Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Eve Online

• 26-04-2003 1:36pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,642 ✭✭✭

Will anyone here be playing this when it's released next month?

www.eve-online.com

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,092 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

nah...there are so many other mmorpgs coming out :ninja:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,722 ✭✭✭Thorbar

I will be, beta test pwns.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 437 ✭✭Spunj

Been playing it for a couple of days, I may just play it for a bit when it comes out. It only works on one of my 2 machines tho so they'd have to fix that. Also, I hope I don't have to go out and buy the client when I have it already.

I hope theres more to do than mine rocks all day tho :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,967 ✭✭✭adnans

i've played it enough already, and though i enjoyed it immensly, i will not be playing it when it's finally released. guess im not ready for space mmog just yet where my feet dont touch the ground.

anyway, i have bigger plans for my gaming time. mwhahhaha

adnans

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭zekiel

I've been playing it for a couple of weeks now and I would say that I would play it when it is finally released but it all depends on the final realease and how it is playing. I'm a big fan so far but I want to see more content.. Just minning all the time gets a little tedious and drags the enjoyment out of the game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 696 ✭✭✭Kevok

I was going to but that was before i got into the planetside beta, i'm gonna fork out my money for that instead. Since theres none here yet and the NDA has been lifted, i'll write a review of PS later today.

pld kevok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,913 ✭✭✭Absolam

Saw it in Game in Henry St yesterday for €45, screenshots look nice, but I'm not forking out €45 plus additional monthly charges until I see some good reviews!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 781 ✭✭✭Jorinn

Originally posted by Absolam
    Saw it in Game in Henry St yesterday for €45, screenshots look nice, but I'm not forking out €45 plus additional monthly charges until I see some good reviews!
    Play it for a month, if you don't like it then just don't pay the fees.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 491 ✭✭flav0rflav

Been playing the beta for a few weeks. It ended yesterday with Armagedon. Everyone got 500Billion ISK and went mad on buying battleships.

Well everyone went mad trying to buy battleships. What with them only available at certain locations, and some people getting there first and waiting for the others to arrive it got a bit hairy at times.

It also highlighted some problems with server/bandwidth capacity. These problems really need to be tackled for the game to succeed. But thats the beauty of the MMOG model, they have the single server, the auto client patch mechanism and monthly subs to add content and improve performance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 781 ✭✭✭Jorinn

Originally posted by flav0rflav
    Been playing the beta for a few weeks. It ended yesterday with Armagedon. Everyone got 500Billion ISK and went mad on buying battleships.

Well everyone went mad trying to buy battleships. What with them only available at certain locations, and some people getting there first and waiting for the others to arrive it got a bit hairy at times.

It also highlighted some problems with server/bandwidth capacity. These problems really need to be tackled for the game to succeed. But thats the beauty of the MMOG model, they have the single server, the auto client patch mechanism and monthly subs to add content and improve performance.
    I can't wait to play it tonight, picked it up at the weekend, hope I enjoy it, looks great but I'm not a large fan of RPGs.

Also, they dont' work on a server I think, AFAIk they work ona server cluster so they should be able to expand capacity as the need arrises plus I doubt it's small scale server stuff as in a simple Dell sever you'll find in dell catalogs, it's probably racks of Xserves, Cobalt Raq's or Blades etc.

I think you'd be fairly hardpressed to describe Eve as an RPG.

Nooo of course you wouldnt.. All you get to do within the game is play the ROLE of a fantasy character within a fantasy universe.. interacting with other people playing the roles of other made up characters with alternative personalities... hmm nope it aint an RPG.. But what is it? :ninja:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,980 ✭✭✭meglome

Originally posted by Dazzer
    Will anyone here be playing this when it's released next month?

www.eve-online.com

Hey Dazzer, did you try this?, what did you think?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 sidhe

Maybe we should look at forming a boards.ie corp

Originally posted by zekiel
    Nooo of course you wouldnt.. All you get to do within the game is play the ROLE of a fantasy character within a fantasy universe.. interacting with other people playing the roles of other made up characters with alternative personalities... hmm nope it aint an RPG.. But what is it? :ninja:

Not very many people actually roleplay in MMOs. There's always a small minority of nutters who are big into rping and react poorly to any OOC comments made with 50 feet of em. They usually make less then 5% if that of the game's population. The rest of the people are just there to make their character more powerful then anyone else and PvP or just there to hang out with their friends and don't really give a fig about the personality/background of their character or acting out a particular role. Eve is a rat race for the powerful character/corp like every other MMO on the market at the moment. An RPG is a game where you have an extremely involving plot and an interesting character who you have to figure out how he would act in certain situations if you're going to play it properly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 49 Nobody

Just started playing the retail version yesterday, & bought 6 months of gameplay. If I like the way the game develops, I'll most likely continue paying. Only time 'ill tell. Good game, brutal manual.

Not very many people actually roleplay in MMOs. There's always a small minority of nutters who are big into rping and react poorly to any OOC comments made with 50 feet of em. They usually make less then 5% if that of the game's population. The rest of the people are just there to make their character more powerful then anyone else and PvP or just there to hang out with their friends and don't really give a fig about the personality/background of their character or acting out a particular role. Eve is a rat race for the powerful character/corp like every other MMO on the market at the moment. An RPG is a game where you have an extremely involving plot and an interesting character who you have to figure out how he would act in certain situations if you're going to play it properly.

I agree.
    But you can do this within EVE if you choose to, its up to the players to create this scenario. Granted that within a large game such as this you will get your groups that dont care about the rpg aspect of the game but if you can find the people that do.. there's when the game can become fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 177 ✭✭paddyman

Have to say lads, WHAT A GAME.

ive been playing since beta and recently joined a pirate corp and im loving it. theres so much u can do its amazing. i would definitely recomend joining a corp. make the game a lot more fun.

what are all yis are nicks in the game. what corps u in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 49 Nobody

I'll second that. :)

I'm still getting used to the pace of the game... skill learning in real time, and all that. Ingame nick is "Jury" (Amarr race). Jury's a freelancer; focusing on mining/refining at the moment, will probably move on to building stuff, and finally combat. Anyone know of any Irish Corps ingame yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 177 ✭✭paddyman

haven't heard of any irish corps as of yet but u never know, sure why dont u set up. u can never have enough good corps in the game. u might even try what were doing now and take on the biggest corp in eve (ye i mean u TTI, up the FOA). its good craic, theve 150 members weve 15 and we do raids on them most nights now. they've tried hunting us down but still haven't managed to kill one of our ships...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 491 ✭✭flav0rflav

When in beta I opened up chat channel ireland, but no one every dropped in!