If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Starting at the Very Start

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

Great progress! Well done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 437 ✭✭FIFA2004

Tuesday 25th July
    6.84km
    66mins

Back to it today, plan was 60 mins easy. Went up the mountain (slight incline) to the canal and ran out towards ballyfermot from kilmainham. Felt fine, if a little bit stiff and tired until the end. Rain started pelting, right knee started hurting. Kept going for the extra few mins because it would get me home faster!

Had my first attempt in a while at foam rolling this evening. Quite the disaster for the back of my legs because my absence of upper body strength meant there wasn't more than 5seconds rolling before my wrists mainly needed a break! Ended up using the rolling pin like thing in the middle to roll my calves, not sure how much good that did. Another thing to add to the list of things I need to be able to do to become a better runner!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

Just catching up here, well done FIFA!!! delighted for you with that PB, the hard work and consistency is paying off in spades :)

Thursday 28th July
    50 mins easy with 5 x 200m at 5km pace
    71mins
    7.69km

Post call today so swopped today's planned tempo for the above, Hadn't the energy to attempt the tempo run. Splits for the 200m were between 5.30min/km and 5.50min/km so happy with that, recovery between 2 and 3 mins. Enjoyable run! Although my calves felt like blocks of lead at times so gonna attempt more foam rolling later... Wish me luck! :p

Friday 29th July
    70min tempo
    8.56km
    Km Splits: 9.50, 9.05, 8.45, 8.21, 8.17, 7.54, 7.11, 6.52

Headed out along the canal for this. These runs tend to scare me as fast isn't my thing! Started out very slow and tried to pick up the pace every ten mins. Planned not to look at the watch but didn't work out that way as I found it tough to find a pace and settle at it. The km splits above paint a lovely even picture of a fantastic run, but the reality for each 10 mins was: too fast to start then slowing too much, then picking it up and settling into a pace with about 2mins left, and then the same thing for the next segment! Enjoyable all the same!

Sunday 1st August
    2hr LSR
    2:04mins, 12.88km

Spent Saturday at a wedding, purposely took it easy so as not to be dying today. After a day wandering around Kilkenny, eating all the wrong foods and a nap in the car landed back in Dublin at 6pm. Decided to give the LSR a go, to try not to ruin the week already!
    Headed up to the Phoenix park, struggled at the start, the first 5km were all 9.50's, one or two hit over ten mins/km. Was going up and down different paths to get the distance in, when I got to the top of Chesterfield avenue decided to just go up and back. For some reason that made a huge difference and I began to settle into an ok pace. Started to feel better. Legs hurting a bit, mostly tired muscles that I'm putting down to the high shoes and dancing yesterday! Had to stop to fix my laces at the turn around at the top of the avenue and after that something seemed to click, last few km's were the fastest and most enjoyable of the run.
    Got to the gate at 2hrs and decided to keep going to heuston and jump on the Luas. Missed one by 2 seconds, should of ran faster :p only after I stopped the watch did I realise how close to 13km I was. Felt great and walked home instead of waiting for the next one.
    Never had a turn around in how a run was going like that before! Struggled to get any of the first half in, and by the end could have kept going! Brought some water in a bottle I carried which helped a lot compared to last time too.

Not a good week overall but finished it off with a good LSR today. Monday was rest, Tuesday got home from work at 8 and hasn't the energy to run, Wednesday call, Thursday I convinced myself of a pain in my leg walking home from work and didn't run, it was gone on Friday. Saturday the pain was back and convinced myself I'd get a run in after the Dublin match that didn't happen. Pain was gone again Sunday.... I'm kinda thinking its in my head and not my foot!

Friday 7th August
    91mins
    10km

Very much a run of 2 halfs. Felt crap for the first while and spent the whole time thinking how crazy I was to think I could run, why did I bother, I'll never finish the half marathon. Legs felt terrible despite the numerous rest days. After 45 mins I put on an episode of the west wing weekly with Richard Schiff - basically my favourite character talking about one of my favourite episodes of my favourite tv programme. Concentrating on that cut the negative thoughts, the pace picked up and I felt good. Planned to stop at 70 mins but kept going to 90. A weird run altogether!

