But its cold outside

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

Wow super performance well done :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,140 ✭✭✭snailsong

Well done, Anne. Brilliantly executed race. There's nothing like the flying finish when you know the pb is nailed. Celebrate your success, what's rare is wonderful and we don't often get days like those.
    That said, I expect you to absolutely storm the flatline next month. See you there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,451 ✭✭✭spaceylou

Well done on the PB - sounds like a good race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭Younganne

Week 8 of 18 DCM 2016

Plan for the week
    Mon| Tue| Wed| Thurs| Fri| Sat| Sun
    Rest| 4m Easy| 7m Easy | 5m easy | Rest| 1m easy, 4 x 12 mins @ 8.45 off 3 min rec, 1m easy, | 14m Easy|

Monday 15th Aug
    Plan
    Rest
    Actual 2.14m recovery

tied up at football for the evening so at 9.04pm:eek: I decided to do a short recovery run. On with the lovely luminous tee shirt from yesterdays race and out the back road with the dog. I didn't met another person or car but it was dark when finishing. I'll have to get a hi vis for the dog as she is jet black except for one white paw!! Anyway body felt good and really enjoyed this run, its not difficult to keep it this slow any more once i start off slow and the second mile is always slower as it starts on a hill. Lovely evening for a run and still quite warm at that hour...

10.54, 11.05, 11.23(.14)
    Total 2.14m in 23.35 @ 11.01

Tuesday 16th August
    Plan 4m Easy
    Actual 4m Easy

I was starving when i got home from work so had my dinner and watched the Olympics for a while..When dinner settled a bit, just before 8 headed out to do this with the dog. Lovely evening and as a results i met loads of people on my usually quite road, people were walking, cycling and horseriding. There was even a gang of kids playing in the river!!! ah summertime at last!!!
    kept this on the slower side and enjoyed it, body has no ill effects from Sundays race thankfully. I still have a niggle in my left hip, but it doesn't affect me at all when running, only generally moving around!! think its just age related!!:rolleyes:

10.09, 10.07, 10.08, 9.57, 9.58, (.21)
    Total 4.21m in 42.28 @ 10.05

Wednesday 17th Aug
    Plan
    7m Easy
    Actual 7m Easy

i decided to do this at lunchtime as i know when i get home i'll be starving and will keep putting it off so just got it done.

Light drizzle falling but i resisted the urge to were heavier clothes as i knew it was still quite warm. Decided to go the opposite way to usual when heading out the gate from work and headed down to the gate at Parkgate st and back up, turned left and did a circle of the park bringing me back just a little over the required distance.

Lovely run, rain got a little heavier at times but it was just refreshing instead of annoying. I came across my HR monitor so wore it today for the first time in ages. I will have to check it out but think its about in the right zone. My RHR when last checked last week was at 49bpm

10.00, 9.45, 9.51, 9.46, 9.45, 9.44, 9.42, 9.49(.24)
    Total 7.24m in 1:10:54 @ 9.48/154bpm

Running Streak 49 days:D

WTD: 13.59
    MTD: 84.32m
    YTD: 1049.64m

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

Nice going at the weekend. Keep up the good work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭Bungy Girl

Just catching up here. Great PB and it sounds like you gave it socks. More PBs on the way for sure. Well done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 752 ✭✭✭Back in Black

Well done on the PB. Richly deserved with the great training.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 10,903 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Enjoyed your race report - another super run! Congrats on the big PB.

Thursday 18th Aug
    Plan 5m easy
    Actual 5m easy

At the club for this so did the warm up and stretches and then hit the laps of the pitches, ended up on my own as the others had started while i ran to the loo but caught them just after mile 3 it slowed right down as was chatting as we went round!

wu 10.40(.57), 9.38, 9.43, 9.44, 10.00, 10.08,
    Total 5.65m in 56:06 @ 9.48

Friday 19th Aug
    Plan Rest
    Actual Recovery run

Had planned on meeting 2 others and getting the LR done with company but woke up feeling stiff and sore and had to get bloods done so decided to err on side of caution and stick with the plan so cancelled my LR. Got out later for a short recovery run before heading to steward at the Rathkenny AC 5k race, small numbers but with the weekend that was in it, its great that the numbers are increasing year on year. Its a small club so hopefully it will grow each year!!

