Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liverpool FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours 2016/2017

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,983 ✭✭✭✭NukaCola

Klopp does not have to justify anything. If his team fails to win he gets the blame.

He's not willing to put his job on the line for a guy who, on the face of things, isn't being professional. What do people want Klopp to do, detail why he doesn't want Sakho, tell them his reasoning and therefore drive Sakho's price down and make it harder to get rid. Or do you want him to be forced to play/keep a guy he doesn't rate at CB?

Like Kerri's Snapchat confession, these things should be kept internal. Sakho was plainly told he needs to go on loan. Now he's crying about not getting in the team and turning to the fans in an attempt to put pressure on Klopp. Probably the stupidest thing he could have done.

I like Sakho but I'll happily side with Klopp here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,004 ✭✭✭garra

Big time. I'm a big fan of Klopp but have to call a spade a spade here and say he's being completely disingenuous about Sakho's situation. It's very unfair on the player and totally understandable that he feels compelled to speak out.

Perhaps Klopp thinks Sakho has some mental issues to sort out, but he can hardly say that in the media. Instead Sakho is doing that for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,170 ✭✭✭messinkiapina

Augeo wrote: »
    He told him to go out on loan, pretty clear request/order. Made it public too. Beyond that the actual detail behind the decision being not public is quite reasonable IMO.

Might be wrong, but didn't he say that this was down to a fitness issue, and not an issue with the player?

If I'm not wrong and he cited the player's fitness as the reason, then I'm sure he's being disingenuous. That's not how clubs deal with players who need to regain fitness after a period of absence. This is an issue he has with the player's attitude, clearly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 889 ✭✭✭JonnyM

Lovren out today due to a viral infection.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,318 ✭✭✭Alonso77

Sakho's a likeable guy/player but he's not doing himself any favours with this kind of thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,767 ✭✭✭Ben Gadot

I'm sorry I brought it up now tbh :o

You're a good bloke Kerri so I withdraw my harsh statement about snapchat earlier on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,746 ✭✭✭BullBlackNova

JonnyM wrote: »
    Lovren out today due to a viral infection.

I wonder if this is what pushed Sakho over the line?
    Lovren out with a virus, Sakho told he still wouldn't even be named among the subs, hence the rant.

Childish way to react. I get his frustrations but it's not a good way to deal with things. And it definitely won't cause the manager to change his mind!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,547 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

Nice to see a bit of craic in the thread hours before Hull destroy us and bring us all back down to earth. I don't think we'll even get a shot on target.

Q8Q4J.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,983 ✭✭✭✭NukaCola

martyos121 wrote: »
    Nice to see a bit of craic in the thread hours before Hull destroy us and bring us all back down to earth. I don't think we'll even get a shot on target.

All the makings of a bad weekend alright :(

Might be wrong, but didn't he say that this was down to a fitness issue, and not an issue with the player?

If I'm not wrong and he cited the player's fitness as the reason, then I'm sure he's being disingenuous. That's not how clubs deal with players who need to regain fitness after a period of absence. This is an issue he has with the player's attitude, clearly.

Ish.

You need matches to get fit, go on loan.

Sakho remains and claims he's fit from training, a month into the season he goes social media route.

This is the latest in the Sakho doesn't toe the corporate line saga, again, at work, for the mostpart you do what you're told, Sakho doesn't seem to buy into that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

We have two good CB starting today who had the highest number of blocked shots in the Bundesliga last season so I reckon we will get the first clean sheet in the league this season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,543 ✭✭✭hadepsx

Great team goal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,987 ✭✭✭Kerrigooney

Milner is having an absolute stormer so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,272 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Some serious sexy football being played.

Pep turns fullbacks into midfielders Klopp turns midfielders into fullbacks :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,262 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

This is just incredible football.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,775 ✭✭✭✭Gbear

No problems at all today.

No question of taking the foot off the gas. While some of the play first half against Derby was a bit arrogant clearly the lads are loving the way things are going at the moment and when they're directing that properly it's beautiful and effective.

I think we need to see a few things in games early on in the season other than the points.

Showing we can blow small teams away is one so this bodes well.

Another will be fighting back in situations like Burnley, or grinding out a 1-0 win against this kind of opposition so hopefully that's to come.

Or we can just batter teams every week. That's fine too.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,262 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

Absolute pleasure to watch this.

Milner is having an absolute stormer so far.

That booking he got was bull**** as well.

Even in these days of non-contact football it wasn't even a foul.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Kloppball

10106270.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,272 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Klopp and his tool's sure do craft some sexy football.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,233 ✭✭✭✭TitianGerm

Turtyturd wrote: »
    Kloppball

10106270.jpg

i counter with

Je774bM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Poor Hull!

A joy to watch today. The pressing was unbelievable to watch.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

K-9 wrote: »
    Poor Hull!

A joy to watch today. The pressing was unbelievable to watch.

They had a little bump at the start, but the prevailing wisdom that not spending any money and not having a manager is bad for you is perhaps beginning to be borne out.

Still, the good thing is that if they take it on the chin and head back down to the Championship, they shouldn't be too unstable financially and they'll have every opportunity to give it another crack.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,767 ✭✭✭Ben Gadot

Stuck here watching city swansea so I'll take your word for it lads that it's a solid performance.

NO! BAD HULL! DOWN!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,308 ✭✭✭Pyjamarama

This is a different liverpool team. A team of killers. That was some response.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,267 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

Gbear wrote: »
    NO! BAD HULL! DOWN!
    Not impressed with the keeper there. Is expect a keeper to deal with a corner into the 6 yard box not to stand on his line. First impressions not good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,233 ✭✭✭✭TitianGerm

Not impressed with the keeper there. Is expect a keeper to deal with a corner into the 6 yard box not to stand on his line. First impressions not good

Karius? The ball was past him before he could move.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,267 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

emmetkenny wrote: »
    Karius? The ball was past him before he could move.
    Very passive for the corner was my point stuck to his line and never came for a corner six yards out ....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,799 ✭✭✭corwill

Highlights of our attacking play so far this afternoon, for anyone missing the match:

giphy.gif