Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Everyone read and please reply!

• 25-05-2003 3:44am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1

I am just curious if there are any parents out there and if you could answer a question for me. If there was a summer camp and it was a fatacy camp where your Children/young Adults (ages 14-18 or one for family or adults) could learn an elvish language if they wanted to, learn the art of archery as well as respect for nature and there suroundings if they were with the elven group. Learn Fencing and leadership ability as well as making the best of any situation in the forest as well as outside the forrest if they were with the Humans. Mineing by the river or learning history and the history and art of story telling as well as respect for all things big and small if with the Drwarves.

All groups will walk away with a new outlook on there lives as well as what they do in life. The children would walk away with lifetime friendships and will be prepared for whatever comes her/his way by learning all she/he can about any given situation. These Young Adults will be ready to meet the challenges of life that might come there way.
    Even if you are not a parent I would love to know what you think of this idea. Any info would be greatly appriciated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,141 ✭✭✭fisty

Wow!
    What a crap idea!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 836 ✭✭✭Snowball

fisty keep ur negative and unconstrictive **** to your self ffs

Not a parent but none the less I recon that the idea is sound but not in ireland. Apart from the fact that there is not that many people in ireland to sonstitute a huge interest in that kinda camp it would not work knowing irish people. It might work in the states though. If your seriosly considering it good luck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,080 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

Em sorry but this sounds like a very bad idea, There are alot beter things children 14-18 could eb doing with their time and why learn a language that is of no use ?

P.S there is a parenting board

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

There are alot beter things children 14-18 could eb doing with their time and why learn a language that is of no use ?

not a big fan of irish then? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

Originally posted by Eruasemme
    fatacy camp
    I think it's great you're doing that for your kids! If not just for their health then the weight-loss will be sure to increase their self-esteem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,590 ✭✭✭lordsippa

No. Doesn't sound like a good idea. Why would yer average (or even your special) 14-18 year old want to learn mining? And it wouldn't work in the states either. Under the current social climate there you'd be viewed as a bunch of hippies and told to eff off. MIGHT work as a fantasy Tolkien camp if you cut out the race thing, and perhaps made it an adventure (wherein you could learn some elvish and grow to love nature etc)... but I don't know where in Ireland you could pull that off... Maybe in Scotland.

Oh... and <troll>

• Closed Accounts Posts: 836 ✭✭✭Snowball

Originally posted by Mordeth
    not a big fan of irish then? :D
    perfectly put mord

No mord and im ****ing angry with this ****ing state that we HAVE to learn a language (which no1 speaks a word of after they leave school ) in order to get into collage,

I dont give a **** about irish culture !!! it should be optional and i want my gizzilion hours i spend bord ****less in irish class back...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,315 ✭✭✭ballooba

Never realised how young the boards audience was until i read the above post about the Irish language and then the thread about leaving Ireland if you got the chance.

That thing 'Art in Action' in Townley Hall, Louth is something similar? Thats run by a cult and i think you would find it hard to persuade that your thing was not run by a cult.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,738 ✭✭✭Barry Aldwell

I am just curious if there are any parents out there and if you could answer a question for me. If there was a summer camp and it was a fatacy camp where your Children/young Adults (ages 14-18 or one for family or adults) could learn an elvish language if they wanted to, learn the art of archery as well as respect for nature and there suroundings if they were with the elven group. Learn Fencing and leadership ability as well as making the best of any situation in the forest as well as outside the forrest if they were with the Humans. Mineing by the river or learning history and the history and art of story telling as well as respect for all things big and small if with the Drwarves.

All groups will walk away with a new outlook on there lives as well as what they do in life. The children would walk away with lifetime friendships and will be prepared for whatever comes her/his way by learning all she/he can about any given situation. These Young Adults will be ready to meet the challenges of life that might come there way.
    Even if you are not a parent I would love to know what you think of this idea. Any info would be greatly appriciated.
    This entire post could be condensed into "Why doesn't someone make a Lord of the Rings Camp?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 526 ✭✭✭dendenz

Is the camp set in fairyland? lol!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,164 ✭✭✭Space Coyote

There's not a chance of a camp like that working in Ireland. Most 14-18 year olds in this country are far too lazy to be involved in something that forces you to think or move your limbs! It definitely sounds like there would be too much learning involved, most kids just don't like learning outside of school. I could very possibly be talking complete shíte here, anyone who falls into this age category please respond...

Q. Do kids still go to the Gaeltacht these days ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,488 ✭✭✭Goodshape

Originally posted by Tusky
    I dont give a **** about irish culture !!!

Sorry to be going off topic, but Tusky I hope you're just saying that due to some exam related stress. Ireland has a beautiful culture. Absolutely beautiful. The folklore, the stories, the craic, even the language. All of it seem's to be diminishing these days because people just "don't give a ****".

Jesus, our culture is what we are. Without that we may as well just call ourselves American... it seems to be what we're striving toward anyway.

