Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

BANGERNOMICS (sub2k) of the week/day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 150 ✭✭dmrules

Look at this ...has to be one of the best descriptions ever..
    https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2002-hyundai-matrix-with-tax-and-nct/12753094

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,246 ✭✭✭pippip

Thats fecking deadly!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59,579 ✭✭✭✭unkel

less than 1 year old TIRES that cost 240 EUR (my wife purchased them by mistake when I was away)

I guess it is a tested and taxed means of transport and probably yours for €250, which of course is extremely cheap. Personally, I'd rather stick my genitals in a blender, or drive a pink Yaris. Anything else but to drive this :D

My ads on adverts.ie:

Victron stuff for sale, Multiplus-II, Quattro, other inverters and batteries and usually some watches!

https://www.adverts.ie/member/5856/ads

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,377 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

That's brilliant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,519 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Nobody even seller mentions keanu
    Reaves. The matrix.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,125 ✭✭✭selectamatic

W123-80's wrote: »
    I like this
    '02 Golf estate
    Lovely spec
    Test July '17
    Asking €1,900
    I get the feeling it's genuine, a phone call would establish this very quickly

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/volkswagen-golf-1-9-d-tdi-se-auto-130bhp-5dr-a/12761813

This caught my eye too purely because of how it must be one of the most unusually spec'd mkiv golfs in Ireland. I've owned and looked at quite a few over the year's and it's genuinely the first auto 130bhp tdi estate I've ever seen, quite something when ya consider how common a platform the mkiv is/was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,152 ✭✭✭26000 Elephants

This caught my eye too purely because of how it must be one of the most unusually spec'd mkiv golfs in Ireland. I've owned and looked at quite a few over the year's and it's genuinely the first auto 130bhp tdi estate I've ever seen, quite something when ya consider how common a platform the mkiv is/was.

Unusual alright, which makes me believe its a UK import. In which case I would be checking the mileage, it seems quite low for an imported tdi golf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,719 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

Unusual alright, which makes me believe its a UK import. In which case I would be checking the mileage, it seems quite low for an imported tdi golf.

Imported August 2007. Last MOT was 29th June 2007 with 48,117 Miles, so could be legit mileage. Based on selling location I wonder if it was brought over and left at a holiday home?

RA02UWN

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,191 ✭✭✭TeaBagMania

dmrules wrote: »
    Look at this ...has to be one of the best descriptions ever..
    https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2002-hyundai-matrix-with-tax-and-nct/12753094

Hell yeah, now that s true bangernomics. I d pay $350 all day long, it being a Hyundai you know it ll run forever, and its self maintaining at one liter of oil every two weeks so all you need to do is install a new oil filter once over 3K miles :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 719 ✭✭✭12 element

R.O.R wrote: »
    Imported August 2007. Last MOT was 29th June 2007 with 48,117 Miles, so could be legit mileage. Based on selling location I wonder if it was brought over and left at a holiday home?

RA02UWN

How do you find the UK Reg of an imported car?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,719 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

12 element wrote: »
    How do you find the UK Reg of an imported car?

I have access to the SIMI reg check that gives basic details including UK reg if it's an import.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

The pics on that Punto :p

MDA4ZjE1NTY4MzRhZTExOWYyYmM5MGU4MWZjOWQ0ODl3hE4U1dHciFiIPfr_JVHHaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b181ODcwODY0M3x8fDYwMHg2MDB8fHx8fHx8fA==.jpeg

NCTd this week though, so if you got it for about €550, it would be a steal

My ads on adverts.ie:

Victron stuff for sale, Multiplus-II, Quattro, other inverters and batteries and usually some watches!

A 2005 Diesel Tucson priced at a fiver under the 2k limit.NCT Feb 2017.

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/hyundai-tucson-2005-only-1995e-diesel/12609551

NzVlNDk1ZDliZmU1YTM4YTgzODE0OWJlNzA2NDNmNDcQG-YU-gGEb-TwBwIVsIg-aHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b181Nzg0MDM2N3x8fDYwMHg2MDB8fHx8fHx8fA==.jpeg

BMW 5 Series 520I NCT'D

'04 asking €1,950

MDAwNjFlMTFkZTIwYzdkNjNmZjY4ZDM1NWViZTJjYzedFX1ZN86Ch4rM-U5KhwccaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b181NDk0ODUwOXx8fDYwMHg2MDB8fHx8fHx8fA==.jpeg

Linky

Except the fact that a more correct ad title would be: BMW 5 Series 520I never NCT'D :eek:

Beware, folks...

