Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Things to do in Dublin when its Dead

• 19-04-2003 6:22pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,246 ✭✭✭✭

Hey. Just been thinking.

Im trying to take a break from the drinking ( health reasons) and its now Saturday evening and there is sweet F all too do in this City. I mean, the Cinema is boring. I have no car. Does anyone else find it really boring around here, and /or what do you do to make up for it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 394 ✭✭Mickah

Got a set of golf clubs?

Midnight excursion to your local driving range. Rob a black bag full of golf balls.

Take the Dart out to Howth, get a bus to the summit. Go to one of the cliff edges and smash all the golf balls into the sea.

Great craic with a bunch of mates. Bring a baseball bat for extra giggles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,503 ✭✭✭Makaveli

Get some fresh air, play football, go for a walk.
    You could get a few mates around and play playstation or get a video or play poker.
    Poker with a decent amount of people will go on all night. I was playing it last night, started at 9 and we were still playing it a 3 so we just quit and split the pot. It's pretty good fun, just make sure there's something to eat in the house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,761 ✭✭✭✭Winters

Masturbate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,322 ✭✭✭Repli

Go swimming.. play pool/snooker.. watch movies... play games.. theres loads to do! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,211 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

Yeah, too much study atm to go out, except on big nights.
    So I stick to my 'online gaming'
    Tv is pretty crap lately.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭The Gopher

Is the concept of going out without actually drinking so unimaginable?:D How about doing drugs?*shrugs*
    I could go out now as there is some festivities going on around here(read:made up by the pubs festival to attract drinkers).But I seldom bother going out on a Saturday,as I more often go out on Friday and like to be fully fresh on a Sunday for some reason(gets me off to a better start in the week i suppose).Though couldnt be arsed going out last night either.Just watched tv but then again Friday tv/radio is alot better than the monkeys piss they show on a Saturday night.
    Me loikes the poker idea but I havent played in years-must look up the rules again and try and make a profitable night out of it sometime soon:) Have a friend who likes to dip into the world of amateur gambling i.e he takes bets on big footie matches and horse races and occasionally manages a profit-he would probably be interested and could deffo get alot more people in on it.
    I could use the game with the lads for money as a testing ground for strip poker with the girls,for,erm,nakeyness:DThough if i want more rapid nudity i should probably play strip snap:)
    There are alot more boring places in the world than Dublin.Imagine living in the middle of the culchieside where all your friends and entertainment are a sizeable drive away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,590 ✭✭✭lordsippa

I prefer strip paper scissors rock. Works QUITE well. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,263 ✭✭✭Caesar_Bojangle

1)buy some kind of musical instrument, kill hours with that.

2)masturbate(i do a lot of this when i'm bored, excited or nervous)

3)watch some dvds, better than cinema as you can take a piss whenever you want and not miss a thing

4)read some books, preferably Hear'say: The Story as it has some nice pics of myleene which is intertwined with option 2

5)befriend a chinese man

• Closed Accounts Posts: 83 ✭✭Hells_Fury

Originally posted by Caesar_Bojangle

2)masturbate(i do a lot of this when i'm bored, excited or nervous)

You must be a VERY busy person then :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭DerekD Goldfish

Support an eircom league side

• Closed Accounts Posts: 526 ✭✭✭dendenz

Buy a fishing rod and get a couple of the lads or the moth and do a bit of nightime fishing at Rush or the Liffey >?

Even still, surley u can go out without drinking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,628 ✭✭✭Asok

Ah there is plenty to do in dublin how about going up the north side with a big board saying Finglas is full of inbred skangers it would keep you busy for hours!.

or the moth

its actually the "Maith" some fella had a nice rant about that on the adrian kennedy phone show one night

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,181 ✭✭✭✭Jim

go skanger huntin, just u, ur rifle, and a six pack of dutch gold to lure the unsuspectings in..............muhahaha........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 932 ✭✭✭yossarin

cry, eat, masturbate, cry, masturbate.

You know the female skangers as they are the ones pushing the buggies wearing Nike tracksuits with big Hula Circular ear rings :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 646 ✭✭✭John2002

go to the zoo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 953 ✭✭✭superconor

yeh the poker idea would be good.you could set up a lan system or just get an N64 or ps2 and have about 7 friends over and have some tournaments. stock up on beer, peanuts, pretzels and good games.

i love the golf idea at the start! pure genius!

• Subscribers Posts: 9,716 ✭✭✭CuLT

Originally posted by yossarin
    cry, eat, masturbate, cry, masturbate.

In that order?

Also i would like to point out that Monty is currently playing the
    montyofterror.jpg
    Card. Beware of what you post. It may just kill you.

I agree with the pool idea from Repli. Seem to be all those DIT boys do... ;) .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 176 ✭✭MAC_E

You could have fun and frolics in the warm waters of seapoint

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,093 ✭✭✭woosaysdan

Originally posted by dendenz
    Buy a fishing rod and get a couple of the lads or the moth and do a bit of nightime fishing at Rush or the Liffey >?

Even still, surley u can go out without drinking

yeah go fishing in the liffey you might catch a shopping trolley

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,422 ✭✭✭Doodee

i must concur, monty is teh pissed!

Dont aggrivate his already bulging vein at the side of his head
    *ThrOb* *THROB* *THROOOB*

He may come down upon you with his,as a friendly dictatorship is in session, Cabbage filled socks of death!

HIYAW!

gotta love those socks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,373 ✭✭✭Executive Steve

beach parties. best hobby in the world. get a sound system and a few mates find a beach ring 500 ppl... [see picture]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 176 ✭✭MAC_E

Thats weird tyranny, I was just on the Dc website there taking a look through all the old pics, along with that one below. All look amazing. ;)

Hang around Harolds Cross and see how many Prozzies walk up to you ! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 383 ✭✭Nemici

write a short story about a bored lad who meets up with his internet friends face to face and murders them in weird ways..........

you scare me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,181 ✭✭✭✭Jim

tbh i dont drink, and i find dublin one of the most boring places on earth. all suggestions are very good but may require alco to be enjoyable.

play music, hang out wit ur friends, go to art galleries [not that that last suggestion will ever apply to grimes], write a ****ty short story etc..........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,761 ✭✭✭✭Winters

No, dont write short stories, write erotica. Sell it and then make millions! Someone on eBay is bound to pay for it just say its an authentic something or other....

Deeply considering writing an erotic sexually charged romance short story for my english leaving, but i have a feeling it would be too venturesome for the examiner despite giving tremendous detail to the sexual organs

WRITE IT ! WROTE IT ! Send it to me instead ;)

HA HA !! You should suggest things like that ....it makes a girls fingers go haywire ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,322 ✭✭✭Repli

Originally posted by CuLT
    I agree with the pool idea from Repli. Seem to be all those DIT boys do... ;) .
    Yeah just watch out for that pervert lifeguard ;)

HA HA !! You should suggest things like that ....it makes a girls fingers go haywire

Hells_Fury, besides my grotesque appearance i have not got a lot to offer a girl, but would you like caesar to bojangle you?

:eek: What happened to the story !?!?!? Didn't know it was a script you wanted to act out :D

me bored, i'm off to watch some ufc dvds.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,500 ✭✭✭Mercury_Tilt

I'm back, the big screen is occupied at moment so heres something that will definitely enliven your boring days

download them its a must

Talk like arnie

Talk like al pacino

heres the actual site http://www.dudemasters.com/dudestuff.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,479 ✭✭✭Kell

Theres tonnes of stuff to do.

1) Buy a camera and go point it at things.
    2) Take up running and go and pound some turf for a few hours. 3) Buy some weights and put knots on yer arms.
    4) Find a snooker hall (if it takes your fancy) and organise foursomes (in the platonic sense).
    5) As some suggested, buy an instrument of some description (preferably musical) and go and compose your opus.
    6) Sit as if in deep thought on some rock on a coastline and jot down your thoughts as you watch the sun descend behind Poolbeg.
    7) ****, preferably with some sort of visual stimulation in the form of a skin flick or jizz mag.

Oh, and buy a telescope. You'll have hours of fun with a good high res telescope. Trust me. :D

Oh and if all else fails get Hells Fury to PM you some filth. By the sounds of it, filth rarely leaves her mind. I like that in a girl. Lots.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 658 ✭✭✭Trebor

considering the irish way of turning any activity into a drinking activity i belive there is very little to be done in dublin when it's dead.

You could always try learning a martial art, get nice and sweaty and learn to kick the bejeus out of people

Originally posted by Kell

Oh and if all else fails get Hells Fury to PM you some filth. By the sounds of it, filth rarely leaves her mind. I like that in a girl. Lots.

:D At least my line of thought is easy to follow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,204 ✭✭✭bug

I've often thought about giving up drinking, I seriously think I'm becoming allergic to it.
    The thing is there is SFA to do in Dublin if your not a fitness fanatic. I don't want to join a gym or go running. I can't swim and have a phobia about deep water so I can't go to lessons.
    I'm sick of going to the cinema, so I just end up going drinking.
    In other european cities that have alot more going on street entertainers (good ones), carnivals, streets stalls, etc. The outdoor cinema thing was good in the square in Temple bar, I think you need tickets now or someat. You can't go out for a good meal unless you have at least a tonne. And then they try and get rid of you as soon as you've downed your last bit of ice-cream. This city is a disaster as far as alternative nite-life is concerned.

Could always count the number of times skangers say "wrecks me head"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 383 ✭✭Nemici

what about painting a picture?
    or maybe working on a sex line for some cash (my mate says its a larf) look at some art ? hours of fun there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,319 ✭✭✭sci0x

Check out this Entertainment site.