Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Scam or not??

• 02-04-2003 8:48pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,303 ✭✭✭

i got in the post today a letter saying that i have one of the following:
    a 32" widescreen
    or
    €10,000
    or
    €2,000
    or
    €2500
    or
    €5,000 holiday to florida
    or
    ps 2
    or a few other gifts the cheapest is worth €2,500 plus
    all i have to do is ring 1580 933 432 which cost €1.90 per min and it gives an address: Games Live, PO Box 9095, Dublin 4.
    it all smells all a bit doggy to me anyone else get one of these??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭phaxx

Ah, I did.

scam.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,174 ✭✭✭[CALIBUR]

In the bin u go

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭de5p0i1er

I got one last week, anyone know what there about or are they lagite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,303 ✭✭✭irishguy

ya thats it ,taught it was a scam lucky i didnt ring it would cost about €8

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭the fnj

Did they not include a photo of "John Everyman" receiving some prize in last years draw?

If it sounds to good to be true it probably is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,574 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Probable scam. Someone else posted a similar one (with some distinct differences) with an address in Blanchardstown. http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?postid=805165#post805165

www.cro.ie
    Type Business Name
    Company Number 230665
    Company Name GAMES LIVE
    Address ALEXANDRA HOUSE, THE SWEEPSTAKES, BALLSBRIDGE, DUBLIN 4.
    Registered 05/02/2003
    Status Normal 
    Effective date: 14/02/2003
    Last Annual Return Date N/A
    Next Annual Return Date N/A
    Last Accounts To Date N/A

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 760 ✭✭✭BoobeR

hmm i never got one, heh *i fell left out* ;):D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,080 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

i heard about this on RTE radio....pplrinign in saying they all won holidays for ONE to dodgy places....with nothing paid for...also the phone bill cost them like hundreds of yoyyos as it was premium or somthing ? wasnt really listening !

Originally posted by irishguy
    Scam or not??
    How about we set up www.scamornot.com ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,722 ✭✭✭Thorbar

pplrinign in saying they all won holidays for ONE to dodgy places
    I hear the weather is nice in Baghdad this time of year.

This scam is small fry compared to what the 419 lads are pulling off at the moment. Register have a story about it here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,322 ✭✭✭Repli

They're all a feckin scam..
    I mean how could they make any money having EVERY SINGLE SCRATCH CARD win the top prize or at least €1000 ? It doesn't make sense.. It's also a bit dodgy the way it says "We reserve the right to terminate this promotion at any time without notice" in the T&C's

A complaint to the Director of Consumer Affairs and the Premium Number Regulator may not go astray ...

http://www.odca.ie/

REGTEL Queries which involve premium rate phone numbers should be referred to The Regulator of Premium Rate Telecommunications Services Ltd, (REGTEL) 3rd Floor, Crescent Hall, Mount Street Crescent, Dublin 2 (phone no: 01-6767 025) who have responsibility for Premium Rate Services.

The only reason I've kept this is because I just can't see how they'll weasel out of paying. I've discussed it with other people and nobody can spot what trick they're using. Does anyone here have any ideas?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,322 ✭✭✭Repli

Originally posted by phaxx
    The only reason I've kept this is because I just can't see how they'll weasel out of paying. I've discussed it with other people and nobody can spot what trick they're using. Does anyone here have any ideas?

I heard an adrian kennedy phone show topic on this exact subject and they had a representative on saying if you read the T&C's they aren't actually doing anything illegal..

I think the line I quoted "We reserve the right to terminate this promotion at any time without notice" is the one they use to weasel out of paying

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,303 ✭✭✭irishguy

i think they are using the make " loads of money and run away tack tick" :D

You phone. You spend say €8. You can only win an "accommodation only" or "travel only" holiday in Greece for one person. Most people won't take the holiday. If you try to take the holiday, the company might disappear or the promotion is ended.

My ex-flatmate got one of these. Question are they using the register of electors or some other source for addresses (I didn't get one).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

The number is owned by Nevadatele.com You could try looking to the odtr - comreg.ie about this but in the end you would probably have to prove that they are not giving out the prizes.

The problem with telco is that if someone is disobeying the rules it is very difficult to get the odtr to act upon this. Main players will simply ignore the odtr's complaints until legal action ensues. eg - a con artist comes into Ireland from UK - gets some premium rate numbers from some company and spurns some shoite like this. He then states that he is in England and the customer complaints should be dealt with in the paper/shop/website that they saw it in for giving false info. The runaround.

Simple answer - don't trust any of this kinda stuff :( You don't get nothin for nothin in this world.

Originally posted by Victor
    You phone. You spend say €8. You can only win an "accommodation only" or "travel only" holiday in Greece for one person. Most people won't take the holiday. If you try to take the holiday, the company might disappear or the promotion is ended.

My ex-flatmate got one of these. Question are they using the register of electors or some other source for addresses (I didn't get one).

The t&cs do state that there is "no purchase necessary" and "no obligation to purchase extras"

The "we reserve the right to terminate all or part of this..." section I discussed with a business teacher, and apparently they have to have a good reason for doing so...

Originally posted by Gordon
    The number is owned by Nevadatele.com You could try looking to the odtr - comreg.ie about this but in the end you would probably have to prove that they are not giving out the prizes.
    It's a REGTEL problem, not comreg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

That right Victor? Regtel.ie is it? Nevada own the number though.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Find as many people as you can who received these letters, and all of you ring up to claim your prize. You'll soon find out if it's a weasely scam once a couple of dozen people claim their fantastic prizes within a few minutes of one another. If not then, wahey, free holiday in Greece with all the lads!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,476 ✭✭✭Samba

If you do ring up and I know someone who did and got his holiday to Tennerife (self Catering) your mail/phone will then be bombarded with spam.

They sell on your details to hundreds of other companies.

Originally posted by Samba
    your mail/phone will then be bombarded with spam. They sell on your details to hundreds of other companies.
    Make sure you tick the box that you don't want other promotions.

See: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?postid=817601#post817601

http://members.boards.ie/victor/front.jpg
    http://members.boards.ie/victor/back.jpg