Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anatomically Correct??

• 25-03-2003 11:26pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,330 ✭✭✭✭

Im preparing a class presentation for Anatomy and was wondering if there are any good sites where i can find decent diagrams and accurate information.

These sites would preferably be free to access etc as I'm a poor student and cant afford to pay for my info etc hehe!

Any help greatly appreciated!

Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,643 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Go to google, select images and then search for the particular body part you are immediatly interested in. I should bring up some good sites for all the other body parts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,330 ✭✭✭✭Amz

Thanks Victor I shall try that!

Just a quick question.....
    Im not sure if you're familiar with Alta Vista but is that a decent search engine or would i be better sticking with Google?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,522 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

I use Altavista for wild card searching ie if I don't know how to spell something I'll type splungifabricatio* when I want to find a splungifabricationator.

Otherwise Google is as good as most, I find, although it loads faster.

Thanks Gordon!

I might just use AltaVista if I'm stuck hehe! Google sounds better anyway....
    Meh!

I've found a few diagrams of the gastrocnemius now which is pretty good....

Now to figure out how to make acetates.....
    Have two weeks so will use this time wasting oppertunity to the fullest...

For acetates just take the printout to a printing shop and they will do it for you. Otherwise buy some acetates and put them into a photocopier and photocopy them from the printout.

Ahh yes, the Gastrocnemius - another word that sounds made up but actually isn't. Just like my splungifabricationator.

I am the Queen of "Makey Upey" words such as

Triangley
    Reptard
    Ach-a-nee-nore

The Amz Dictionary of Makey Upey words is available at the side of most major roads.
    Now available the just fell off the back of a lorry edition with easy to use colour layout....

(I should really increase the dosage at this stage i think?!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,781 ✭✭✭amen

if you are going to photocopy acetates make sure that they are photocopy suitable.

some are not and will melt in the photocopier
    same with laser printers

That's good to know amen thanks!

Knowing me id probably melt the feckin things and have the photocopier explode.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,552 ✭✭✭✭GuanYin

Sorry I didn't see this thread sooner, dunno if its too late.

I use
    http://www.angelfire.com/md2/liaquatian/books.htm

Specifically you want Gray' Anatomy
    which is the bible among the medical profession.

Its linked off the page but also at

http://www.bartleby.com/107/

Hope it helps
    S

bah you and your virtual stuff.

Its actually mad that an engraved-print book from 1918 is still the internationally preferred anatomy text book.

Thanks Lads that's come at a great time! Have presentation on Tuesday and haven't done a tap!

I owe ye!

Amz

Originally posted by Amz

I owe ye!

Amz

/me makes a note of that.......

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 3,290 ✭✭✭TomTom

That virtual stuff is cool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 510 ✭✭✭Amnesiac_ie

The definitive text of Anatomy, Gray's is available online via Yahoo! compeltely free of charge but isn't the best for diagrams...
    Gray's Anatomy