Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

GoPro style Action Camera in Aldi

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,270 ✭✭✭✭mrcheez

dodzy wrote: »
    Ah jesus lads, get over the Friday thing. Your time would be far better spent finding me a headstrap !:p

Lazy sod :P

https://www.amazon.co.uk/GoPro-Head-Strap-Quick-Clip/dp/B00F19PYR4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭dodzy

mrcheez wrote: »

Nah, only messing ;) Ordered this earlier. Cheers MrC

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭Sterling Archer

So anyone pick one up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 771 ✭✭✭Sir Random

Bought one this morning, went for a spin on my motorbike and I'm very disappointed with the picture quality. I did have a Redleaf action cam (lost off bike last week) and there's absolutely no comparison in terms of quality.

The recorded files claim to be 1920x1080, but don't even look like 720 quality, more like a 10 year old phone.

I'll be getting another Redleaf or SJ4000, lesson learned... :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,905 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Sir Random wrote: »
    Bought one this morning, went for a spin on my motorbike and I'm very disappointed with the picture quality. I did have a Redleaf action cam (lost off bike last week) and there's absolutely no comparison in terms of quality.

The recorded files claim to be 1920x1080, but don't even look like 720 quality, more like a 10 year old phone.

I'll be getting another Redleaf or SJ4000, lesson learned... :(
    Bring it back for a refund.

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 552 ✭✭✭Stylesclash07

I picked one up and set it up in the front of my car today the picture is so bad I cant put it into words

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,616 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zascar

Sorry to hear that, bring it back and get your money back.

After doing some research this is the one to get: https://www.amazon.co.uk/SJCAM-Original-Waterproof-Camcorder-Accessories/dp/B01CNVJVBC/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1465725971&sr=8-1&keywords=sj4000 - will cost about €75 but its the real one not one of the fakes. How to spot the difference between the real vs fake sj4000

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,161 ✭✭✭Jofspring

I was looking at the Aldi camera to pick up for my Honeymoon as I have always wanted a Gopro but couldn't justify the price. I ended up ordering the SJ4000 Wifi last night along with a travel case, pole and 32GB memory card all for 120euro. Looking forward to giving it a go now as I will also use it as a dash cam after the honeymoon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,417 ✭✭✭Diemos

Why not buy a second hand GOPRO?

Even the first GOPRO has proper full HD.

Diemos wrote: »

No rear display though. Limited usage without that, also no way of reviewing footage-on-the-fly

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,616 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zascar

I have the original gopro and using it going through the menus etc is a total pain as the screen is tiny with terrible menus etc. I'd rather a decent DJ4000 as I've heard they are just as good as a gopro with some additional features

Diemos wrote: »

Even the second hand gopros seem to be expensive, especially if you want the screen and wifi. Also they don't come with many accessories.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,473 ✭✭✭Notch000

the go pro entry level hero is only 130E and is a million time better than any of these Aldi or harvery norman yokes. I had a hero 2 for a couple of yrs and find it almost as good, the SJ3000/4000 seem to be a mind fiel of fakes and i was looking at all the review in detail and think the footage out of them is still pretty grainy and colours washed out/

i use the go pro for holiday stuff and at this stage prefer it to my SLR kit that rarly gets used at all now

also
    You do not need a view finder on a camera that had a 170deg field of vsion , there also somehting great about going on holidays and waiting till you go home to reivew footage. it like smart phones, there brillkiant but do you need to be checking them every 5 mins
    i've have only read good thing s about the xiomi yi, i would get one of those if i wa upgrading

Notch000 wrote: »
    You do not need a view finder on a camera

Sure you do. Especially for stills photography, and considering you don't use your SLR any longer I imagine you take stills.

You can certainly "best-guess" whether the shot looks ok, but you'd be kicking yourself if you took a shot while on holidays and reviewed it after only to wish you had framed it better at the time. You can always buy a return ticket I guess.

While I was snorkelling with the SJ4000 I dived down holding my breath to take a shot, only to discover it was shaky so I got to retake it a few times until it was perfect and ended up with a shot that's now my Windows wallpaper :pac:
    (might frame it too)

Notch000 wrote: »
    the go pro entry level hero is only 130E and is a million time better than any of these Aldi or harvery norman yokes.

Granted I haven't used it yet but based on reviews online the entry level GoPro is not a million times better than the sj4000, it has no screen, no wi-Fi and you have to buy all the mounts as an after sale. It is also still €50 dearer. You can avoid a fake by shopping around, reading reviews and having some cop on.

For a lot of people I f you buy the sj4000 and it works out and you want to upgrade to something better like the GoPro Hero 4 Silver or the Go Pro Hero 4 black, then that's great. If it ends up gathering dust in the cupboard the at least you haven't invested too much. If you already own gopros then you can always use it as a secondary camera as the mounts are interchangeable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

Jofspring wrote: »
    I was looking at the Aldi camera to pick up for my Honeymoon as I have always wanted a Gopro but couldn't justify the price. I ended up ordering the SJ4000 Wifi last night along with a travel case, pole and 32GB memory card all for 120euro. Looking forward to giving it a go now as I will also use it as a dash cam after the honeymoon.

have you a link?

https://www.amazon.co.uk/SJCAM-Original-Waterproof-Camcorder-Accessories/dp/B01CNVJVBC/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1465725971&sr=8-1&keywords=sj4000

It's the same link previously posted by Zascar. Bought the other items on Amazon also and picking up spare batteries from adverts as Amazon won't post batteries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 253 ✭✭dawidnowak2005

normakelle wrote: »
    Can anyone recommend a good action camera for a ten year old who likes to make videos and post them on line. Something inexpensive as this could fall and break within weeks of christmas? looking on amazon uk but getting a bit confused with choice. thanks

I got gitup git 2 its top class go pro knock off, I can recommend it, great video quality

normakelle wrote: »
    Can anyone recommend a good action camera for a ten year old who likes to make videos and post them on line. Something inexpensive as this could fall and break within weeks of christmas? looking on amazon uk but getting a bit confused with choice. thanks

Bought one of these for my niece (8 year old) and it's survived a few bumps down waterpark slides ;)

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Buyee®-Waterproof-Handsfree-Sports-Camcorder/dp/B00W8UUHPS/