10.44, 10.54, 11.19(.11)
    Total 2.11 in 22:54 @ 10.51

Saturday 20th Aug
    Plan
    1 mile warm up, 4 x 12 min @ 8.45, 3 min rec, 1 mile cooldown
    Actual 1 mile warm up, 4 x 12 min @ 8.45, 3 min rec, 1 mile cooldown

Had sport massage to work on the hips again and rub out the legs, early afternoon so left this till after. So just before 6pm with no sign of the rain abating I headed out in the lashing rain but it gave way to lovely sunshine after half mile. I was soaked but didn't mind.

No bother on this run and got to correct pace pretty quickly and just tried to maintain,It all felt very comfortable as it should so happy out.

Last minute or so of the last Rep and them for the last mile my right hamstring was giving a bit of jib, so slowed it right down but I was limping by the end.

The rain came back for the last half hour and never let up for the whole evening so run was timed perfectly!!!

No bother on hamstring after my shower!! I'll head out for tomorrow's LSR and play it by ear, could have just been a bit tender after rub out...

9.56, 8.42, 8.43, 8.40, 8.40, 10.08
    Total 8.65m in 1:20:03 @ 9.15

Did my weekly weighin this morning and it was 155.6 so maintaining my weight , very happy with that, but still would love to go under the 154(11st mark)

WTD: 30.00m
    MTD: 100.73m
    YTD: 1066.05m

Sunday 21st August
    Plan 14m Easy
    Actual 14m Easy

Started off very slow not sure how the legs would be feeling but no bother on them. However, throughout the run the legs were niggly in different places at different times. Lightbulb moment :o need to check my mileage on my runners, but the runners are only 6 weeks old. Anyway 377m on these runners. New ones arrived last Friday so will break them in this week and see if it makes any difference to the legs. Probably complete rest day tomorrow would help too!!! After all the run streak was just a bit of fun!!! 53 days!!

Got home and after stretching i felt sick and lightheaded, didn't get sick but just made the bathroom in time:eek::eek:. Hope i haven't caught the bug that's going around. Stomach still feeling sick, had small toast and peanut butter but will have to force some food into me!! Early to bed for me tonight, feeling knackered!!!

The run was in light drizzly rain for most of it but didn't bother me. Much cooler for running in. All the miles were run by feel, some were great some not so!!Plenty of hills to keep me going..

10.17, 10.10, 10.02, 9.57, 9.53, 10.07, 9.59, 9.46, 9.41, 9.52, 9.55, 10.14, 9.50, 9.48, 9.39(.20)

Total 14.20m in 2:21:27 @ 9.58/155bpm

Week 8 completed successfully!!!

WTD: 44.20m
    MTD: 114.93m
    YTD: 1080.25m

Week 9 of 18 DCM 2016

Plan for the week
    Rest| 5m Easy| 1m easy, 5 x 800 @7.20, 2 mins rec, 1 easy| 5m easy | Rest| 1m easy, 2x 18mins @ 8.20 off 4 min rec, 1m easy, | 15m Easy|

Monday 22nd Aug
    Plan
    Rest
    Actual 2.05m recovery

Thankfully feeling much better today, last night I forced the dinner into me, plenty of water, put the beer back into the fridge and went to bed early. Body quite tender, it's as if the DOMS I didn't get after the race last week decided to visit this week, bit of foam rolling and a very slow recovery run. Test drive of the new runners too. I could feel the legs rejuvenating as I ran, which I think is the purpose of recovery runs!!!!
    Lovely evening for a run and a beautiful sunset as I stretched outside after!!

11.18, 11.33,
    Total 2.05 in 23.27 @ 11.25

Tuesday 23rd August
    Plan 5m Easy
    Actual 5m Easy

Headed to the club with the Younglad and did the warmup and drills, then headed for easy laps of the pitches. Forgot my watch but each lap is 1k so easy to work with.

Total 5m

WTD: 7.05
    MTD: 121.98
    YTD: 1087.30

Wednesday 24th August
    Plan: 1m easy, 5 x 800 @7.20 off 2 mins rec, 1 easy
    Actual: Recovery Run

had the gear with me to do this at lunchtime, but i wasn't feeling the best, dizzy head all morning and with the sun shining and a beautiful day out, i was afraid of what doing the session in the heat would do to me, so postponed till evening. Reckon its my sinus playing up again as the nose is all stuffed & running at the same time and i get this regularly!!