As for the ElfCamp or whatever... sounds somewhat interesting, but I'd say it's just a bit too 'out-there' for the average Irish punter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,181 ✭✭✭✭Jim

an elvish language u say??

evil or good elves??

would all the clothes be green??

would they make shoes??

would we all be shuken to 2ft as a means of initiation??

[sounds like a crap idea, if its a seious one tbh] [never mind the parents, do the children get a say if they want to go or not]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 687 ✭✭✭kano476

Originally posted by Goodshape
    Sorry to be going off topic, but Tusky I hope you're just saying that due to some exam related stress. Ireland has a beautiful culture. Absolutely beautiful. The folklore, the stories, the craic, even the language. All of it seem's to be diminishing these days because people just "don't give a ****".

Jesus, our culture is what we are. Without that we may as well just call ourselves American... it seems to be what we're striving toward anyway.

nicely put, cant agree with you more. we should be proud that we still have our language in some way. okay its not exactly the sexiest language on the planet buts its still good to be able to rip the piss out of americans/english/irish ppl that dont speak irish and have them not knowing what the hell yor sayin!!

anyways, umm yeah the elf camp thing......go get a life for yourself before you do something dangerous! seriously you dont sound healthy. and of all the places you could have picked for this thing ireland!? i mean come on we only have like one of the worst underage alcohol rates in europe!!!

maybe in america.

yes irish culture is great etc etc BUT should we be forced to learn a language we have absolutely no use of ( most ppl who leave secondary cant even have a conversation in irish ) in order to do a subject in collage which has nothing to do with irish language ?

to me that is rediculous...but i take your point, we have a rich and to be respected culture :) just hate the language

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,400 ✭✭✭TacT

elf camp - not in this country
    Irish language should not be needed for college/work, it should be compulsory up until junior cert at the very, very latest imho, kids would be better off then focusing on a language hundreds of thousands of other people are speaking, not one about 20,000 people speak..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

elvish?

how do you teach a non existant language?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭Jak

I think CTYI already runs a Fatasy camp.

Was not sure if they taught elvish though, and I'm pretty sure the archery would be restricted to pretend arrows.

Incidentally on the Elvish part; Our pal Tolkein being the old linguistics professor he was actually went to the trouble of constructing a full elvish lexicon and language structure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,196 ✭✭✭Littletinyman

Tuoojkz rfaaalen ropoffel die noursszzúnda kaooek 'ELFEN CAMP' oiekde popplezz uriez naajse.. :rolleyes:

Surte mufh harlt oben haag der isch!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,488 ✭✭✭Goodshape

And I take your point. The language really isn't needed for anything, but you should still take an interest.

...saying that though, I can't speak the language myself. I was living in london for the first few years of school and just never really picked it up after that (plus I had to but up with all the different dialects moving from galway to dublin to donegal).

So I was giving out in much the same way a couple of years ago; but I found a way around it. I'll learn the (bootiful) language some day, I hope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭Jak

Looks like the lyrics from Belgiums Eurovision entry ltm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,658 ✭✭✭✭The Sweeper

...could learn an elvish language if they wanted to

Why would they want to? Most of them can't even hack Irish...

Originally posted by Eruasemme ...learn the art of archery

...so they can shoot things...
    Originally posted by Eruasemme ...as well as respect for nature

...is this before or after they shoot at it with their newfound archery skills?
    Originally posted by Eruasemme ...and there suroundings if they were with the elven group.

Get real pal. Legolas isn't going to come skipping happily through the Sally Gap singing evensong as he frolics.
    Originally posted by Eruasemme Learn Fencing and leadership ability as well as making the best of any situation in the forest as well as outside the forrest if they were with the Humans.

So you want to further screw up children's perception of themselves by allowing them to pretend they're not human? While teaching them fencing and archery? And what do you think is going to happen to your little band of non-human weapons-masters?
    Originally posted by Eruasemme Mineing by the river or learning history and the history and art of story telling as well as respect for all things big and small if with the Drwarves.[/B]

I can't wait to see the job advert... "Camp needs dwarves. Lemming need not apply."

Originally posted by Eruasemme All groups will walk away with a new outlook on there lives as well as what they do in life. [/B]

"A new outlook" here being a euphemism for "deluded".
    Originally posted by Eruasemme The children would walk away with lifetime friendships and will be prepared for whatever comes her/his way by learning all she/he can about any given situation. These Young Adults will be ready to meet the challenges of life that might come there way.[/B]

And meet them with a ready arrow and a sharp sword! Huzzah!!
    Originally posted by Eruasemme Even if you are not a parent I would love to know what you think of this idea. [/B]

I don't think I need to respond to this line.
    Originally posted by Eruasemme Any info would be greatly appriciated. [/B]

The only info I could possibly give you is a couple of psychiatrist phone numbers, and this website:

http://www.otherkin.net/index.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 917 ✭✭✭cat_rant

it sounds like a lovely idea but in reality 14-18year plds dont give a sh** about nature or folk lore our anything that educational i find it hard to believe that they would find it intresting and as for archry i did it its **** so nice plan but not very practical

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,127 ✭✭✭STaN

Originally posted by Jak
    Looks like the lyrics from Belgiums Eurovision entry ltm.

