Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion Part 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,240 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

km79 wrote: »
    Please make it stop
    Mayo team
    Any predicted changes ?

No changes
    Quicker hook for SOS if his game deteriorates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,448 ✭✭✭✭km79

No changes

Yes I agree
    I think we have lost a slight advantage in that our team lineup was so hard to predict prior to first game and dublins quite easy
    Now shoe is on the other foot
    If Dillon and Regan are both out we have very very limited attacking options off the bench

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 240 ✭✭Menoetius

Dublin are not playing with the same flair as they once did, is it because they are tired or is it because they have been told not to.

The 2014 semi final changed a lot about how Dublin approach games.
    A lot less reckless abandon and a lot more control.

I can easily see this going into the last minute or two level again.
    Only then will we see if the last day was a blip for Dublin or if they really are a tired team.

Both teams have been written off for the replay on here, both teams are very much in with a chance.

Currently giving a dry evening though so advantage Dublin ;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,257 ✭✭✭Peist2007

No changes

I'd drop Seamus O'Shea. His wastefulness in possession is a common theme not confined to the last day. He's been giving away stupid ball on a consistent basis for a few years now. Those small margins will be what makes the difference. I would bring in Barrett and move Vaughan to midfield.

Peist2007 wrote: »
    I'd drop Seamus O'Shea. His wastefulness in possession is a common theme not confined to the last day. He's been giving away stupid ball on a consistent basis for a few years now. Those small margins will be what makes the difference. I would bring in Barrett and move Vaughan to midfield.

Vaughan was more or less midfield the last day
    I think our options are limited enough now with possible injuries TBH
    This has me nervous

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭Squatman

Il stop you there, he had an immense first half, his dispossession's and blocks were excellent. It wasnt until the 2nd half that he faltered

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 188 ✭✭elguapo

So what are people’s thoughts on Mayo’s chances in the game itself?

The closer we get to it the more nervous I get.

Even though Mayo did not leave it behind as such on the day I still get the feeling that it may have been a missed chance.

Look at least year’s SF, I was confident going into that and Dublin just opened up on them in the end, the fear is that we will have the same again.

I think a lot of Dublin’s bad play was a result of Mayo’s good defending and intensity, but can Mayo reproduce that good defending and intensity.

Mayo only had one half of a goal chance in the first game, but Dublin produced at least 3 or 4 good ones and scored 2.

The flip side is that Dublin could be just not as good as people make them out to be, as I have said before they look more like the lethargic 2012 team that ones that came since. Donegal gave them a bit of a game but were never good enough to beat them, Kerry gave them more of a game but did not have the legs to beat them, then Mayo gave them a really tough game and forced them to play another.

Do Dublin have it in them for another tough game, winning 4 national titles in a row and 7 out of the last 8 is a huge task, maybe these guys just don’t have it in them to pull it off.

Dublin are not playing with the same flair as they once did, is it because they are tired or is it because they have been told not to.

I just hope that Mayo are as primed and as focused as they can be, that everyone knows their job and does it to the highest level they can, and that the side-line are ready for every scenario that Dublin may throw out
    That’s all we can ask for I suppose

I think they can bring the same intensity, maybe even more, and that could be the difference. You're spot on about Dublin's sub-par performance the last day; it didn't happen in a vacuum, Mayo forced them into poor option taking a lot of the time. Dublin aren't exactly running on fumes, but there's no denying they're not at the same level they were last year.

Anyway, I backed Mayo to win by 1-3 points @5/1 two weeks ago, will be doing the same @4/1 this time round.

Squatman wrote: »
    Il stop you there, he had an immense first half, his dispossession's and blocks were excellent. It wasnt until the 2nd half that he faltered

But falter he did and cannot be trusted in possession. Twice we got back level and had momentum only for Seamie to blow possession which directly led to scores. If it was an isolated occurrence then fair enough but its been happening with O'Shea consistently.

He also regularly kicks mindlessly stupid ball into the forwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭Gael85

Talk seems to have left you since you were asked to point out examples of Keegan pulling and dragging against other teams. Wouldnt be hard to find a medley of Connolly using his fists against opposing players from other counties. Care to provide some examples as requested?

Keegan grabbed Michael Lundy by neck before throwing him to ground against Galway last year before the ball was thrown in. Red carded for 2 yellows also grabbed Damien Comer in a headlock. Sent off against Kerry 2014 for kicking out at Donnchadh Walsh albeit a very soft red card. Grabbed Diarmuid Connolly pulled by the head to ground in last year semi,was a blatant black card. He got yellow Connolly deservingly get red. Pulled Sean Cavanagh to the ground in 1st half against Tyrone, no action. 2 players were booked at start of second half when Cavanagh pushed Keegan. Committed 4 yellow card offences against Tipperary and lucky to be still on field. Like the best players Keegan plays on the edge and has been getting away with it for a while. We have it with Cooper, McMahon, Connolly and Bastick all with history of poor discipline are all marked men with referees now. He wont but put off Sunday but further done the line his reputation will go against him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,932 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

Childish in asking you to back up your crap? Pick up the ball and go home if you like, the refuge of a man with no answers.

