Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What's with ATMs?

• 10-04-2003 6:20pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,189 ✭✭✭

Really starting to bug me. None of the ATMs give out tenners :mad: Whatever 'bout no fivers, I can handle that. But it leaves you rightly stuck if you have 9.89 in your account or need 30 and you've only got 28 odd.

Some ATMs never even give out anything less than 50s.

The ATM in college just takes the biscuit. What do AIB think we are? Loaded?

So much for convenience :(

It is what it's.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,322 ✭✭✭Repli

The 1`in our college gives out €20, €10 and even €5 !! (Try typing in the amount u want)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,189 ✭✭✭oneweb

€5s? Feckin €5s??? Lucky you! Janey, I thought they'd just never bother with €5s as they had pretty much given up on £5s in ATMs.

Originally posted by Repli
    (Try typing in the amount u want)

lol, yeah, I have tried the "other" option.

€5

"Sorry, please enter a different amount"

€10

sometimes even

€20

I really hate those ATMs that leave you guessing the combination of possible withdrawals :mad:

At least some have the "please enter an amount in €20 denominations"

While I'm at it, why do some ATMs offer the advice slip option then go "can't print slip" and give you the cash? If some ATMs give you they option of bailing out, why can't they all? It's not like it's that hard to program :rolleyes:

Might as well add this. What's the most you've seen on someone else's receipt at the ATM? £18,000 for me. (AFAIR)

It is what it's.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 211 ✭✭[Iramus]

@oneweb you must be in ucd LOL!, i cant get anything less than 20 or sometimes 50 from those damn AIB machines! I wish they had some BAnk of Ireland ones on campus aswell. Cos i can never check my balance. CRap....RAAAAAGHHH

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

God how I wish that was my receipt oneweb.

The thing I find amusing with these machines is the fact that sometimes - if getting money from a different bank - you say yes to "do you want a receipt?" and you get a slip saying...

"You just withdrew €20"

Like, umm thanks but I know that! They don't have access to your balance if using another bank. This may be a good thing but I always chuckle when I accidentally click that button (stained with knacker gob :rolleyes:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

aaarrrgghh dont start me,

our nearest atm are the ones in Blanch shopping centre and they never give out anything but 50s at the weekend. and they are all ont eh same comms loop and with all the building work going on they all crash together leaving no option but a 30 min walk to the branch in blacnh village.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,486 ✭✭✭Redshift

Yep they are pretty stupidly programmed I don't see why they can't make them not display amounts they can't dispense I.E. if the machine has no tenners it can't give you 30 euro so why does it display the option same goes for reciepts stupid feckin things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 605 ✭✭✭exiztone

Hmmmm, most the non-AIB ones give out tennors ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 166 ✭✭BeatTun

lol i work for the company that fills the aib machines, and ive only ever seen them put in 20s and 50s

no idea why, maybe theyre only told to put that in

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭bubbles

Its normally busy ATMs that have only larger notes - so they can hold more cash to spit out during the night - I'm sure there are some ATMs where a massive amount is taken out every night.

I don't find it annoying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,846 ✭✭✭✭eth0_

Originally posted by Thaed
    aaarrrgghh dont start me,

our nearest atm are the ones in Blanch shopping centre and they never give out anything but 50s at the weekend. and they are all ont eh same comms loop and with all the building work going on they all crash together leaving no option but a 30 min walk to the branch in blacnh village.

Ah, memories, memories!
    Used to work in ballycoolin, many's a time i'd be running late on a monday and would get the 268 from castleknock to the centre, thinking "i'll get some cash out and get a taxi up to work". Get to centre....every single ****ing ATM out of service! Even the TSB (?) ones round by the side entrance. Boo!!! Haven't they heard of failsafes/backups?