Sunday 7th August
    2hrs 37mins
    16.89km

Planned to get up early, surprisingly didn't happen. Had a breakfast of porridge and coffee watching greys anatomy and left at 1.
    Headed to the Phoenix park, took a left inside the gate at the hospital and ended up following the Rock and roll half marathon route, then around the other side of the park and finished with an up and down Chesterfield avenue back to the gate.
    Felt Brilliant for most of this. Struggled a bit around 45mins, more so because of the time left. Got a few smiles and hi's off 'proper runners', lifted the spirit no end, even got offered a bottle of Powerade from the dcc guy cleaning up after the hm. Much appreciated even thou I said no. Took a bathroom break around 7km, annoyed to have to stop but felt like a new woman afterwards! Not sure what I'll do for the real thing cuz don't fancy cutting down the water. Took a gel at 9km and sipped on water throughout. Think it helped, mainly wanted to be sure the gel suited me ok. Legs started to ache coming towards the end but when I turned for the last 20 mins on the avenue I felt good again. So annoyed that I stopped so close to 17 but I was on in-runnable steps and hadn't the energy to start again!
    Happy with that, I know now that I can do the 10mile distance and the hm feels a bit more in sight. Even if I'll most likely be last to finish. Have to get my head around that one before the day.
    Only realised when I got home the plan said 2hr15 but what harm :p had the nicest badly cooked scrambled egg ever afterwards, then a long shower. Done some stretching too. Really need to get better at that and the foam roller because I think it's where most of my problems are coming from.

Normal service will resume on Tuesday... I promise!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,920 ✭✭✭mel.b

FIFA2004 wrote: »
    Happy with that, I know now that I can do the 10mile distance and the hm feels a bit more in sight. Even if I'll most likely be last to finish. Have to get my head around that one before the day.

I'm sure you won't be the last one to finish FIFA, you'll be able to run faster on the day. And even if you are I saw a facebook thing that made me smile - 'the runner who finishes last...is the one who gets the most value out of their entry fee' :pac::cool: So you could just look at it as value for money :D Another I like is 'celebrate finish lines, not finish times'. I think this is especially important with your first HM (or marathon). It's such an acheivement you should be proud of all the work you did and not worry about the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,008 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

Well done Fifa keep at it , oh and you are a proper runner.&

mel.b wrote: »
    I'm sure you won't be the last one to finish FIFA, you'll be able to run faster on the day. And even if you are I saw a facebook thing that made me smile - 'the runner who finishes last...is the one who gets the most value out of their entry fee' :pac::cool: So you could just look at it as value for money :D Another I like is 'celebrate finish lines, not finish times'. I think this is especially important with your first HM (or marathon). It's such an acheivement you should be proud of all the work you did and not worry about the time.

Haha that made me laugh out loud!!! I definitely get every cent from the fee!
    Definitely the big thing for me will be finishing even if it takes me all day. I've a tendency to google finishing times the night before races and get very worried about being last when I'm running and hold all the volunteers up (even thou in reality it probably wouldn't bother me that much if I was happy with the run I had done!)so I want to get my head around the possibility now so that if I am last or close to last, I can still celebrate my achievement. It's one of those things my mind tends to ruminate on for some reason!

Not sure if that makes sense anywhere but in my head!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

Even if you finish dead last, you're still ahead of all the people who didn't start. Also, you won't finish last.

FIFA2004 wrote: »
    Haha that made me laugh out loud!!! I definitely get every cent from the fee!
    Definitely the big thing for me will be finishing even if it takes me all day. I've a tendency to google finishing times the night before races and get very worried about being last when I'm running and hold all the volunteers up (even thou in reality it probably wouldn't bother me that much if I was happy with the run I had done!)so I want to get my head around the possibility now so that if I am last or close to last, I can still celebrate my achievement. It's one of those things my mind tends to ruminate on for some reason!

