Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why did Gardai destroy possible burial site of Irelands longest missing child?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭Jadaol

Glad to hear more about the case on Newstalk with Sean Moncrief today. They had their roving reporter out, can't remember his name. At least it's getting more air time.

There was a part in it where a guy told a story about a guy he knew who was working in some lane that day and claimed no one passed by the way that Mary and her uncle supposedly would have walked that day. Don't know what to make of it really though.

Also, Naomi Brady was on it. Glad to see it getting more coverage now.

it's hard to say what you really think might have happened without in effect suggesting who you think the culprit is - which you can't do. So i'm struggling to find a good formula of words but others have stated that there are certain versions that don't make any sense and i think the reason they don't make any sense is because they never happened. The only thing we know are:

Mary was at home with her mother in the kitchen and left at some point

At about 4.15 the mother noticed Mary wasn't outside playing with the others and immediately was panicked, which i think is unusual. In the country you wouldn't be so quick to jump to the worst case scenario as kids go missing all the time (by missing i don't mean missing-missing)

When this happened her uncle gerry was out messing with a wall and didn't mention that she had been with him earlier and gone home on her own but when she asked again 10 minutes later he left abruptly in a car and only when he returned did he mention it

According to gerry gallagher he left for the neighbours house with her at 3.30-3.45

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,224 ✭✭✭Going Forward

UsedToWait wrote: »
    I think people should be a bit more circumspect here in discussing potential witnesses and / or suspects.

Due process must be allowed, and amateur sleuths here aren't going to have any influence other than potentially prejudicing any possible trial.

What do you suggest, should we all agree it was the driver of the red vw?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,804 ✭✭✭oranbhoy67

Also I see on Twitter that the local postman says that the man that was working on the tree the day Mary disappeared told him several times that nobody went up there on that day and that there was an old invalid man who had a good view of the area and used to look out the window all day as he couldn't move. He also told the postman that he saw no person or stranger in the area on the day.

yes very true, the poacher agreed with the man cutting the tree`s statements, until after that man died , again it took him 24 years to think that he (poacher/fisherman) should correct his original statement to include this red VW beetle

oranbhoy67 wrote: »
    Thank you very much for your kind words.

I started yesterday (on the suggestion of someone else who wanted me to put it forward) a wee campaign of support for those that like me want answers..
    basically a ribbon campaign like you see for Cancer ,AIDS charities etc etc .. now I don't want to bring money into the equation as I'm on the dole myself and trying to get by but i am going to get a few hundred made up,to give out locally for free, I'd like to ask that if anyone else willing to show support could make their own wee purple ribbon & attach it to their jacket and/or their car aerial etc , maybe write #MaryBoyle or #JusticeForMary on it ( the # so people can know to search online for info) its just a wee idea but a lot of people are very willing to do it so far .

As for the March in Dublin for Mary which is on a week on Saturday I'll be chatting to the organisers soon and seeking reassurances from them that they do not make it about anything other than Mary, from what I have found out so far it has nothing to do with any Republican or other hard line groupings whatsoever, it is being run by water charge campaigners from Offaly as far as i can see but ill get this clarified later

I don't know if water charge campaigners would be seen as hardline , to me they wouldn't anyway but id welcome anyone's view on it

Why would "water charge campaigners" want to be seen as being supportive?

To get their own agenda highlighted is my thoughts on it.

If I were you I'd welcome their support on a personal basis only, that meand absolutely no water slogans or anything that makes them identifiable.

Their response to that will tell you what their priorities are, their campaign or yours.

Same for any other group offering their "support".

Keep it pure and simple.

You are not required to fill O Connell St on a March puffed up by various campaigners, a small dignified march can be every bit as important.

Look at the Ballyhea marchers for an example.

They had one objective they kept it simple and straightforward and I think they were well respected for it too.

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ballyhea_Says_No

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,027 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Doea Ann live in Offaly? If so, that might explain it.

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,273 ✭✭✭UsedToWait

What do you suggest, should we all agree it was the driver of the red vw?

I would suggest people avoid naming anyone as a prime suspect while they haven't been even questioned as a suspect in the case.

I would further suggest that the thread would be best served in examining the actions and inactions of the Gardai in this case, rather than those of any individual members of Mary's family.. These are matters which will hopefully be sub judice before long, and indeed should have been nearly 40 years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 DonegalTech

What was the precise timeline of events surrounding Mary's disappearance?

