If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Running for beginners

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,151 ✭✭✭✭eh i dunno

Started running about 3 weeks ago but after maybe 15runs in 21 days I'm not finding it any easier. Now I only do approx 3-4km each time and sometimes stop halfway and walk for 30metres to get my breath back. I'm 35 and maybe a stone overweight so not obese or anything. Any advice for me? Should I try the couch to 5k?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

eh i dunno wrote: »
    Started running about 3 weeks ago but after maybe 15runs in 21 days I'm not finding it any easier. Now I only do approx 3-4km each time and sometimes stop halfway and walk for 30metres to get my breath back. I'm 35 and maybe a stone overweight so not obese or anything. Any advice for me? Should I try the couch to 5k?

If your stopping to get your breath your probably running to fast, slow it down a bit and try complete the 3-4K without stopping. If you can't comfortably hold a conversation with yourself your running to quick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

Yes, do the couch to 5k.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,008 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

Couch 2 5 k is brilliant . It's structured in a way that it just pushes you to you limit each week and that limit increases week on week, or that's my experience of it anyway.

That said if you are capable of running 3 or 4 k with only a short break you may be a little advanced for it.

15 runs in 21 days means you running 5 days a week . That may be a bit much starting out as you may not be fully recovering between runs.

You could try run 3 days a week and gradually increase the distance of these runs to see if it helped .

Also you should be running you runs at an easy pace . You should be able to hold a conversation when running at easy pace .

Well done on getting going . It takes time to build fitness so keep at it and the improvements will happen. Enjoy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,317 ✭✭✭HigginsJ

"15 runs in 21 days"

This seems like an awful lot to me as well. I am doing this 3 months now, if I tried to run 5 days a week I would fall apart I reckon. Recovery is very important to give your body a chance to progress so try to give yourself some breaks, every 2nd day might be advisable.

C25k is great as has been advised, also take your time when running if you are getting out of breath (there are some good effort scales on previous pages of this thread that offer great help)

Best of luck, stick with it but give yourself as much of a chance as possible by taking advise off experienced people on here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭kazmcdonald

eh i dunno wrote:

I am, by no means an expert and relatively new to C25K. I'm currently heading for W6 D3, around week 3 I found I just couldn't breathe and thought I must be missing out on some magical runner's way of breathing. I am seriously overweight so that doesn't help either. After reading this thread I redid week 3 but ensured I slowed right down and it made such a difference. Previously I was running every 2nd day but now I take at least 2 days rest before moving onto the next week and this has also helped. Last week I was able to run for 20 minutes straight (huge thing for me).

Last week I was able to run for 20 minutes straight (huge thing for me).

That day is huge for most Couch 2 5k runners, I think it's the day most of us really realise we can complete the plan.

Congratulations on your progress .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,035 ✭✭✭HelenAnne

gutenberg wrote: »
    Got out again today, a nice run and I finally hit 5k! :D I'm not as closely following Couch to 5k now, though I am still loosely trying some of the different days: running for 20 minutes, 22 minutes, etc.

Have developed a pain at the very top of my right thigh though, right where it joins with the torso where it starts to form the 'V' leading, ahem, further south :pac: Probably hip flexors? At times it's almost like there's a little 'bubble' trapped there, making it uncomfortable, but now it's developed into a pain :(

Hope you got this sorted out. is there a bulge? Could it be a hernia?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,035 ✭✭✭HelenAnne

I am, by no means an expert and relatively new to C25K. I'm currently heading for W6 D3, around week 3 I found I just couldn't breathe and thought I must be missing out on some magical runner's way of breathing. I am seriously overweight so that doesn't help either. After reading this thread I redid week 3 but ensured I slowed right down and it made such a difference. Previously I was running every 2nd day but now I take at least 2 days rest before moving onto the next week and this has also helped. Last week I was able to run for 20 minutes straight (huge thing for me).

well done!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭kazmcdonald

HelenAnne wrote:
    well done!

