Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What's the deal with Chicks + Bouncers

• 28-03-2003 10:29am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,240 ✭✭✭

whats up with the chicks going up to bouncers and chatting them up??

last night I seen two cracking birds give the same bouncer their number (on different occasions)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,555 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

erm

they're big strong and have power...

is this really that difficult a question?

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,742 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Originally posted by hussey

last night I seen two cracking birds give the same bouncer their number (on different occasions)
    They're probably looking for something for free. As usual.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,230 ✭✭✭scojones

free / cheap entry to niteclub. or just to get in at all. they don't want anything to do with the bouncers. chances are it's a wrong number.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,754 ✭✭✭Big Chief

like sjones says :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭Typedef

Originally posted by hussey

What's up?
    Humm interesting question.
    perhaps.

Her : "Hey ... I like a man with a bald head and a walkie talkie.... want to take me away from all this badness to your castel in the sky ?"

Him : "You know it sugar".

hello

• Closed Accounts Posts: 933 ✭✭✭mooman_00

Originally posted by Typedef
    What's up?
    Humm interesting question.
    perhaps.

Her : "Hey ... I like a man with a bald head and a walkie talkie.... want to take me away from all this badness to your castel in the sky ?"

Him : "You know it sugar".

hello

or perhaps

Her: "I like a man with a bald head and a walkie talkie who oozes power and confidence, talk dirty to me...."

Him: "I dont want to see you wearing dem trainers'ere again"*

Her: "oooooh, more"

Him: "Sorry mate not tonight"*

Her: "Here have my number you bad boy"

Him: "once more and your out"*

Her: "oh my god, your so hot"

Him: "Grunt"*

*bouncers are notorious for a limited vocabulary

Warning this is ageneralisation and not ment to offend any bouncers or persons affilated with bouncers as they are most likely bigger than me and can cause me harm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 383 ✭✭Nemici

those crazy powerwielding freaks, it goes a little somwthing like this............

chicks dont wear trainers = great night out
    Guys wears trainers = swift kickin down a lane and a walk home

guys dont wear trainers = swift kickin down a lane and a walk home
    chicks wear trainers = great night out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,136 ✭✭✭✭Stark

grow man-tits and flash them a bit of cleavage - that'll teach em

• Closed Accounts Posts: 933 ✭✭✭mooman_00

Originally posted by k.oriordan
    grow man-tits and flash them a bit of cleavage - that'll teach em

grow man tits,stay at home in front of mirror with top off and avoid all those nasty bouncers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,204 ✭✭✭bug

women tend to make things easier for themselves by being friendly, and using the fact that their female to their advantage. Flirt with a bouncer and your guaranteed regular access to a pub club, and all your mates access, forever. If a guy is charming or really funny without being a d*ck, bouncers take to them aswell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

exception to the rule

i once heard a bouncer say to some girl. "**** off and stop bothering me you ****ing prick teasing bitch" :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

As I was a bouncer for a while... I'll let you in on a little secret.

Chick's want to get in.
    I'm in there way.
    So they'll make a bit of nice nice...

Sense really.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,698 Mod ✭✭✭✭Silverfish

Cripes, I have to post on this!!

I have never, ever EVER stood and tried chatting up bouncers or any tactic to get into a pub/ club /venue.

Why I should have to cheapen myself and come on to or argue with a door monkey to get in somewhere to buy overpriced alcohol? Its the only place where you spend money that they attempt to keep everyone out of.

I was stopped there recently by a very intimidating guy that I at first mistook for a wall. My 18 year old friend strolled straight in and I was stopped.

'I.D'

'Sorry?'

'I.D. You're not 18'

'Sure. No problem. Too right I'm not 18. Here you go.'

'This is fake'

'Its a driving licence. Here's my passport'

'Its fake'

'As well? Why?'

'You're not 26'

'Em....I am'

'You're not getting in here until you can prove you're 18'

'I'm not 18. I'm 26.'

He then takes both licence and passport inside, checks them under the light, tells me he finishes in an hour and can he get me a drink. I tell him the attitude I've taken so far is all I'm taking off him and my passport and licence are all he's getting off me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,422 ✭✭✭Doodee

I once chatted up a bouncer,

Things got very weird after that..............

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,223 ✭✭✭OLDYELLAR

OH YA ITS THE DOUBLE CHIN THAT DOES IT FOR ME , AND THE LEATHER JACKET:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 965 ✭✭✭DriftingRain

As a chick I have never really chatted up a bouncer. LOL But a few of my best pals have and...the possiblilties are endless....HAHAHAHAHA:cool:
    I tell him the attitude I've taken so far is all I'm taking off him and my passport and licence are all he's getting off me.

Tooooo funnt silverfish!!! :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 195 ✭✭evie

at the age of 16 a friend of mine convinced the (very old) owner and bouncer at our favourite pub that we were 19. From that incident until we were 18, the bouncer would greet us heartily and open the door.
    Aged 19, I attended a first year class party in said pub having not been there for some time. I was supposed to be 21 at that stage, I got a very strange look from the bouncer.

