Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why did Gardai destroy possible burial site of Irelands longest missing child?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,804 ✭✭✭oranbhoy67

Keep it about Mary, and justice, not Sean McEniff, Fianna Fail, Fine Gael, or Ireland Says No or any other political attention seekers and other distractions that could end up being used against the campaign at a later date.

i respectfully disagree here though, these people are involved and their involvement - especially the first two, needs to be outed and fully investigated

• Closed Accounts Posts: 716 ✭✭✭jenny smith

oranbhoy67 wrote: »
    I agree with you as far as these political groupings they are doing this off their own back these photos & I doubt there is much can be done to stop them .. I Do know they have no affiliations with the March it is being run by the same lady that ran the one up here & as she made it clear no political party banners were welcome someone has gave me an idea which i would really like to get going to raise awareness -

Ill C&P my idea here you all can tell me what you think of it and maybe give some practical tips or tell me its a waste of time

The purple and white ribbon is a very visual statement and it would be great if those that support the campaign for justice rolled it out all over Donegal. Ireland even The World!!
    Roundabouts chapels, places where lots of people will see them and ask what is the purple and white ribbon about.The Pole Star roundabout football matches GAA matches .wear them personally make facebook and twitter "twibbons" of them to add to people's Social Media profile , have them on cars on the aerials or even get stickers made up for cars etc.
    As I said just a thought and it wasn't mine but I do think its a very good idea but I wouldn't know where to start. so all suggestions welcome
    Here is an idea I had. Not good with graphics so rough. Maybe the words should be above her head if there is room

yes thats the idea ill try and see about getting stickers made up, if people could fashion their own purple & White Ribbons along the lines you see for Cancer charities etc , we are going to get some to put on our car aerial and to wear , it just gets people talking it might not amount to anything but i know myself that there is a lot of people feeling helpless out there and whilst they can pressure their TD , use social media , chat about it on here - which are all great & helpful & appreciated this gives people something to feel that they can physically do IMO

You could try getting her picture on milk cartons but will companies want to be involved in such a contentious case? Another thing is, you know how back number plates of cars have the name of the garage underneath the reg so you are at the lights you can see where the person in front bought the car? You could make one with a short message on it. I do not know how easy they are to put on. Or make one of these with a Mary Boyle message for back windows of cars

is there anyone technical out there at all graphic wise on computers who could make me the following

A Purple ribbon image such as the ones used in various campaigns with the words " Justice for Mary boyle " on it
    and make it so it fits the following criteria
    Be in .PNG or .GIF format
    Be exactly 400 x 400 pixels
    Have a transparent background

if anyone could post or Pm it then id be very appreciative

You could also make keyrings. A lot of the photos shops put photos on keyrings. something people will be using all the time like keys

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,224 ✭✭✭Going Forward

i respectfully disagree here though, these people are involved and their involvement - especially the first two, needs to be outed and fully investigated

Just need to be cautious:)

Here's another suggestion

https://us.v-cdn.net/6034073/uploads/attachments/411396/392258.jpg

Maybe for social media or whatever.

Very nice image but isn't politics part of it if a politician interfered with the investigation?

is there anyone technical out there at all graphic wise on computers who could make me the following

A Purple ribbon image such as the ones used in various campaigns with the words " Justice for Mary boyle " on it
    and make it so it fits the following criteria
    Be in .PNG or .GIF format
    Be exactly 400 x 400 pixels
    Have a transparent background

if anyone could post or Pm it then id be very appreciative
    Maybe ask in the computers or photoshop forums?

the Bandwagoners will be told that they are not welcome to latch on to any march with their own agenda, but at the same time we wil take support from any people who wish to fight for Justice for Mary , be they a member of eirigi or a Staunch Ulster Loyalist , be it a FFer or FGer or none of the above.

but sadly there is (IMO) a politician involved at the root of all this & it is my belief that if he hadnt interfered 40 years ago then this case would have been solved within days , we cant fully take the politics out of something that at its very core was caused ( IMO) by a politician protecting a child murderer who Belonged/ Belongs to his party.

https://twibbon.com/Support/justice-for-mary-boyle-7#

some one else got in and made it before me very grateful :) please share on your social media if you can

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,375 ✭✭✭Sin City

https://twibbon.com/Support/justice-for-mary-boyle-7#

some one else got in and made it before me very grateful :) please share on your social media if you can

Ill definitely share this on Facebook
    Been following this thread for a while and if the allegations are true this country its leaders and institutions have a lot to answer for and has blood on their hands

Very nice image but isn't politics part of it if a politician interfered with the investigation?

Well it's an acknowledgement that there are claims of political interference (unproven as yet, so being quite careful on that), and it's also a bit of an appeal to any politician who is debating about continuing to protect anyone involved to reconsider their position.

Just an idea.

A serving TD has confirmed that the chief suspect in the murder of #MaryBoyle is a member of Fianna Fail
    7:49 am - 20 Jul 2016

Gemma O'Doherty

A serving TD has confirmed that the chief suspect in the murder of #MaryBoyle is a member of Fianna Fail

Gemma O'Doherty

He confirmed it to me himself in the summer ( the suspect)

Gemma O'Doherty

The TD shes talking about also did confirm this, it is true , he did it in a very roundabout way but he did do it, I cant say more than that without naming the suspect

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,770 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

Well if the allegation that a FF politician ensured the main suspect never got interviewed by the Gardai is true then Im not surprised that this suspect has continued to pay his FF political subscriptions for the last 40 years.

The TD shes talking about also did confirm this, it is true , he did it in a very roundabout way but he did do it, I cant say more than that without naming the suspect

I'm just confused about what G O'D is going to do with these bits of information she's claiming to have.

Particularly her claim that Martin Collins has said that there was political interference and identifying the politician after his newspaper interview saying there wasn't.

As I am about her claim that ex Gda Murray has rubbished Coughlan's claim about seeing the red VW.

I presume she has them both on record.

I think she said that there were developments due over the weekend, last weekend.

I'm just confused about what G O'D is going to do with these bits of information she's claiming to have.

Particularly her claim that Martin Collins has said that there was political interference and identifying the politician after his newspaper interview saying there wasn't.

As I am about her claim that ex Gda Murray has rubbished Coughlan's claim about seeing the red VW.

I presume she has them both on record.

I think she said that there were developments due over the weekend, last weekend.

again I don't know what's going on there I have no communications with Gemma

I do know it was Murray that took the poachers statement and the poacher never mentioned any Red VW Beetle until 24 years later. So I'm guessing that's where that came from

@ Oranbhoy67.

I've wondered, like many other Donegal people, about this case for years.
    Even though I have no connection with your family, it's one of those cases that you never forget, no matter how many years pass.

I've gladly signed your petition, (and I'll make a point of getting others to do so) and I'd just like to say that I really hope the campaign brings results, after all these years.

Reading this thread has made my blood boil, and I shudder to think how it must feel to be related to poor wee Mary, and to see firsthand how this case has been (mis)handled.

I commend all of you on your courage, and determination, and wish you the very best of luck in your search for justice - for what it's worth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,756 ✭✭✭Pretzill

Like many here I've been following this thread with interest and a certain amount of trepidation.

I remember Mary Boyle going missing - I was 9 at the time and like someone else said here, it's hard to fathom that reality as a child -

I remember reading that book 'missing' which the author of is mentioned in Gemma O Doherty's Documentary - and obviously all of the cases are disturbing and frustrating in equal measure but the case of Mary Boyle I still can't fathom even as an adult.

I remember getting a knot in my stomach at the thought of this little girl stopping on a muddy laneway and turning back because the road was flooded as her relative walked onwards - leaving her behind.

It's a stark image. When I read that in the book I felt angry - Mary may have been well used to this sort of terrain - a country child, used to a bit more freedom - but she was only 6 and visiting a place she may not have been as familiar with -

Why not go back with her...make sure she's safely home? Why not lift her over this obstacle and let her come with?

Then in that book it says something along the lines of when Mary's mother was calling to ask if anyone saw her - this relative was fixing a wall outside and he immediately retraced his steps back towards the neighbours -

It wasn't until he came back that he said she had followed him earlier.

But in g'od's documentary it says he took off in a car?

Again not saying that Mary followed him until later.

This story is so inconsistent - and it is vital parts like this that need to be picked apart.

In some ways I can understand the awful guilt if an accident befell that child because she was in their care. But to come back from the neighbours the first time and not even check she made it back safely? To go about your chores? To only panic (it seems) after it looks like she is missing and still not say they were the last person to have seen her that day - until after they had either ran back across the fields to the neighbours or driven off in a car?

I have little doubt there is a cover up here - whether it was accidental - murder - a family hiding a secret - political interference - it's been covered up.

Justice for Mary and Justice for her sister who has had to bear all these years without her twin. That missing part of herself. Hope the campaign brings this case closer to being solved.

And apologies for rambling on a bit -

Pretzill wrote: »
    Then in that book it says something along the lines of when Mary's mother was calling to ask if anyone saw her - this relative was fixing a wall outside and he immediately retraced his steps back towards the neighbours -

It wasn't until he came back that he said she had followed him earlier.

But in g'od's documentary it says he took off in a car?