Thanks, I'm really quite enjoying this running lark! I actually jump out of the bed the mornings I'm doing it. :)

Yea it's really great once you get into it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 984 ✭✭✭gutenberg

HelenAnne wrote: »
    Hope you got this sorted out. is there a bulge? Could it be a hernia?

No, there doesn't seem to be a bulge. It has calmed down in the past while - I've just been swimming and it's been generally ok. It also doesn't hurt while walking any more, or cycling. I haven't been out running in about 10 days though, I didn't want to push it :( I don't know, when I do start back, if I should just push through the discomfort/pain if it returns while running, or should I stop...?

Wellyd wrote: »
    Just did my first 5k at the weekend! I started running in January following the couch to 5k app and then just followed on at my own pace for a while. I finished it in just under 29 minutes. I'm so surprised with myself considering this time 18 months ago I was almost 5 stone heavier. I'm dying to do another one now!
    Hey well done you , sounds like you,ve caught the bug.

Wellyd wrote: »
    Just did my first 5k at the weekend! I started running in January following the couch to 5k app and then just followed on at my own pace for a while. I finished it in just under 29 minutes. I'm so surprised with myself considering this time 18 months ago I was almost 5 stone heavier. I'm dying to do another one now!

Congrats, great work. I was surprised by how many races are actually out there once you start to follow some groups on Facebook you come across alot of oppurtunities to race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,455 ✭✭✭livedadream

stupid question
    i did 5km on a threadmil in my gym this evening. it took me 52 minutes... this has literally never happened me. even on my slowest day im sub 40 minutes.

my PB for 5km is 31:28 a pretty respectable time something im really proud of.

but tonight i dunno it just felt like it was taking forever...

what am i missing...

the road is fun interesting etc but on a threadmil i always thought it was supposed to be easier.

Running on a treadmill can be very boring and demotivating, sometimes the room is not well ventilated, and sometimes the machine is not well calibrated.
    But also sometimes we just have bad runs.

RayCun wrote: »
    Running on a treadmill can be very boring and demotivating, sometimes the room is not well ventilated, and sometimes the machine is not well calibrated.
    But also sometimes we just have bad runs.

ive had bad runs but a solid 18/19 minutes extra? just cant figure it out...

im grand with the motivation just keep moving basically and ive youtube blasting away to keep the boredom at bay, just cant figure it out, yes i didnt feel like i was seriously struggling but it just felt like forever to hit every km.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59,611 ✭✭✭✭walshb

stupid question
    i did 5km on a threadmil in my gym this evening. it took me 52 minutes... this has literally never happened me. even on my slowest day im sub 40 minutes.

my PB for 5km is 31:28 a pretty respectable time something im really proud of.

but tonight i dunno it just felt like it was taking forever...

what am i missing...

the road is fun interesting etc but on a threadmil i always thought it was supposed to be easier.

It's quite a bit easier. Maybe it was in miles?

I wouldn't worry about it.

walshb wrote: »

I reckon you are spot on there.

I AM SUCH A DOPE!

went to the gym this morning for a class and checked it, its feckin miles!

thank christ... thought i was getting slower...

sorry (blame is on a blonde moment) :confused::confused::confused::confused:

I AM SUCH A DOPE!

went to the gym this morning for a class and checked it, its feckin miles!

thank christ... thought i was getting slower...

sorry (blame is on a blonde moment) :confused::confused::confused::confused:

That happened to me before. I knew there had to be a reason. There is no way anyone could run on a treadmill at a speed of below 6 kms. It's not possible. You'd break it!:pac:

So you covered 8+ Kms in 52 mins. Sounds like you had a standard and decent run for your level.

