Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Euro 2016 - The Final - Portugal vs France, 20:00, RTE, TV3, BBC, ITV

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

NIMAN wrote: »
    Well mostly for this infamous incident
    http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/football/european/5216027/Real-Madrids-Pepe-banned-for-10-matches-for-Getafe-rampage.html

but generally overall he is one of the best examples of a nark, a player who feigns injury more than most and generally brings the game intpo disrepute
    https://www.theguardian.com/football/blog/2016/may/29/why-it-is-time-football-introduced-the-pepe-rule

Then there is this one from this years tournament, ref not impressed

Clattenburg is 20 times the twat Pepe is for that incident.

He could easily have booked him but instead decided to pose for the cameras.

By not punishing players for acting the maggot you are only encouraging them to do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,140 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

Highly confident in a France win here - Either 2 or 3 nil.

Portugal have severely underwhelmed in this tournament, and while we mightn't have seen their best, I think France will have far far too much for them.

France would be worthy and deserving winners. I'd find it hard to justify Portugal winning the tournament as the 'best team' winning it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

open high scoring game or dour cagey affair??

hope its a cracker the tournament deserves it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,040 ✭✭✭✭adox

Any word on Pepes fitness?

Have my eye on a nice little bet but it involves him playing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

^^^^^^^

first booking?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,934 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Red.

Odds probably low enough, given his form.

I don't think France are going to justify the majority view that they deserve this etc. Portugal are a determined that have dragged themselves to the final while not firing. I think the big occasion, pressure of expectation & being the home nation all goes against France in this.

Big stage is where Ronaldo will shine, I think Portugal will win this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,040 ✭✭✭✭adox

fryup wrote: »
    ^^^^^^^

first booking?

Himself and Evra to be booked. 11/1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,227 ✭✭✭✭sligeach

My opinion on both teams in the final.
    turddouche.jpg

I hope France win. Definitely the lesser of 2 Evils. The tournament overall has been very average.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,643 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

CnBWbDnXYAA0l7U.jpg

Kante on the bench again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

Is George Hamilton shrinking?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,869 ✭✭✭PeterTheNinth

Jaysus would they not give George Hamilton a box to stand on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

would absolutely love for Ronaldo to get sent off, with the 2nd yellow for simulation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,191 ✭✭✭✭Shanotheslayer

would absolutely love for Ronaldo to get sent off, with the 2nd yellow for simulation.

Never going to happen.

Can't even remember last time he was sent off.

Edit: https://www.quora.com/How-many-times-has-Ronaldo-gotten-red-cards

More than I thought.

Big problem with moths in the stadium and a BBC reporter is saying they have vacuum cleaners to use on them if it gets too much.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,114 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Big problem with moths in the stadium and a BBC reporter is saying they have vacuum cleaners to use on them if it gets too much.

But only low wattage ones.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 267 ✭✭El Chapo

Loving these video packages from RTÉ.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 787 ✭✭✭Pdoghue

El Chapo wrote: »
    Loving these video packages from RTÉ.

Seriously why the need for RTE to go on air at 6.30 pm? Far too much weight given to punditry and puff pieces.

Then I saw that TV3 went on air at 6.00 pm. Jesus wept!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭enzo roco

sligeach wrote: »
    My opinion on both teams in the final.
    turddouche.jpg

I hope France win. Definitely the lesser of 2 Evils. The tournament overall has been very average.

Nonsense, both of these teams have world class players in them. I like many of the players.
    How exactly are they "evils"???

And the tournament has been very entertaining. I enjoyed most of the games. Even some of the 0-0 matches were excellent. Portugal v Austria for example, what a game that was, had everything except goals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

Pdoghue wrote: »
    Seriously why the need for RTE to go on air at 6.30 pm? Far too much weight given to punditry and puff pieces.

Then I saw that TV3 went on air at 6.00 pm. Jesus wept!

2 hours of ads before the kick-off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,289 ✭✭✭Glico Man

BBC just showed a few images there, **** me thats a lot of moths!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,684 ✭✭✭dirkmeister

BBC just showed all the moths on the pitch...whoever left the lights on is in trouble!!!ðŸ˜႒

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭greendom

Wonder how much the extra day's rest benefit the Portuguese. Thursday to Sunday is not a great deal of time to recover.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,227 ✭✭✭✭sligeach

enzo roco wrote: »
    Nonsense, both of these teams have world class players in them. I like many of the players.
    How exactly are they "evils"???

And the tournament has been very entertaining. I enjoyed most of the games. Even some of the 0-0 matches were excellent. Portugal v Austria for example, what a game that was, had everything except goals.

One team has a few @r$€;holes and the other I've a problem with their fickle fans. Sure yes it's been entertaining in parts but the standard of football hasn't been very good overall. There's been no outstanding team. Portugal have been poor and have had easy matches bar the Croatia game. Which they only just won at the death of extra time.

Patrice Evra must be the most miserable f**ker ever to play soccer, does the guy ever smile?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,103 ✭✭✭Lavinia

adrenaline's kick in.. slowly :d

Loris, the French keeper. Same as Doris, but with an L according to Brady.

Glico Man wrote: »
    BBC just showed a few images there, **** me thats a lot of moths!

The one time you want Will Griggs there. He'd sort it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭greendom

The one time you want Will Griggs there. He'd sort it.

Is that why he was picked by NI? To deal with infestations?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭enzo roco

sligeach wrote: »
    One team has a few @r$€;holes and the other I've a problem with their fickle fans. Sure yes it's been entertaining in parts but the standard of football hasn't been very good overall.

Every team has arsholes. And a lot of teams have fickle fans, even the best fans in the world are fickle(look at the times landsdowne road is half full)....

Standard of football, whilst you have a point. I cant think of one competition that had a high standard. Even the champions league has some very poor games. Many in the media and online said world cup 2010 and 2014 were poor.

And think back to other tournaments, what was a good standard???