Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ill pay you to go to college?!

• 26-05-2003 4:22pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,946 ✭✭✭

Apparently the minister of education plans to pay 'working class' students 125 euro a week to go to college in a bid to get more people into the education system.

How crap is that? yea there are some benifits.. For example.. actually no, i dont see any.

Tomo, damo, paddy and madser are now enrolled in Trinity college and are now injecting herion into innocent students in the hope that they will get them addicted - then they will come running to them for gear and their business will bloom!

Not only are our taxes paying for them to go to college free - fair enough, but they are being paid to do so, so why not knock up the inflation price again for the craic.

The grading system will go to shambles. Hard working Leaving cert students that actually want to do something with their life will be put aside for some junky from ballier(nothing agains bally) who will attend college only to play pool all day and get stoned in the jacks while listening to scooter and throwng rocks at the window.

I think that the government is litterally trying to make this country fall into depression. its useless imo

reD.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭Emboss

Hard working Leaving cert students that actually want to do something with their life will be put aside for some junky from ballier(nothing agains bally) who will attend college only to play pool all day and get stoned in the jacks while listening to scooter and throwng rocks at the window.

What planet are you living on mate ?

I suppose students at the moment aren't playing pool getting stoned lsitening to CRAP all day ?

I failed to read where the minister was offering every heroin addict in dublin a place in trinity college,

why would they want to go anyway ?
    to asssociate with people like you ?
    who the hell do you think you are ?

Emboss

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,946 ✭✭✭red_ice

first of all, im not your 'mate'
    I failed to read where the minister was offering every heroin addict in dublin a place in trinity college,

read the post then.
    why would they want to go anyway ?
    to asssociate with people like you ?
    who the hell do you think you are ?

Maybe they want a college life?
    No, i wouldnt go near them?
    IM A PERSON U TIT.

NEXT PLEASE! This time someone with an opinion, not a ricky lake cassette up their arse - thanks.

They now pay them just as much to sit on FAS courses with no resources learning absloutley nothing,
    that the tax payer pays for

All I'm hearing the last year is students crying out about fees

now they're offering to pay people to go your crying again...when will it end.

"Maybe they want a college life?"

And what's wrong with that ?

Run along child...

Emboss

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,141 ✭✭✭fisty

moronic post.
    n1 red_ice.
    You made yourself look like a tit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,322 ✭✭✭Repli

Emboss chill out, if it's a personal thing against reddy then this isn't the place. Even if these scumbags are going to get paid €125/week to go to college, they still have to do their Leaving Cert to get into college, so not every tom, dick and 'anto' from working class areas are going to get in. One thing it might encourage is for more people to stay in school and do their Leaving Cert, but I can't see that happening because by your mindset, these scumbags are going to attend college with absolutely no interest of passing exams or getting a qualification just so they qualify for the €125/week. Why don't they just sit at home and claim social welfare then? I believe (not sure though) that it's more than €125/week?

Admittedly this system will more than likely be abused if it's implemented because I doubt there are many people who can genuinely not afford to attend college (there are no laws saying you can't get a part time job and pay yourself through college).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,946 ✭✭✭red_ice

ty repli, thats what i ment. Pitty emboss cant use his brain and fisty is... well fisty is fisty, so ill leave it at that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,446 ✭✭✭✭amp

Fisty, one more moronic post from you and your banned. Final warning.

Red_ice, calm the fup down. I see you flame anybody else here again and you're gone too.

End of discussion. Any further off-topic posts will be moved to the Recycle bin.

Hey Repli

not by my mindset Red's, who thinks every junkie in dublin now has a place on BSC course in Trinity, unlikley!

yes it more than likley be abused but what isn't these days ?

if it helps get a few more people a better education and a better living who can then put back more into society i'm all for it.

If we're all ready paying for people to sit around and do nothing on the social welfare, why not help them imporve themselves ?

Emboss

ty repli, thats what i ment. Pitty emboss cant use his brain and fisty is... well fisty is fisty, so ill leave it at that

Well if it's what you meant why not trying saying what you mean and not be crap talking about ballymun junkies ?

Emboss

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,163 ✭✭✭✭Boston

Originally posted by red_ice
    Tomo, damo, paddy and madser are now enrolled in Trinity college and are now injecting herion into innocent students in the hope that they will get them addicted - then they will come running to them for gear and their business will bloom!

I agree with red, trinity should be the reserve of doctors and lawyers sons and no filthy peasant foke should be allowed in. On second thoughts no I don't. What makes you think tomo, damo paddy and madser are not perfectly sound respectable blocks who worked hard and got into the college that they wanted, well?
    The grading system will go to shambles. Hard working Leaving cert students that actually want to do something with their life will be put aside for some junky from ballier(nothing agains bally) who will attend college only to play pool all day and get stoned in the jacks while listening to scooter and throwng rocks at the window.

How do you figure this? the person correcting the exam hasn't a clue weather your black white south sider or northsider, country or dub. that was makes the system great its based on the amount of work you put in nothing else. You presume that only a certain class of people are drug addicts, not only that but you assume every one in that class is one. drugs are a serious problem in Ireland today and don't think just because it's trinity that its not affected.

Repli why are they scumbags exactly. A good friend of mine, from ballymun infact, will most likely benefit from this grant scheme to go to third level. He didn't have an easy time at school and for awhile there it looked like he wouldn't make it to the leaving. single parent family, younger sister, that e125 will come in extremely handy. why do you begrudge people who are just trying to improve themselves and build a better life.

I'm from one of these so called scumbag areas, I probably look like a scumbag to you probably think I'm a skanger, but from reading both your posts I have more respect for people then either or you.

Btw I plan to go to trinity next year and I'm bringing afew of my skanger friends with me.

Ps scooter are allright, better then Justin timerberqueer anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,446 ✭✭✭✭amp

Ah welcome back Boston.

Thanks for being part of the degrading this thread from what I hoped would be a rational debate about further education into a boring flame ridden class war.

[edit] Also my apologies to those who were actually trying to talk rationally.[/edit]

Thread locked.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

Jesus... when did Humanities start to psychically channel CS?!

Boston wading in is class.... no pun! (actually I agree with him this time!)

Education should be a meritocracy, those smart enough should go... those not rich enough should be sponsored by the state... all fees should be waived for all third level students.

DeV.