to think that all water is as clean and fresh (now that's another story) as what you get from your cold tap in the kitchen. I don't even know anything about plumbing but I know that much.

They don't go forth and multiply and seem to disappear quickly enough.

Apodemus s. I loathe finding them in my traps. But, there's nothing I can do.

Ye right though; They come in to get out of the cold. Go back out, to find some food. Come back to sleep in the warm and play with their toys. (Did ye know they collect and keep toys?) They really are quite endearing :)

Apodemus s. I loathe finding them in my traps. But, there's nothing I can do.

Ye right though; They come in to get out of the cold. Go back out, to find some food. Come back to sleep in the warm and play with their toys. (Did ye know they collect and keep toys?) They really are quite endearing :)

I actually used to set traps in my bedroom cause the budgies lived in there, I'd set the traps near and around the cage, to protect the birds. Only cause my mother had a cock budgie killed by a mouse protecting the nestbox. The hen and chicks were fine though. I actually let the mice live with me if they stayed on their side of the room. It was a really old Georgian mansion that was falling down and about 8-10 of us lived there depending. So keeping them out was just a pipe dream. I ended up leaving seed on one side of the room (where they liked to come in) on the floor so they would eat that, and traps on the bird side of the room.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,129 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

G'wan tell me about meece toys. I'm all ears.

So are they.

I'll get me coat.

I always thought traps were the kindest way of pest control, till one morning (I was catching two or three a day) one was dead in the trap in a puddle of urine. I can't be sure but I'm guessing that one didn't die instantly.

But then I had a mouse in my bedroom last summer and when the cat caught it it started shrieking.

I'm still with cats or traps. Cats only if you're willing to commit to having a cat as a pet, they're not just pest control. Traps are *usually* clean kill. Poison is not just cruel but causes a lot of problems to us, because they can die in inaccessible areas in our houses and stink, but more importantly, if they do leave your house and another animal or bird eats them, well... you get it.

Spanish; Podies are mad little buggers. They take a shine to things and nick them. Dragging them off to their little nests. There's no rhyme or reason. It's not like how magpies are said to nick shiny, bright things.

Podies just like things, like kiddies like teddy bears. It makes them happy to cuddle up to their toys.

In a roof space, used for storage, it can be anybodies guess what they may drag off with them. Literally anything they can manage.

I had one living in my peanut box, in the store room. Kept the wild birds nuts in this big, plastic chest. Podie came along. Climbed up on some neighbouring junk and gnawed a hole through the back of the box, where I couldn't see it.

By the time I needed more nuts out, I opened the lid to find loads of little lumps of old sand and cement in there! Mad little mouse had a passion for old render. He'd been comforting himself by fetching home loads of manageable little lumps of it and nestling down with it.

Funnily enough; Would ye believe I Never found any droppings in there. Nor even signs that he'd been helping himself to my peanuts. He was just getting in there to cuddle up, warm and safe, with his bits of cement :)

I saw a mouse carry off a whole Dorito in his little handies! I left it there because I wasn't certain I had mice, or a rat. So I reckoned if I watched long enough....

A mouse did eat most of the Goblet of Fire on me though. It was only a paperback so that's ok. He chose good reading material. My budgie Sebastian was such an avid reader. He ate through Trainspotting in an month and took a long time to savour and digest such authors as JG Ballard, Stephen King and Orwell. He died from a massive tumour in his belly when he was only two years old - I'm quite sure it wasn't a tumour, only paper mache.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,293 ✭✭✭Fuzzy Clam

I always thought traps were the kindest way of pest control, till one morning (I was catching two or three a day) one was dead in the trap in a puddle of urine. I can't be sure but I'm guessing that one didn't die instantly.

I've caught 3 this week. The first 2 looked like quick deaths but the one I found this morning wasn't. It had freed itself from the trap and died beside it. Some blood on the floor.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Christ almighty, fishing them out of a water tank????? I brush my teeth with that water. I shower. I am stressed out now. Is there nothing sacred?