Happy days!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 826 ✭✭✭Snowball

I work as a doorman in dublin (when I am uo there, in college in Carlow at the mo).

It works like this:

- Your sober.
    - Your unavailable (for the most part, ur working).
    - You have the power to let them back in.
    - Your normally bigger than your average bear.
    - Most of the time your busy so you seem uninterested.
    - You can get them in for free.
    - "Chicks" like to get preferencial treatment (not ment to be a sexist comment).
    - Bouncers/Doormen normally work out or wear cloths that make them look like they work out.
    - They are in a position of authority.
    - And I could go on.

Used to work in "4 Dame Lane", I used to work the back stairs and they have a VIP area (the only way to the VIP area is the back stairs). I have gotten more than 10 offers of sex of wemon who wanted to get up to the VIP area. The more you say "no" the stronger they push. Works only in the really classy joints like "The Morrison/Lobo", "Dakota", "Odeon", "4 Dame Lane", "Spy" and so on. The places where no one gets in. The harder it is to get into the place you work in the stronger and more frequent the offers you get.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 718 ✭✭✭hells angels

hav you got your id there son...

im not your son.......

get out your barred for life if i ever c you here again i'll kill you...

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,742 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Originally posted by hells angels
    hav you got your id there son...

im not your son.......

get out your barred for life if i ever c you here again i'll kill you...
    LOL... is that what Gerry said to you when you were barred from the Sail Inn??

"Pick yer winda, yer goin out!!" :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 75 ✭✭horn dog 1

I can comment on this as I've been doing door work for years,

Bottom line is that your in the public eye more so than the people inside, your there when they go in you are responsible for peoples safety inside, and you are the one they see when there going. So you will have more chance of gaining there attentions, affections.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,601 ✭✭✭ShayK1

Originally posted by Snowball

- Your normally bigger than your average bear.

Yeah but not SMARTER AAAHAHHHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHa

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,172 ✭✭✭Don1

I see some pic-a-nic baskets!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,552 ✭✭✭✭GuanYin

Originally posted by Silverfish
    He then takes both licence and passport inside, checks them under the light, tells me he finishes in an hour and can he get me a drink. I tell him the attitude I've taken so far is all I'm taking off him and my passport and licence are all he's getting off me.

Did he let you in tho?

I started getting asked for ID or at least asked my age again recently, which is really really strange (I'm 26).

I tend to be a little more arrogant and dismissive now than when
    I was a student, but really, bouncers are up there with lawyers and jounos as professions I have a generalized loathing for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,471 ✭✭✭elexes

over the last 2 months ive been asked for id constantly im 22. i just hand them my 7 types of id and a passport and say take ur pick .

a lad i was out with the other day was stopped " your to drunk son " i was twisted and demanded to know how he could say that when it was obvious to myself that i was the twisted one . we left and he was fuming ... pitty bastardo's ruined the night

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭theciscokid

i generally like most bouncers, they have a hard job, but you do get the downright big assholes...

strutting their stuff like they're invincible,

they're the ones i normally pick on

*judo chop*

:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 195 ✭✭evie

My friend also occasionally works as a bouncer in some fairly reputable venues in Cork (some may say that that's impossible!).
    I've seen him work in a club and I can safely say that being a bouncer is not a career move I wish to make. You really have to take an awful lot of crap from people. On the occasion I saw him working, he had to spend some time near a sink so he could wash various customers puke off himself....Nice, not

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,308 ✭✭✭✭Bard

Originally posted by mooman_00
    *bouncers are notorious for a limited vocabulary

So are people from Tallaght but that doesn't make them any more attractive...

(note: clearly taking the piss here...!)

I spent the week doing a study on bouncers and getting into pubs (This is my excuse, and I'm sticking to it)in the interest of this thread.

I have disovered that 67% of bouncers are frustrated ex-cons who aren't earning as much as they did before they went 'inside' so are taking it out on your average punter (i.e me) and know full well that if they weren't working the door of this particular venue, they wouldn't have a chance in hell of getting in if they turned up with Baz and the lads on Saturday night. So therefore, their theory is, you ain't gettin' in either, roight bud?

21% may actually fall into the first category, but are still jaw-droppingly achingly good-looking built-like-a-tank men.

12% are bored stupid, freezing cold, annoyed, someone has puked on their shoes and claimed 'I wasn't sick, I spilt my soup, you fat git', some *ahem* chick walks up, smiles......so they make conversation to restore their faith in the human race.

I'm not fully sure of my percentages, for the sake of this thread, I had to consume four pints of guinness and three baileys* per night. I hope you all appreciate it.

* estimated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,984 ✭✭✭Venom

So are people from Tallaght but that doesn't make them any more attractive...

Bard that is the smartest and funniest thing you have and will ever say, enjoy your moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭de5p0i1er

It's not just bouncers, Bar men are always getting chatted up by chicks as well, some women don't want to pay for anything and try to get what they want by batting there eyelids and showing some cleavge.