Not sure if that makes sense anywhere but in my head!

I doubt there's anyone here (probably girls mostly) who haven't googled finish times, certainly I did exactly the same thing for my first HM. Don't let thoughts of that overshadow your race though, its highly unlikely you'll be last but even if you are it matters not a whit. Often the person who's last gets the most support from the people out marshaling, they'll be runners too so they know what that person is achieving. Concentrate on running your own race, soaking up the atmosphere and enjoying the race :)

Thanks for all the positive input! I really need it at the moment! Not a bad week for me

Wednesday 10th August
    70mins
    7.58km

Monday was rest day, and took up a surprise call on Tuesday at the last minute to help a friend so didnt get out til Wednesday.
    Into the park and an up and back route on Chesterfield avenue, fast becoming my favourite place to run. Spent every step wanting it to be over, in stark contrast to the much longer run on Sunday. Put it down to the rain and post call-ness

Thursday 11th August
    60mins
    6.53km

Another one that wasn't particularly enjoyable, just glad to get it done. Legs felt horribly tired throughout

Friday 12th August
    2hrs
    13.02km

Was heading to a wedding on Saturday so this was the only chance I'd get for a long run. Wasn't too confident as I'd struggled a bit during the week.
    In the end went very well. Took it nice and handy. Picked a different gate of the park to go in (chapolizod I think) then ran around the perimeter before doing the length of Chesterfield avenue. Brought a bottle of water with me, only took a gulp every 30mins because I don't want to get reliant on having it more often. Finished off outside the shop and got some vanilla protein milk for the walk home! Spent 20mins stretching and foam rolling after

Sunday 14th August
    50mins
    5.4km

Took it easy at the wedding cuz I wanted to run this am (you wouldn't have heard that from me a year ago!) and headed out after some pancakes this am. Legs felt better than in ages. Realised I had had nothing to drink all morning so the dehydration started to hit soon enough, cut it a bit shorter than planned because of that.

Decided to treat myself with a massage from an xmas voucher so off there now. Hopefully that will fix the tight tired feeling in the legs!

Monday 15th August
    6.7km
    60mins

Out and back along the canal. Lovely evening for it. Watch battery was gone so using strava on my phone, which was set in miles. Nothing exciting. Legs felt a lot better after the massage on Sunday though.

Was meant to go out tonight for 80mins ish, before a short one tomorrow, rest Friday and FD 10miles on Saturday. Was very under the weather with some virus or another in work last night so will probably have to leave it because I think the risk of this becoming worse outweighs the benefit of getting it done. Hopefully be ok for tomorrow's run!
    Little bit petrified reading the course profile on the novices thread, no idea how to go about aiming for times. Afraid if I just run I'll die a death half way! Will have to come up with some kinda plan

Thursday 18th August
    6km
    55mins

Meant to be my last run before the 10mile. Fairly smothered with a head cold and cough but decided to try it. Found myself having to slow down as I was getting short of breath at paces I'd usually be overly comfortable. Found myself coughing up stuff the further I ran. Felt a bit better as it went on and managed to throw in the strides near the end. Hopefully my body will have the manners to stop this becoming a chest infection til at least Saturday afternoon. May head out for a very short run tomorrow to see how things are

In terms of goals... I've gotten very attached to 2hr05 for no particular reason. Anything under 2hr15 (or finishing really!) I'll be happy. I think 2hr10 is probably realistic. Just have to be careful with the downhills at the start, as I haven't a clue how to tackle a race this length!

Good luck to everyone doing it!!!

The best of luck in the 10 mile fifa , I think your right about ensuring you don't go out too fast . Enjoy

The very best of luck FIFA, you've been training well so trust that and don't forget to enjoy the race!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 746 ✭✭✭gypsylee

Best of luck FIFA, looking forward to reading your race report. Enjoy the experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,044 ✭✭✭chickey2

Best of luck, hope you're feeling better.

