Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The 24 BBC Thread

• 17-05-2003 12:04am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 14,483 ✭✭✭✭

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,483 ✭✭✭✭daveirl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Dustaz

omg wait till you see the next episode, the bomb is actually a dragon!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 544 ✭✭✭pauldeehan

I'm still trying to get over the revelation that Palmer is Bauer's father:eek:

Spoiler: Bauer and his crime solving dog discover that it was really the museaum care-taker the whole time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,608 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

I'm actually worse off than you Dave wrt spoilers. I'm taping it for someone who's away so I only watch it when they show the three or four together roundup every few weeks. I'm now one week behind everyone else - in a few weeks it'll be back up to three again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭Elmo

24 Saturday Night Tread is needed so. And a 24 BBC three in a row tread. Four Treads for the best show on the TV I think its fair.

What about it's own forum?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

you might have a good point. how many threads have popped up about Oz

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,483 ✭✭✭✭daveirl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,265 ✭✭✭aidan_dunne

F**king Chorus! I officially now hate them with a vengeance! :mad:

Turned on the telly last night at about five to ten to watch the penultimate episode of 24 on BBC 2. What happens? As often seems to happen with Chorus (well, around these parts anyway!) the English terrestrial channels seem to kind of "freeze up", i.e. the picture on BBC 1, 2, UTV and Channel 4 just stops. "Oh for f**k's sake," says I. Normally it comes back after a couple of minutes but, oh no, not tonight. It doesn't come back again until about five minutes from the end. All I catch is Sherry talking to the bad guy with the beard on the phone about meeting up somewhere, Jack and Sherry driving along in a jeep, Jack having some kind of heart attack and then they crash.

6:59:57.... BEEP DONG

6:59:58.... BEEP DONG

6:59:59.... BEEP DONG

7:00:00.... BEEP DONG

I started watching it on Network 2, missed a couple of episodes so I changed to watching it on BBC 2 as they were a few episodes behind. Haven't missed them since. I've been avoiding the other "main" 24 thread here, avoiding reading about it, stopping people from telling me what's been happening etc., all in an effort to watch it in peace without it being spoiled for me (so before anyone says anything about me "dragging up old posts" or "why didn't you post in the main 24 thread", that's the why!). And then Chorus goes and does this to me! Ba$tards! :mad:

Now I don't know whether to completely avoid the last episode next week and maybe get the DVD set when it comes out, really only to catch the last two episodes in full, or go ahead and watch it next week to hell but possibly not have a clue what's going on or watch it having missed a vital part of the show tonight. Real pain in the arse, this is.

Without actually telling me what happened in last night's episode, should I go ahead and watch the final episode anyway? Or did anything of major importance happen last night that I need to have seen in order to be able to know what's going on in the last episode? Could the final episode be enjoyed on it's on, so to speak? Anyone have any views on this?

Chorus are useless Aidan. I said it when I was a customer, I said it during the two weeks after telling them to bugger off while I was waiting for Sky and had no telly and I've said it since.

I copied the Fox episode summary for 7am-8am in here and put it in spoiler tags but that appears to cause problems if the text in spoiler tags is long (even if the post is accepted)

Hence, I'll just drop in a link to the BBC one (same text)

http://www.bbc.co.uk/24/episodeupdate/2_6_7_am.shtml

It's not a very exciting episode to be honest - reading the episode guide would do.

You're in luck though - I checked the BBC 24 site and they're repeating episodes 22 and 23 (6am to 7am) next Saturday night on BBC2 (as they've been doing every few weeks anyway). Episode 23 is on at 00:15 (that's the night of Saturday 9th/Sunday 10th) on BBC2. The you can watch episode 24 on Sunday night along with the rest of us:)

Thanks a million, sceptre. I forgot all about the back-to-back repeats the Beeb do every few weeks. That's just perfect for me. I'll make sure to either watch it next Saturday night or tape it. Thanks again for looking that up and informing me of it.