My ads on adverts.ie:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,083 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/mercedes-benz-e-class-e280-auto-nctd-and-taxed-b/12680612

YTVjMmFhNDJlN2I2NDFlMTlhZTZkMzkwMzBmYjAwMWYCqIW6flNrgRG1N3ZX6D34aHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b181ODE4MjU1Mnx8fDYwMHg2MDB8fHx8fHx8fA==.jpeg

1 owner E280 with cool reg, NCT 1/17 and a few weeks tax, €449. A nice way to travel about for a while on the cheap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,077 ✭✭✭percy212

Just drive that merc around with no tax until you are caught. Or not. Grand while you have it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 379 ✭✭yobr

zerks wrote: »

Tax until September

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,903 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/toyota-celica-190/12693076

a sad day for the parish in all fairness, but it's been fun.

Price is optimistic, but it's a lot easier to drop that it is to go up. that and it's also the only non bastardised, non JDM, 190bhp model on Donedeal right now.

Not a single serious inquiry. Around 100 lads who "will leave right now if I take €500" :rolleyes:

Motoring in this country is a joke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,191 ✭✭✭jharr100

Not a single serious inquiry. Around 100 lads who "will leave right now if I take €500" :rolleyes:

I was like that for 2 months with my saab.. you only need one proper serious buyer.. hang tough .

But you're right .. its a joke.

Motor "industry" including insurance companies have us all stitched up good and proper too. Which limits the amount of legitimate buyers if it wasn't for punitive tax and insurance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,152 ✭✭✭26000 Elephants

There's no shortage of fellas with no arse in their trousers who fancy cars well above their pay packet.

Witness any post of a decent classic car, and no mater what price its advertised at, there will be some eejit on with " Jaysus, dats not wort half dat. I'd get a perfect one for a packet of fags...."

But they never do. :)

You just need to adopt a zen attitude and keep patient.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,655 ✭✭✭CIP4

It must be down to the insurance scaring people into buying cars younger than 10 years old. A few years ago that would have been snapped up straight away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,102 ✭✭✭johndaman66

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/opel-vectra-nct-amp-tax/12757531

Hmmm, would never have thought you would have got 4 electric windows in any model of a 98' 1.6 Vectra. If insurance isin't a problem this might be a decent run around for less than a weeks wages! Low mileage and these are much lighter on juice than you might think....

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/ford-fiesta-nct-11-2016/12757251

Another cheap as chips runaround. See a few blemishes here and there but hey, its asking €485. The 1.25 Zetec are like a little go-kartbiggrin.png

Yep I've had plenty of that carry on when selling a car alright. And then they would say....."CASH"....... and a good pause and its the automatically meant to be the holy grail of an offer you cant refuse even though its less than one third of the asking price....Christ sake eek.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

Yep I've had plenty of that carry on when selling a car alright. And then they would say....."CASH"....... and a good pause and its the automatically meant to be the holy grail of an offer you cant refuse even though its less than one third of the asking price....Christ sake eek.png

CASH!

Well f*cking done, I was expecting to get a couple of llamas and a box of Amber Leaf, but cash?! Jaysis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,064 ✭✭✭marketty

Not a single serious inquiry. Around 100 lads who "will leave right now if I take €500"

I'm shocked at that. If I was in the market I'd snap that up, and it's definitely worth asking price or very close imho

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

YzllOGUwZjc5MmUyYTMzMjJlYTU3ZDQyOWU2ZDFjMWZ9sS-PO2ANlNdY0uRaUcYvaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b181ODMyNTkyNnx8fDYwMHg2MDB8fHx8fHx8fA==.jpeg

2002 Nissan micra 1.0 petrol
    Taxed until end of September 2016 Year tax €199
    Ncted until October 2016

€750 Mayo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,083 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley