Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Second Captains

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 688 ✭✭✭Running Balance

Patww79 wrote:

was so looking foward to this but didnt find it as good as previous tales. Except for rashers of course..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,252 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Father Ignatius is a 'oul divil for acting the maggot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,654 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

gucci wrote: »
    Although Jimmy Nesbitt got a brief mention when discussing the balon d'or award split, I was really expecting a rerun of the jingle and random James Nesbitt facts with the return of the great man to prime time tv in cold feet......!

This is something I don't get - what is the connection with Jimmy Nesbitt and the Balon d'Or?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,152 ✭✭✭✭Cartman78

The second Fair View wasn't a patch on the original imho.....didn't feel like Ken really put the effort in :D

Although, the story about Eoin not realising that he could actually change the tyre on his car almost made up for it

Did anyone have issues with the non-football episode by the way? The sound kept skipping and looping and then ended abruptly in the middle of the John Casey interview :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭heebusjeebus

Cartman78 wrote: »
    Did anyone have issues with the non-football episode by the way? The sound kept skipping and looping and then ended abruptly in the middle of the John Casey interview :confused:

No. What app are you using? You may need to re-download it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,152 ✭✭✭✭Cartman78

No. What app are you using? You may need to re-download it.

I'm using a 10 year old iPod to download from an 8 year old laptop :o

Really need to upgrade/decommission both but they are generally working fine so can't justify it tbh.

Will try to reload this evening so..cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,298 ✭✭✭gucci

dulpit wrote: »
    This is something I don't get - what is the connection with Jimmy Nesbitt and the Balon d'Or?

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/men/the-filter/forget-messi-vs-ronaldo--james-nesbitts-hair-steals-the-show-at/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,904 ✭✭✭Brock Turnpike

Cienciano wrote: »
    "Mkhitaryan is a landline". Never thought I'd hear a phrase like that!

Agreed that MArcotti was terrible at the start of that interview, cringy bad. But when he got into it he made some great points. Worth the listen, but he was like a child in a temper tantrum for the first few questions.

He's just a crying big bebby.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭buyer95

He's just a crying big bebby.

You cannot call a playa a big bebby!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭Realbhoy

buyer95 wrote: »
    You cannot call a playa a big bebby!
    I'm fu**in ragin!!! I laugh every time I hear that. What is it from does anyone know? The last bit of that insert sounds like someone from Man Utd giving out about Moyes but it's the first bit that gets me every time. As an aside I was a little disappointed with the view from fairview this week. I think the fact it was so unexpected the first time out helped it a lot!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,248 ✭✭✭✭BoJack Horseman

Realbhoy wrote: »
    I'm fu**in ragin!!! I laugh every time I hear that. What is it from does anyone know?

"Angry Kilmarnock fan is the Scotch fellow.

And the uber-manc accents are from some twitter/fan-tv kind of thing AFAIK?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

"Angry Kilmarnock fan is the Scotch fellow.

And the uber-manc accents are from some twitter/fan-tv kind of thing AFAIK?

The Manc lad is Andy Tate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,528 ✭✭✭batistuta9

that kilmarnock fan is one of the saddest things i've ever watched

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,779 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

batistuta9 wrote: »
    that kilmarnock fan is one of the saddest things i've ever watched

Yer away mate.

Yer bags, yer desk. Boom.

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    Yer away mate.

Yer bags, yer desk. Boom.

:D should've expected that. I though it was 'on your desk'

Ever watch it?

batistuta9 wrote: »
    :D should've expected that. I though it was 'on your desk'

Ever watch it?

No, but I've heard it a million times.

'Am f*cking ragin'!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 312 ✭✭JuanJose

Arghus wrote: »
    severe gap between the haves and have nots of European football

It's got so bad, I read the above & immediately lost my train of thought.

Ken Early, you've a lot to answer for!

https://soundcloud.com/secondcaptains/the-ken-early-euros-train-experience

• Closed Accounts Posts: 907 ✭✭✭foxtrot101

There's an extra podcast today - "BYE BYE BIG SAM SECOND CAPTAINS SPECIAL".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,608 ✭✭✭jaykay74

foxtrot101 wrote: »
    There's an extra podcast today - "BYE BYE BIG SAM SECOND CAPTAINS SPECIAL".

Thought it was ok but could have done with another voice other than the lads for a short slot, maybe Jonathon Wilson.

I know when Amy Lawrence was on earlier in the week she was plugging her Wenger piece but would be good if the lads get to use her in future for the odd slot as I always found her decent when she is on the Guardian football podcast (I think?) which I am now tired of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,904 ✭✭✭Brock Turnpike

jaykay74 wrote: »
    Thought it was ok but could have done with another voice other than the lads for a short slot, maybe Jonathon Wilson.

I know when Amy Lawrence was on earlier in the week she was plugging her Wenger piece but would be good if the lads get to use her in future for the odd slot as I always found her decent when she is on the Guardian football podcast (I think?) which I am now tired of.

Agree it could have done with another voice. Surprised they didn't get one of the English journalists on to discuss it.

Also, does it drive anyone else mad that Murph pronounces the word 'made' as 'med'? He done it on the Big Sam podcast but I've heard him do it on plenty of other pods too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 493 ✭✭Tsipras

Agree it could have done with another voice. Surprised they didn't get one of the English journalists on to discuss it.

Also, does it drive anyone else mad that Murph pronounces the word 'made' as 'med'? He done it on the Big Sam podcast but I've heard him do it on plenty of other pods too.

Ah come on, It's an accent, do you want everyone you listen to to be from Dublin?

It doesn't drive me mad that you spell did 'done'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,777 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

that's one of the smarmiest smug self congratulatory sporting podcasts I've ever heard..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,777 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

No.

Maybe Oxford boat race podcasts are more your thing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,116 ✭✭✭Trent Houseboat

Murph's "med" is a annoying.

Eoin has one that really annoys me me too. I think it's "bekem" instead of "became", not 100% sure at the moment but it definitely starts "be-".

Ken's diction is perfect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,608 ✭✭✭jaykay74

lawred2 wrote: »
    that's one of the smarmiest smug self congratulatory sporting podcasts I've ever heard..

The Gurdian football podcast used to be good but now its all phoned in really. I've finally given up on it & the times football podcast and fill my commute with Dan Carlins hardcore history with second captains to supplement when there is a new episode available.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,799 ✭✭✭corwill

The Gurdian football podcast used to be good but now its all phoned in really. I've finally given up on it & the times football podcast and fill my commute with Dan Carlins hardcore history with second captains to supplement when there is a new episode available.

+1. I listened to Glendenning deliver one too many sneery, ill-informed nuggets of 'received wisdom' through his left nostril, only for him to reply with something like "just a hunch" by way of justification when challenged. And he has a show on Talksport, I shudder to think how appalling that must be.

Love Football Weekly. This, SC & Arsecast are must listen for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,252 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

I'd imagine why yesterday's show was just the three lads had a lot to do with it being a once-off to talk about the days massive football story. Just to get something out there, they may have struggled to get some other people on at short notice. In any case I was delighted to get another extra dose this week- let's be thankful. I'm sure there will be plenty of Diminished Sam talk with all the usual characters over the next few weeks.

I also stopped listening to football weekly a fair while ago. It just felt very formulaic and stale, to me. Not bad, per se. Just Meh. Maybe, in the interest of fairness, I'll listen again to see if things have changed in the meantime. Though I haven't really missed it since I gave up on it. I'd miss Second Captains an awful lot.

Completely agree with some of the criticisms of Barry Glenndenning. He's awful: neither funny or informative, but thinks he's gas and pontificates all the time. If he was just a "funny" sidekick to James Richardson that would be one thing, but he can start off on a soapboxing righteously indignant rant when the mood takes him. Also, judging by his interactions with people on Twitter or in the comments (I know, I know) section he seems to have amazingly thin skin, gossamer thin.