Good luck tomorrow fifa!

Best of luck tomorrow FIFA! Show them how it's done :P

Thanks everyone!

Feeling better but still fairly bunged up and coughing. Hoping it clears up! Major panic there, my plan was to walk down, it takes 10mins to get to the pheonix park, somehow managed to neglect to think about the distance from the island bridge gate to the start line! Taxi booked now, my bank balance won't thank me but hopefully my legs will!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,519 ✭✭✭Sunny Dayz

Best of luck tomorrow! Take it easy next week and let yourself get over your cold.

Saturday 20th August
    10miles
    2hrs14.31
    Km splits: 7.47, 8.13, 7.50, 7.54, 8.09, 8.00, 8.24, 8.13, 8.31, 8.45, 8.16, 7.46, 8.15, 8.24, 9.20, 8.35, 6.47 (.3 km)

So today was d-day! After the fuelling disaster of the 10km I set an alarm for 7am, ate a nutrigrain bar and had some water without getting up and slept for another hr. Could hear the rain and knew it would be a challenging day! Got up at 8ish and had some musli with milk, bit easier to stomach than overnight oats or porridge. Felt a bit quesy and couldn't stomach the coffee but no committing thank god! Nose was still blocked and I was coughing worse than ever, on a different day there's no way I would have ran today! Taxi came, and I was in the pheonix park by 9, I was a bit over cautious with the times! This is where my trouble started! I had a hoody on and a black bag in my bag, but walking from the gate to the bag drop I got soaked and then couldn't get the bag on when I finally took it out. Eejit!!!! Gonna invest in a poncho for next time. Was much too early and had to wait around. At this point it was lashing like I haven't seen in ages, sheltering under the trees didn't help much. Dropped my bag, did a 5 min warm up run and waited for a toilet. There was definitely people sheltering in them from rain, what else could u be doing in there for 15mins. No one was too impressed with those people! By the time the start came I was soaked through. Tied my hoodie to a fence and lined up at the back.

And off we went. By this stage the weather was improving a bit but I was so wet it made no real odds. Up Chesterfield avenue, feeling ok. Legs were good. Km 1 beeped and was happy ish but starting to struggle. Started coughing again at the mile marker but had a small bottle of water which helped. The paces were well off what I had been hoping for. Spotted tfgr ahead and decided to try stick with her. I probably took it too fast on the down hills but needed the confidence boost that I could do this! At about 2km a left toe started hurting a fair bit, tried to ignore it and keep going and eventually after a while didn't feel it. By the 3mile mark i was a lot happier with how things were going.

A lot of the rest is a blur. On the first trip down Chesterfield avenue my hat blew off, decided not to go back for it, cuz it was annoying me a bit, but a lovely lady picked it up and chased me with it! Had to turn around and run back 10-20m to get it, felt I lost a bit of momentum here. Kept going around the back of the zoo, took my second gel at 7km (first was before starting) and just kept going. Wasn't feeling great but not bad. At 8km started to see people who had finished which was a bit disheartening (apart from the ones who clapped and supported... Thanks!!!). At this point the wind was very strong against us and I could see most people ahead slowing a bit. Stayed like that til close to 10km and the times suffered a bit.

Back to Chesterfield avenue, the crowds finished by now was huge and most of them were walking the same way. Some were lovely but others not so much. It's not much to ask to not have to dodge people who are done cuz they're walking a few people abreast and paying no attention to the people still running. Had serious thoughts about not coming back for the half because of this bit. The marshals were great at picking out the runners and making sure we went the right way but there was too many people there for them to keep finishers with no manners (a minority, loads were cheering and supportive) out of the way. Was glad to get off Chesterfield road even if it meant running into the wind again. Got offered some jelly beans here too. Kept going and felt like I could actually do this for the first time. Tfgr was still about 100m ahead even though I had passed her at least once before; still looking really strong.