What time did she follow her uncle towards the neighbours?
    What time did the mother notice her missing?
    What time were the Gardai contacted?
    What time did the Gardai arrive?
    Where the other children who were outside spoken with?

As for the poachers, not a bicycle, Car or walker would have passed them by without have 6 eyeballs turning If all 3 men didn't mentioned seeing a red VW beetle, then I doubt it passed by. They wouldn't have missed a beat, and I am baffled as to why one person would change their statement years later.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 716 ✭✭✭jenny smith

yes very true, the poacher agreed with the man cutting the tree`s statements, until after that man died , again it took him 24 years to think that he (poacher/fisherman) should correct his original statement to include this red VW beetle
    What do the other two poachers say and have they spoken to any media?

Is the # for the ribbon a hashtag for twitter? I do not have twitter or know much about it

Why would "water charge campaigners" want to be seen as being supportive?

To get their own agenda highlighted is my thoughts on it.

If I were you I'd welcome their support on a personal basis only, that meand absolutely no water slogans or anything that makes them identifiable.

Their response to that will tell you what their priorities are, their campaign or yours.

Same for any other group offering their "support".

Keep it pure and simple.

You are not required to fill O Connell St on a March puffed up by various campaigners, a small dignified march can be every bit as important.

Look at the Ballyhea marchers for an example.

They had one objective they kept it simple
    and straightforward and I think they were well respected for it too.

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ballyhea_Says_No
    What result did they get?

Perhaps you could recommend something better.

No I can't but that does not mean the austerity march would be a good template. as far as i know austerity went ahead anyway so as a protest it did no succeed. i am not suggesting water protests be copied but "no way we won't pay" did get results

Maybe a short slogan could be chanted and make it rhyme as "no way we won't pay"rhymed

"Justice for Mary Boyle"
    Next line?

I am not saying do that - i don't know
    . Just throwing out thoughts. I think oranbhoy67 and the organisers should be the ones to decide as he and the marchers know the situation best and I would not want to suggest anything that would have a negative effect on the situation

No I can't but that does not mean the austerity march would be a good template. as far as i know austerity went ahead anyway so as a protest it did no succeed. i am not suggesting water protests be copied but "no way we won't pay" did get results

Maybe a short slogan could be chanted and make it rhyme as "no way we won't pay"rhymed

"Justice for Mary Boyle"
    Next line?

I am not saying do that - i don't know
    . Just throwing out thoughts. I think oranbhoy67 and the organisers should be the ones to decide as he and the marchers know the situation best and I would not want to suggest anything that would have a negative effect on the situation

True, it's no one's decision but the organiser's.

Personally I'd find it difficult to justify the necessity to chant any rhymes.

Remaining dignified whilst shouting anything akin to No Way We Wont Pay, with the inevitable uninvited assistance of someone banging a drum is going to be a challenge, regardless of the lyrics.

This is a new movement one which is borne of the disappearance of a child.

It is not going to be in receipt of funds for printing AFAIK.

It may need to depend on something visual.

And something unusual nowadays, a bit of silence.

Black/dark upper clothing with a purple armband.

The purple ribbons.

One, simple large banner at the front, possibly a local sign maker could give a discounted rate.

And btw, I have no intention of arguing with you, your idea of a narrow tape type sticker to go on number plate surrounds carrying a simple message of Justice for Mary Boyle is a no brainer and would be very thought provoking IMO.

And it shouldn't cost a fortune.

Any campaign needs to be respectful, engaging, solemn and untainted by any external influences.

Just one opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,846 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

For the march to be organised 'by water meter protestors' slightly worries me. Imho these people come with a tarnished reputation.

I would rather see the march described as 'organised by concerned citizens', don't see how it can't be affected by also naming these people by their previous protests?

I for one would support any march for Mary Boyle and for justice, but definitely would not feel comfortable doing so along so-called water protestors.

right now our plans are really just to keep it along the line of vigils , this crowd marching next Saturday have good intentions , some of them were at our march last Saturday so hopefully they can take their lead from how that went but i wont be able to attend and I don't think my cousin will be able either

They have our best wishes.

But we are going to have to organise some sort of a committee so that people know which campaign is the one that Margo & Anne are leading, there is a lot of wee splinter groups popping up :) and whilst we appreciate it we dont want people getting confused , its all new to us really but we do want to keep the political element to a minimum although as i said there is no taking away from the fact that a politician is allegedly involved, we also dont want to be seen as anti Gardai, I personally believe that there was at least one senior corrupt Garda that hampered Marys case but he has passed away & most Gardai would be parents themselves and would want to have her found as much as the rest of us,
    I just wish their top brass would liase with my cousin and not just her mother and take my cousins claims more seriously .

a video of Sean McEniff adressing his concerns about the matter to the County Council , followed by a rought translation as the audio isnt great

https://vimeo.com/175683231?utm_source=email&utm_medium=vimeo-cliptranscode-201504&utm_campaign=29220

Clr. SmcE: I want to say this Mister Chairman, that I fully approve of this (starts to read from sheet of paper) Inquiry. I have been involved in this my name has been banded about via by social media it has not been hard on me but it has been very very hard on my family. Its been via social media I want to emphasise that and I want to say that I have been a member of Donegal County Council for over 40 years and a person involved in many businesses, voluntary organisations and wish to issue a statement in relation to the rumour, innuendoes surrounding a you tube video published recently on the internet “Mary Boyle the untold story.” The disappearance of Mary Boyle has been a tragedy for the Boyle family and have been deeply affected by it. The Garda have conducted a detailed and extensive investigation, which are continuing and should be co-operative by all concerned. I support the call for a commission of Investigation to be established to investigate all aspects of the disappearance of Mary Boyle. I am positively and unconditionally deny that, that the politician who allegedly contacted the Garda in Ballyshannon at the time of the disappearance of Mary Boyle. He has no knowledge of making a call…… I emphatically and unconditionally deny that he was the politician who allegedly contacted Garda Ballyshannon at the time of the disappearance of Mary Boyle. He has no knowledge of such a call or …. …Other than he has heard it recently on that the video of Mary Boyle the untold story. I want to make it clear (raise voice looks at chairman) I was not ever involved in any interference with the Garda in Ballyshannon. I will swear, on that. My family are well respected in the area and very well respected and very hurt …(muffled started to look at page again)…………I am very dissapointed with social media…………… and I am very annoyed about this …………… As Clr and a person active in the community for over 40 years and am entitled to my good name I have got legal advice over this the defamatory comments ……….I will take such steps as necessary to protect my reputation. Some of the comments and statements that have been made are false, malicious and damaging to me and my family. I will not be making any further Public statement and the matter will be dealt with through my solicitor and I assure you I will be dealing very very strongly with it. It is a very strong statement and very unnecessary and without any evidence. My case has never been published or mentioned or my family by any radio station, TV station any newspaper WHY? There is not a shred of evidence and there wont be a shred of evidence they can dig from this time for the next 50years they will find nothing. I’m clean and it is very very annoying when you’re clean to find information like that. Thank you chairman and Donegal County Council for allowing me speak here today.

right now our plans are really just to keep it along the line of vigils , this crowd marching next Saturday have good intentions , some of them were at our march last Saturday so hopefully they can take their lead from how that went but i wont be able to attend and I don't think my cousin will be able either

They have our best wishes.

But we are going to have to organise some sort of a committee so that people know which campaign is the one that Margo & Anne are leading, there is a lot of wee splinter groups popping up :) and whilst we appreciate it we dont want people getting confused , its all new to us really but we do want to keep the political element to a minimum although as i said there is no taking away from the fact that a politician is allegedly involved, we also dont want to be seen as anti Gardai, I personally believe that there was at least one senior corrupt Garda that hampered Marys case but he has passed away & most Gardai would be parents themselves and would want to have her found as much as the rest of us,
    I just wish their top brass would liase with my cousin and not just her mother and take my cousins claims more seriously .

Very wise.

And also, do not under any circumstances feel let down if numbers are small for the first march. Hopefully they'll be big:)

You do what you have to do.

Sadly it's like launching a new "product", it's a crude comparison I know, but it will take time, with a lot of hardship on the way.

That's why the simple approach in your or your group' control regarding basic rules NOW will be easier to manage long term without later misunderstandings.