That happened to me before. I knew there had to be a reason. There is no way anyone could run on a treadmill at a speed of below 6 kms. It's not possible. You'd break it!:pac:

So you covered 8+ Kms in 52 mins. Sounds like you had a standard and decent run for your level.

roughly a ten minute mile right?

okay just worked it out there THAT A 10.49 minute mile

whoooooo

i am soooo fast!!! lolz

it was hard but i never felt like i was going to have to stop running, just more of like god this is taking ages...
    who knew, my new trick on how to progress, think your doing kms when your actually doing miles hahahaa

thanks everybody!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,301 ✭✭✭ariana`

Hi. I started running 2.5yrs ago. I took a good break last year (last trimester of pregnancy and a few months post-natal) but i'm back running fairly consistently since January of this year. I can run 10/12km slowly but comfortably and have raced a good handful of 5k and a couple of 10k races already this year. I'm considering a half marathon in September. I'm not a member of a club and it doesn't really suit me join one with 3 little ones at home, it's easier not to be tied to days/times. I've looked up plans but i find them confusing with the various types of runs and various paces.... Can anyone tell me if i'm mad to think i could do a half-marathon in 10 weeks time by running 3-4 times per week and without following any specific plan. A weekly rough plan of sorts would be: 1 or 2 easy short run(s) (5k), 1 quicker/pacier short run (5k) and a longer run at the weekend working from 10k up to 18/20k over the next 9 weeks and tapering off in the last week? Oh my 5k time is 24:50 and 10k time is 54:30. Thanks for any advice!

Tooo right you could run a half. It's only 21 k. There are people here running 24 hr races. 3-4 times per week and take it handy and you'll fly through it.

ariana` wrote: »
    Hi. I started running 2.5yrs ago. I took a good break last year (last trimester of pregnancy and a few months post-natal) but i'm back running fairly consistently since January of this year. I can run 10/12km slowly but comfortably and have raced a good handful of 5k and a couple of 10k races already this year. I'm considering a half marathon in September. I'm not a member of a club and it doesn't really suit me join one with 3 little ones at home, it's easier not to be tied to days/times. I've looked up plans but i find them confusing with the various types of runs and various paces.... Can anyone tell me if i'm mad to think i could do a half-marathon in 10 weeks time by running 3-4 times per week and without following any specific plan. A weekly rough plan of sorts would be: 1 or 2 easy short run(s) (5k), 1 quicker/pacier short run (5k) and a longer run at the weekend working from 10k up to 18/20k over the next 9 weeks and tapering off in the last week? Oh my 5k time is 24:50 and 10k time is 54:30. Thanks for any advice!

I totally think you could do it, im not an expert or anything like the title says this is running for beginners!

but i train 3-4 times a week, same as you 5km 10km races.

The most important thing for me is consistency. i think the plan you have listed seems grand, a good few runs a week and building up distance.

Best of luck

(is it dingle you are doing?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭jameshayes

the easiest and most user friendly plan I've found is https://my.asics.com/

there are no 8 x 800's and no 4 x 400 strides etc etc etc - just simply a few types of run: 'slow', 'fast' and 'race pace' etc. Its free so throw in your details and see if it suits

I totally think you could do it, im not an expert or anything like the title says this is running for beginners!

but i train 3-4 times a week, same as you 5km 10km races.

The most important thing for me is consistency. i think the plan you have listed seems grand, a good few runs a week and building up distance.

Best of luck

(is it dingle you are doing?)

Thanks. Consistency tends to be my problem too, i go great for 3-4 weeks and then suddenly something happens and i've a week where i only get out once or not at all, it's a constant struggle, but i'm feeling determined that i can manage it, this time of year at least there's a couple of extra hours of brightness. I'm thinking of doing Flatline in Athlone on Sept 10th. There's 2 the previous weekend as well that would suit me geographically so i'll see how i'm going.

thats great! keep it up, i find if i have a race coming up im better at getting out there.

Best of luck and keep us posted!

jameshayes wrote: »
    the easiest and most user friendly plan I've found is https://my.asics.com/

there are no 8 x 800's and no 4 x 400 strides etc etc etc - just simply a few types of run: 'slow', 'fast' and 'race pace' etc. Its free so throw in your details and see if it suits

I looked that up & i've printed a plan! It seems pretty straight-forward so i'm going to follow it as best i can. Thanks :)