Well he has answered you, will you ever let it go now and stop embarrassing yourself.

But falter he did and cannot be trusted in possession. Twice we got back level and had momentum only for Seamie to blow possession which directly led to scores. If it was an isolated occurrence then fair enough but its been happening with O'Shea consistently.

He also regularly kicks mindlessly stupid ball into the forwards.

My point was that hes game fit for 40 mins, the mistakes you're highlighting to the best of my recollection were not throughout the game, but moreso when he is fatigued - which is probably happening earlier in games anymore, particularly games of that intensity

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭Audioslaven

No changes

to be fair to SOS, at the game I thought he was not good. I felt DOC didn't play well either but I looked over the game and these two guys did alot of tracking so I personally don't think SOS played as bad as I initially thought. He had a bit of a howler with some passes before he came off.

I think there will be feck all in it again. I am expecting a back lash from the dubs so they will play better but so will Mayo as I though the four week off was alot and they looked a bit off in the passing and ball watching

They only fear I have is that the performance will not be there and we will loose by a couple of pints. I thought they could have cancelled the after game party as I think this could lead to a false sense of reality.

Anyway they have been around the block long enough to know this and they have got to perform.

to be fair to SOS, at the game I thought he was not good. I felt DOC didn't play well either but I looked over the game and these two guys did alot of tracking so I personally don't think SOS played as bad as I initially thought. He had a bit of a howler with some passes before he came off.

I think there will be feck all in it again. I am expecting a back lash from the dubs so they will play better but so will Mayo as I though the four week off was alot and they looked a bit off in the passing and ball watching

They only fear I have is that the performance will not be there and we will loose by a couple of pints. I thought they could have cancelled the after game party as I think this could lead to a false sense of reality.

Anyway they have been around the block long enough to know this and they have got to perform.

Did they not cancel the afterparty and come straight home?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,037 ✭✭✭✭The Talking Bread

it wasn't an after-game party for the players in any way or form. It was a banquet organised by the county board and had cost attendees at least 600 or more for tables. They couldnt cancel it and I am sure the players went about their way and had their meal and left early in the night.
    2 weeks to recover and important after any game to wind down, especially an All Ireland Final where the whole lead up is intense and you have to start that two week intensive preparation the next evening.
    I doubt they were drinking or celebrating anything, but they were staying overnight in The Citywest so they were hardly going to be heading to bed without any supper or kicking balls in the car park!!

I think Rochford made a short speach but it was only fair that the team made an appearance for those who had donated such large amounts

Squatman wrote: »
    Did they not cancel the afterparty and come straight home?

The players were staying there and had a planned recovery session up the pool the following morning
    So they went there to eat sleep and recover
    Much better than hopping on a bus home like they had to do after drawn game last year

When did Mayo last win a replay, of any sort ?

it wasn't an after-game party for the players in any way or form. It was a banquet organised by the county board and had cost attendees at least 600 or more for tables. They couldnt cancel it and I am sure the players went about their way and had their meal and left early in the night.
    2 weeks to recover and important after any game to wind down, especially an All Ireland Final where the whole lead up is intense and you have to start that two week intensive preparation the next evening.
    I doubt they were drinking or celebrating anything, but they were staying overnight in The Citywest so they were hardly going to be heading to bed without any supper or kicking balls in the car park!!

I think Rochford made a short speach but it was only fair that the team made an appearance for those who had donated such large amounts

RTP....Talk about sh1t talk.

I never said they were out drinking or partying. I just said I would have preferred that they cancelled it, so no false sense of reality happens. So what about the 600 hundred guests, its not about them. So what if they donated money. Its not about anyone else or money. It is about winning and nothing else.

They could easily have got dinner some place else. I am not saying to not feed the guys!! They could have rearrange it for saturday night. The same tickets get you in. This is what Gavin did AFAIK. Its very easy if you want to make it easy. Also it is very easy for some people to exaggerate things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,659 ✭✭✭Blackjack

When did Mayo last win a replay, of any sort ?

2006 quarter final against Laois, semi final vs Fermanagh in 2004 also

Blackjack wrote: »
    2006 quarter final against Laois, semi final vs Fermanagh in 2004 also

Thanks, I should have remembered that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,659 ✭✭✭Blackjack

RTP....Talk about sh1t talk.

