Soul destroying jobs you've had

• 13-07-2016 02:01AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,812 ✭✭✭

What soul sucking job have you had throughout your life?

For me it was going door to door trying to secure direct debits for an animal shelter. As someone who is firmly against the idea of direct debits for charities (the company would have actually made more money if I had a bucket collecting change instead of looking for 9.99 a month from everyone. So many people said they'd happily donate change but didn't want to set up a DD).I absolutely hated it and was treated like ****e by many people. I lasted two weeks and secured no more than 5 direct debits meaning the only payment I got for 80+ hours labour was €15 commission. Fook that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,443 ✭✭✭✭endacl

I used to be a part time soul destroyer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

I've had a few soul destroying jobs, always in marketing. It destroyed my soul because I was in the business of destroying others' souls. I hated it.

Least soul destroying job was working as a course worker on golf courses. If I didn't get into uni, I was going to to a FETAC course to become a greenkeeper. Sometimes regret not doing that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭bodice ripper

MOTHER****ING DUNNES POXY STORES.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,845 ✭✭✭timthumbni

All of them tbh. If and when I win the lottery I won't be one of those who work out their last week.

What maniac would actually do that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,461 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

IT helpdesk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭FizzleSticks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,709 ✭✭✭AllGunsBlazing

Stockroom boy in Dunnes Stores back in the early 90's. Basically eight hours a day sorting clothes hangers for the girls out on the shop floor. And department store managers are easily amongst the lowest forms of life on Earth. Barely a Leaving Cert to their name with a laughably overblown sense of their own self worth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭jimbobaloobob

Used to clean grease traps from the back of ovens cooking the hot chickens in delis, it was stomach wrenching.

Had to shove my fist up it as far as my elbow with one of those veterinary gloves. Even now i get the shivers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,623 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Working in a unit which housed and cared for people with severe learning disabilities.

Used to get shit flung at me and physically attacked in one way or another most days.

Wasn't even the work itself I found difficult. Just the thought of having to go home and get ready to face it all again tomorrow. That's the soul destroying bit. Being at it was grand 90% of the time because the people I worked with were solid saints.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭Lady is a tramp

Auditing aircraft leasing companies in a big industrial park in Shannon. Most depressing place in the world, and there were nearly 100 practically identical subsidiary companies ... the monotony was painful. Not to mention the crazy hours involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭jimbobaloobob

Are the jobs ye do now any better?

I'm hoping to go back to college next year to study forensic science! :) Spent my 20s working in Finance but I fancy a change.

I'm always being told I should study Addiction Therapy too. Usually by addiction therapists! Maybe someday.

Selling life insurance on the phone. Scumbag job.

Currently running a team that hate me in a job they despise and its a struggle to go in every day but hey the bills are getting paid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,845 ✭✭✭timthumbni

Sorting blue smarties out of all the other coloured smarties. That was depressing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,912 ✭✭✭SeantheMan

One summer me and 3 mates go a job at a meat packing factory. I think we were 17 at the time (got paid into hand..and pretty low at that). You had to work a backweek too, I hated it so much I left after my backweek.

Standing at a conveyor belt just putting pork chops etc into packets for the likes of Dunnes Stores, with gormless looking co-workers and the strong smell of raw meat all around you all day.

The following summer I worked at a Kitchen Appliances warehouse, where my job was to order pick all the stuff , load up a pallet, handwrap it with plastic wrap and then load up 40fts with pallets using a handtruck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 714 ✭✭✭nkav86

Eir call centre, f**kin awful

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,475 ✭✭✭Elliott S

I'm hoping to go back to college next year to study forensic science! :) Spent my 20s working in Finance but I fancy a change.

I'm always being told I should study Addiction Therapy too. Usually by addiction therapists! Maybe someday.

What is it about finance? Nobody I know who works in it likes it, and some of them have very well-paid jobs.

Good luck with the career change. I used to live with a housemate who was a crime analyst. I was envious of her job!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,344 ✭✭✭Wompa1

Every single one.

My last job was probably the worst...I worked 100+ hours most weeks. My son was born on a Sunday. I was back working at 7am Monday morning. I worked from home so the only time I wasn't at my computer was when I was bringing the dog out. My boss and some of my work colleagues were constantly talking sh1t..it was a startup and most of the people working there have worked there since the beginning...they didn't seem accepting of new people.

Anyways, they fired me after 7 months when I tried to take some holiday time. Didn't give me any holiday pay.

Soul destroying when working for them and soul destroying ending.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,344 ✭✭✭Wompa1

My wife worked in a substance abuse clinic...it wouldn't come highly recommended! But this is in the US where most of the clients are meth addicts, crack addicts, heroin addicts and hardcore alcoholics. It changed her outlook a lot but it wasn't a pleasant time.

Elliott S wrote: »
    What is it about finance? Nobody I know who works in it likes it, and some of them have very well-paid jobs.

Good luck with the career change. I used to work with a housemate who was a crime analyst. I was envious of her job!

Auditing was painful, but I moved from practice into industry a few years ago and actually really enjoyed my job. It was a nice office, great colleagues and managers, nice environment in general. And better money and loads of perks, and much shorter hours.

