Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Newstalk - Breakfast Show

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭PeterTheNinth

pc7 wrote: »
    I came on to post about the promo, heard it this afternoon out driving. It's just so so so so bad!!!

You would have to wonder if he's even got PC at home to practice recording promos on, and to record himself doing the sports ... 1) to practice getting used to reading the text and 2) to listen back to hear how it sounds and how it could be improved.

It's crazy that they just take him from being a complete novice to putting giving him a full time job on air. Newstalk really should help him out. Maybe get Oisin Langan to give him a bit of training. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

You would have to wonder if he's even got PC at home to practice recording promos on, and to record himself doing the sports ... 1) to practice getting used to reading the text and 2) to listen back to hear how it sounds and how it could be improved.

It's crazy that they just take him from being a complete novice to putting giving him a full time job on air. Newstalk really should help him out. Maybe get Oisin Langan to give him a bit of training. :D

I honestly thought that they were going to change up the format with Quinlan and maybe have him do a longer sports segment every now and then. An in depth 15 minute interview or something.

Now, they still might do this, it's only been a week, but on the early showing it's really, really hard to see any logic behind bringing Quinlan on board. He's effectively a newsreader at this point, except he's a newsreader with no experience, dumped into the station's highest rated show on his first day on the job.

Mind boggling really. I think as has been said before, you'd have to imagine Oisin Langan and Cian Murtagh are feeling slightly aggrieved right about now...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,777 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

I've a feeling Quilan will come good after a while.

Then they'll probably give him half an hour of Moncrieff's time.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,277 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

Ol' Donie wrote: »

Then they'll probably give him half an hour of Moncrieff's time.

Those half hour slots didn't help Henry McKeen he's still Sh1e

wnolan1992 wrote: »
    Now, they still might do this, it's only been a week, but on the early showing it's really, really hard to see any logic behind bringing Quinlan on board. He's effectively a newsreader at this point, except he's a newsreader with no experience

Yeah, this is the thing in particular that I dont understand. Whey the show was announced there were pictures of all four of them as presenters. Usually when you announce a show, you dont include the news / traffic / sports readers in the photoshoot. I was expecting him to be presenting at least some of the show, not just reading the sports news off a sheet. I'd like to see a copy of his contract. I'd say he's probably looking it up himself after week one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,746 ✭✭✭Drag00n79

The job share thing is the most baffling piece for me. Not sure what the thought process is behind it.

I'd say they're trying to copy the rotation of presenters on the Today show on BBC Radio 4. It's the only thing they share in common! I can't bear listening to NT Breakfast anymore.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Williams might give Duffy a run for his money with his take on sayings, "A milestone around your neck ".

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,277 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

Oh Quinlan is just so boring, he really needs to try and act a little bit interested.
    I'm so raging they really have ruined my drive to work!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,348 ✭✭✭Horse84

Part of me thinks it's all a pisstake. It's just terribly bad. I'm still listening cause I'm thinking that it will get better but it's not at all. Has colette been on one morning so far? Williams is an absolute disaster and Alan quinlan, my god I didn't know if any other sports broadcaster had a worse knowledge of sport than Paul Collins but he's proving me wrong. I can't stand PC coleman at the best of times.
    Surely management will be forced to do something?

Williams relishing in his little gangland piece this morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,894 ✭✭✭Brock Turnpike

This morning was genuinely awful from the hour that I listened to.

Williams during the paper review, talking about people putting 'Jedi' as their religion on the census, and about beer goggles, was pure cringe. His lack of knowledge/ignorance to what was being said during the business section was very off putting.

Quinlan sounded exactly like what he is i.e. Someone trying to get used to a new job. Interview with BJ Padden just didn't flow at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

wnolan1992 wrote: »
    I honestly thought that they were going to change up the format with Quinlan and maybe have him do a longer sports segment every now and then. An in depth 15 minute interview or something.

Now, they still might do this, it's only been a week, but on the early showing it's really, really hard to see any logic behind bringing Quinlan on board. He's effectively a newsreader at this point, except he's a newsreader with no experience, dumped into the station's highest rated show on his first day on the job.

Mind boggling really. I think as has been said before, you'd have to imagine Oisin Langan and Cian Murtagh are feeling slightly aggrieved right about now...

Yeah, I don't get why they needed a high profile newsreader at all. They might have thought his experience in high-level sports might lend some insight but it doesn't seem to have.

Unless there's a rugby story.

Coleman: "And is 29 a bit old to be turning pro"
    Quinlan: "I suppose it is".

This mornings show is much better with Colette Fitzpatrick and Shane Coleman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,885 ✭✭✭DeanAustin

ThisRegard wrote: »
    This mornings show is much better with Colette Fitzpatrick and Shane Coleman.

Agreed. Infinitely better. Sounds like a proper radio programme.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,539 ✭✭✭ghostdancer

I thought with Hook shunted to the middle of the day, my drives to/from work would be free of concussion talk, but no....
    maybe Newstalk could just devote 2hrs a week to a concussion show, given that it's almost a daily discussion topic between breakfast, Hook and OTB....

DeanAustin wrote: »
    Agreed. Infinitely better. Sounds like a proper radio programme.

So how come no one in newstalk is copping on to this fact. I really am starting to believe they are trying to self destruct. Turned on Drive yesterday at 4.20 expecting it to be the top stories of the day. Eh no it was Henry doing a piece on Super Lice. WTF, its meant to be an evening drive time show, keep the fluff for the last 15 minutes not the start.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,885 ✭✭✭DeanAustin

pc7 wrote: »
    So how come no one in newstalk is copping on to this fact. I really am starting to believe they are trying to self destruct. Turned on Drive yesterday at 4.20 expecting it to be the top stories of the day. Eh no it was Henry doing a piece on Super Lice. WTF, its meant to be an evening drive time show, keep the fluff for the last 15 minutes not the start.

I know, it's bizarre.

I'm actually quite liking Chris Donoghue and Sarah McInerney on Drive as well. Think there is the basis of a good team there. So while Ivan's sorely missed and I won't get to hear Hook anymore, this morning's breakfast line-up along with the evening pairing are quite good.

Yeah Chris and Sarah could have carried the morning show I felt, at least it would have been some sort of continuity. All the messing over the summer and now the job sharing it's just pants.

I'm not sure why anyone at Newstalk thought Williams and Quinlan would be good additions to the team. Shane Coleman and Colette Fitzpatrick work. I liked Kieran Cuddihy anytime he was on over the summer. But Williams doesn't bring anything except his usual vernacular when it comes to talking about gangland stories.

I like Sarah McInerney as well but she needs to brush up on her interviewing when it comes to trying to challenge someone. It escapes me now who she was interviewing last week but she was jumping in with questions and statements without letting him answer.

I'm not sure why anyone at Newstalk thought Williams and Quinlan would be good additions to the team. Shane Coleman and Colette Fitzpatrick work. I liked Kieran Cuddihy anytime he was on over the summer. But Williams doesn't bring anything except his usual vernacular when it comes to talking about gangland stories.

Agree with most of the above.

1. The job sharing doesnt work. There's no way to build a brand or a following if you have different presenters on different days.
    2. Williams and Quinlan are novices, why didnt they just keep Kieran Cuddihy? I initially presumed that there couldnt give him a full time job because he had his own work to do. But if the idea was a job share, surely they could have given two or three days to Cuddihy.
    3. Colette Fitzpatrick is waaaaay too serious. She has no personality. They should swap her and Sarah McInerney. Though I might be worried about Chris then. Remember when Nora Owen stood in for Ivan, and it was like he was presenting the show with his mother.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,125 ✭✭✭heybaby

Agree with most of the above.

1. The job sharing doesnt work. There's no way to build a brand or a following if you have different presenters on different days.
    2. Williams and Quinlan are novices, why didnt they just keep Kieran Cuddihy? I initially presumed that there couldnt give him a full time job because he had his own work to do. But if the idea was a job share, surely they could have given two or three days to Cuddihy.
    3. Colette Fitzpatrick is waaaaay too serious. She has no personality. They should swap her and Sarah McInerney. Though I might be worried about Chris then. Remember when Nora Owen stood in for Ivan, and it was like he was presenting the show with his mother.

Perhaps with Colette they are aiming for the same ernest tone you get on Morning Ireland which is generally totally devoid of humour also.
    Not convinced by Sarah McInerneys suitability as a presenter, she sounds too lightweight and the voice is all wrong. She sounds out of her depth.
    Quinlan was offered an opportunity this morning to talk about a sporting subject he knows intimately, rugby and concussion, but he still lacked any sense of a fluid delivery. I can't see him last longterm, his inability is glaring and the listeners will cop on quickly enough.
    Williams is a hack, a niche hack at that, not a presenter.
    I think Newstalk will ditch this breakfast show by Committee idea before too long, it works with Morning Ireland because they have an established brand and credible presenters, not so with Newstalk.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,078 ✭✭✭Muff Richardson

heybaby wrote: »
    . Not convinced by Sarah McInerneys suitability as a presenter, she sounds too lightweight and the voice is all wrong.