I was thinking it was more the lyrics from one of the bands angelwhore idolises.

Oh , STaN is still logged in to this. Hehe, this is yellum.

Serves ya right STaN for using my computer and logging out.

/me goes to Personal Issues board to make STaN come out as being straight/

I like the gurls ! Rita from Coronation Street makes me hot

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,287 ✭✭✭vac

Hmm, this might actually top Star Trek camp. We all know what trekkies end up like...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,196 ✭✭✭Littletinyman

Hey Minesajackdaniels why don't you shut up you narrow minded bigot!

Naaafen Rolscheine Fin,

Paaérr.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,141 ✭✭✭fisty

I maintain it is a crap idea, 10 stars for effort.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,590 ✭✭✭lordsippa

Heh... CTYI may be doing archery this summer. :p <thank god i'm not there anymore>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,658 ✭✭✭✭The Sweeper

Originally posted by Littletinyman
    Hey Minesajackdaniels why don't you shut up you narrow minded bigot!

Naaafen Rolscheine Fin,

Paaérr.

Because this is planet earth, not middle earth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,754 ✭✭✭Big Chief

lol am i the only one that thought jack d's post was hilarious?

i really couldnt have put it better myself.. just the kinda laugh i needed on a monday morning :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,967 ✭✭✭adnans

damn you white wolf online!!! DAMN YOU ALL TO HELL.!!11

adnans

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,304 ✭✭✭✭koneko

These Young Adults will be ready to meet the challenges of life that might come there way.

Yes, if those challenges include fighting dwarves or speaking Elvish. Which they won't.

If you're lucky some deranged parents will send their kids there. If only to keep them "off the streets" so they don't get arrested again.

They'll spend the whole trip setting fire to your "authentic cabins" and beating up your dwarves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,164 ✭✭✭Space Coyote

Just re-read the original post. It's even more warped than I first thought! I think yer man's trying to hypnotise us into joining a cult. And not nearly as fun as the Stonecutters with their paddling of the swollen ass initiation ceremony's. Although killing fictional elves with arrows sounds kinda ... :rolleyes:

P.S. I too thought Jack D's post was funny :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭Puck

How about a summer camp where people are repeatedly shown Dougal's dreams/reality diagram from Father Ted?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

Originally posted by Big Chief
    lol am i the only one that thought jack d's post was hilarious?
    was funny. i guess some people didn't see the humour in it

I don't think something like that would work here. Maybe in america.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,446 ✭✭✭✭amp

/me's spluttered breathing finally settles to normal

Now that's what I call kick-ass flaming.

Elvish.... lol.....

Legolas....rofl....

ahhhhhhhh...laughing is good.

Hey Eruasemme, seen any creatures living under bridges lately?

YOU FREAK!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 605 ✭✭✭exiztone

No... what I'm amazed about this thread most of all is the fact that it comes off as a troll and everyone who replied has taken it seriously....
    What the hell.... a camp for learning elf language....
    If I were a parents, and my child came to me asking to go. I'd smack him across the head and send him to some sort of school where they teach children the differences between good ideas... and this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 234 ✭✭Mistakill

Fúcking Unreal flaming MinesajackDaniels still bursting my hole laughing. Its good idea in theory but i dont think it would work out in reality

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,389 ✭✭✭✭Saruman

Originally posted by WhiteWashMan
    elvish?

how do you teach a non existant language?

Easy... the language does exist!! Tolkien provided everything you need to read, write and speak Elvish. I dont know it myself by the way.

If there is an acadamy in the US (of course) that teaches Klingon then you can learn Elvish... Hell the Belgians made up their own language just to write a song for Eurovision!!

By the way methinks Eruasemme is a troll, she has not responded to this thread since it was started. Maybe she should try teaching the kids English first before Elvish... Not personally herself of course... if I had kids and sent them off to summer camp and they came back spelling Fantasy as fantacy i would be pretty pissed! Its possible there are some typos in my posts but not blatent ones like that!

HOWEVER i do think the idea has "some" good points but not the way it was put forward.. no it sounds like a troll...

Oh why do i refer to Eruasemme as "her?" Well i assume it is a "she" since Eruasemme is a elvish word for Emmanuella Which is obviously Feminine of Emanuel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,738 ✭✭✭Barry Aldwell

Originally posted by Jak
    I think CTYI already runs a Fatasy camp.
    Plenty of delusional nuts up there, but role playing games are banned. There was some...unpleasantness several years ago.
    Originally posted by Jak
    Was not sure if they taught elvish though, and I'm pretty sure the archery would be restricted to pretend arrows.
    There's Russian. That's a funny language! And archery is a possibility.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 604 ✭✭✭Kai

For some reason i thought of that deuce bigalow film when i read the post.
    Ya know the scene where he is walking down the road with the real tall woman and people are shouting

FREEEEEEAAK !
    Freeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeaaaaaaaaak !!!!!