I just hope Chorus doesn't go t!ts up again either next Saturday or Sunday night, now! If it does I'll rip their cable out of the wall and bloody strangle them with it! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,386 ✭✭✭smuckers

Feck it I was convinced Kate Warner was a baddie but now I don't think she is I thought it was all an act very much like season 1 Jack trusting the person he'd be closest to. The first season edges it slightly but series 2 has been lots of fun I'm just not expecting something extraordinary to happen next week I could be wrong.
    if I was the writer I'd have Kate being revealed as a baddie holding Kim hostage and Jack is given an ultimatum.:)
    what ever happened to the lesbian babe Mandy. ;)
    Kim has to be the most cursed gal on the planet everywhere she goes danger flows she's better in FHM though than on the show. :)

Originally posted by smuckers
    Kim has to be the most cursed gal on the planet everywhere she goes danger flows she's better in FHM though than on the show. :)

a bit like Jessica Fletcher on Murder She Wrote. hopefully she'll never make it to FHM though :D

LOL (shuddering) :eek:

I agree with you, smuckers. I thought there was something very suspicious about Kate all along, particularly after watching tonight's repeat of the penultimate episode. "Come on Kim, it's okay. I'm your friend. Just come with me and things will be okay." Hmmm, really Kate? Can't say I'm convinced but, sure enough, the dumb blonde who loves getting herself into all kinds of weird situations goes along with her. Kim, for f**k's sake, WAKE UP! My God, after all the sh!t she's been through up until now you'd think she'd have some little bit of cop on, but no, not our Kim. She just seems to get dumber and dumber with each passing episode. Okay, maybe I'm all wrong and Kate isn't a baddie but, you have to remember, they haven't arrived back at CTU or wherever yet. Kim could still be in danger. Who knows what's going to happen.

And why do I get the impression Sherry Palmer is still somehow working with Kingsley? That this is all a plot to get Jack out in the open and kill him and not Kingsley? I don't know, I just think she's a real sneaky bitch so I wouldn't be in the least bit surprised.

Still though, I can't wait for the final episode Sunday night. Should be a cracker. But I reckon Jack will definitely need a holiday after all this. The poor guy must be completely knackered at this stage! :D

Everyone's bladder must be wrecked. :D

why didn't Jack just ring CTU to pick Kim up there was something very suspicious about Kate Warner 2 weeks ago but now I don't think so.
    I saw a clip for tonights ep and Marie Warner and her father come back into it.

thank god they got rid of Palmers son Keith he really got on my nerves in season 1.
    the worst 24 eps revolved around suprise suprise Kim and Gary Madson.:rolleyes:

what ever happened to the lesbian babe Mandy. ;)
    Mmmm, Mandy
    If she's ever sitting on a plane next to you, it'll be safer for you to switch seats and ogle her from the back of the plane:)

Love it when a plan comes to together. :D

well a touch ludicrous to be honest all that and the prez is killed by a handshake.
    That looked like Mandy the lesbian from season 1 in the final scene.
    it was unexpected but I wish there was someone who would be revealed as a baddie and we thought he/she was a goodie.
    so I'm assuming Palmer is dead and season 3 will all be about finding the killer.

I have this feeling The Vice Prez is still a baddie.

I actually thought it was a pretty good way to kill the President, smuckers. Pretty ingenius, if you think about it. A poison on a thin film on someone's hand, transferred via a handsake, is a damn sight less obvious than a gun or a knife, isn't it?

When Kinsgley was shot I was convinced he was going to fall to the ground and we'd see Sherry standing there behind him holding the gun that shot him, after running back to help Jack. I was almost disappointed to see it was just a sniper in a helicopter!

I doubt very much that we're going to see Jack out in the field much in the next series, if at all. He's probably going to be appointed head of CTU or assistant to Tony Almeida and taken out of the field because of his now-bad heart. It would be a pity, in a way, because Jack is the action hero of the series though I have to admit I would also like to see how he would get on as a head/assistant head of CTU as opposed to the running-around-all-the-time-shooting-people action hero. It would be interesting to see how he would cope in that role, having to make high-ranking decisions and things and sending other people into danger.

But, my God, how much of a rip-off of "Silence Of The Lambs" was that scene with Kate and her sister? I was just waiting for her to say, "You think you'll be safe out there, Kate? Because you won't", followed by, "Because I'm going to get out of here, track you down and eat your liver with some fava beans and a nice Chianti. Fffffffff-Ffffffff-Ffffffff!" :D

And speaking of "Oh my God" moments, my God, just how much does Michelle Dessler want to jump Tony Almeida and boff him? lol. I thought she was just going to go "Grrrrrrr!" and go for him, tear off his clothes and go at it there and then on the the floor of CTU at one stage. I don't think I've seen this much sexual tension between two television characters since Mulder and Scully in "The X-Files"! :D

I agree with what you said about the Vice President, though, smuckers. Did you see when Mike mentioned to him about Kingsley. He was just too quick to say "How the hell is he?" It was like, "We've linked the bomb and the forged Cyprus recording to a man called King....." "Who the hell is he?" Something's definitely going on there. Is the Vice Pres. part of all this in some way? Well, this is "24" we're talking about, the show with more twists and turns than a damn rollercoaster, so I wouldn't be surprised.