Have to say these independent atm's that are springing up are dead handy *and* they don't charge you a fee for withdrawing as I thought they would having used similar in Canada. They were everywhere there, even in little corner shops :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,033 ✭✭✭Silvera

typical AIB sharp practices - gouging their customers :mad:

(www.askaboutmoney.com - Irish site, excellent info and advice)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,942 ✭✭✭Mac daddy

In bloomfields shopping centre in dun laoghaire, the AIB atm only gives out 50 euro notes,:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,838 ✭✭✭DapperGent

I remember the Bank of Ireland ATM's on Suffolk St. used to be a life saver. They're inside just beside O'Neills used to give out fivers all the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,914 ✭✭✭Washout

Two words Laser Card. Go into a shop and use it to buy a penny sweet and when they ask you if you want cash back...happy days

John

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

I don't mind too much about only being able to take out certain amounts of cash, it just depends on when you use it. In the mornings yuor more likey to get your hands on tenners, but on Friday/Saturday nights you're lucky to find a machine that hasn't been emptied.

What really annoys me is where they're put. Who does the planning? They tend to cluster them. So if you're slap bang in the centre of town, no problem, there's loads, but between the corpo buildings and Heuston station, there are zilch, nada. And it's even worse northside. The only machines I've ever found on the northside are on O'Connell St, Mary St and Jervis St. Other than that there's none! :mad:

Further out in the city, there's more anomalies. Knocklyon, for example had 3 at one point, whereas Firhouse, just down the road had (Still has?) none. The closest two are in Knocklyon s.c. or the Square. Miles away!

:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 126 ✭✭bobsmith833

Originally posted by eth0_
    Ah, memories, memories!
    Get to centre....every single ****ing ATM out of service! Boo!!! Haven't they heard of failsafes/backups?
    I know, ATM operators don't realise that they're actually providing an essential service that people rely on.

I got stranded about 12 miles from home after a night out a few weeks ago, and found my bank were mysteriously denying me access to any funds from any ATM. Hence I couldn't get a taxi, and was even out of small change for the phone, so I had to walk which meant I got home at 7:30 am in broad daylight with the birds tweeting.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hyzepher

Seamus

There's one at the Firhouse S.C. (AIB)

Hyzepher

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,788 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Originally posted by seamus
    So if you're slap bang in the centre of town, no problem, there's loads, but between the corpo buildings and Heuston station, there are zilch, nada.

There is/was one in the Statoil station. Although I do not know if that ATM, that station or Statoil exist any more. Or even if it was before or after Heuston.

I'll get me coat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,483 ✭✭✭✭daveirl

• Closed Accounts Posts: 166 ✭✭BeatTun

Originally posted by daveirl
    I was always under the impression that it was just that they run out of the smaller denominations not that they don't have them in the first place,

Go on a Friday evening when their all stocked up for the weekend and you can get anything usually.

nah they just dont load the smaller demonatons lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,610 ✭✭✭✭Victor

ATMs are usually only filled during the week, so the tend to run out of small denominations at the weekend. By having more large denominations, they can keep going until monday morning having paid out the same amount of money.

Small denominations tend to get hoarded by adults during the week (because they are spending large denominations for small prices) and get recycled by kids at the weekend (pocket money, time off, etc.).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭de5p0i1er

The bank's must think were all loaded as most ATM's only give out €20 & €50 notes, what good is that when we only need a tenner and with this new tax on ATM recipts planned were going to need then the amount we want just to get our money out of the bank.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,130 ✭✭✭Pimp Ninja

Originally posted by eth0_
    Have to say these independent atm's that are springing up are dead handy *and* they don't charge you a fee for withdrawing as I thought they would having used similar in Canada. They were everywhere there, even in little corner shops :)

And there's more of these to come... I 'believe' that the company that supplies these is after signing a big contract with BOI, to put the things everywhere....

It used to be dead handy working in gateway tho.. There was a cash machine right outside the cantene. Yes in the main building folks. The Gateway staff had their own cash machine.. Brilliant for a few drinks on pay-day ;) Then they had to loose all their money and decide that Ireland wasn't really worth it anymore...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,443 ✭✭✭✭bonkey

Originally posted by Pimp Ninja
    It used to be dead handy working in gateway tho.. There was a cash machine right outside the cantene. Yes in the main building folks.