Again not saying that Mary followed him until later.

thank you for your post

I just want to clarify this bit here , he did both -

`I looked out the front door. The rest of the children were playing in a thicket in the front garden, Mary was not there. My brother Gerry was fixing a stone wall in front of the house. I asked him did he see Mary, he didn't answer, he must not have heard me. Ten minutes later I asked did anyone see Mary and Gerry shot off in his car down the road. "

taken from this article http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/mary-boyle-a-stolen-child-26259379.html

That is a direct quote from the mother, pretty sure its in cummings book also
    & certainly in other versions told by the mother.

I filmed myself a few months ago asking the suspect did this happen and he flatly denied it

so one of them is lying ...

still we wait on the gardai to listen to us

@ Oranbhoy67.

I've wondered, like many other Donegal people, about this case for years.
    Even though I have no connection with your family, it's one of those cases that you never forget, no matter how many years pass.

I've gladly signed your petition, (and I'll make a point of getting others to do so) and I'd just like to say that I really hope the campaign brings results, after all these years.

Reading this thread has made my blood boil, and I shudder to think how it must feel to be related to poor wee Mary, and to see firsthand how this case has been (mis)handled.

I commend all of you on your courage, and determination, and wish you the very best of luck in your search for justice - for what it's worth.

Thank you very much for your kind words.

I started yesterday (on the suggestion of someone else who wanted me to put it forward) a wee campaign of support for those that like me want answers..
    basically a ribbon campaign like you see for Cancer ,AIDS charities etc etc .. now I don't want to bring money into the equation as I'm on the dole myself and trying to get by but i am going to get a few hundred made up,to give out locally for free, I'd like to ask that if anyone else willing to show support could make their own wee purple ribbon & attach it to their jacket and/or their car aerial etc , maybe write #MaryBoyle or #JusticeForMary on it ( the # so people can know to search online for info) its just a wee idea but a lot of people are very willing to do it so far .

As for the March in Dublin for Mary which is on a week on Saturday I'll be chatting to the organisers soon and seeking reassurances from them that they do not make it about anything other than Mary, from what I have found out so far it has nothing to do with any Republican or other hard line groupings whatsoever, it is being run by water charge campaigners from Offaly as far as i can see but ill get this clarified later

I don't know if water charge campaigners would be seen as hardline , to me they wouldn't anyway but id welcome anyone's view on it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40 JohnCash0260

Another thing I have been wondering about is this ladder that Gerry Gallagher was supposedly returning to his neighbours. Has it been proven that this ladder existed and if so were the neighbours ever interviewed as witnesses?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40 JohnCash0260

Also I see on Twitter that the local postman says that the man that was working on the tree the day Mary disappeared told him several times that nobody went up there on that day and that there was an old invalid man who had a good view of the area and used to look out the window all day as he couldn't move. He also told the postman that he saw no person or stranger in the area on the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,087 ✭✭✭✭Johnboy1951

Another thing I have been wondering about is this ladder that Gerry Gallagher was supposedly returning to his neighbours. Has it been proven that this ladder existed and if so were the neighbours ever interviewed as witnesses?

Why speculate on something that was so easily checked at the time and no mention made of it since?
    Seems pointless to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 HollyM46

They talk about Donegal being the forgotten County!! There is obviously a reason that it has been conveniently or not forgotten. Love the place and so many good childhood memories, parents buried up there but this just puts another taint on the whole county. Always aware of huge political influence and whispers but God almighty get the finger and everything else out. A six year old girl dumped, deprived of the decency of a proper burial, a place where her sister can go to mourn. What is wrong with these people?

Why speculate on something that was so easily checked at the time and no mention made of it since?
    Seems pointless to me.

Because the ladder and the trip could have been a decoy.

I asked already and the neighbours did corroborate the visit.

I'm not sure if anyone has corroborated the outward time of that journey nor the fact that a ladder was carried on the journey.

It may have been in a shed and it may never have moved from it.

The neighbours may or may not have witnessed it actually being returned but may have took it's bearer's claim that it was.

Everything is open for discussion IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭PaddyWilliams

Glad to hear more about the case on Newstalk with Sean Moncrief today. They had their roving reporter out, can't remember his name. At least it's getting more air time.

There was a part in it where a guy told a story about a guy he knew who was working in some lane that day and claimed no one passed by the way that Mary and her uncle supposedly would have walked that day. Don't know what to make of it really though.

Also, Naomi Brady was on it. Glad to see it getting more coverage now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,273 ✭✭✭UsedToWait

I think people should be a bit more circumspect here in discussing potential witnesses and / or suspects.

Due process must be allowed, and amateur sleuths here aren't going to have any influence other than potentially prejudicing any possible trial.