Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion Part 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,515 ✭✭✭mayo.mick

I was talking in terms of have clubs started distributing them yet ?

Is the allocation expected to be bigger ?

Are people finding it easier or harder than the first game ?

Or is it too earlto tell ?

Mail out from our club today;

As anticipated demand has far exceeded supply. Our allocation from the county board is only 22 tickets more than for last weekends drawn game. Again well over half our allocation will be terrace tickets. Demand for the replay is well in excess of the drawn game.
    The club has been offered 10 juvenile tickets that would be in lieu of 10 adult tickets and therefore would not change our total tickets.
    Due to this limited number the club has decided not to avail of the option for juvenile tickets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭cocoman

mayo.mick wrote: »
    Mail out from our club today;

As anticipated demand has far exceeded supply. Our allocation from the county board is only 22 tickets more than for last weekends drawn game. Again well over half our allocation will be terrace tickets. Demand for the replay is well in excess of the drawn game.
    The club has been offered 10 juvenile tickets that would be in lieu of 10 adult tickets and therefore would not change our total tickets.
    Due to this limited number the club has decided not to avail of the option for juvenile tickets.

Senior club?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,515 ✭✭✭mayo.mick

cocoman wrote: »
    Senior club?

Intermediate

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Do the clubs know already what they are getting?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 177 ✭✭mercuroman

yop wrote: »

Local club (senior) sent out info saying they'd gotten 10% more tickets (think that's 110 tickets now - stand to be corrected) but that demand was way more than for the first game. I have heard that a few other clubs are also warning demand is up as well. Maybe the Hype has finally hit!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 Whitehorse

Queue to put names down in the Mitchels club last night was a lot bigger than last time. About 15-20% increase in demand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,449 ✭✭✭✭km79

Yikes !
    Good sign though
    Massive support there for us last time and need the same again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,853 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

yop wrote: »

Our club (junior) got sixty tickets for the drawn match , 20 less than 2013 when we were intermediate.

Not expecting a whole lot more this time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,067 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

padd b1975 wrote: »
    Our club (junior) got sixty tickets for the drawn match , 20 less than 2013 when we were intermediate.

Not expecting a whole lot more this time.

60 Junior
    80 Intermediate
    100 Senior

Was the way the CB split the tickets for the first match. An extra 20 tickets per club per €1,000 raised for the CB, up to a maximum of 40 tickets.

With 8,000 (4,000 per Minor) extra tickets available, you would hope that each Club get at least another 20 tickets this time around.
    That's still only (~50 clubs times 20 =) 1,000 tickets of the 4,000 extra tickets so it could/should be more but I'm not sure we get the full allocation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,621 ✭✭✭ultrapercy

The term "best supporters in the country" is bandied around a lot and sometimes given at a bunch who never have to travel more than 15 mins to a game or book acvomodation but there is no doubt now who the best supporters are. The ldrawn game could have been in Castlebar given the way Mayo fans drowned out the Dubs. Champagne supporters sunshine team against a battle hardened war horse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,403 ✭✭✭naughto

It's all over Facebook the dubs are complaining that we got so many tickets for the hill I hope we get twice as many this time to sicking the c1unts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 240 ✭✭Menoetius

I think fans on this site (on both sides) need to take a good look at themselves and realise this is the GAA, it's not Man Utd v Liverpool.

Some of the animosity on here, and other threads, has me shaking my head in dismay.

May the best team win and may there be good losers and good winners on both sides afterwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 854 ✭✭✭tacofries

naughto wrote: »
    It's all over Facebook the dubs are complaining that we got so many tickets for the hill I hope we get twice as many this time to sicking the c1unts

I had a Nally ticket for the last match but managed to sneak into the Hill to help the Green and Red army takeover!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 711 ✭✭✭glack

Menoetius wrote: »
    I think fans on this site (on both sides) need to take a good look at themselves and realise this is the GAA, it's not Man Utd v Liverpool.

Some of the animosity on here, and other threads, has me shaking my head in dismay.

May the best team win and may there be good losers and good winners on both sides afterwards.

Agree completely. I'm all for a bit of good hearted slagging and some of my favourite days in Croke Park has been sitting beside die hard true Dublin fans. The craic and slagging can be mighty but always good respect when the game is over. This is what the GAA is built on.

The tone of some of the online stuff has taken a nose dive unfortunately. Hopefully it's just a few rogue fans from both sides rather than a sign of things to come in the future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,525 ✭✭✭kilns

ultrapercy wrote: »
    The term "best supporters in the country" is bandied around a lot and sometimes given at a bunch who never have to travel more than 15 mins to a game or book acvomodation but there is no doubt now who the best supporters are. The ldrawn game could have been in Castlebar given the way Mayo fans drowned out the Dubs. Champagne supporters sunshine team against a battle hardened war horse.