Got home at 7.45 and still not feeling 100% so decided to take a rest day, however hubby & kids all told me to get out for a run as i'd be sorry if i didn't, they were more worried about my running streak than i was!!!! so decided on a 1m recovery run, but as i ran i started to feel better, but the light was fading fast so left it at 2.15m but would have loved to continue
    10.50, 11.18, 11.07(.15)
    Total 2.15 @ 11.04 in 23:47

Thursday 25th August
    Plan 5m easy
    Actual 1m easy, 5 x 800 @ 7.20 off 2 min rec, 1m easy

So the football season kicks off again this week and the first game in our U13 league was a home match, so dropped the big girl off and hit the local roads to get this done.

I headed in one direction but when 3 dogs came out just up ahead of me barking like mad, i turned and headed back the other way, which I've used used before!!
    Found the first 2 reps difficult and the recoveries were very slow, the 3rd rep started uphill and ended up pushing too fast so had to slow down the second half of the rep, the 4 th rep was down the hill i'd push up in the 3rd so again was too fast and had to pull back and the 5th one was heading for too fast again but then a dog came running straight at me and i had to stop dead, but it was just a very large puppy and he just wanted to play, so i headed off again and got back to proper pace. Blooming heck it was a night for dogs!!!!:eek: i will have to stick to the roads i know in future!!!
    Got back to pitch just as second half was starting and girls had a great 5 point win!!
    9.45, 7.19, 7.18, 7.16, 7.18, 7.17 9.21, 9.23(.23)
    Total 5.60 m in 49:29 @ 8.50

Friday 26th August
    Plan rest
    Actual 4m slow
    Headed out on the usual route with the dog in the beautiful sunshine with a lovely wind to keep me cool. But it was a slog from the start, legs are just dead. it was all run on feel and it was the slow end of my easy range but just didn't enjoy this at all. I even cut it to 4m as I just thought no point in flogging a dead horse. Stomach also in a hoop so just not a good day overall.:(

10.26, 10.21, 10.15, 10.28
    Total 4.10m in 42:36 @ 10.23

WTD: 18.90m
    MTD: 133.83m
    YTD: 1099.15m

Saturday 27th August,
    Plan: 1m easy, 2 x 18 mins @ 8.20 off 4 mins recovery, 1m easy
    Actual: 1m easy, 2 x 18 mins @ 8.20 off 4 mins recovery, 1m easy

Headed down the main road for this as i didn't fancy doing it on the hills seeing as i am tired this week. Turned out to be a lovely run, got to the required pace easy enough but had to keep pulling it back as it was creeping up faster than 8.10. Beautiful sunny day and delighted to be ut running.
    18:00 mins @ 8.16, (2.18m),
    18.00 mins @ 8.15 (2.18m),

Total 7.15m in 1:04 @ 8.58

Sunday 28th August
    Plan 15m
    Actual 15m

I met up with Susan in Navan at 8am, haven't run with her since before Rotterdam but shes doing her first marathon and so i agreed to meet her as we were both planning 15m and country roads on my own or an earlier start and some company!!!! easy decision!!

We set off nice and slow and just chatted as we ran and worked out the route as we went!! had to keep slowing her down as she tried to take off!! lots of talk about why slow is the way to go!! I didn't realise until we were finished, that today was her longest run ever as she had previously run up to half marathon distance and no further, so that explained why she was so nervous about today's run. So i was delighted i got to do it with her and there wasn't a bother on her, we could have kept going!!
    Fabulous morning for a run. I took a gel at 10m, just to get the stomach used to them again. Thankfully no issues and Legs were great throughout. Not sure what was up with watch on first mile but we weren't going that slow!!

11.05, 10.24, 10.28, 10.11, 10.18, 10.11, 9.55, 10.02, 10.01, 10.05, 9.59, 10.02, 10.04, 10.08, 10.01, 10.08(.20)

Total 15.20m in 2:34 @ 10.12

WTD: 41.25m
    MTD: 156.18m
    YTD: 1121.50m

So week 9 completed successfully.

running Streak 60 days, (will finish out August and then see how i'm feeling, might just knock it on the head and take a rest day)

Week 10 of 18 DCM 2016

Plan for the week
    Rest| 5m Easy| 7m steady| 5m easy | Rest| 1 mile wu, 15 min @ 8.45, 3 min rec, 5x2 min @ 7.30 (2 min jog rec), 15 min @ 8.45, 1 mile cd, | 13m Easy|

Monday 29th Aug
    Plan
    Rest
    Actual Rest

And so the running streak came to an end today. Not by choice i might add but due to soccer game running half hour late, got home at 8.40 and it was too dark to go out, sons 11th birthday cake to be eaten after the necessary fire hazards etc, school books to be sorted & labelled as they were only ready in school today and they start back tomorrow. :eek:

So that's it - 60 days run streak and managed a total of 304.80miles

Tuesday 30th August
    Plan 5m Easy
    Actual Rest:eek:

really annoyed with this one, could have run during the morning as i was off work but had planned on the running club with the kids but they were too tired after first full day back in. I ended up in bed at 5pm with a migraine, so no run. Just lazed on the sofa when i got up later looking out at the beautiful evening but unable to drag myself out.