Didn't know you were an ex-gateway head Pimpeh.

As for ATMs in the building....its a great service. I used to work for AIB (credit card section), and there was always a staff ATM.

Anyway....the ATM software in most Irish ATMs has always amazed me at how it is either terminally slow, incredibly craply programmed, or a combination of the two.

It is my firm opinion that the "crippling" of the ATM service (stocking with only big-ass notes being a major factor) is an attempt by the banks to encourage the use of Laser and CC. After all, the bank get a percentage of your spend when you do that - which is much more attractive to them. Per-use usage charges are all well and good, but sooner or later you're expected to offer customer service "bonuses" which means no charges for students, kids, OAPs, and anyone who isnt living off an overdraft. With plastic, the charges are just an extra...you get a percentage of the spend (well, whenever you spend in a merchant who banks with your bank, but it averages out).

Actually, there's a ton of reasons why plastic transactions are preferable to cash for banks and governments, but lets not go into that.

Face it. ATMs were a way to make more money, by encouraging the idea of "less cash, more often" and selling it with "convenience".

Now, Laser has come along, and guess what its ideal is? You got it - "less cash, more often", sold with "convenience".

ATMs are already an anachronism that the banks would dearly love to do away with....just like paper money. They just havent quite figured out how to do it yet, but in the meantime, they'll give you every incentive to use their newer, shinier systems.

jc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,666 ✭✭✭Imposter

What do 20's and 50's look like?

Where I am every machine and I mean EVERY machine give out only 10's or 100's!
    I don't often get to see those lovely green ones but everytime you get out more than 40 you end up with a pocket full of tenners!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 176 ✭✭MAC_E

Get the cash from behind the counter at the bank, no fees and you can get the exact change you need.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,967 ✭✭✭Dun

Originally posted by MAC_E
    Get the cash from behind the counter at the bank, no fees and you can get the exact change you need.

Transactions over the counter are 50% dearer than automated ones with AIB - 30c for a counter transaction, 20c for automated. I'm with BOI, but still on student banking, (two years after graduating :D) so I don't get charged any fees. Plus you can freephone to find your balance on Banking 365, even from a mobile.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 176 ✭✭MAC_E

Damn. Im with Boi and ive been under the illusion that there was hardly any charge for transactions over the counter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,967 ✭✭✭Dun

From the Bank of Ireland site:
    The New Current Account fees are simple. You have a choice of two pricing options which gives you control over how much you pay for your banking.

Fees are:

Option 1: 0.28 for each transaction on the account - which is the "Pay as you go" option.
    Option 2: 11.40 per quarter "Flat fee" for up to 90 transactions. Transactions in excess of 90 are charged at 0.28 each.

If you have more than 40 transactions per quarter the 11.40 option will be best value for you. You can, however, switch between the two options at any stage by contacting your branch or Banking 365 and this change will be activated from the beginning of the next fee-charging quarter.
    So it doesn't make any difference with BOI as regards counter/automated costs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,309 ✭✭✭✭Bard

Originally posted by Victor
    ATMs are usually only filled during the week, so the tend to run out of small denominations at the weekend.

Really ?

In I job I had before, I used to fill all the Ulster Bank ATM's for Dublin on a weekly basis.

They were usually filled on Thursday or Friday evenings, IIRC (they changed the day/time that they'd do a drop at an ATM from visit to visit, for obvious reasons), and each one got about £70,000 put in it (usually 40K in 20's, 20K in 10's and 10K in 5's, from what I remember) - that figure going up to about £100,000 around Christmas time.

Just a little FYI.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,838 ✭✭✭DapperGent

Did you ever spread all the cash around in the back of your van and roll around in it or anything?

Perhaps accompanied by hookers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭Panda

tell ye what,
    put in a slice of cheese into the atm thats causing a fuss and then leave a note.

they might learn then.....

THE FOOLS!