You must never have been to Dublin in your life so :D

I don't care what you think of me there was a gang of scumbag dubs in front of me at the game all I heard was we should be in in the hill it's ors who do they the Mayo c1unts think they are all through the game and nothing put abuse at or players for the full game.

That is why I hope we take the hill with twice as many this time

I don't care what you think of me there was a gang of scumbag dubs in front of me at the game all I heard was we should be in in the hill it's ors who do they the Mayo c1unts think they are all through the game and nothing put abuse at or players for the full game.

How childish is this.

I really don't care how many fans are in any particular part of the ground. It doesn't actually matter. I'm just looking forward to the game. You should try it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,037 ✭✭✭✭The Talking Bread

who the f gives a sh1te about being in The Hill, as if its some sacred cow. It is a f'in stand and tbh, although some Dublin fans,like any fans, satisfy themselves in a group mentality by saying stuff like "The Hill is ours" and "Dublin fans own the Hill", its a mere part of a stadium and nothing more. And it creates for a good atmosphere, albeit with plenty of moronic chants.

But why would anyone care? If you get a chance to be in Croke Park next Saturday, go there and be among your own fans. As much as people get disgruntled and as much as Dublin fans have not any right to a stadium, as a GAA fan, people accept their congregation up there and it is part and parcel for decades when they are playing that its a sea of blue.

People giving out about being amongst these group mentality stupid chants but yet they still want to be there and surround themselves in it for 2 hours just "to make a point" or "a stand" or "show them who is boss".

It gives them f all advantage, as much as people like to think. Also, Gardai are well aware of the safety issues with surrounding opposition fans in a traditional standing area of the stadium and to take the risk, however small it be of inviting trouble, it would be extremely negligent, hence why the tickets for that area of the stadium are usually allocated to one section of fans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭SomethingElse

who the f gives a sh1te about being in The Hill, as if its some sacred cow. It is a f'in stand and tbh, although some Dublin fans,like any fans, satisfy themselves in a group mentality by saying stuff like "The Hill is ours" and "Dublin fans own the Hill", its a mere part of a stadium and nothing more. And it creates for a good atmosphere, albeit with plenty of moronic chants.

But why would anyone care? If you get a chance to be in Croke Park next Saturday, go there and be among your own fans. As much as people get disgruntled and as much as Dublin fans have not any right to a stadium, as a GAA fan, people accept their congregation up there and it is part and parcel for decades when they are playing that its a sea of blue.

People giving out about being amongst these group mentality stupid chants but yet they still want to be there and surround themselves in it for 2 hours just "to make a point" or "a stand" or "show them who is boss".

It gives them f all advantage, as much as people like to think. Also, Gardai are well aware of the safety issues with surrounding opposition fans in a traditional standing area of the stadium and to take the risk, however small it be of inviting trouble, it would be extremely negligent, hence why the tickets for that area of the stadium are usually allocated to one section of fans.

If it gives no advantage, then why did the players bother to warm up in front of the hill in 2006?

Surely you know why they done that???

That was playground player mentality. It was a silly attempt to rile up the opposition "players" and it worked in so far as it caused disruption to Dublins pre game warm up and preparation. It didn't help Mayo either, shooting into a stand of fans berating them. But Dublin didnt score for 20 minutes or so in taht game so it definitely done something to their nerves having disruptive warm up, you would have to imagine.

Back then, most players weren't trained in psychological aspects like that and if that happened again, Dublin would not fall foul to that. They would just turn the other way and head up to the Davin and kick points there.

It caused stupid distraction and heated up the Dublin players led by Whelan and even their management team looked like eegits, old men going about hitting shoulders to opposition trainers in some sort of playground.

I think players nowadays are far more professional mentally to fall for or indeed try playing those antics.

AFAIK, the allocation of warm up is something to do with the dressing rooms and pre game Dublin coach went into Mayo dressing room and reminded them of this.

At the end of the day, both teams switch sides at half time. Its up to the Mayo congregation to create their own atmosphere down the other end if they feel it will create an advantage to the players.

I certainly would NOT do my warm up being distracted by fans hurling abuse even if it merely causes a slight irritant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,659 ✭✭✭Blackjack

That was playground player mentality. It was a silly attempt to rile up the opposition "players" and it worked in so far as it caused disruption to Dublins pre game warm up and preparation. It didn't help Mayo either, shooting into a stand of fans berating them. But Dublin didnt score for 20 minutes or so in taht game so it definitely done something to their nerves having disruptive warm up, you would have to imagine.

Back then, most players weren't trained in psychological aspects like that and if that happened again, Dublin would not fall foul to that. They would just turn the other way and head up to the Davin and kick points there.

It caused stupid distraction and heated up the Dublin players led by Whelan and even their management team looked like eegits, old men going about hitting shoulders to opposition trainers in some sort of playground.

I think players nowadays are far more professional mentally to fall for or indeed try playing those antics.