Theres a word for these kind of women SLAPPERS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,967 ✭✭✭Dun

Originally posted by de5p0i1er
    Theres a word for these kind of women SLAPPERS

Oh come on, if women were bouncers (I know there are some) and men thought they could get away with it they would!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,484 ✭✭✭✭Stephen

Heh, I dunno about that. There's a female bouncer in the Edge in Carlow and she'd beat the $hit out of any man :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,946 ✭✭✭red_ice

Originally posted by dun_do_bheal
    Oh come on, if women were bouncers (I know there are some) and men thought they could get away with it they would!

Thats just stupid, if a woman was a bouncer and she refused me, i beat her stupid. Not for the fact that she was a bouncer and she refused me - although it would trigger the responce... but for the fact that she was out of the kitchen.

You reckon, eh?

My mate's a bouncer, if seen her punt men twice her size and brandishing broken bottles out doors...

If she's a bouncer, she's got the job for a reason. *

*like, she can't cook or something....

Hey Silverfish, you never said if the bouncer in your story let you in after you blanked him?

A friend of mine was propositioned by a bouncer in a popular Dublin pub and has had hassle on the door there ever since (she said no).

Yes he did, and he's been the very model of politeness and manners ever since. And embarrassment too, in fairness.

I think he knew if he didn't let me in, and his only reason being that I turned him down, I'd have had a crack squad of solicitors descending on ropes like ninjas.

No-one messes with the Silverfish.

I wonder if its the same place!

Oh, and the ninja solicitors don't sound too threathening, although I've had my image of ninjas tainted forever by another thread here...

I doubt very much its the same place, nobody goes where I go, it seems. And if I said where it was, I'd never be able to post here again, because the sound of the laughter would echo forever.

Ninja solicitors is about the scariest thing ever. Not only can they scissor kick you, but they can also then successfully claim off you for damages they incurred while causing you personal harm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 eilislally1990

I know this thread is old but, I'm working as female security in a night club and thought I'd give a different perspective... I do get a lot of fellas trying to chat me up so they can stay longer or just flirting in general ... I'm not an ugly woman but when I'm in a uniform that is less than flattering and no make up, I have been asked for my number on numerous occasions by fellas.

I have no problem kicking someone out or telling them off for something they are doing that is putting other people in danger.

At the end of the day, our job is not to beat the crap out of people - although you need to be able to defend yourself because it IS needed by both men and women. Our job is to keep the patrons of the club safe and thats what we are paid for, if we think you may be becoming a hazzard or are not doing what we ask you to then we will kick you out - SIMPLE!

Also, I have been out and genuinely fancied bouncers in clubs because they aren't drunk or groping me or doing some ridiculous dancing and you can have a descent conversation with them. I have also been chatted up by bar men who are also working but no one sees anything wrong with that.

No one can abuse 'power' if you don't let them. If you don't want to get chatted up then don't leave the house because you can be chatted up anywhere - a shop, a church, a club, a pub by patrons or people that work there. If you do insist on leaving the house then I'm afraid you will need to put up with others chatting you up - both fellas you fancy and those you don't. Get over it!

And fellas who are giving out about it, maybe some girls are like me and would prefer someone whose majority of body comes from muscle tone rather than bulmers belly! Those guys giving out about not getting in.... it's not rocket science..... don't be twisted when you get to the door and we will have no problem with you coming in - but if you act like a MUPPET then expect a show!

Kindly,

Lally :-D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

Expect a show? Lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

I just read this thread from start to finish and never copped the date.

Thought someone had hacked Silverfish's account :p

All grows up now.

Silverfish wrote: »
    I was stopped there recently by a very intimidating guy that I at first mistook for a wall.

I lol'd.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,609 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

I know this thread is old but, I'm working as female security in a night club and thought I'd give a different perspective... I do get a lot of fellas trying to chat me up so they can stay longer or just flirting in general ... I'm not an ugly woman

As a bouncer woman, would you block my passage if I act the muppet?.

/puts on muppet mask!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭LighterGuy

Snowball wrote: »
    Used to work in "4 Dame Lane", I used to work the back stairs and they have a VIP area (the only way to the VIP area is the back stairs). I have gotten more than 10 offers of sex of wemon who wanted to get up to the VIP area. The more you say "no" the stronger they push. Works only in the really classy joints like "The Morrison/Lobo", "Dakota", "Odeon", "4 Dame Lane", "Spy" and so on. The places where no one gets in. The harder it is to get into the place you work in the stronger and more frequent the offers you get.

doesnt say much for a girl if she is willing to give a bj / get felt up / and or sex just to get into a pub / private area.

S*ut in my opinion :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 eilislally1990

Makikomi = Hilarious ,how do u know i havent kicked you out already...

I agree lighter guy, a girl would be a slut under those circumstances... but each to their own :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,609 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Makikomi = Hilarious ,how do u know i havent kicked you out already...

You haven't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

Old thread from 2003 closed.