Wednesday 31st August
    Plan 7m Steady
    Actual 7m steady.

I was feeling really tired when i got home from work for this one and even contemplated another rest day:eek: but decided i'd go for a short trot(knowing that id do at least the 5m from yesterday).

However, once I got out i felt so much better and did the 7m steady as per plan. Felt really good and felt better as the run when on. Plenty of hills in this one too. aim was 9.15 - 9.20. Wore the HR strap but it seems to be playing up, gave me a max hr reading of 231 at one point. Did the same on Sunday during LR, might just ditch it or look for the older one and see how it compares...RHR was 46 yesterday morning!!!

9.22, 9.20, 9.10, 9.12, 9.16, 9.14, 9.13, 9.17(.16)
    Total 7.16 in 1:06:15 @ 9.15

Total for month of August was 163.34

WTD: 7.05
    MTD: 163.34
    YTD: 1128.66

Thursday 1st September :eek:
    Plan
    5m easy
    Actual 5.57m easy

football training starting earlier than athletic club this evening so just decided to do it on my own and get it done. Another evening of pure tiredness and thinking of putting it off so happy enough to get it done. The first two miles were on my own and then i was joined by another lady and paced dropped right down as we got into stride together and chatted away. no harm anyway.
    I wasn't keeping an eye on watch so ended up running too much

9.41, 9.44, 10.09, 10.08, 10.18, 10.31(.57)
    Total 5.57 in 55.59 @ 10.04

I have been thinking about the tiredness i'm suffering from/with over the past few days and its getting more noticeable. I rang the Doc yesterday for a copy of my blood results. Today i spoke with the doc and after the 6 x B12 injections my B12 is way up @ 1052 so that's not the issue. he reckons you cant have too much B12

However my Ferritin dropped from 28 to 14 in an 8 week period from June to August. The guide is 5 - 204, so at the lower end of "normal". I was put on iron couple years ago as Ferritin was at 9.

I was taking to Doc and he's not too worried about the levels dropping but agreed to give me iron for 1 month to see if it alleviates the tiredness and i've to go back in a month for more tests.

Very tired again today so i think i'll take the planned rest day and not worry about the tue missed run. Its either run in the park after work or rest as I've to head to Kilbride on way home for girls football, so it will be dark when i get home.
    I'm not tired when running but with Athlone Half next Saturday i think it would be more beneficial to take the rest and try maintain energy for tomorrows session and longer run on Sunday!!

WTD: 12.62m
    MTD: 5.57m
    YTD: 1134.23m

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,044 ✭✭✭chickey2

This is probably a stupid question but are you sleeping well? If you sleep loads and are still tired then it could be the iron but if you're not sleeping well it could be just lack of sleep?
    Hope you get it sorted whatever it is!

chickey2 wrote: »
    This is probably a stupid question but are you sleeping well? If you sleep loads and are still tired then it could be the iron but if you're not sleeping well it could be just lack of sleep?
    Hope you get it sorted whatever it is!

Not a studpid question at all and i haven't been monitoring my sleep like i use to.

Sleep mmm i am getting good sleep just not every night. I'm a very light sleeper so the slightest noise wakes me and its not always easy get back to sleep. So i will monitor my sleep, and see if there's a pattern. Great night last night. solid 8 hrs and then dozed for another hour.

Saturday 3rd Sept
    Navan Parkrun

Little woman wanted to do this so we headed off to Navan this morning . No rain here and i hadn't seen the forcast so when we got to Navan it was raining. No rain gear but we embraced it. We adapted a run walk strategy and she did great.
    Official times seem to be one person off as we finished together but it doesn't matter. Laura got a new PB 32.57, which she is delighted with and was 1st in her category JW10, well except an older girl, there were no children there today. I was 4th in my category with an official time of 33.10, but the correct times are 32.56 & 32.57. we were 55 & 56 out of 68.

Heading to LGFA for the afternoon so will do my session later!!