I never said they were out drinking or partying. I just said I would have preferred that they cancelled it, so no false sense of reality happens. So what about the 600 hundred guests, its not about them. So what if they donated money. Its not about anyone else or money. It is about winning and nothing else.

They could easily have got dinner some place else. I am not saying to not feed the guys!! They could have rearrange it for saturday night. The same tickets get you in. This is what Gavin did AFAIK. Its very easy if you want to make it easy. Also it is very easy for some people to exaggerate things.

I think they did the right thing by having the Banquet and doing what they needed to do. You can't cancel an event like that at short notice as you will still have a fair chunk of the 600 guests showing up and the hotel will still expect to get paid.
    If referring to the players attending, imagine the media scrum when players staying in the hotel do not attend the function?.

It was a no win situation, and in this case those that donated good money got what they paid for. It's not like Mayo are blessed with the same level of funding, sponsorship or provision of facility as other counties and can go about as if money is not an object. It is very much an issue whether we like it or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 854 ✭✭✭tacofries

Everybody do yourself a favour and listen to this:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tzmCrYds5yk&feature=youtu.be

Warning: Do not listen to it if driving your car as you will get so excited you will crash.....

Cannot wait folks, this is the year for Sam McGuire to ag teacht abhaile go Maigh eo.

Blackjack wrote: »
    I think they did the right thing by having the Banquet and doing what they needed to do. You can't cancel an event like that at short notice as you will still have a fair chunk of the 600 guests showing up and the hotel will still expect to get paid.
    If referring to the players attending, imagine the media scrum when players staying in the hotel do not attend the function?.

It was a no win situation, and in this case those that donated good money got what they paid for. It's not like Mayo are blessed with the same level of funding, sponsorship or provision of facility as other counties and can go about as if money is not an object. It is very much an issue whether we like it or not.

Well we differ. Gavin called a halt to the dubs in the Gibson AFAIK.
    I don't think any of the guests would have an issue with attending the rescheduled event.Its not like they are losing out.
    There is all this wind down talk. I personally don't think you would wind down at a banquet. The only time I would wind down is when I got home or a session with your team mates and most definitely not at a banquet.

Well he has answered you, will you ever let it go now and stop embarrassing yourself.

No he hasn't. Put your glasses on, good man.

Please, just leave it.. He has no interest in derailing the thread with a tired conversation from what all can see anymore.

Well we differ. Gavin called a halt to the dubs in the Gibson AFAIK.
    I don't think any of the guests would have an issue with attending the rescheduled event.Its not like they are losing out.
    There is all this wind down talk. I personally don't think you would wind down at a banquet. The only time I would wind down is when I got home or a session with your team mates and most definitely not at a banquet.

The dubs were already home !
    Mayo players are , rested and had a recovery session THEN got on the bus to travel the width of the country home
    100% correct decision

"Whatever you do lads, stay away from the Citywest tonight, you can go get your dinner somewhere else, you don't deserve it and its clearly going to effect you in two weeks time by sitting around for a bite to eat with fellow county people.............Gavin didn't do it and we all know how clever he is"

Please, just leave it.. He has no interest in derailing the thread with a tired conversation from what all can see anymore.

How is it a tired conversation? This very issue is actually the No. 1 trend in Ireland on twitter right now. The Dubs have been in the media perpetuating this sh1te pr the past 48 hours when the poor lamb needing protection is one of the most physically violent intercounty players out there. The ref next Sunday is a complete homer in case anyone hasnt noticed. So, if i want to call out someone spouting untruths, i will do exactly that.

Back seat modding is not allowed in here. You don't speak for all and certainly don't get to tell any other posters what is up for discussion. Stick me on ignore if you like.

How is it a tired conversation? This very issue is actually the No. 1 trend in Ireland on twitter right now. The Dubs have been in the media perpetuating this sh1te pr the past 48 hours when the poor lamb needing protection is one of the most physically violent intercounty players out there. The ref next Sunday is a complete homer in case anyone hasnt noticed. So, if i want to call out someone spouting untruths, i will do exactly that.

Back seat modding is not allowed in here. You don't speak for all and certainly don't get to tell any other posters what is up for discussion. Stick me on ignore if you like.

good idea!!

Before I do, relax with the hostility and smart comments. Its very unpleasant and its what has got these threads closed constantly. Hence why people like me get frustrated with it. And, no that isn't modding. I just dont want the thread closed, number 1 one trend on twitter or not. My message was just requesting that. Take it personally, if you wish.

You have called people one eyed eegits, accused them of talking crap and other smart comments so what I said , merely "to leave it" isn't exactly offensive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭Gael85

who playing Sunday? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 240 ✭✭Menoetius

The ref next Sunday is a complete homer in case anyone hasnt noticed.

Here we go, normally ye wait till after the game to blame the ref :rolleyes:

Deegan is a decent ref, let's not go there.