Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Have you signed up for RADSL?

• 24-04-2003 11:09am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭

This poll is just to try to gauge the actual sales of each companies offers.

Please only vote on the poll IF YOU HAVE SIGNED UP. This is not a poll to see which one you would be more likely to sign up for or which service is better.

To try to ensure the results are even a tiny bit accurate, please post once you have posted to say When you signed up and when you expect to be connected

Which company have you signed up with? 79 votes

eircom
    0% 0 votes
    esatBT
    22% 18 votes
    Netsource (VIA)
    6% 5 votes
    Other - specify
    43% 34 votes
    I already have Broadband of some sort
    3% 3 votes
    I wont be ordering for various reasons
    24% 19 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,091 ✭✭✭carbsy

Weeeeee! Signed up with Netsource last week , playing the waiting game now....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 363 ✭✭leonlafrite

Same game for me, With a ration of 48/1 for netsource I really hope that not too many people are aware about them...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Dustaz

I voted other so that i could see the results without having to hit - view results.

Edit: Change the poll slightly to add last two options. Change my vote to already have :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 idnb

I've gone with eircom. I signed up 2 days ago, got my username & password yesterday so I'm "just" waiting on the self-install kit to arrive & for the work at the exchange to be done

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 358 ✭✭Gremlin

Went with eircom. Only because the online iol.ie test said esat couldnt help. Typically, after I had ordered with eircom, the esat test then showed me as a success.

<edit>
    Ordered: 11th April

Username/Password delivered: 23rd April (24 eircom hours)

Self Install Kit: O/S (Biddy tells me that its now taking 15 working days instead to 10 as initially specified.

Exchange work: Only god him/herself knows (ain't I very P.C.)
    </edit>

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,074 ✭✭✭BendiBus

Ordered i-stream on the 11th

Got username & p/w on 17th

Was told 6 working days (from 17th) to get the kit in the post and 10 working days before I get switched on.

So I will be expecting(!) the kit to arrive Tue/Wed next week and activation on the Tuesday of the following week. Give or take. Plus the new (& alleged) 15-day wait could add another week to my schedule.

Ho Hum!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 864 ✭✭✭Jilm

Already have EsatBT 512k ADSL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭shurl

Ordered Eircom istream self-install Fri 11th (am)

Received user/pass yesterday (23rd) had to ring them though
    *should* be set-up/kit arrives in a week.

S.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 749 ✭✭✭Dangger

Been on I-Stream solo since September 2001!

Ha! Felt like living in the future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,081 ✭✭✭BKtje

wheres the option for people who failed the test or would that go under not getting it for various reasons. (unless i manage to pass esat's one for some reason after failing eircom and via)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,569 ✭✭✭maxheadroom

already have ntl 600kbps cable modem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 Regnak

Signed up April 11th with Eircom's new €54.50 sevice at 9am.
    Got call with password last night 23rd ( which I missed ! ). Got it manually today by ringing Eircom.

No sign of splitter or exchange work. Next week I guess......!

Regnak

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Originally posted by B-K-DzR
    wheres the option for people who failed the test or would that go under not getting it for various reasons. (unless i manage to pass esat's one for some reason after failing eircom and via)

Yes that would a interesting option to check out.

Currently waiting for VIA & ESAT to get back to me with a preference for VIA if I pass. Waiting for horror stories back from you lads before I commit :p

Gandalf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,434 ✭✭✭Rancid

Via!

Signed up on Thurs 17th and expect to connected week beginning 6th May!

Via said it takes 11 days... 10 for Eircom to do their part....and ONE for Via to complete the connection!

I expect a day or 2 delay due to the number of bank hols, good friday etc.....but what's a day or 2....damnit...I've been waiting 6 YEARS for this! :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 273 ✭✭RapierX

I sent off my DD and sign-up forms to VIA today. I'm dealing with an individual sales person whom I'm exceedingly nice to. Who in turn sent me the forms by email 8 minutes after my call. I am very optimistic and expect it in the 11 days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 920 ✭✭✭Macker

signed up for VIA today

Macker

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

Signed up with Netsource last Wed. Apr 16th
    Reason ?, Eircon/Esat product is too restrictive

Expect activation sometime at start of May :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,439 ✭✭✭ando

I signed up for netsource yesturday 9:40. To be honest I'd rather go with eircom but I'm not sure if interleaving is on or off plus the fact there's a restrictive cap is not that pleasing. Only fear is warez/bandwidth hogs will get onto netsource and end up destroying the connection

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,862 ✭✭✭flamegrill

Have Eircom in work and ordered VIA for home. :-)

Broadband whore am I :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,733 ✭✭✭pete

Originally posted by B-K-DzR
    wheres the option for people who failed the test or would that go under not getting it for various reasons.

What he said.

I had to go for "I wont be ordering for various reasons" when i wanted to say "Can't."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,468 ✭✭✭Lex_Diamonds

Im waiting for UTV, but will go with Esat if nothing is offered by May

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Ordered last week with Via, cus they are customer-focused, have an excellent product and seem to be interested in what the market wants...deserve our custom methinks...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,322 ✭✭✭Repli

I'm surprised eircom have considerably more votes than esat..
    esat's service is E5 cheaper and a 1gb bigger cap?
    (And interleaving turned off i think?)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 202 ✭✭DSLinAbsentia

I must admit to being startled by the results. Given the frequent €ircon bashing that goes on in various threads, they're holding their own in the poll as of 11:30pm 24Apr.

It's also strange that there's only 31 new DSL subscriptions registered - I say strange, because, in general, this board is frantically busy with nethusiasts!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,856 ✭✭✭Clover

i signed up for eircom i-stream starter april 23rd + was told 10 too 15 working days;) .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 HornedGod

Sent my Via application in on Tuesday (22nd), and waiting for my Solwise modem to turn up sooner rather than later...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 Smidders

Faxed the forms through to Via this morning. Hopefully up and running by 2nd week in May I suppose.

Smidders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,894 ✭✭✭Mr. Fancypants

Faxed my order form through to Netsource last Thursday. Havent received a password yet. Was told It would take 11 days in total although with bank holidays and Eircom currently telling their customers it will take 15 days im not too sure where i stand. Hope to have it in by May as my UTVIP account is finished on the 1st of May!

Netsource appears to be doing very well in this poll. Think they should thank boards for the custom :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 920 ✭✭✭Macker

Sent my Via application in on Tuesday (22nd), and waiting for my Solwise modem to turn up sooner rather than later...

Which Solwise modem did you go for ,I got the sar 110 modem /router but since discovered it supports PPPoA rather than PPPoE which Via uses ,waiting for an email from Solwise to confirm if they'll change it

Macker

EDIT :just spoke to the tech people at Solwise and according to them the default setting is PPPoA but it will work with PPPoE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭Ste-

Signed up on the 17th with Netsource.
    Very pleased with their customer support/sales team they always rang me when they said they would.

Hoping to have it up and running the week after next.
    *fingers crossed*

Ordered Eircom on tuesday, got username and password on wenesday, as well as an appointment for an engineer install in about two weeks.
    Getting my own dlink dsl 504.

Looking foward to this :)

mm

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,935 Mod ✭✭✭✭Turner

For those who have just signed up they could compare download speeds/pings here....

link to broadband

Chief.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,241 ✭✭✭god's toy

ok so i ordered i-stream on the 11th @945am
    Got username & password about 1hr later
    they told me 10 working days to get setup, they rang me today and now its 15 working days before I get switched on. modem running a bit late (5 days)
    i don't know!!
    may have it up and running on Tue/Wed of next week i hope and
    and...and..and... ZZZzzzoooooommmmm......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 437 ✭✭OHP

Like I said i'm sorry about this post but you can delete it or send it to the recycle bin if you want but I just have to get this off my chest. I am sickened by the fact that people on here actually signed up for ADSL / DSL / RADSL whatever, with Eircon. The company we have fought so hard against to get what I see we are entitled to. That company have robbed us for years and starved us for so long that if they offer us a sweet, we grab it. I still cannot understand why people still actually deal with them in the first place if they don’t have to? Have we become so blinded by what they are doing, that because we can no longer judge for ourselves, that we just believe what they are saying, that we believe what they are doing is in our interest? How easy is it for people to forget that Eircon robbed us blind every chance they got? Their offering of a DSL / RADSL product is so outdated by normal standards its unbelievable! Yet we jump at it L . Why? Easy answer. We don’t expect or believe there is anything better. So we accept what we get. Same can be said for Car Tax / Insurance etc. We just accept the fact that it goes up every year even if you never had an accident but you pay for everyone else’s. It is my opinion that your poll just shows how many people that are gullible in Ireland and will fall for anything.

OHP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 101 ✭✭XbLaDe

Sorry if this has been answered before..

Has anybody heard if you can unbundle your line with the Esat residential option ... thus not having to pay the line rental ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,434 ✭✭✭Rancid

Originally posted by XbLaDe
    Sorry if this has been answered before..

Has anybody heard if you can unbundle your line with the Esat residential option ... thus not having to pay the line rental ?
    I think that only applies to the Business package... and only if your exchange is Esat-enabled.
    Takes anything up to 5 weeks to set it up due to Eircom slowness ...:rolleyes:

Why €ircon indeed? I too am surprised. That said I ordered from them but my reasons are

1. The cap won't affect me (no gameplaying/no linux ISO's_
    so the cost is just right for what I need. Telecommuting.
    2. One bill - silly I know, but I already pay enough bank charges
    on standing orders and direct debits.
    3. Sheer, unabashed laziness

I'll see how it goes and change next year if it doesn't work out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭NóMur

I'll be signing up with Esat. I'm guessing this poll is a bit inacurate as you can't actually sign on with Esats RADSL until they launch in May. Hence the low vote for them so far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,472 ✭✭✭echomadman

sent off forms to netsource yesterday
    now to buckle down and wait..