Could feel the end coming by 13km but the hills and the wind and the tired legs were making it tough. Toe started to hurt again, made the mistake of looking down. Not sure what I was expecting to see but not what I got - the whole front half of my shoe was red with blood! Seeing that made it hurt all the more but just kept going. By 14km I figured there was 1 uphill left, one flat again. My lungs decided to stop helping and again I was coughing up stuff, felt a bit better after banging my chest a few times and getting rid of it!
    15km and I really wanted it to be over. 16km and I could see the finish! Loads of support here, people pointing out what was left and how far we had come. Tfgr was only 30m ahead with 2 or 3 others so I made a push with about 300m to go, got by her (can't remember if I passed the others or not!) with about 15m left. She got even with about 5m to go and I think she pipped me at the post by a few seconds. Quick hug and congratulations, hadn't the breath to tell her I knew who she was from boards! So so happy to have survived. Got my bag and tee shirt but by this stage my toe was really sore.

Went over to asked a St. John's ambulance man for a plaster. He had a look and cleaned it up. Basically the toe nail on my second last toe had separated quite a bit and the blood was from rubbing. Yuck!!!!! Got a plaster and started walking without thinking. Rung me mum and by the time I realised I was too far Into the 5km walk home to turn around and get a taxi as planned. Took an absolute age in a fair bit of pain to get home! Not the first stupid thing I did today.

Got the text with my official result as I got it, first time I had thought about it. 2:14:31. Really wanted 2.10 and I'm a bit disappointed. Bit given the conditions and a tough route and being under the weather this week, along with leaving half a lung and half a toe on the course (not exaggerating at all I promise!) really I can't ask for too much more :) turns out that was only 500m shorter than my longest run, thank god I didn't know that before I started!

So sorry for the essay, I never could keep things short when I got going!!!

Thanks so so much to everyone who was marshalling in those conditions, all the scouts for the water and support, and everyone that had finished racing that tried to help, it really makes all the difference when things are tough at the end

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭Auntie Matter

Fair play to you for getting out there and doing the run. I wussed out this morning when I saw how horrible the weather was. I figured a pink T-shirt, a beanie hat and most likely a slower time than last year weren't worth over 2 hours of squelching around the Phoenix Park.

I'm totally with you on it being a bit disheartening to see people already finished heading off home and knowing that you have miles more to go...but at least you got out there, and did better than those of us who stayed at home!

When in future I see anyone wearing the T-shirt from today, I will know it was hard earned, whatever their finishing time.

Well done Fifa in tough tough conditions, both with the weather and your dodgy chest and bleeding toe.

I agree with Auntie Matter above - definitely well earned today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,776 ✭✭✭This Fat Girl Runs

That's a great result! And with a cough and a bleeding foot to boot. Impressive running! I barely crossed the line ahead of you but you beat me on time so fair play for sticking it out. Now get some rest, feet up and enjoy the post race buzz! I hope you feel better soon. You have a half to train for :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

Sounds like you were really in the wars today FIFA! Well done for toughing it out, great job. The toe bit made me physically wince. :eek: Given all you had going against you, you shouldn't be worrying about missing your target.

Well done fifa tough day today great run. I must have just missed you at the bag collection as I met TFGR.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

Jaysus you really had it tough today! Hope you're feeling ok after it and don't end up sicker!
    Well done on the run, you'll knock a chunk off that in the full of your health and on a more reasonable day weather-wise.
    Sorry to hear of the ignorant people in your way on the course when trying to run your race. That's really not on and makes me a bit :mad:
    Rest up now and take it very easy for a while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Singer

Quite the dramatic race, and really well done! Sounds like target hit to me (allowing for the wind, which all of us are :) ). Make sure to rest and recover well. The half will be no bother, unless there's a plague of locusts or maybe the outbreak of war on the course.