AFAIK, the allocation of warm up is something to do with the dressing rooms and pre game Dublin coach went into Mayo dressing room and reminded them of this.

At the end of the day, both teams switch sides at half time. Its up to the Mayo congregation to create their own atmosphere down the other end if they feel it will create an advantage to the players.

I certainly would do my warm up being distracted by fans hurling abuse even if it merely causes a slight irritant.

Since the Dubs got their undies twisted so much in 2006 the GAA decided to let them have the dressing room they wanted by stating it's applied in an alphabetical order. As this is "Átha Cliath" as gaeilge, it means that Dublin will only have to switch dressing room and suffer the seemed indignity of warming up into the canal end if they are playing Armagh or Antrim.

Blackjack wrote: »
    Since the Dubs got their undies twisted so much in 2006 the GAA decided to let them have the dressing room they wanted by stating it's applied in an alphabetical order. As this is "Átha Cliath" as gaeilge, it means that Dublin will only have to switch dressing room and suffer the seemed indignity of warming up into the canal end if they are playing Armagh or Antrim.

If Dublin are classified as Atha Cliath, Meath are An Mhi! Similarly, Down, Cavan and Clare are preceded with an "An" when their names are classified "as gaeilge"! :D

Anyway, its all silly. Let Dublin fans have the Hill, its part of The GAA culture so for the love of the game, things like this need to be embraced a bit.
    Removing cultural aspects like this is something that turns me off the game, just like the increasing stoppages in games by certain pedantic referees. Such officiating isn't removing the niggly elements to a game, its worsening them as players now know they can buy a cheap free with the minute playacting.

I am not a Dublin fan by the way. Just so that people think I am biased on this

Blackjack wrote: »

I certainly would do my warm up being distracted by fans hurling abuse even if it merely causes a slight irritant.

Since the Dubs got their undies twisted so much in 2006 the GAA decided to let them have the dressing room they wanted by stating it's applied in an alphabetical order. As this is " tha Cliath" as gaeilge, it means that Dublin will only have to switch dressing room and suffer the seemed indignity of warming up into the canal end if they are playing Armagh or Antrim.
    If Dublin were told today that they had to warm up at the canal they wouldnt bat an eyelid. It means nothing now and its more important to get a proper warm up done. It was a stupid thing to do by Mayo and they were lucky it worked out for them that time or else they would have looked very foolish, even their own manager wasnt happy with them for doing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭SomethingElse

kilns wrote: »
    If Dublin were told today that they had to warm up at the canal they wouldnt bat an eyelid.

I'll believe it when I see it.

Dublin are used to certain privileges within the Gaa and challenging these does have an effect on both players and the fans.

kilns wrote: »
    If Dublin were told today that they had to warm up at the canal they wouldnt bat an eyelid.

I'll believe it when I see it.

Dublin are used to certain privileges within the Gaa and challenging these does have an effect on both players and the fans.
    I think it means more to those with a chip on their shoulder than it does to Dublin

If Dublin are classified as Atha Cliath, Meath are An Mhi! Similarly, Down, Cavan and Clare are preceded with an "An" when their names are classified "as gaeilge"! :D

Anyway, its all silly. Let Dublin fans have the Hill, its part of The GAA culture so for the love of the game, things like this need to be embraced a bit.
    Removing cultural aspects like this is something that turns me off the game, just like the increasing stoppages in games by certain pedantic referees. Such officiating isn't removing the niggly elements to a game, its worsening them as players now know they can buy a cheap free with the minute playacting.

I am not a Dublin fan by the way. Just so that people think I am biased on this

They allready have dub Joe in there pocket have Crocker as there home pitch and you want to give them the hill as well

God you really hate them don't you?

It's just a game at the end of the day, yes it's important, but anything that makes you so angry isn't good for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,932 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

As said the Hill is a traditional Dublin stronghold, let them warm up there ffs, it's no big deal but as a Mayo man i did enjoy 2006 :D

I dont want to give them anything.

Its a bloody stand at the end of the day. The Dublin team fans have been standing there for decades and claimed it informally. Its a GAA culture thing and its not going to change, no matter how much people whinge!. Ive been in the Hill, in fact I was there as a young lad when Kildare played the Dubs in the replay in 98 and although I was just happy to be there at a match and the result was all that mattered when you are a kid, looking back, I couldnt stomach being there surrounded by riled up opposition fans as an adult

Ive also been there as an adult in games that Dubs werent involved in and all in all it wasn't something I would write home about!

What is the big deal! Why do you consider it a mecca anyway!

Get a ticket if you can and stand there! You don't need to bring all your friends! If these are the things that bother you about matchdays..........

Its the same sh1te every year by some fans re The Hill and it only feeds into the ego of a Dubs fan!

No point going onto boards and spouting on about it! Write a letter to congress!