Farming Chit Chat sticks it to six.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭einn32

Anyone ever visit Clare Island off Mayo? Any advice or should I go to another Island? I've never been to any and the Aran Islands look to be very busy during August.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,471 ✭✭✭naughto

Another recession her we come how in the name of f1uck did that happen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,747 ✭✭✭CloughCasey1

naughto wrote: »
    Another recession her we come how in the name of f1uck did that happen

After what happened Saturday ye'll soon be looking for a connexit and ye can have King Enda all to yerselves.☺☺

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,544 ✭✭✭tanko

einn32 wrote: »
    Anyone ever visit Clare Island off Mayo? Any advice or should I go to another Island? I've never been to any and the Aran Islands look to be very busy during August.

If you've never been to Achill Island id go there, it's not really an island and you can drive around it. It's a beautiful place and you could head to Westport too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,397 ✭✭✭davidk1394

NSAI certified and open for business
    Snapchat-3690683213557091862_zpsadvq2s2a.jpg
    IMG_20160622_091654_zpssk4skv0c.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,742 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Herd just went down withTB. Gutted. Over 20 years since we had it. 3 suckler cows, all right good ones, all young and some 2 generations of AI breeding. They all have calves, youngest is 100 days, so weaning them might be manageable.
    I saw the lumps yesterday but tried to ignore them. Sickening to see the vet shaking his head while looking at them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,405 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Herd just went down withTB. Gutted. Over 20 years since we had it. 3 suckler cows, all right good ones, all young and some 2 generations of AI breeding. They all have calves, youngest is 100 days, so weaning them might be manageable.
    I saw the lumps yesterday but tried to ignore them. Sickening to see the vet shaking his head while looking at them.
    sickner, are there any farms with tb in the area?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 575 ✭✭✭ZETOR_IS_BETTER

Sorry to read that patsy 😔

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 878 ✭✭✭Parishlad

Ah **** Patsy that a balls. Not long since we went through it here. Its absolutely sickening especially I think with cows and calves!
    Keep the head up!!
    We have a test here ourselves at the end of July so more nervy times ahead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,621 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Sorry to hear that, Patsy.

Hopefully you will go clear in the two tests.

Would you have the housing for winter for all stock?

whelan2 wrote: »
    sickner, are there any farms with tb in the area?
    Not that I know of. Local guy, a big operator has if from time to time but haven't heard recently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,893 ✭✭✭Bullocks

That's a balls , hope you test clear as quick as possible ready to start again Patsy

Sorry to hear that, Patsy.

Hopefully you will go clear in the two tests.

Would you have the housing for winter for all stock?
    That's just it, I don't. I normally sell all weanling.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,621 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Don't worry about that now, Patsy, there will be a way around it.

I had the same problem 20 years ago and put up a plastic tunnel. It didn't need planning permission at the time, not sure about now.

Just concentrate on isolating the cows and getting the Dept to get them off the farm ASAP.

One problem at a time, don't stress the rest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,747 ✭✭✭CloughCasey1

You could take up a few acres of Kale or the like on some drier ground and out winter the weanlings and finish them next yr in the shed if your still caught up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,224 ✭✭✭charolais0153

Sorry to hear that. so annoying when you do everything right but get caught by something u have no control over

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭Mac Taylor

Sorry to hear that patsy, have herd test here on Monday. Not looking forward to it as a lot of lads have gone down round us. Keep the chin up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,725 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

Good chance you'll be clear in November Patsy. Tis a balls but the story could be worse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,847 ✭✭✭✭Shannon757

Anyone watch the country music awards?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 355 ✭✭Mf310

Here in spain and got a taxi .. grand looking fresh 2010 mercedes ... couldnt believe when i saw the dash there was just over 800000km on the clock .. thats serious for 6 years eh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,292 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Mf310 wrote: »
    Here in spain and got a taxi .. grand looking fresh 2010 mercedes ... couldnt believe when i saw the dash there was just over 800000km on the clock .. thats serious for 6 years eh

Thats about 300 miles a day, every day, since new.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,995 ✭✭✭dzer2

Sorry to hear that Patsy,
    Deal with it one thing at a time it will come alright.
    Don't waste the time or energy worrying about things until the time comes to deal with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭gazahayes

einn32 wrote: »

Had my stag there 2 years ago it's lovely in good weather they asked what time the pup closes at they said November! We went cliff diving some savage craic there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    Thats about 300 miles a day, every day, since new.

Easily done really with airport shuttles etc. They'd have better roads too. Better confort for them and passengers. .. and they get to charge more.

If you look at any of the regular bus/taxi companies even in Itwland they all go for the merc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭A cow called Daisy

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,977 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Sorry to hear that Patsy, hope you get decent valuations, print off your star ratings, they might take it into consideration when doing the valuations.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,016 ✭✭✭L1985

I'm sorry as well patsy-it's a kick to the stomach. Hopefully ye get it off the farm and the next test will be clear. Really puts you back thou. Look after yourself-nothing you could have done differently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,397 ✭✭✭davidk1394

I never realised hoe bad the smell in a piggery is until now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,893 ✭✭✭Bullocks

gazahayes wrote: »
    Had my stag there 2 years ago it's lovely in good weather they asked what time the pup closes at they said November! We went cliff diving some savage craic there.

We did a couple of good Friday's out there , great spot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭A cow called Daisy

So Northern Ireland are out of Euro 2016 while Wales stay in. Ironically, on Thursday in the Brexit referendum, Northern Ireland voted to stay in and Wales voted to leave. :)