[edit]
    and i wholeheartedly agree with OHP,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Superstring

Originally posted by Dustaz
    ...Please only vote on the poll IF YOU HAVE SIGNED UP...

Isn't there a slight contradiction here between this statement and the last option in the poll???

Just being picky!...:D

Mike

p.s. Gotta say I'm surprised at the Eircon take-up given the amount of Eircon-bashing that goes on in here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,241 ✭✭✭god's toy

just so you konw: i got it cos to me its free!! that's it! (so now ya konw)

Originally posted by Superstring
    Isn't there a slight contradiction here between this statement and the last option in the poll???

Its so that people can view the results without having to hit view results every time and stop them for just voting for the one they would go for if they could. Having said that, it looks like theres a bit of that going on.
    Gotta say I'm surprised at the Eircon take-up given the amount of Eircon-bashing that goes on in here.

Not really, the silent majority of people dont really care what eircom do as long as they are served by them. You can shout and scream about how unfair the rat is (and rightly so) but its not going to change a lot of peoples minds.

As for myself, i already have i-stream and have had nothing but good vibes from it (apart from the price that is) as a result i would be hesitant to switch to another provider all things being equal.

Pings are pretty important to me and i would be hesitant to switch to the uncapped Netsource untill i see some reports of how the contention is working out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 437 ✭✭OHP

Originally posted by Dustaz

Not really, the silent majority of people don’t really care what eircom do as long as they are served by them. You can shout and scream about how unfair the rat is (and rightly so) but its not going to change a lot of people’s minds.
    [/B]
    I totally disagree with you on this Dustaz. It was the silent majority of people that were being abused by Eircon that finally got pissed off by being ripped off by Eircon who started to shout about it and an offset of that was the forming of IOFFL. And if IOFFL cannot change your mind about Eircon and the way they treat us. Then there’s no point of IOFFL at all. I mean what’s the point in doing all this if as you say You can shout and scream about how unfair the rat is (and rightly so) but its not going to change a lot of people’s minds. ? People’s minds SHOULD be changed by viewing what Eircon are actually doing right now and act on it! /me hands Dustaz a clean blindfold. Come on Dustaz even with your eyes closed. You know what Eircon are like surely?

OHP

Wow! Hold yer horsea pardner, simmer down!

The bottom line here is service. If the dark side provide the service, contention ratio's and all, then if I'm not some "ISO penguin downloading, ping speed-cap me not for I am free" freak 'o' nature, then what odds - what odds I say?

C'mon - freedom of choice, quality of service, availability, cost blah blah are what count. I don't subscribe to the tactics of the dark side, but even Darth Vader conceded in the end.

Oh ye of little faith! ;)

Originally posted by OHP
    I totally disagree with you on this Dustaz. It was the silent majority of people that were being abused by Eircon that finally got pissed off by being ripped off by Eircon who started to shout about it and an offset of that was the forming of IOFFL.

Actually it was Esat who provided the impetus to form ioffl. As for IOFFL containing the 'silent majority'. Theres 2000 people signed up for the mailing list and about 2 and a half million using eircoms services.
    I mean what’s the point in doing all this if as you say You can shout and scream about how unfair the rat is (and rightly so) but its not going to change a lot of people’s minds. ? People’s minds SHOULD be changed by viewing what Eircon are actually doing right now and act on it!

Its just a simple fact, a lot of the population dont really care enough to have thier minds changed, simply because broadband is not high enough on thier agenda. The people that really badly need persuading is people in the political arena who can actually do something about it. Public opinion can defintly help with that but it is an uphill struggle. For every one of us here there are lots more that either, dont care or will just go with whatevers easiest and/or cheapest.
    /me hands Dustaz a clean blindfold. Come on Dustaz even with your eyes closed. You know what Eircon are like surely?

Yes. do you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

I'm not some "ISO penguin downloading, ping speed-cap me not for I am free" freak 'o' nature

What are you using for a browser? Lynx!!!

All we are asking for it seems to me is a 'comparable' service with the rest of Europe. The only reseller offering that at the moment is Netsource - that's why they are getting my business.

For the two largest telcos to cap and charge ~3c Mb over the cap is inexcusable. You may feel that you'll never come near it but I'll wait for the day when eir*** start charging...then we will hear the p1ss1ng and moaning about an extra (think about it...) extra 30 yoyos per Gb over the cap. Go over the cap by one gig a month and you'll be handing over an extra 360 notes to a more than happy to take your money telco.

MadsL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭MrB

Signed up to netsource two weeks ago, hopfully should be turned on ;) this week.

Mrb, can you do a ping test to 'clarity.jolt.co.uk' when you get it installed plz ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭MrB

Sure thing, if I remember memory like a sive me!

Originally posted by MrB
    Sure thing, if I remember memory like a sive me!

CLARITY.JOLT.CO.UK

That should help you remember :D