She sounds like shes presenting hungover from under her duvet. she also sounds fairly stuck up.

To be fair, Colette did crack a joke loaded with innuendo the other morning, which was pretty good, but Shane missed it. Maybe because he didn't expect it. My thinking is that they will probably gel over time.

I think the Chris-Nora dynamic was more down to Nora.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 495 ✭✭bleary

heybaby wrote: »
    A
    Colette Fitzpatrick is waaaaay too serious. She has no personality.
    Not convinced by Sarah McInerneys suitability as a presenter, she sounds too lightweight and the voice is all wrong. She sounds out of her depth.
    Hmm so the first woman is too serious and the second too lightweight with the wrong kind of voice.
    Hard to know where to go with that really.
    I think Colette is a professional broadcaster not my cup of tea but well able for the job, really like Sarah mcinerney so far, she admitted herself she has limited broadcast experience but Thinks it's working well as a format.
    Using other professions as broadcasters has worked well for newstalk so far, I suspect they are trying to find the next Ivan Yates , George hook in the breakfast slot. Someone divisive with a particular area of expertise and heaps of ego = Paul Williams.
    Can't bear him though and it has meant I've stopped listening till moncreiff as before this I would switch on for Ivan and just leave the radio on till hook came on sometimes even the first hour of off the ball.

I would like to see Elaine byrne with a place on one of the slots but I think I recall her having some Denis o Brien run in so that's not happening

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,108 ✭✭✭✭neris

Is Quinlan just a glorified sports news reader on this new set up ?

I once believed Newstalk might have snared Pet Rabbit as a Breakfast Anchor, and I believe it's a role the ex-Minister for Tongue Trills would have relished (I have never met anybody who rolls their R's who doesn't dream of unbridled access to a live mic)

I dislike Rabbitte intensely, but he would have been an outspoken and no-nonsense host with an interesting political insight. He performed very well on the show and other radio shows in the past as a seasoned commentator and, I reluctantly admit, he has a suitable voice for radio, and the wits to participate in robust ad-hoc discussions on current affairs.

Perhaps the early starts wouldn't have suited Rabbitte (he is 67 years of age), but I think it's a pity for Newstalk that they didn't manage to poach him, if they even considered it at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,697 ✭✭✭DickSwiveller

I know I'm going to be accused of sexism here, but I dont care. Women radio presenters are awful. It's true. Sarah Mcinerney and Collette Fitzpatrick have absolutely no sense of humour, and when they do try and crack a joke or engage in a bit of banter, it's incredibly awkward. Why, in the name of equality and inclusiveness, did Newstalk destroy their best shows. The great thing about Newstalk was the lack of women presenters during the week. Having said all that, I'd still take Collette and Sarah over that gob****e Paul Williams and Quinlavan. It's clear that Williams has no idea what he's doing. The only issues he's interested in are gangsters and Sinn Fein bashing, and his delivery is terrible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

neris wrote: »
    Is Quinlan just a glorified sports news reader on this new set up ?

Nothing "glorified" about it :rolleyes:

He is there and extremely dull and unenthusiastic

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,295 ✭✭✭Lt Dan

I know I'm going to be accused of sexism here, but I dont care. Women radio presenters are awful. It's true. Sarah Mcinerney and Collette Fitzpatrick have absolutely no sense of humour, and when they do try and crack a joke or engage in a bit of banter, it's incredibly awkward. Why, in the name of equality and inclusiveness, did Newstalk destroy their best shows. The great thing about Newstalk was the lack of women presenters during the week. Having said all that, I'd still take Collette and Sarah over that gob****e Paul Williams and Quinlavan. It's clear that Williams has no idea what he's doing. The only issues he's interested in are gangsters and Sinn Fein bashing, and his delivery is terrible.

I do not care what they accuse me of, but I agree. My god, tuned into the old Right Hook slot. I know he has more or less the same stuff on High Noon, but the Drive show was unbearable. I want Hookie back to his old slot

Chris Donoghue, a damn squib, should only be near a radio unless he is with Ivan Yates ,making fun of him. The female presenter, who, to be fair to her, is very competent, has such a boring voice.

I do not want to be listening about babies etc at that time - to be fair, that is probably the type of stuff that goes on, remember Live at 3?

Okay, so, with Hook , you have itchy scrot, his gout etc, but his group of guests were better as where the topics. His rantings were amusing and frustration at the same time, but much more enjoyable.

Hook is a lot of things, but dull is not what you could call his show. Wonder where is the old Tea Party fella.?