Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Google 'Pixel' Phones (and other Google event stuff)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,662 ✭✭✭marcbrophy

As a Laoisman, I think it is beautiful.
    Delighted to see Google taking an interest in the oft forgotten Laois supporter.

I have no problem with the colour of your flag my friend ;)

But when the blue of the case comes around to the front and clashes with a white bezel like that, it makes it look like a damn toy.
    Apple got stick for it with the 5c, but at least they had a black bezel against their horrible illuminous colours :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

jonski wrote: »
    I think that Google has built a following for their phones , a following that I don't think will follow them up the high price path .

It depends on what you classify as a following, the Nexus devices did find a minor following and worked as great dev devices but their ability to attract a large market was actually quite limited.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 2,614 Mod ✭✭✭✭horgan_p

Things I want :

Google Home
    New Nexus 7

Things I'll wind up buying cause shiny :

Daydream headset

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 326 ✭✭the-ging

Also has anyone got a link to where we can watch the event?

-> https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q4y0KOeXViI

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,130 ✭✭✭youcancallmeal

If the pixel XL 32GB is upwards of €900 I'd assume one or more of the carriers here will have to get it? Iphones with high prices like that sell fine because you can get them subsidised as part of 2 year plans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 220 ✭✭Caillte

horgan_p wrote: »
    Things I want :

Google Home
    New Nexus 7

Things I'll wind up buying cause shiny :

Daydream headset

Google home is what Im looking forward to. Being building up smart tech in the home slowly so would be great to have it all connected. Will be totally parcel motelling the crap out of it. A

As for Nexus/Pixel I only got a 5X 6 months ago so no need to upgrade for a while yet.

I'd say this will be out in the uk same time as us given Alexa's release in the uk recently. Fingers crossed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,425 ✭✭✭jonski

It depends on what you classify as a following, the Nexus devices did find a minor following and worked as great dev devices but their ability to attract a large market was actually quite limited.

That's exactly what I mean , it is a small but fairly loyal following of people that knew what they were buying . Affordable quality without the bloatware , I think they are going to look elsewhere now, and the people that will pay a premium price are already sold on Samsung, Apple, or HTC .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,015 ✭✭✭✭Discodog

Plus the Chinese may see the opportunity to improve their software. The Oneplus has shown how successful this can be.

Unless phone manufacturers can find killer new features then people will only buy as upgrades where they are fooled into thinking that they are getting something for nothing.

It's probably cheaper to borrow the money & buy the phone. Then put it on a good payg plan.

I'd be surprised if the prices are as high as you're all expecting. The HTC 10 was €650 on release (albeit with a discount which ran over the summer). I can't see how they would charge €200 more for a similarly specced device from the same manufacturer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭Wing126

I hope theyre not that expensive, i need a new phone and i really like the design of the pixel, but rumoured specs are nowhere near enough for the rumoured price of 649 dollars. If they end up hugely expensive im just gonna go with the HTC10.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,347 ✭✭✭Kavrocks

$649 confirmed as base price at the announcement event. Unfortunately that means I'll most likely be looking elsewhere for a new phone.

Kavrocks wrote: »
    $649 confirmed as base price at the announcement event. Unfortunately that means I'll most likely be looking elsewhere for a new phone.

But looks as though there is a monthly option direct from the google store too or I picked that up wrong too. Phone looks so impressive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,816 ✭✭✭TheChrisD

Outrageous price, and crucially Ireland not one of the launching countries.

Guess my Nexus 5 will be doing me for another few years yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,470 ✭✭✭MOH

TheChrisD wrote: »

Just had a quick glance at the spec sheet vs the OnePlus 3 and not seeing much of a difference for twice the price

Patww79 wrote: »
    They've already had dxomark review it so they can get in before the 90-something from the iPhone 7 Plus :D

Still though, an 89 from them is pretty impressive.

The extra lens will need to drag it up a long way from the standard 7.

Hardly outrageous. It's the same price as equivalent phones?

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 2,614 Mod ✭✭✭✭horgan_p

Anyone see the launch countries for home ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,816 ✭✭✭TheChrisD

Basil3 wrote: »

Prices from the German Play Store:
    • Google Pixel 32GB 759€
    • Google Pixel 128GB 869€
    • Google Pixel XL 32GB 899€
    • Google Pixel XL 128GB 1009€
    Yea, no. Considering it's not that long since the Nexus 5 was €349/€399 for 16/32gigs, with comparable if not better features than phones of it's time?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,042 ✭✭✭JDxtra

Jaysus. You're grand lads.

Basil3 wrote: »

Yes but the ethos of Google, with the Nexus, was to supply a better phone for less.

Prices from the German Play Store:
    • Google Pixel 32GB 759€
    • Google Pixel 128GB 869€
    • Google Pixel XL 32GB 899€
    • Google Pixel XL 128GB 1009€
    Yea, no. Considering it's not that long since the Nexus 5 was €349/€399 for 16/32gigs, with comparable if not better features than phones of it's time?

That's three times what I paid for my new Nexus 5
    I would want a twin camera but not at those prices.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,984 ✭✭✭Venom

These aren't meant to be budget Nexus devices anymore they are changing their tactics to targeting the higher end market hence the name change and the prices. The Pixel tablet was not cheap so it's not really a surprise that the Pixel phones are also not cheap.

Google changing the name is more of them just making stupid changes for the sake of it rather than for any valid reason as lets be honest, Nexus devices haven't been a budget line in years. The 6P is currently €649 with the previous years nexus 6 priced similar along with the 5X going for €429 which I would hardly call budget prices.

Venom wrote: »
    Google changing the name is more of them just making stupid changes for the sake of it rather than for any valid reason as lets be honest, Nexus devices haven't been a budget line in years. The 6P is currently €649 with the previous years nexus 6 priced similar along with the 5X going for €429 which I would hardly call budget prices.

New 5x €280 on ebay. Factory refurbs even cheaper.

Discodog wrote: »
    Yes but the ethos of Google, with the Nexus, was to supply a better phone for less.

Maybe so at one point. The cheap phones were never better, though. The Nexus 5 wasn't better than the equivalent Samsung or HTC.

In any case, this isn't a Nexus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,662 ✭✭✭marcbrophy

horgan_p wrote: »
    Anyone see the launch countries for home ?

Just America, I believe!