I sincerely wish you all the best with it.

a video of Sean McEniff adressing his concerns about the matter to the County Council , followed by a rought translation as the audio isnt great

https://vimeo.com/175683231?utm_source=email&utm_medium=vimeo-cliptranscode-201504&utm_campaign=29220

Clr. SmcE: I want to say this Mister Chairman, that I fully approve of this (starts to read from sheet of paper) Inquiry. I have been involved in this my name has been banded about via by social media it has not been hard on me but it has been very very hard on my family. Its been via social media I want to emphasise that and I want to say that I have been a member of Donegal County Council for over 40 years and a person involved in many businesses, voluntary organisations and wish to issue a statement in relation to the rumour, innuendoes surrounding a you tube video published recently on the internet “Mary Boyle the untold story.” The disappearance of Mary Boyle has been a tragedy for the Boyle family and have been deeply affected by it. The Garda have conducted a detailed and extensive investigation, which are continuing and should be co-operative by all concerned. I support the call for a commission of Investigation to be established to investigate all aspects of the disappearance of Mary Boyle. I am positively and unconditionally deny that, that the politician who allegedly contacted the Garda in Ballyshannon at the time of the disappearance of Mary Boyle. He has no knowledge of making a call…… I emphatically and unconditionally deny that he was the politician who allegedly contacted Garda Ballyshannon at the time of the disappearance of Mary Boyle. He has no knowledge of such a call or …. …Other than he has heard it recently on that the video of Mary Boyle the untold story. I want to make it clear (raise voice looks at chairman) I was not ever involved in any interference with the Garda in Ballyshannon. I will swear, on that. My family are well respected in the area and very well respected and very hurt …(muffled started to look at page again)…………I am very dissapointed with social media…………… and I am very annoyed about this …………… As Clr and a person active in the community for over 40 years and am entitled to my good name I have got legal advice over this the defamatory comments ……….I will take such steps as necessary to protect my reputation. Some of the comments and statements that have been made are false, malicious and damaging to me and my family. I will not be making any further Public statement and the matter will be dealt with through my solicitor and I assure you I will be dealing very very strongly with it. It is a very strong statement and very unnecessary and without any evidence. My case has never been published or mentioned or my family by any radio station, TV station any newspaper WHY? There is not a shred of evidence and there wont be a shred of evidence they can dig from this time for the next 50years they will find nothing. I’m clean and it is very very annoying when you’re clean to find information like that. Thank you chairman and Donegal County Council for allowing me speak here today.

Very emotional.

It contrasts greatly with the simplicity of Pat the Cope's denial........

Did the video play for you?

Herself and himself have a bit of history, how did that case work out I wonder. ?...

http://www.donegaldemocrat.ie/news/donegal-news/38851/McEniff-defamation-case-may-re-define.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭sunbeam

What was the precise timeline of events surrounding Mary's disappearance?

What time did she follow her uncle towards the neighbours?
    What time did the mother notice her missing?
    What time were the Gardai contacted?
    What time did the Gardai arrive?
    Where the other children who were outside spoken with?

Most importantly at what time was the last sighting of her by anyone other than her uncle.

Jadaol wrote: »
    it's hard to say what you really think might have happened without in effect suggesting who you think the culprit is - which you can't do. So i'm struggling to find a good formula of words but others have stated that there are certain versions that don't make any sense and i think the reason they don't make any sense is because they never happened. The only thing we know are:

Mary was at home with her mother in the kitchen and left at some point

At about 4.15 the mother noticed Mary wasn't outside playing with the others and immediately was panicked, which i think is unusual. In the country you wouldn't be so quick to jump to the worst case scenario as kids go missing all the time (by missing i don't mean missing-missing)

When this happened her uncle gerry was out messing with a wall and didn't mention that she had been with him earlier and gone home on her own but when she asked again 10 minutes later he left abruptly in a car and only when he returned did he mention it

According to gerry gallagher he left for the neighbours house with her at 3.30-3.45

I also find the mother's immediate panicked reaction very unusual. The 1999 story from the Irish Independent reports her as saying:
    ``I looked out the front door. The rest of the children were playing in a thicket in the front garden, Mary was not there. My brother Gerry was fixing a stone wall in front of the house. I asked him did he see Mary, he didn't answer, he must not have heard me. Ten minutes later I asked did anyone see Mary and Gerry shot off in his car down the road. I remember in desperation asking my mother to light a candle. I shook holy water all over the place. I felt so panicky and I remember I ran out to the rocks shouting and crying. I hoped and prayed that God would protect her. When Gerry came back to the house he said she had followed him earlier to the Cawleys' house and that she turned back. I got into the car and drove along the road in different directions. It was a nightmare.''
    http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/mary-boyle-a-stolen-child-26259379.html

I was two years younger than Mary and as you said country kids went 'missing' all the time for brief periods back then without such panic immediately ensuing.

I do find it odd that her uncle would have simply told her to go home when he saw her following him across such rough terrain. Some of the land where I live is like that and even in the days when we were let out to play by ourselves all day we all knew we weren't allowed to go exploring it on our own. Certainly if any of our relatives saw one of us doing so they would immediately have escorted us home.

http://www.newstalk.com/podcasts/Moncrieff/Highlights_from_Moncrieff/149821/Retired_postman_sheds_new_light_on_MaryBoyle_coldcase

as mentioned earlier , I agree with this postman some very interesting points made by him

Also I see on Twitter that the local postman says that the man that was working on the tree the day Mary disappeared told him several times that nobody went up there on that day and that there was an old invalid man who had a good view of the area and used to look out the window all day as he couldn't move. He also told the postman that he saw no person or stranger in the area on the day.
    Very emotional.

It contrasts greatly with the simplicity of Pat the Cope's denial........

Did the video play for you?

Herself and himself have a bit of history, how did that case work out I wonder. ?...

http://www.donegaldemocrat.ie/news/donegal-news/38851/McEniff-defamation-case-may-re-define.html

he dropped all charges eventually without ever appearing in court personally

sunbeam wrote: »
    I also find the mother's immediate panicked reaction very unusual. The 1999 story from the Irish Independent reports her as saying:

I was two years younger than Mary and as you said country kids went 'missing' all the time for brief periods back then without such panic immediately ensuing.

I do find it odd that her uncle would have simply told her to go home when he saw her following him across such rough terrain. Some of the land where I live is like that and even in the days when we were let out to play by ourselves all day we all knew we weren't allowed to go exploring it on our own. Certainly if any of our relatives saw one of us doing so they would immediately have escorted us home.

he said he never told her to go home in his official statements . in other accounts (such as Supt Dom Murrays shown in the doc) he was said to have told her to go home, in other accounts it is said he just heard her voice trailing off

Not Your Ornery Onager

Where, in the transcript above, the word 'he' appears, I presume this should be 'I'? Maybe a hearing mistake...

Not your ornery onager

Esel wrote: »
    Where, in the transcript above, the word 'he' appears, I presume this should be 'I'? Maybe a hearing mistake...

yeah I think there's a couple of mistakes tbf , I c&p this from the description under the video itself & tried to correct what I could, but I missed out on some

Plus, she was just visiting.

She didn't live there.

She wouldn't have been familiar with the terrain or surroundings.

I doubt whether she would have been expected to have much ability to know her way back to the house she was visiting, on her own.

But apparently there was little doubt about that possibility on that afternoon in 1977, or for the last 39 years.

Esel wrote: »

What did you make of it?

Presuming that it's accurate bar the transcription mistakes, is it fair game to discuss the picture it paints now that it's in the public domain.

IF the poster of the video made it all up its moot anyway?

The appatent inability to understand or dismiss social media allegations and the talk of being victimised by them?

And the value of the repetition of being a long standing public representative.

And the you'll never get anything on me pronouncement.

Overkill is what I get.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,425 ✭✭✭jonski

I knew I had read this somewhere and thought it unusual as well, I couldn't remember where though so I thought I had imagined it ( I find that happening increasingly :| ) , so thanks for posting it .

What did you make of it?

Presuming that it's accurate bar the transcription mistakes, is it fair game to discuss the picture it paints now that it's in the public domain.

The appatent inability to understand or dismiss social media allegations and the talk of being victimised by them?

Overkill is what I get.

but but but hes been a businessman for 40 years though and does voluntary work so it cant be him!!!
    and he has a very good name locally -except for the calling for travellers to be separated from the rest of the population (causing the family in questions house to be burnt down)

I suppose the fact that Mary didn't live there and was probably wasn't very familiar with the area might be one reason why her mother panicked so quickly. Still seems odd that when her brother didn't answer her the first time (according to the Irish Independent report), she left it ten minutes before asking again rather than just walking out to him and repeating the question.

Not Your Ornery Onager

What did you make of it?

Overkill is what I get.
    When I hear any person speaking and referring to themself in the third person, my antennae go up. I just think that's weird. Not saying that happened here.

Not your ornery onager