But it's hard to be passionate about it. You're always working to the next daily recs, the next monthly payroll, the monthly management accounts, and of course the big year end accounts ... I loved the job for maybe the first year, but then January rolls around again and you're just starting it all again from scratch, same old ****e, just a new year of it.

I went into Finance because - to be honest - I was really good at it and knew I'd do well in all the exams etc. And I did, but in secondary school, Physics and Chemistry were what I was really interested in ... but because I was only a B student (with a lot of time and effort) I didn't want to study something I wouldn't get a first class honours degree in. Trust me, I know that's not normal, psychologists tend to have a great time dissecting me and my life choices. :o If I can't get top marks in an exam, I'd rather fail it and fail it badly. But I guess I'm making progress if I'm considering something sciencey because I like it, even though I know I'll never be the top student.

Addiction therapy, though, is something I'm really passionate about too, and I know aaalllll about it. And I know I could be good at it, other patients have often told me I'm an absolute inspiration to them in groups! As I'm still in early recovery though myself, it's maybe something I'll put on the back-burner for a few years. Too close to home to think about it anytime soon!

So yeah, I've done the Finance/Accountancy/Insurance thing for a decade, I'll focus on Science for my 30s, and then maybe move into addiction therapy or social work when I'm 40. I'll have the weirdest looking CV ever! :D

Wompa1 wrote: »
    My wife worked in a substance abuse clinic...it wouldn't come highly recommended! But this is in the US where most of the clients are meth addicts, crack addicts, heroin addicts and hardcore alcoholics. It changed her outlook a lot but it wasn't a pleasant time.

It's probably a job one could only do for a certain length of time. I think a lot of third sector jobs are the same. People love doing them but seem to reach burnout eventually. It's very understandable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,458 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

Wompa1 wrote: »
    But this is in the US e.

Unlike Ireland, where people are addicted to Rancheros, colourful language, and back rubs.

(Just kidding btw, sounds like a depressing job)

So yeah, I've done the Finance/Accountancy/Insurance thing for a decade, I'll focus on Science for my 30s, and then maybe move into addiction therapy or social work when I'm 40. I'll have the weirdest looking CV ever! :D

Ah not really. There are transferable skills that you can take with you. Studying for professional accounting exams takes such dedication and anyone who does it has my admiration. If I was hiring someone and an accountant looking for a career change rocked up, I'd hire them in fit so long as they can explain why they want to go into the new career because every accountant I know has a great work ethic. You can't luck your way into being a qualified accountant!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 356 ✭✭noel100

Most soul destroying job working in an abattoir pushing blue open wheelie bins of offal (meat guts) from freshly slaughtered cattle about 200yards across wet concrete floors and up and down ramps ands tip contents into skips.

Then in the afternoon stood at a bench cutting away bits of meat eye lids cheeks lips hoofs for the 10kg mince meat bags for the supermarket's.

This job made me goto college and get an education. I'm a engineer many years now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭Lau2976

I worked as a customer assistant and then a manager in a cinema. The managerial role was the worst, between the other managers ego's and running the place I left nearly every night dreading the next day. It got much better before I left but never again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭jones 19

I was a steel fixer for 5 years and I hated it. The money was good and the boss was sound but I had to travel and the job sucked ass. I also dipped sheep one very hot summer. That was cat. Oil skins and a mask for a tenner a day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 306 ✭✭timmy880

Not sure if you mean the actual work that was soul destroying? For me it wasn't the work, it was a boss that was the issue.

My first full time job in Dublin, I had just moved up from Galway and a week into the job the CEO completely destroyed me and it carried on like that for over 3 years. Just an outrageous bully who wanted to destroy my confidence at every turn. If I saw him now I'd probably push him in front of a bus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

I used to work in various factory in assembly line jobs during university holidays.
    Don't get me wrong, the people I worked with were great, it was really well paid (for an untrained job), but you just wouldn't believe how mind-numbingly BORING it used to be. the same movement again and again and again and again for 8 hours.

I ended up reading a new poem each day before I started work and would spend the day trying to recall the words exactly. I still know The Raven by heart and can recite it at the drop of a hat, along with many, many others.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

I'm pretty easy going about jobs. Only ever had one job that I absolutely hated. It was with a team full of girls in inner city Dublin. There was only one other girl that worked there that didn't put yizzer into sentences. They were horrible tacky rough and scruffy. They were very petty too, wouldn't let you into the staff room, wouldn't let you use a treatment room even if they weren't using it in that moment. The manager would deliberately leave my wages go into my bank late. We got paid monthly and every single month mine would go in maybe a week or two later. She would randomly text me on my days off telling me she mixed my days up and to come in. She text one Sunday telling me a group of us had to come in to clean the salon after renovation work. If you protested to any of that she would tell you she'd have your job up on jobs.ie by the end of the day.

One day she deliberately kept me late for no reason other than to make me miss my train. That was the final straw. I didn't go to work the next day and when she called the next day to go **** herself. She told me if I didn't come back to work and work out my notice my months wages wouldn't be put in my account.

Not surprisingly, they shut down a few months later.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

Worked in advertising sales for near 2 years... holy God it was horrible. Absolutely soul destroying. I dreaded everyday and was so relieved when I was let go.