Younganne wrote: »
    Saturday 3rd Sept
    Navan Parkrun

Little woman wanted to do this so we headed off to Navan this morning . No rain here and i hadn't seen the forcast so when we got to Navan it was raining. No rain gear but we embraced it. We adapted a run walk strategy and she did great.
    Official times seem to be one person off as we finished together but it doesn't matter. Laura got a new PB 32.57, which she is delighted with and was 1st in her category JW10, well except an older girl, there were no children there today. I was 4th in my category with an official time of 33.10, but the correct times are 32.56 & 32.57. we were 55 & 56 out of 68.

Heading to LGFA for the afternoon so will do my session later!!

Well done to Laura, and you too.
    If you email the Navan parkrun with the correct times they may adjust the records for you.

snailsong wrote: »
    If you email the Navan parkrun with the correct times they may adjust the records for you.

Hi P, I guessed that, but if there was a major difference i would but in the greater scheme of things it really doesn't matter. We got there and that was the main thing, and it was a lovely run!!!

You all set for Saturday?? Its given a very warm week but rain will be here by Saturday.

Saturday 3rd September
    Plan 1 mile warm up, 15 min @ 8.45, 3 min rec, 5 x 2mins @ 7.30 off 2 min rec, 15 mins @ 8.45,1 mile cooldown
    Actual ^^^^^^

Headed out just after 6pm for this into the lovely sunshine!! got into pace fairly quickly and I am happy enough that i can find and maintain close enough to MP without depending on the watch too much.

The 5 x 2 mins at 7.30 are a little trickier to find and i tend to go too fast at the start, so this time i tried to go a little slower at the start. It was a bit better but first 2 were still too fast!!

Back into MP no bother again but a tad too fast but was comfortable. While doing this i was listening to the Thunder rattling away in the distance but as i turned and headed for home i realised I was running towards the thunder and then the lightning started. It was away to my left so i wasn't too worried but when a bolt of lightning struck right above me i began to panic a bit. :eek:I dont ming thunder but am terrified of the lightning. Last mile was a little too quick but i was afraid to go any slower.
    Got a text from hubby checking i was ok:) and then the rain started but thankfully i was home before the really heavy rain started. Plenty more rain, thunder & lightning too over the next hour or so!!!

1m wu 9.44,
    15 mins @ 8.42 = 1.72m,
    5 x 2.00mins @ 7.30, 7.28, 7.29, 7.32, 7.30
    15 mins @ 8.40 = 1.73m
    1.05 cd @ 9.31

Total 8.03m in 1.12.43 @ 9.03

Sunday 4th Sept
    Plan 13m
    Actual 13m easy

Had a few things to do Sunday morning, so it was lunchtime by the time i got out for this. Headed out the back road on the usual route, planning to drop the dog back after about 10m. sun was out and it was very warm and i was very hot from the start. Thankfully i had a bottle of water with me.

By mile 8 i was starting to feel the effects of the parkrun and the later session and i was starting to wilt. Took a gel and was heading for home with the dog, when i realised it would clash with the arrival of the young lads friends who were coming for his birthday party and it would be rude to turn and head straight back out , so took in a few more of the back roads. The dog sat down and refused to run on the bigger busier road so we headed back on a smaller road and she was happy with that. Shes a flyer and no bother on her. Longest run to date for her and i though she'd be knackered but minute we got home she was away doing laps of the garden chasing the ball!!!:rolleyes:

The gel definitely helped and I was fine for the rest of the run but some of the hills felt tough. All great training!!:D All run on feel and i had to stop a few times as the roads were a lot busier and need to reel in the dog!!

10.10, 10.03, 10.03, 10.15, 10.03, 10.02, 10.08, 10.06, 10.05, 10.02, 9.58, 9.59, 9.52, 9.44(.15)

Total 13.15m in 2.12.24 @ 10.03

WTD: 37.01m
    MTD: 29.85m
    YTD: 1158.51m

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,614 ✭✭✭muddypaws

Have you ever thought of doing Canicross? :)https://canicrossireland.com/

Hi Muddypaws, that's something we have a lot of in our house after country runs!! It will be fun when the younger dogs starts to join us on our runs and we have 2 sets of muddypaws to content with!!!;);)

I know what Canicross is but its not something I've ever looked into. Its a small collie/terrier cross i have and shes full of energy. Running is a great way of helping her expel that energy.. I'll look into it a bit more.

Younganne wrote: »

Hi P, I guessed that, but if there was a major difference i would but in the greater scheme of things it really doesn't matter. We got there and that was the main thing, and it was a lovely run!!!

You all set for Saturday?? Its given a very warm week but rain will be here by Saturday.

