Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Help!!! Offered Second Job What Do I Do?

Options
  • 28-05-2003 10:01am
    Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 2,688 Mod ✭✭✭✭

OK,

Im a programmer.

9 months ago earning 28K p.a.

8 months ago made unemployed due to dreaded "downsizing"

7 months ago became a factory and warehouse lackey, learned how much i could carry up and down a ladder, became an expert CD counter and packager, and learned how to wrap a pallet full of stationary and send it to cork!!!

3 months ago did 2 interviews for 2 companys.

2 months ago got job offer with company A for 24K pa

7 weeks ago i started with company A in the financial industry doing software development and made permanent

3 weeks ago got phonecall from company B offering me 1 year contract at 31,500K for the year but after that theres a chance that

1. im kept on or
    2. im let go, this is not based on your performance, simply on whether the company decides to retain you for more projects but ive been warned that they are scarce on the ground.

today, i must let company B know what im doing.

do i stay secure in my permanent job, or do i take the extra 7.5K and take the risk of being a factory worker again next year????

im really stressing over this, i like where i am, i get on well and im just settling down now, but still 31K come on!!! I fancy the quite lucrative offer, but i feel unsure, what if im unemployed again, it nearly destroyed me emotionally last year as well as my family, partner and close mates, i was a sh*t to everyone fightin cos i was always broke.

advice please???