Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion Part 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

naughto wrote: »
    At least it got the thread going a bit was far two quite. We can all be friends but come 4 o'clock sat that will all change.
    Have to say anytime we did play the red hands I always found there supporte to be spot on and up for the craic
    Yes I attended the 89 semi final,2004 quarter final and 2013 semi final and found the red hand supporters sound out.

Oh and I forgot that less than glorious qualifier in 2008 in the midst of John O Mahony's second coming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,820 ✭✭✭corny

maximus15 wrote: »
    i hope mayo put in the performance we have been waiting for all year but i just can't buy into the tactics and position changes we have introduced this year.
    I know most counties are resorting to packing midfield and the half back position with nearly every man, when the opposition attacks but i think mayo are at their strongest when we play football with the likes of higgins, keegan,durkan and vaughan tearing up the pitch with direct running.

Same applies when AOS was in midfield. few teams could live with such driving runs from them lads.
    The last couple of years this has changed with taking AOS strengths away and leaving him in full forward where he is static and even though still strong not as effective from a standing position waiting for high ball. He is a passenger in alot of the games this year at too many stages in a game.

Vaughan looks confident again and in fairness played well the last day but is no midfielder so should be put back into old position.
    Higgins is one of best backs in country so play him there. Parsons def should start in midfield and while barry moran deserves a start he is great man to bring off the bench. Mcclough doesnt convince at all as sweeper even tho he has improved in role. If need the sweeper den possibly higgins or barry moran like last year against dubs could do decent job when backs against the wall.

When ya see tipp release the shackles and drive at teams with pace and directness, it shows few teams can handle that style and i think we hav the men to do similar and play like we did up 2 years ago. We slow the play too much now and when ya see Tyrone bringin everyone behind the ball we could struggle to break dem down like we hav the last 2 league outings with dem. Moving ball quickly is only way against dem before they get everyone back.

ANYWAYS looking forward to the game big style!!!

Strongest or strongest going forward? Half backs raiding up the pitch is fine but against these defensive counter attacking sides you're gonna concede a score. That's what's been killing Mayo, hence the necessary change.

Also, AOS is a liability tracking back. Time and again he's seen running in quicksand as his man scoots away from him. Its happening with increasing regularity unfortunately. He can make a really threatening forward (if used right) or a decent defensive midfielder but relying on him to do both isn't working for him. And he does seem to be doing both in games. Periods in midfield, periods as a target man for eg.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,387 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

If half backs all bomb on against a side like Tyrone you better make sure you either score or put it wide because if we turn a half back over that's when we're most likely to get a goal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,066 ✭✭✭flasher0030

Aiden at full forward is a must . If your going to pump in fast ball you st least need a target that can retain possession with 2 defenders on him . I'd probably have Vaughan a centre half forward . Cillian Andy diarmud and Jason Doherty making up the rest of the attacking line up.
    Mid field tom and Seamus .
    Centre half Keenan Boyle and durcan .
    Sweeper I'm sad to say is badly needed due to keanes lack of pace . Harrison and Higgins .

That defence would be good enough . The forwards are more balanced and natural forwards .

So who is the sweeper? Generally, it is one of the forwards who sweeps back. If you have O'Shea, Vaughan, COC, DOC, Moran and Doherty in the forwards - which one is going to be the sweeper. And you're leaving out Kevin McLoughlin. I think you're going to need to do a bit more homework.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭Bunny Colvin

seligehgit wrote: »
    Oh and I forgot that less than glorious qualifier in 2008 in the midst of John O Mahony's second coming.

We should have won that game.

Pretty awful game,we quite possibly should have won it but we were going nowhere fast.Who would have imagined Tyrone as all Ireland champion's that year?It just shows one how the rate of a team's progress throughout a championship can change!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,932 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

Pretty awful game,we quite possibly should have won it but we were going nowhere fast.Who would have imagined Tyrone as all Ireland champion's that year?It just shows one how the rate of a team's progress throughout a championship can change!

Ryan McMenamin in a recent article said Mayos stumbling through the qualifiers reminded him of Tyrone in 08 :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,440 ✭✭✭✭km79

Ryan McMenamin in a recent article said Mayos stumbling through the qualifiers reminded him of Tyrone in 08 :)

Tomas o se said the same about 2009 when they nearly got beat by Antrim and Sligo !

Great article on Tom Parsons home club Charlestown Sarsfields.

http://www.gaa.ie/football/news/club-tom-parsons-charlestown-sarsfields/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,088 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

km79 wrote: »
    Tomas o se said the same about 2009 when they nearly got beat by Antrim and Sligo !

You bad to go and remind me of that Sligo result. Eugh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 533 ✭✭✭RD10

I know chris barrett is only back but for me i think he should start at corner back the next day. (depending on how fit he is that is) He's a tigerish & tight defender and we need someone like him especially for this type of game. Himself and brendan harrison in the other corner would be my choice corner backs. Without really knowing where his fitness is at though its hard to say but he didnt seem too far off the pace last weekend and would be worth it i think.
    Bit Worried about kevin keane. He got the runaround last weekend and i think he's in for an even tougher day out this weekend, i think he's more suited to the more physical type forward than a nippy forward.
    Parsons, although only on the pitch for a short enough period last weekend looked like he's fit and ready to go. Would he mark mattie donnelly?
    Barry a great player to bring on and steady the ship by catching a few balls, but don't think he'd last the pace of a full game. Something tells me seamie is on for a big match this weekend!
    Donie vaughan, was brilliant last weekend and seems to have gotten the form back over the last two games; but as someone else said he's not a midfielder, i dont think he's an out and out back either. Fantastic going forward but i feel he lacks when it comes to defensive duties. Playing him around the half forwards/midfield area to get on the breaks and break forward at pace suits best imo. Will tyrone swarm midfield? I reckon they will. Going to be a battle for possesion round there.
    Evan regan is in for a tough time this weekend i'd imagine also. Hopefully he makes me eat my words and has a fantastic game but i'd be a bit aprehensive about him against these tyrone backs, same for andy. I reckon the tyrone defense are just going to swallow him up.
    As for aido, on his day nobody can stop him but where is he going to be played? Surely he'll have at least 3 tyrone lads hanging out of him..
    I'm thinking we're going to need a few long distance scores on sat from the likes of the two o'connors and jason doc.
    It all makes for a very interesting game!

unchanged team named .......

Oh dear no Diarmuid.:(

I wouldn't count on that ;)

oops sorry Tyrone have named an unchanged team
    ours being named tomorrow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,545 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

Jesus man don't scare us like that! Thought DOC was still hurt for a minute.

martyos121 wrote: »
    Jesus man don't scare us like that! Thought DOC was still hurt for a minute.

don't be a bit surprised if the mayo team is named as unchanged

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,545 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

don't be a bit surprised if the mayo team is named as unchanged

I won't be but surely DOC will come in if fit anyway, even if it's a change made the day of the game.

Ah km79 I was frantically looking up the Mayo GAA website and Twitter accounts and it was mentioned that there was going to be no team announced until tomorrow.;)

Anyhow I don't know why I'm getting more optimistic as Saturday approaches as it's illogical based on form.Maybe it's a blind act of faith,the anticipation.But in fact it's none of the above,it's the knowledge that our lads are capable of so much more!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭PressRun

For what it's worth, I reckon we might name an unchanged side tomorrow night too. But that doesn't mean Diarmuid won't be lining out when the time comes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,088 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

Horan on OTB reckons he won't start anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 030802

Hey lads. I've a lower Hogan ticket going spare, section 328. PM if interested....Prefer to sell to Mayo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭cjmc11

Looks like it's turning into a bit like the semi final replay last year, there will be plenty of people left with spare tickets after all the panic early on in the week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,463 ✭✭✭Audioslaven

DOC has to start provided he is fit. The best man in the game to take the ball down the wing at speed and has real belief in what he is doing.

AOS at FF would be ideal with nice fast ball into him playing over the defensive crack Tyrone will be at on saturday. If he is doubled marked then COC and Andy need to up their game and act like hyenas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 268 ✭✭Mayo Club 51

Some history on Mayo and Tyrone in the championship.

http://mayoclub51.com/mayo-v-tyrone-history/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,387 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

A qualifier is part of the all Ireland series according to the GAA website.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 695 ✭✭✭lostcat

All hope of a Mayo win is based on too many 'what ifs' to think it will be anything other than a Tyrone win by a few points..

Against mid tier opponents in this years championship so far Mayo have:

- questions about the full back line
    - midfield barely breaking even
    - dont seem to have a game plan that can be effectively executed for more than 15 minutes out of 70 (unless part of the gameplan is 'dont play for the first 25 and last 25 minutes of a match')
    - key players not having an adequate influence on games over 70 minutes
    - too much taking the ball into contact

in a tight match (which I think it will be as tyrone will probably be happy to keep their noses in front) i think tyrone might have a bit more of the dog in them than mayo on the home run.

I sincerely hope i'm wrong and that mayo have been hiding their light under a bushel for the past three months...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,151 ✭✭✭kupus

Mayo are too much of a jkyll and hyde outfit this year. From the fbd and league games I went to see this year. They were terrible. Even the game against down they were bad. Back passing constantly. Even frees around the 45 line were back passed.

There has been nothing this year in the championship to show that they can step it up. It's with heavy heart I predict a Tyrone win. But like anything you never know on the day.

Every mayo supporter with doubts should listen to the newstalk podcast from last night with Dick Clerkin and James Horan
    Saying what I've believed all along ;)
    One thing i did find funny though was Hioran saying mayo management will need to be able to react in game tactically "on the fly" .......if only he had been able to do the same