Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion Part 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 carraigard

Any idea where one can get tickets for the replay

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,256 ✭✭✭LeoB

Bambi wrote: »
    I've no idea what he's like as a human but I find O'Connor to be revolting as a player. Only downside I'd see to Mayo finally winning an All Ireland is him getting a reward for his miserable behaviour
    I met him once briefly and can see why people think he is like this. He has very few admirers outside his parish. He doesnt need to be like this is the sad thing.
    PressRun wrote: »
    Go and cry about it. Could day the same for a couple of Dublin players, but don't go onto yer thread to whinge about it.

Give us a few examples. I dont see Dublin players trying to get lads sent off. I would not approve of it. It is a disgusting side to the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,449 ✭✭✭✭km79

LeoB wrote: »
    I met him once briefly and can see why people think he is like this. He has very few admirers outside his parish. He doesnt need to be like this is the sad thing.

Give us a few examples. I dont see Dublin players trying to get lads sent off. I would not approve of it. It is a disgusting side to the game.

Was it Philly McMahon who pretended to be head butted by o Shea last year ? Or cooper ? Can't remember but it was one of the 2 .........
    Ah here we are
    http://www.punditarena.com/gaa/adrumm/philly-mcmahon-denies-headbutting-aidan-oshea-and-diving-against-mayo/
    I'm sorry u was mixed up.he attempted to headbutt o Shea and seperatley then himself feigned injury to try and get o Shea sent off.
    Wouldn't catch a Dublin player doing that you say ?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,257 ✭✭✭Peist2007

km79 wrote: »
    For daring to touch "The best player in Ireland"
    He should have been more respectful like the Kerry defenders and given him all the space he needs to play effectively ;)

Yup this Dublin team are the greatest of all time. At playing football versus Laois or Westmeath in a vacuum

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,820 ✭✭✭corny

80s Child wrote: »
    If you're a betting man, the bet on Connolly was to score more than 3.5 points. To the best of my knowledge, he scored one, and that was from a misplaced kickout by Clarke. Connolly, in my opinion, is one of the top 3 players in the country at the minute! Yes, he got on a bit of ball, but on none of those occasions was he causing any real damage.

Keegan let him have the ball (I'm using let here as there's no way you can keep him off the ball for the entirety of the game) in areas where he would cause the least damage. Instead of pushing up on Connolly all of the time and stepping out of the defensive system, he kept his discipline and stuck to the game plan. That's the mark of a player who is working for the team! Sure, he would have loved to have welded Connolly at every possible juncture, but in doing so he would have left himself exposed and he would have exposed the rest of the rear guard or by leaving a gaping hole while trying to make the tackle ! If you mistime a tackle on Connolly you're in bother! Keegan stood and shadowed and insured, in my humble opinion, that he wasn't a main scoring threat or the main instigator in Dublin's offensive movements.

For that alone, he deserves huge credit!

Look space was at a premium. Connolly beats Keegan others converge on him in a flash. Happened frequently to Connolly and the rest. Example, right after Connolly left him on his arse he caught Keegan in possession close to goal. Seamus O'Shea was on him before he could do anything with it.

BTW the stuff you're giving Keegan credit for above is a joke. All intangible gibberish. Nothing concrete. Mayo defended very well as a unit. That's what made life tough for the Dublin forwards. Individually Keegan exerted little influence over Connolly. Watch it with a critical eye and you might agree.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,393 ✭✭✭Jaden

Fowler87 wrote: »
    Either Deegen or Dublin Joe I heard

Hope it's not Joe. McCarthy's black card was the result of McQuillan calling it to the ref's attention. He seems to be on a mission to dispel the notion that he favours the Dubs - we don't need that kind of agenda in a ref.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭TCDStudent1

Jaden wrote: »
    Hope it's not Joe. McCarthy's black card was the result of McQuillan calling it to the ref's attention. He seems to be on a mission to dispel the notion that he favours the Dubs - we don't need that kind of agenda in a ref.

McQuillan shouldnt get it based on that decision. Regardless of whether it was the right or wrong decision, it would be 'baggage' that he carries into the next day. Imagine if McCarthy is involved in something dubious the next day and McQuillan black cards him or sends him off, there will be total uproar.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,257 ✭✭✭Peist2007

McQuillan shouldnt get it based on that decision. Regardless of whether it was the right or wrong decision, it would be 'baggage' that he carries into the next day. Imagine if McCarthy is involved in something dubious the next day and McQuillan black cards him or sends him off, there will be total uproar.

There was no one worrying about uproar when the linesman that called on Keegan in the 2014 semi final reffed the replay in Limerick and completely screwed Mayo. We were told to put up and shup up then if i remember correctly. McCarthy should have been black carded yesterday, if McQuillan called it then it should be a feather in his cap rather than a black mark. Is home advantage not enough for ye that ye have to pick the ref too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭PressRun

McQuillan is far too controversial. Definitely shouldn't be him. I wouldn't mind the same ref again, tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,313 ✭✭✭TITANIUM.

Jaden wrote: »

Your right.
    Or he doesn't punish him and lad's would be saying he's afraid to or trying to make up for the last day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,192 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

Is Conor O Shea injured lads?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,403 ✭✭✭naughto

Is Conor O Shea injured lads?

Don't think certain games don't suit him like yesterday.

Any update on dillion or regan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 823 ✭✭✭Kauto

LeoB wrote: »

McMahon and Cooper are always gesturing to the ref.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 854 ✭✭✭tacofries

To the dubs complaining about O'Connor and Keegan, I am usually very against unfavorable play and what not, however at this stage I couldn't give two sh*tes as long as it brings home Sam!

Mayo, go out and do whatever it takes, I'll stand behind ye regardless ! Just get the job done :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭Bunny Colvin

Would ye still take Dean Rock over O'Connor ☺

Not a chance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,067 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Deano just doesn't miss (from 20 yards, in front of goals, on a dry calm day, against Laois).

Same again the next day, give him plenty of frees from 40m's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Reduction in price of tickets for the replay.:)

Stands 60 euro

Hill 16 30 euro

Cartman78 wrote: »
    Lads, what's the story with ticket allocation for the replay?

Will there be any of general sale at all?

No tickets will go on general sale.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭SeanJ09

Thought Jason Doc was superb yesterday. One of his best in a Mayo jersey.

SeanJ09 wrote: »
    Thought Jason Doc was superb yesterday. One of his best in a Mayo jersey.

Just watched it back there again and I have to agree. Given the occasion, by far his best performance. That diagonal ball to Andy in the first half was exactly what we need. He followed it up with a wonderful point.

Yup, Jason really showed up yesterday and I actually think he's been having a good year all round. I think he'll hold his place for the next day.

We're fooling ourselves if we put the 2 goals down to flukes. On another day, the Dubs would have slotted away two of their goal chances. The second was a superb ball in by Connolly but Boyle and McLoughlin were caught out.

They could have had one just moments earlier but from an excellent save from Clarke. Unfortunately that all came from McLoughlin giving away a poor handpass up the field. He's not great when he has too much time to think about handpasses when the play is slowed down. He did the same against Tyrone a fair bit.

Hope it's spilling rain the next day..:D:pac:

PARlance wrote: »
    We're fooling ourselves if we put the 2 goals down to flukes. On another day, the Dubs would have slotted away two of their goal chances. The second was a superb ball in by Connolly but Boyle and McLoughlin were caught out.

The first goal was a bit messy, but the second goal was poor defending. Colm Boyle let his man get away from him.

PARlance wrote: »

Totally agree..this line of own goals/calamitous goals.There were goal opportunities there for Dublin in the first half..it was intense pressure that resulted in those two goals.Dublin running at pace,good support play and poor Mayo defending.

seligehgit wrote: »
    Totally agree..this line of own goals/calamitous goals.There were goal opportunities there for Dublin in the first half..it was intense pressure that resulted in those two goals.

We've been fooling ourselves by this semi sweeper system all year. We've been giving away chances all year really. Bar Andy's chance that he pointed, we didn't have another real goal chance... That's a worry on the other end too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,059 ✭✭✭80s Child

corny wrote: »
    Look space was at a premium. Connolly beats Keegan others converge on him in a flash. Happened frequently to Connolly and the rest. Example, right after Connolly left him on his arse he caught Keegan in possession close to goal. Seamus O'Shea was on him before he could do anything with it.

BTW the stuff you're giving Keegan credit for above is a joke. All intangible gibberish. Nothing concrete. Mayo defended very well as a unit. That's what made life tough for the Dublin forwards. Individually Keegan exerted little influence over Connolly. Watch it with a critical eye and you might agree.

So you're saying that the Mayo defensive system, which Keegan is an integral member of, is the reason that Connolly didn't perform to his usual heights??

May I ask, do you think any other Mayo player would have been as effective on Connolly?

Dillion sapose to have broke his ankle