Overall, I thought it was a good ending to what's been an excellent series. Bring on Day 3, I say! :D

To be honest I should have realised someone was going to be killed off just like season 1 with Terry Bauer, I became too much focused on Kate Warner being a baddie,a brilliant ploy by the vice Prez to offer his resignation.
    I was actually on The 24 site and there was a thread about Mandy so that was obviously her in the end.
    Also it was the redemption of Mike Novic had a feeling he'd change his mind.
    we don't even know who the main baddies are there is prob about 20 above your man in the yacht and the old guy.
    In Season it will prob start at 8 litreally continuing with Palmer fighting for his life and Bauer on the go again looking for an antidote, even though he's had major heart probs.
    Kate Warner will be the new Terri B, she'll prob get kidnapped too.
    I'm gonna get season 2 on DVD.

it will prob start at 8 litreally continuing with Palmer fighting for his life

it will start at 1pm and will be set 3 years from the end of series 2, so i heard/read anyway

I just heard that yesterday 2.5 years after and Wayner Palmer will come into it Dave's bro.

I got the season 2 DVD and there are very good extra features.
    I was on the website and Palmer isn't dead his speech will be slurred, also Kate Warner will appear only in one ep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,872 ✭✭✭segadreamcast

"YAAAAAAA! IT WAS GENIUS ALRITE, LETS GO BUY THE DVD'S"

Sh. Shut up for a second and listen to reason. Watch season one again - then think about season two. The only expression that I can think of is "the wheels fell off the wagon".

This season is clearly far, far weaker than season one, and how you people still want more is beyond me - they should've left this show as a once-off and let it go down as TV legend. Instead, it will run and run - and become a laughing stock - like say, I dunno, Knightrider.

They simply tried to do too much at once - kept building up to anti-climaxes, and they failed spectacularly - and this show, in ratings I believe, flopped dramatically. Thank God.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,181 ✭✭✭SteM

Originally posted by NoelRock
    "YAAAAAAA! IT WAS GENIUS ALRITE, LETS GO BUY THE DVD'S"

Sh. Shut up for a second and listen to reason. Watch season one again - then think about season two. The only expression that I can think of is "the wheels fell off the wagon".

This season is clearly far, far weaker than season one, and how you people still want more is beyond me - they should've left this show as a once-off and let it go down as TV legend. Instead, it will run and run - and become a laughing stock - like say, I dunno, Knightrider.

They simply tried to do too much at once - kept building up to anti-climaxes, and they failed spectacularly - and this show, in ratings I believe, flopped dramatically. Thank God.

Yeah, I agree that the first season was better but I still liked this one too. I thought the Palmer assassination was a nice twist at the end (but I'd like to have seen a conclusive ending - this is what would set this program apart from others). The show's still better than some of the dross you come across on TV. I'm not sure how the season finale did in the UK, but it did very well in the States and that's what matters to the producers. According to http://jam.canoe.ca/TelevisionShowsT/24.html:

"May 23rd - The finale won its timeslot with 14.20 million U.S. viewers, beating out the finale of CBS's miniseries Hitler: The Rise Of Evil (12.17 million). "

To put this into perspective the highest rated show from Aug 8th to 14th is CSI with 14 million US viewers, so 24 is still up there in the ratings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,872 ✭✭✭segadreamcast

Originally posted by SteM
    Yeah, I agree that the first season was better but I still liked this one too. I thought the Palmer assassination was a nice twist at the end (but I'd like to have seen a conclusive ending - this is what would set this program apart from others). The show's still better than some of the dross you come across on TV. I'm not sure how the season finale did in the UK, but it did very well in the States and that's what matters to the producers. According to http://jam.canoe.ca/TelevisionShowsT/24.html:

"May 23rd - The finale won its timeslot with 14.20 million U.S. viewers, beating out the finale of CBS's miniseries Hitler: The Rise Of Evil (12.17 million). "

To put this into perspective the highest rated show from Aug 8th to 14th is CSI with 14 million US viewers, so 24 is still up there in the ratings.

TBH, I'm blown away by those stats - but summer is viewed as a 'weak' time for TV markets isn't it?

Not going to take any credit away from 24 - 14.2 million at any time of the year will definitely guarantee that Season 3 will not be canned.

I would've preferred a definitive ending after Season 1, that's all... :(