Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Liverpool FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours 2016/2017

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭mav79

Just watched the highlights there, going forward we really did look electric. The way Mane runs at players, you can see the opposition literally sh1tting themselves because they don't know what to do. How did Wijnaldum play? Highlights suggested he was a bit quiet?
    Thought he did very well, but everyone did apart from that miscontrol by Lucas. Wijnaldum kept the ball moving through the middle even when under pressure, and his direct runs towards the box were always a threat. Going to be interesting to see how himself, Henderson and Lallana compete for places with Can

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,775 ✭✭✭✭Gbear

Not being smart but I'd rather have Mane available for every game.

And his pace on the break against teams who attack us can be every bit as vital as anything he does against teams who sit back.

He was brilliant against Arsenal and Spurs, both of them attacked us.

Ideally, but we can make do without him.

We did well against those kinds of teams last season as well.

What we don't have aside from him is someone who can crack 10 men behind the ball.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,733 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

Firmino and Mané are two players who I genuinely believe, however other teams' supporters will probably scoff, would fit into any other team in this league.

They are by far our two most important players, and make Kloppball tick.

A special shout to Matip, who got caught out once trying to rush the ball for Vardy's second half chance, but apart from looked very promising.

Also, since I give Mig a lot of stick, it's only fair I give him credit for that save from said Vardy chance. Not great from Vardy, but I was sure Mig would let it under him, but no.

Great win.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,872 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

It's a great problem for Klopp to have. Also, notable that Origi is not mentioned in any of the above as well. He'll get his chances though,especially as injuries come into play up front.

I wonder will Karius have to wait until the Cup game against Derby for his debut? I suspect he will, as I doubt away to Chelsea after a long layoff will be his debut.

Its hard to see Ings getting a game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,807 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

mav79 wrote: »
    Its hard to see Ings getting a game

Still building up his fitness and I'm sure he'll be in cup matches. Injuries could tell later in the season too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,059 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

The Chelsea game will be the same then apart from Couts in for Sturridge and Lovren back in maybe. Then Derby with Origi, Karius, Grujic, Moreno and Klavan coming in probably.

Hopefully Can back soon too, perhaps for Derby.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,025 ✭✭✭✭Osmosis Jones

Game's up on MOTD in a couple minutes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,861 ✭✭✭Mr.H

mav79 wrote: »
    Thought he did very well, but everyone did apart from that miscontrol by Lucas. Wijnaldum kept the ball moving through the middle even when under pressure, and his direct runs towards the box were always a threat. Going to be interesting to see how himself, Henderson and Lallana compete for places with Can

Considering he is a midfielder playing left center back.....................

He played excellent in that position apart from that idiot moment. Loads of times he intercepted great chances

Just home from game.

It was very enjoyable!

Criticism from me against the champions can wait until tomorrow

Mr.H wrote: »
    Considering he is a midfielder playing left center back.....................

He played excellent in that position apart from that idiot moment. Loads of times he intercepted great chances

Completely agree, its the only thing he did wrong today that I can remember, was expecting him to get dragged out of position but he did great to read the danger numerous times. Hard to criticize anyone today.

Klopps old club beaten by promoted Leipzig today!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,991 ✭✭✭sword1

The commentary on motd is so pro English players it is hard to listen to. Sturridge had the best game he had in 12 months and lallana was excellent but mane and firmino did not get credit for their performance today as usual. Spurs can never do any wrong with their English players either and don't mention poor Joe harte

BBC in British/English bias shocker, sure RTE would only highlight the Irish players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,807 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

BBC in British/English bias shocker, sure RTE would only highlight the Irish players.

Most likely watching Last Night of The Proms beforehand had fired them up.

I don't remember when RTE had Premier League highlights that there was a major focus of Irish players on it in all fairness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 601 ✭✭✭Charizard

Liverpool are a strange team for me these days, while I never wanted ye to win anything, I love Klopp and want him to win something :mad:
    Why couldnt you just have been cool and hired Pardew :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,264 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Did MOTD pickup on fact their goal was against the rules.
    Rarely see that happen, for a ref not to know the rules of the game.

Charizard wrote: »
    Liverpool are a strange team for me these days, while I never wanted ye to win anything, I love Klopp and want him to win something :mad:
    Why couldnt you just have been cool and hired Pardew :(

I think you are misusing the word 'cool' there.

Did MOTD pickup on fact their goal was against the rules.
    Rarely see that happen, for a ref not to know the rules of the game.

Happens all the time.

To be fair a technicality shouldnt deny their deserving a goal when we made a huge mistake. We need to learn from it not excuse it

Happens all the time.

To be fair a technicality shouldnt deny their deserving a goal when we made a huge mistake. We need to learn from it not excuse it

Sound like more than a technicality to me, it is probably just little known. Thankfully made no difference anyhow.

5starpool wrote: »
    Sound like more than a technicality to me, it is probably just little known. Thankfully made no difference anyhow.

Well haven watched football for a long long long time now religiously, I can say honestly I didnt think there was as issue (doesnt mean there wasnt of course). I would feel harder done by with Sterlings goal against City a couple of years back when he was about 20 yards onside or when Spurs goal against United was hitting the back of the net from the half way line and ruled that it didnt cross the line.

These things happen. That I have learnt to accept.

Our mistake that led to the goal was all us. Nothing to do with little know technicalities.

Should the goal have stood? no. Neither should Sunderlands that hit the beach ball but thats how it goes.

We need to learn to not get into that situation in the first place

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,138 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

Well haven watched football for a long long long time now religiously, I can say honestly I didnt think there was as issue (doesnt mean there wasnt of course). I would feel harder done by with Sterlings goal against City a couple of years back when he was about 20 yards onside or when Spurs goal against United was hitting the back of the net from the half way line and ruled that it didnt cross the line.

These things happen. That I have learnt to accept.

Our mistake that led to the goal was all us. Nothing to do with little know technicalities.

Should the goal have stood? no. Neither should Sunderlands that hit the beach ball but thats how it goes.

We need to learn to not get into that situation in the first place

Well in fairness it's hard to learn to cope with a situation where the field is full of beach balls

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,076 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Hopefully Can back soon too, perhaps for Derby.

Nearly forgot that Can, Coutinho and Origi didn't even start the game today. We have great options going forward if we could just tighten it up at the back.

niallo27 wrote: »
    Well in fairness it's hard to learn to cope with a situation where the field is full of beach balls

Could have stopped the player from having a free run into the box in the first place. Seems to be a common occurrence for us

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

The really annoying thing is that we lost the game that you don't describe as tough.

I know aberrations happen, but we'll have an annoying amount of them. I can see us beating Chelsea and then losing to Hull or Swansea.

I love that our best is reminiscent of 3 years ago, and our worst actually, although I don't love that.

The most important thing this season was winning today, we won 6 league games at home last season, that's less than 1 in 3, that's relegation form lads.

I've said it a few times, sort the home form out and the away games will look after themselves. The likes of Burnley away will happen, sort out the home form and it doesn't really matter.

Sturridge on that form is a no brainer in home games, such an intelligent footballer with that touch of the unexpected that we miss without him.

Anybody that thinks he's a selfish git should watch that 2 minute highlight reel. He missed a one on one but the only reason he got criticised is because he's probably the best at those in the league, 9 times out of 10 he puts those away.

Defenders are scared sh*tless of him.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

K-9 wrote: »
    we won 6 league games at home last season, that's less than 1 in 3, that's relegation form lads.

Jaysus. That's criminal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,013 ✭✭✭Talisman

K-9 wrote: »
    The most important thing this season was winning today, we won 6 league games at home last season, that's less than 1 in 3, that's relegation form lads.
    We won 8 league games at home in the 2015/16 season.

Bournemouth 1-0
    Aston Villa 3-2
    Swansea 1-0
    Leicester 1-0
    Man City 3-0
    Stoke City 4-1
    Everton 4-0
    Watford 2-0

We only lost 3 home games: West Ham, Man Utd & Crystal Palace.

There were also 8 home draws (Norwich, Southampton, West Brom, Arsenal, Sunderland, Tottenham, Newcastle & Chelsea).

Teams that finish in the top 4, win at least 13/14 of their home games, we need to play for wins rather than settling for draws against lesser teams. If we had won 4 of the home games drawn (e.g. Norwich, West Brom, Sunderland & Newcastle) we would have finished in the top 4.

The same issue plagued us in 2008/9, we finished second in the league with 86 points having drawn 7 home games (Stoke, Fulham, West Ham, Hull, Man City, Everton & Arsenal). Man Utd won the title with 90 points and drew 2 home games (Newcastle & Arsenal) - their first and last home games that season. Their draw with Arsenal secured them the title. The four draws against Stoke, Fulham, West Ham and Hull City before Christmas of that season cost us the chance of winning the league.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,486 ✭✭✭SuperTortoise

Couldn't see the game yesterday. How did we play lads?

Brief summary, played fantastic.