Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

umarried men with rings

• 27-05-2003 5:56pm
    Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,933 Mod ✭✭✭✭

what is your initail thoughts when you see a man wearing a ring who is not married

is it he's tough, wishes he was tough, is a skanger, is gay, or none of these because i know these are common

i justgot a ring after my graduation and like it but TBH i remember i used to look funny at young people with rings for some reason it did not seem right to me

first impressions are very difficult to get passed and often are all you get so i was wondwering what impression would most get?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭Emboss

I don't think I would even notice a ring on a guy tbh,

I wear one on each hand for the last 7 years or so I'm not tough, don't wish I was I'm not a 'skanger' and I'm not gay

I think it depends on what sort of ring it is aswell, mine are fairly small and look neat and tidy

As long as it doesn't look like this you're ok :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 372 ✭✭catspring

i think that rings can be very nice on men
    so long as it is a nice ring, obviously

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

However a sovereign ring just screams SKANGER to all. As does those horrible little silver ones with Nike logos on them.

knacker max

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,658 ✭✭✭✭The Sweeper

Anybody seen Donnie Darko, where Drew Barrymore writes the words "Cellar Door" on a blackboard as a demonstration of the most beautiful phrase in the english language?

In the last few minutes, "Cellar Door" for me has been superseded by "Knacker Max".

...knacker max...

the most beautiful phrase in the english language.

/me sighs with content.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,564 ✭✭✭Typedef

I think rings... even the sort that one wears as pseudo knuckle dusters are fem.

Ear-rings on the other hand are quite masculine.

hence I wear two....
    I find solace in this sort of logical disjunction...

You should too...
    get your ear pearsed... be a 'real' man.

Offer subject to terms and conditions

• Closed Accounts Posts: 517 ✭✭✭hacktavist

If you dont look like a skanger without a ring I dont think wearing one is gonna make a big difference.
    Just as long as its not a sovereign ring.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Rings = for Gay/Skanger folk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,264 ✭✭✭RicardoSmith

The question is not what do other people think, but why does the bearer wear the ring or ear-rings. Personally I like jewellery as objects, but hate wearing it myself. Just feels like clutter. Unless the piece is noteworthy and suits the look. I don't thing it looks well on most guys.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 poppygirl

All I can say to that 1 is; if YOU like the ring wear it. At the end of the day if someone is going to judge and sterotype you because you wear a ring... do you really want to know them??? Would you dismiss someone for wearing 1?

What is the world coming to when we have to worry about being judged for wearing a goddam ring, what ever it looks like:confused:

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Originally posted by poppygirl
    All I can say to that 1 is; if YOU like the ring wear it. At the end of the day if someone is going to judge and sterotype you because you wear a ring... do you really want to know them??? Would you dismiss someone for wearing 1?

What is the world coming to when we have to worry about being judged for wearing a goddam ring, what ever it looks like:confused:
    People like that should know better. :D

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,389 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lenny

I have 5 rings in total,
    only 2 of them are big, one blackstone and a sovereign are kinda big.. but eh overeign isn't one of those argo's one for 40quid, its worth a few thousand actualy, the coin in it is quite valauble, its over 35 years old and cost 400punt back then, and it means quite a bit to me as it was passed down to me, but I never wear it though.
    I don't usually wear 4 rings at once, as I think lads who wear 3 rings(excluding wedding band) look like muppets TBH, are they trying to set a fashion statement, trying to impres the ladies with their few rings? I don't know I only wear 2 max at a time, and usually one on each hand does the job..

Excuse my ignorance Lenny, but what does the TBH stand for?

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,389 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lenny

To be honest

Looking at your subject, and reading my post. you must have though that "Muppets TBh" was some sort of slang word? :D
    lol

Excuse my ignorance Lenny, but what does the TBH stand for?

Originally posted by Lenny
    To be honest

Thought it might have been: muppets Trying to Be Hard LOL
    Whos the muppet now :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 517 ✭✭✭hacktavist

You.

(sorry couldnt resist)

Originally posted by poppygirl
    Thought it might have been: muppets Trying to Be Hard LOL
    Whos the muppet now :o

haha, have to say thats some good imagation! :)lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,315 ✭✭✭ballooba

Lenny
    Tallaght Scumbag
    LOL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 836 ✭✭✭Snowball

Bounty Hunter, I used to wear 2 rings, both bought for me. I dunno I liked them (only reason I'm still not wearing them anymore is I lost both of them a while ago). I suppose that as long as the ring is within your personality and what you want and is not some huge gold massive thing (when that is exactly what u dont like) you should be ok.

My advice is to wear it for a while and see what you think. The first ring I got was off a girlfreind at the time and I kinda had to wear it. I was in no way a fan of rings on blokes and the ONLY reason I wore it is because she bought it for my birthday. After a while I grew to love it. Now, sometimes I find myself feeling my underside of my finger for the ring (a habbit I had when I had the ring). Try it out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭commuterised

I have a male friend who wears a simple silver ring on his right hand. He is neither gay nor a skanger, I think it looks cool on him. I think the type of metal the ring is made of makes a big difference on how it looks on you.

My husband said when we got married he wasn't going to wear his ring cos he thought it would look girly. I told him I wouldn't wear mine if he didn't wear his, and that changed his mind pretty quickly. He got one he liked and now it's more of a fashion than and ownership tag!!!

wear the ring, you like it, so wear it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 134 ✭✭Dawg

I've been wearing a small gold ring on my right hand for nearly eight years. I was given it by my folks, so has a bit of sentimental value. The reason I always wear it is because I like it, simple as that. Anyone that judges you on first contact based on whether you're wearing a ring or not is prob too shallow to bother worrying about.

I aint tough, dont wish I was tough and aint a skanger. Dammit, must be gay so ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,389 ✭✭✭✭Saruman

I dont wear any jewlery at all, unless you can call a watch Jewlery. The only other thing is a Lord of the rings replica ring thats worn around the neck! I dont wear that usually anyway.

Dont mind jewlery i just prefer not to wear it.. if i ever got married i think i would be uncomfortable wearing a ring!!

I dont like ear rings on men and hate other piercings on men and women

• Closed Accounts Posts: 679 ✭✭✭ciano

Personally, I dont like rings (and most jewerly in general) at all. I do think that they tend to look a bit skanger-ish on a bloke, but also I think that too many rings on a girl can also have a similarly skanger-ish look.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 836 ✭✭✭Snowball

I would like to point out that I am under no circumastances a Skanger. if anything I'm a posh bastard. The whole ring thing was kinda pushed on my, then grew on me and now... well, not sure because I dont have it anymore but its all about what you like and what you think sutes you, no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,503 ✭✭✭Makaveli

How does wearing a ring make you tough/ a skanger/ gay?
    Other peoples opinions shouldn't matter. If you want to wear a ring then do it.
    I have two rings, both were given to me. I don't wear them because things on my fingers just annoy me, especially when trying to write.
    I don't see the big deal in wearing one though.
    The only rings I would consider to look skangerish are the cheap gold ones you'll find in the Argos catalogue. Or if you wear one on every finger.
    Like commuterised said aswell the metal makes a big difference. Personally I wont wear gold, just doesnt suit me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭johnnynolegs

i wear one ring on my left thumb and you can barely notice it actually - plain silver and about a centimetre in width and i am none of the above at all so bang goes the original theory

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,335 ✭✭✭Dr Bolouswki

what about cock rings? Are they cool?

I think the skangers should start wearing gold soveriegn cock rings and displaying them with pride. Might even make fights more interesting - in a kind of damn-this-means-im-probably-gay-after-all kind way...

damn...

nahh - I hate all rings - puffs....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,777 ✭✭✭✭The Corinthian

I’m Italian, and the wearing of some jewellery is not uncommon with Italian men. Given this, even there, it can be considered gauche (skangerish) if it is too obvious, garish or vulgar.

However, I wear a small gold chain/bracelet on my right wrist, I gift from my grandmother. When my father dies, as firstborn, I’ll probably get the ring that he wears on his right hand, that he got when his father died.

The former, I wear for sentiment, the latter I would for tradition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,471 ✭✭✭elexes

i have one on left hand ( finger closest to my thumb ) it was given to me by my gf a while back i like it havnt basicly taken it off me at all i know ill lose it if i do and im as hard as 2 mice fighting in a blender

up to last week had a eyebrow piercing on my left one ... that got a lot of looks ... bit weird in work when the customer dosnt stop staring at your eye for the full conversation

im as hard as 2 mice fighting in a blender

LOL I like it:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 767 ✭✭✭nesthead

rings are teh ghey imo. my dad doesnt have wedding ring and i cant imagine wearing one myself.... unless the future missus forces me too in some way....

i wouldnt wear any jewlery at all unless it was bought for me and nice.... would mind one those Chris Pontius tooth necklaces tho :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,186 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

I've been wearing my graduation ring for 2 weeks now. Its a silver band on my right ring finger.
    I like it, kind of sentimental plus I fidget alot and I can bang it against metal to annoy people.

And loike I totally couldn't be less of a skanger, roish?