Just catching up.
    Yes, looking forward to Saturday. Not really sure what the plan is as training wasn't anything like planned. Been a bit unwell but I think I'm ok again. I'll probably start with the 1:30 group ad usual and see how I get on. What's your plan?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

^^^^ best of luck to you (both!) on Saturday, hopefully the temperature drops a bit before then, it was hot hot hot in Athlone 2 years ago and made for a tough day out!!

Thanks, AM. I don't mind a bit of heat, did the last three flatline and always enjoyed it. If anything, wind could be a factor this year. Could be stormy here but I'm hoping it's sheltered in the Midlands.

Just catching up.
    Yes, looking forward to Saturday. Not really sure what the plan is as training wasn't anything like planned. Been a bit unwell but I think I'm ok again. I'll probably start with the 1:30 group ad usual and see how I get on. What's your plan?

Hope you're fully recovered and the race goes to plan for you. I will keep an eye out for you before the start. Hoping to get there early enough, as long as i don't get lost, as usual!!!:rolleyes:

My PB is from 2013 of 1:48:45 so aim would be to better this BUT calf is niggling at the minute so might not race full out, will decide on the day!! Calf guards on daily and ice, stretching & foam rolling between now & then. Was going to try and get a rub out later but think it may be too close so will leave it until next week.

Firedance wrote: »
    ^^^^ best of luck to you (both!) on Saturday, hopefully the temperature drops a bit before then, it was hot hot hot in Athlone 2 years ago and made for a tough day out!!

Thanks AM, originally it gave rain for Saturday but listening to forecast this morning its given rain for Fri & Sunday, with Sat getting sunny spells with an odd shower. Sure we will just have to get on with it!!! and then
    y never get it right anyway!!

What will be will be!!:D

Week 11 of 18 DCM 2016

Plan for the week
    Rest| 4m Easy| 6m Progression easy - 8.20| Rest | 20 misn Recovery| Athlone Flatline Half Marathon | 20 mins recovery

Monday 5th Sep
    Plan
    Rest
    Actual Rest

was tempted to go for recovery run but sticking to the plan this week!!!

Tuesday 6th Sept
    Plan 4m Easy
    Actual 3m easy

So much for sticking to the plan..:rolleyes:
    Little one started girls soccer this evening so i had to stay with her for her first training session. After 8 when i got home and i was going to leave it, but FIL & hubby said i had 30 mins before it got dark so decided i'd go for it!!

However when I got to 1.2 m and realised there was no way i could continue on that road as it was completed covered in with trees so was pitch black and its a hill with nowhere to go if any cars/tractors came along, so turned around and ran up and back the road to make it up to 3m.

It was completely dark by then and although i had hi vis on and the torch on my phone lit its quite a bad road with lots of potholes and badly filled in potholes so in the name of safety i decided to leave it at the 3. I did contemplate running up and down the drive and around the garden but when i nearly fell over the (black) dog who was sitting waiting for me at the gate in protest of running without her:eek: i decided to just leave it.

I felt very creaky starting this off and definitely missed the Monday recovery runs i had been doing!! It was very very hot and clammy even after 8 oclock and i sweated buckets during this run:eek:

10.06, 10.06, 9.55
    Total 3.04m in 30.30 @ 10.02

Wednesday 7th September
    Plan 6m Progression(easy - 8.20)
    Actual 6m Progression.

Decided to do this down the main road so effort levels would be real instead on on the hills!!

Big temp drop but still quiet warm as i headed off on this one. Dog not happy being left behind again, but shes terrified of the cars on the main road so wouldn't bring her.

The paces felt very easy and i had to reign it in a few time so as not to go too fast. Taking this as a positive.

Calf was niggling me for all of mile 2 and i was thinking of stopping to stretch but then it was fine. Bit sore after. will ice & foam roll it until race on Sat and if it gives any hassle during race i will slow it down.

9.39, 9.17, 8.58, 8.45, 8.30, 8.14, 8.59 (.15)
    Total 6.15 in 54:44 @ 8.54

Thursday 8th Sept
    Plan Rest
    actual Rest :D

I started taking Iron on Monday and already i am way less tired. I have had bad sleep on Sun & Mon nights but slept great on Tue & Wed nights. I'm paying more attention to my diet again and i think a combination off all 3 will help me get over this slump.!!

WTD: 9.19
    MTD: 39.04
    YTD: 1167.70

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,016 ✭✭✭jake1970

Best of luck tomorrow Anne, I hope the calf is feeling better.