Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Nutheads about!

• 14-04-2003 7:19pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,486 ✭✭✭

I had a bit of a scary experience last night about 11.45 or so while driving. I was approaching a big roundabout near where I live as you can imagine it was pretty dead on the roads, anyway I'm on the roundabout and another car a black bmw old 3 series approaches from the left to join the roundabout as I'm already on it I have right of way obviously. I thought the car looked a bit strange as it waited to join he kept moving forward and stopping and he was out to far as I came upon him so I had to jam on hard not to hit him any I was blowing the horn as you do when all four doors of the beamer open and out hops four big lads who start coming toward my car, now I nearly **** me pants at this stage as I was on my own with nobody else around, I have no idea what their problem was as I didn't do anything wrong but I got the feeling they didn't have my best interests or my health foremost in their minds at the time. Anyway I think I was very lucky that I had enough of a gap to escape so I was outta there quicksmart one of them got his hand on the passenger side handle but I always drive with the doors locked. Anyways just be carefull out there folks there are some dudes out there with a few loose screws. It shook me up a bit and I couldn't help lying awake thinking about it last night I mean is that how people disappear those four lads would have no bother carrying somebody off or beating the living crap out of someone.

Unless it was ninjas

:ninja: :ninja: :ninja:

Red

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,276 ✭✭✭damnyanks

You involved in any illegal activities?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,080 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

well count your lucky babies..err stars ! scary idneeedy !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,486 ✭✭✭Redshift

Originally posted by damnyanks
    You involved in any illegal activities?

No not at all I'm just an ordinary nobody I work 9-5 and I have no ememies that I know of.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 583 ✭✭✭^CwAzY^

Could have been a ghost car
    I hear there are quite a few of them on our motorways
    (cue spooky music)
    Im scared.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 211 ✭✭[Iramus]

If you live in the sticks its best not to go about any towns at round midnight. I wont tell you where it happened but i was walking home one nite and a group of Knackers were speedin around in their car up and down the mainstreet.
    at one stage they threw a bottle out the window at me. When they saw i didnt flinch and just walked on, they stopped the car and the guys in the back got out and came over to me. Sayin i gave them the fingers and the like, (i did no such thing) One of the guys punched me in the jaw, and they started laughin. I was grand but only for some gardai were goin down the street and saw them, they would have bet the **** out of me. Gardai took them in anyway, seems they were all doped up on E.
    (dats what i heard anyways the next day)

Knackers...scum of the earth.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 3,290 ✭✭✭TomTom

where in the country were you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,601 ✭✭✭Kali

Tenner says its limerick, and "Redshift", if that is his real name, is involved in some sort of underground hamster smuggling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,315 ✭✭✭ballooba

perhaps they were hijacking you? Remeber that happening in the UK quite frequently for a while.

What road where you on?

Wasn't Limerick/Tikrit by an chance?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,500 ✭✭✭Mercury_Tilt

It happened on the Glenegeary hill roundabout in killiney about 4 mins from my house I was afraid they they might see where I live so I drove off in the opposite direction to my house and kept going for a while. lol at the hamster smuggling:ninja:

Red

Originally posted by Mercury_Tilt
    we noted your number plate.

Next time.

And we wont leave a gap.

Btw did you like my motor? I wub it i does!

We were only going to ask you for directions btw. Was wondering why you drove off :(

Ah cr@p that's it I'm moving to Limerick to do some hamster smuggling, I think I must have boards ninjaz stalking me.:ninja:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,984 ✭✭✭✭Lump

Well did you get the number plate, or any identifying marks on the car/people? Did you ring the Police?

If you didn't ring the police, why not, you should have just rang the police and they would have had a wander around to see if anything dodgy was going on....

John

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,722 ✭✭✭Thorbar

If one of them had jumped infront of the car would you have driven through him? I know it sounds like a stupid question but what would your reaction be? Four big lads squaring up to you obviously looking forward to beating the ****e out of ya you've got a route of escape and one of em throws himself between you and a safe escape, do you break or accelerate?

Originally posted by Lump
    Well did you get the number plate, or any identifying marks on the car/people? Did you ring the Police?

If you didn't ring the police, why not, you should have just rang the police and they would have had a wander around to see if anything dodgy was going on....

John

This all happened in the space of about 10 seconds and to be honest I was more concerned with getting out of there uninjured and with my life it's real split second stuff I don't even remember conciously making the decision to floor it and get the hell out of there it just happened, I just remember thinking if I'm still here in two seconds I'm dead meat it was one of those feelings of dread. Afterwards I just drove for a good while to make sure they weren't following me I thought about going to the police station which would have made sense I suppose but I didn't I just went home and I was glad to get there.

Red

Originally posted by Thorbar
    If one of them had jumped infront of the car would you have driven through him? I know it sounds like a stupid question but what would your reaction be? Four big lads squaring up to you obviously looking forward to beating the ****e out of ya you've got a route of escape and one of em throws himself between you and a safe escape, do you break or accelerate?

I thought about this last night and I honestly don't know I suspect I wouldn't have driven over him but it didn't happen like that I had two on the left of my car the other two were still coming around from the far side of their car my escape route was to the right so thank christ I was able to take it. I sort of knew at the time that if they got on both sides or in front of my car I had had it hence the whole not even getting look at the number plate. I reated as it was happening it was just instant like a photo. I also had another thought I normally drive a marked company vehicle, that was being serviced and yesterday and I had a courtesy car from the garage just a plain navy Astra salon It was brand new 03 just 80 miles on it maybe they wanted a new car. But i'm glad I wasn't driving my usual vehicle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,669 ✭✭✭DMT

And you didn't report this incident to the Gardaí why?

Originally posted by DMT
    And you didn't report this incident to the Gardaí why?
    I suppose because at the time I wasn't thinking straight I didn't know what to do. A good friend of mine is a guard in Dunlaoghaire I might mention it to him, but generally the guards don't seem interested I had my car nicked about 3 years ago and they were no more Interested than the man on the moon I also witnessed a hit and run last year and they wern't interested in my account they never even got back to me for a statement despite my seeing the whole thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,322 ✭✭✭Repli

Sounds pretty scary.. but even if you went to the guards after the incident, they have absolutely nothing to charge them on unless they actually assaulted you or something

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,080 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

Originally posted by Repli
    Sounds pretty scary.. but even if you went to the guards after the incident, they have absolutely nothing to charge them on unless they actually assaulted you or something

dangerous driving ? emmm intimidation ! :ninja:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,500 ✭✭✭Mercury_Tilt

• Closed Accounts Posts: 176 ✭✭MAC_E

Maybe they were kindly going to tell you that your tail light was out , or maybe they were tourists looking for directions to the nearest hotel. Im sure they were just been friendly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,472 ✭✭✭Sposs

Maybe just Maybe..............................there was no Car at all :(

• Subscribers Posts: 9,716 ✭✭✭CuLT

Originally posted by MAC_E
    Maybe they were kindly going to tell you that your tail light was out , or maybe they were tourists looking for directions to the nearest hotel. Im sure they were just been friendly.

4 Large men in a black bmw using their car to try and stop him from getting around the roundabout, then hopping out of the car and on of them putting his hand on the car door?

Somehow, I doubt the tourist scenario.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 176 ✭✭MAC_E

Ok then they were probably four psychopatic satan worshipers who were going to perform disgusting sexual acts upon poor redshift and them sacrifice him to the underworld.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,146 ✭✭✭SoundWave

if i was you i would report it to the gardaí, imagine if it happened to someone less fortunate, and they got badly beaten up or abducted or worse?? i wouldnt want it on my concience that i could have done somthing about it, however trivial the information you have on them may seem it would still be better to report it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,362 ✭✭✭the Guru

About a year ago I drove to my local offie to get some much needed cold millers when i was driving on the back roads to my house in Lucan when a car came driving up my arse so I keep slowing down and braking as you do when some one is annoying you But These guys started to try and knock me of the raod i think they where joy riders but they 2 had a BMW I all so **** my self but I got away mad bastards i thought why would people want to do that

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 1,863 Mod ✭✭✭✭Slaanesh

I had a similar experience. Was up around Kilmainham with a friend(he was driving). We were coming upon a petrol station and a Merc or Beemer was pulling in, it was one of these people who takes half an hour just to turn in. So my mate looks in his side mirror and indicates to go past.

These lad's in a sporty type car came up behind us real quick and were beeping because we pulled out in front of them. Had they not heard of speed limits in town ? How were we to know they were doing 60-70, they looked far enough away to be of no concern.

Anyway, they start to try to overtake us, it was a mad place to try it. My friend was not in a good mood so as they tried to overtake, he pulled out in front of them and cut them off. Admittedly this was a little hot-headed, but he is hot headed anyway :) They eventually got in front of us and broke real hard, we nearly skidded into them. They kept doing it till we were stopped.

Two large arab looking people, in full gown jumped out of the car and started walking towards us. I was shat a brick, whereas my friend calmly reversed a little and drove very quickly past them. We had to break a red light to get away, down a direction we didn't want to go.

Took a while to get back to where we were going but there was no sign of the arabs.

Scary buggers, god knows what was under dem robes.

Slaanesh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 48 not a sausage

Never been involved in a road rage incident, but i did get beaten round the head with an iron bar by a couple of tinkers, at first this one guy tried to mug me so i smacked him one, all of a sudden they were all over the flippin place, i was in th'ospital for 3 days after it, dirty bastard0s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,146 ✭✭✭SoundWave

never mess with pikeys

Originally posted by MAC_E
    Ok then they were probably four psychopatic satan worshipers who were going to perform disgusting sexual acts upon poor redshift and them sacrifice him to the underworld.

Thanks Mac, that made my day:eek: I had a chat with my friend who is a guard today and he thinks they just wanted the car, But then he said there are just nasty people who like nothing better than to beat the crap out of somebody just for the hell of it in any case he said I was lucky to get out of there as even if it was just the car they wanted they would have probably given me a 'hiding' anyway and I wouldn't have stood an earthly against four of them. I will be a little more carefull, before now I wouldn't have an issue with walking through town on a saturday night on my own but I don't think I would do it now. I suppose it's the old it will never happen to me, well I have realized it can happen to anybody and I was just lucky.

• Subscribers Posts: 9,716 ✭✭✭CuLT

There should be a big list of all the boards members Near Death Experience :) ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,315 ✭✭✭ballooba

Originally posted by Redshift
    I will be a little more carefull, before now I wouldn't have an issue with walking through town on a saturday night on my own but I don't think I would do it now. I suppose it's the old it will never happen to me, well I have realized it can happen to anybody and I was just lucky.

I don't mean to take away from your situation but didn't you say this happened in Killiney?

What has that got to do with town?

There are bad people out there but you can't be preoccupied with them. You might as well bury you head in the sand for the next 50 years.

That said I did have to walk from UGC to O'Connell St one tuesday night and i nearly crápped myself. You just have to be aware of your surroundings and what part of town you are in.

Originally posted by ballooba
    I don't mean to take away from your situation but didn't you say this happened in Killiney?

What has that got to do with town?

There are bad people out there but you can't be preoccupied with them. You might as well bury you head in the sand for the next 50 years.

That said I did have to walk from UGC to O'Connell St one tuesday night and i nearly crápped myself. You just have to be aware of your surroundings and what part of town you are in.
    I was just saying I would be more careful generally

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,263 ✭✭✭Caesar_Bojangle

It sounds like the work of the Men In Black, damn you will smith

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭Wolf

BMW? BLACK? 3 SERIES?

Dammit I told my mun not to be taking her customers out in my car........... :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,754 ✭✭✭Big Chief

if i had a big bmw, the last thing on my mind would be wanting to steal an astra. :p

i got jumped for my phone and wallet outside my house last week to by a couple of knackers.. im not gonna 'not walk down my street though or in town'.. `

No point living in paranoia when you need to get on with your life, and im certainly not gonna give up going to the pub and walking home, but yeh i can agree that im a bit more aware of my surroundings. have been for years though, gotta realise what is going on around you. Just when you have a few drinks you dont think much of the people walking by you, or if theyre gonna pull a knife on you for your phone and wallet... :(

life goes on i suppose, least like you, i also wasnt hurt, just skattered off after they got the wallet (which had nothing in it like i had said to them before the knife edged a lil closer to my throat..) apart from my €86 bus & rail pass :(

Originally posted by Big Chief
    if i had a big bmw, the last thing on my mind would be wanting to steal an astra. :p

I said this to my garda friend also and he said that if indeed that was what they wanted it would probably be for a robbery or something just a handy way of getting a car quicky. But I suppose I will never know for certain and I'm glad I didn't find out. I'm back driving my crappy van now so I doubt anyone will want that:D :cool: :D

BTW Glad you were OK chief never had a knife to my neck but I don't imagine it was a pleasant experience.