Dash cam thread (car videos only)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭savagethegoat

Patww79 wrote: »

How did the Maserati get past him on the inside in that case?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,611 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭savagethegoat

gaps were a bit bigger than that.(in fairness)

Back to videos. A typical UK motorway pileup!
    https://www.facebook.com/143233165824638/videos/728815820599700/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,604 ✭✭✭✭josip

I'd say the opposite. All the cars before him/her were able to react to the situation ahead of them on the road without performing a dangerous swerve across 2 lanes of motorway. Looks like he/she clipped the back left of the golf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,604 ✭✭✭✭josip

I thought the cam car driver performed a less dangerous maneuver.

There's also another school of thought that recommends to stay in your lane and rear end the car in front if you can't stop in time instead of dangerously changing lanes.
    The thinking is that in the very limited time available to react, most drivers cannot assess the potential danger correctly on a crowded motorway and it's better to let crumple zones and safety systems such as seatbelts and airbags do their jobs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,144 ✭✭✭job seeker

Should have named the video as "Car in middle of the road"

Front right tyre is flat also, so I reckon that's the reason he is in the middle of the road..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,813 ✭✭✭degsie

job seeker wrote: »
    Should have named the video as "Car in middle of the road"

Front right tyre is flat also, so I reckon that's the reason he is in the middle of the road..

Sorry, fell asleep. What timeline?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,041 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

josip wrote: »

There's also another school of thought that recommends to stay in your lane and rear end the car in front if you can't stop in time instead of dangerously changing lanes.
    The thinking is that in the very limited time available to react, most drivers cannot assess the potential danger correctly on a crowded motorway and it's better to let crumple zones and safety systems such as seatbelts and airbags do their jobs.

That probably makes sense at low speeds. But definitely not at motorways speeds.
    Rear ending a stopped car at over 100km/h will most likely produce few dead bodies, and your crumple zones, safety system, seatbelts and airbags won't help much.
    Changing lanes in such case seem way better option.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,880 ✭✭✭shietpilot

CiniO wrote: »
    That probably makes sense at low speeds. But definitely not at motorways speeds.
    Rear ending a stopped car at over 100km/h will most likely produce few dead bodies, and your crumple zones, safety system, seatbelts and airbags won't help much.
    Changing lanes in such case seem way better option.

I agree to be honest. Anything to reduce the velocity of the car before impact is the best thing to do. I'd rather scrape a few cars at 100 km/h and finally hit someone at 60 km/h than to rear end someone at 100 km/h.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,384 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

For the benefit of those wondering why I didn't just pull in and let the Maserati pass me on Saturday.

I was driving in lane 3 and at all times had a slower moving car/van in front of me, prohibiting me from driving at 100 km/h. if the road in front of me was clear, I'd of happily slowed down & moved in to let him pass, once I came across a gap big enough & safe enough.

At all times, I was overtaking slower moving vehicles in lanes 1 & 2, yet had my speed restricted in lane 3 by slower moving vehicles in front of me (though they were still overtaking the vehicles in lanes 1 & 2)

I was at all times trying to keep a safe distance to the vehicle in front of me (conditions were bad, visibility was poor).

If the guy behind me had blue flashing lights, of course I'd of pulled in and let him pass, but given the fact he had no such lights, why should I have simply 'let him pass'? would he have gotten anywhere faster? of would he have just tried to bully his way past the many other vehicles he'd have found himself behind?

This thread has truly gone to shíte since chat was allowed again, and as most of you know I'm a fairly regular contributor here, but most likely couldn't be arsed posting anymore videos as there are just too many 'experts' ready to critique everything everyone does. so I'll leave the posting of videos to the other few people here who post regularly, and who knows, maybe some of the experts will get themselves a dash cam and also contribute to the thread.

Same as myself. Too many people pointing fingers at nothing to be honest. I cannot be bothered editing some interesting footage when people start talking BS and you have to supply extra footage just to prove you didn't do much wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,677 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

Sorry if you never post again if it's down to me saying "let him pass next time I'd say"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭twin_beacon

fully agree.

degsie wrote: »
    Sorry, fell asleep. What timeline?

Lol..

2.06 - 2.09

It's only 3 minutes long..

Lol..

2.06 - 2.09

It's only 3 minutes long..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,234 ✭✭✭Theboinkmaster

I love the chat on this thread and I think the problem is don't post up videos giving out about others driving when you're at fault yourself which in this instance you clearly were. The gaps in the middle lane were massive and you were overtaking far too slowly. By being ignorant like you were, you were just going to annoy the driver behind you, encourage aggressive behaviour and possibly cause a crash. Yes he/she was in the wrong but so were YOU.

You should have just used basic cop-on and let him pass and be on your merry way, would have taken you 10 seconds and once done you'd forget all about him.

What you need was very immature and needless and then you go post it up here complaining :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,860 ✭✭✭✭inforfun

You can argue whether the op or the maserati was at fault till you are blue in the face, it is pretty obvious once again the "slow" lane = lava attitude of the others in that clip is the root cause.
    Add to that rain with people who cant already drive when it is the best wetter possible >>> 6 pages discussion.

inforfun wrote: »
    You can argue whether the op or the maserati was at fault till you are blue in the face, it is pretty obvious once again the "slow" lane = lava attitude of the others in that clip is the root cause.
    Add to that rain with people who cant already drive when it is the best wetter possible >>> 6 pages discussion.

Yep the weather was brutal on Saturday. I was on the M1 at a similar time as that poster and the amount of people driving at 90 km/h in the right lane was crazy. Like if you're not able to do 100 km/h in the rain because your wiper blades and tyres are sh*t you should move out the way but it seems like people only think about themselves and if it's unsafe for me then it's unsafe for all, let me be a guardian.

I actually got flashed by someone behind me when I changed from the right lane into the left lane on the M1 even though I was way ahead of the car behind. Presumably he could hardly see me or something and I shouldn't have done it :confused::confused::confused:

But as usual, "what's the cheapest tyre you have?", "new wiper blades? shuuure I only changed them five years ago, they're new like"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,426 ✭✭✭chewed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 824 ✭✭✭sheep?

New government initiative for cheap public transport is great success.

borat-dancing-with-his-fellow-kazakhstanians.gif

Excuse me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,534 ✭✭✭✭JCX BXC

Clarity always helps a situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,064 ✭✭✭gutteruu

Can we make a new thread for the people who constantly want to argue about if we should have chat or not. Most of the chat is about having chat or not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 631 ✭✭✭Kings Inns or bust

gutteruu wrote: »
    Can we make a new thread for the people who constantly want to argue about if we should have chat or not. Most of the chat is about having chat or not.

There's a feedback thread IIRC, the issue is if you allow chat then chat about chat is chat.

I do think that anyone who posts here should (a) bear in mind people are going to nit pick, (b) realise the correct response to that is one word short of the following:

Well post your videos then asshat.

I'm still havent had chance to figure out video editing but next time I nit pick please feel free to use the above, less the offending word.

Also get over on the M50 feckers! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,306 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Back to videos. A typical UK motorway pileup!
    https://www.facebook.com/143233165824638/videos/728815820599700/

Cam car is very close to the car in front. I counted 1 second between the two cars. Idiots :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,234 ✭✭✭Theboinkmaster

Excuse me?

Your video should be edited down to 10secs before you put it up, don't be wasting our time :cool: