Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Now that Richards dead.....

• 18-03-2003 7:29pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 832 ✭✭✭

...does anyone plan to keep watching Coronation Street?
    Personally I don't since I think he was the single greatest thing to happen to the program in a long long time. During the time he was in it I watched pretty much all the episodes but now that hes gone I feel no compulsion to watch it anymore. Who gives a rats ass about Peter's baby when only a few days before we were enjoying high speed pursuits all thanks to my idol Richard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,246 ✭✭✭✭Riamfada

yeah he was cool. But the rest of its Crap. Eastenders all the way. Phillys girlfriend is a double agent and Roy's dead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,330 ✭✭✭✭Amz

I can see my eh.... "credibility" going down after this but meh!

I have to admit "Killer Corrie" was the best I've seen the aul trooper in ages! I'm not a regular viewer or anything that's my mam's department, but i found myself watching the exploits of Richard Hillman with interest.....

Now that he's gone i shall resume my role of p!iss taker

I really think that Gail should be killed off ASAP there is really nothing else that could possibly happen to that woman unless they plan to get a 6- 8 week story line out of the build up to her long awaited trip to the hairdressers or Gail's encounter's with the reconstructive surgery kind.....

I dont like Gail and i feel that Richard was a character that could have had many good storylines......

Bit of a waste of talent i feel....

Nice while it lasted.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,989 ✭✭✭✭Giblet

Theres that family who are hiding out, they probably will have to go on the run, so thats probably the next BIG story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭ElNino

I agree with Amz that the scriptwriters missed a golden chance to kill off trout face Gail. What a turn off :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,177 ✭✭✭oneweb

I have never run home so fast in my life as I did that night to watch the crash. The Hillman storyline was the best bit of television I've seen in a very long time. Now that he's been confirmed dead, I find no reason to continue watching. Brian Capron(?), the actor who played Richard, is a fantastic actor, and seems dead sound in interviews. He'll be missed on the screen!

PS, did anyone see the skit that Frank Skinner did of Audrey, Richard and Gail? Hilarious :D

It is what it's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,572 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

After Tommy dived in for Richard last Friday and found he wasn't there, they should have just declared the body missing. It would have kept the viewers watching, and could have meant another great storyline 6 months down the road when he comes back.

Brian Capron wanted the character killed off, so that put an end to that.

Giblet is right about the Nelsons. The people who are looking for them find them in April. There is a siege, and a (fatal?) gunshot wound for one of the Nelsons.....

- Dave.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 933 ✭✭✭mooman_00

Anyone else find it all to be increditibly drawn out, cuz i thought it was....but then again i dont really have much time when it comes to soaps. Anyway off the back of the richard hillman story they dont really need another big story until at least after the summer so until then it'll be gails haircut all the way. I think she has a head like a tortise for some reason.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,230 ✭✭✭OLDYELLAR

aw jaysus at least if the body went missin , theyd be some chance of him coming back to slay fekn deirdres mother , jesus christ like , back o the head , one shot bang!bang!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 832 ✭✭✭Sloth

Don't you think that Brian Capron is just going to be typecast after this role? I have a horrible image of him ending up as a pantomime villain 5 years down the line.
    Ooooooh no he didn't!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭Elmo

Yes. While I hate Soap Opera. I cann't avoid it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭The Gopher

They should have left Richards body never to be found so we would always wonder whether he survived.
    Then two years down the line there are a series of murders by a serial killer and we all think Richard is back.But then we find out it is one of the least likely suspects(Ashley,Tyrone etc).
    Or Roy is found out to be the killer and was using body parts for food in his restaurant.He explains that he had found Hayleys left over bollix in the fridge from before she got them cut off.In a haste he had used them in a dinner and got much good feedback on them from customers and so needed to find a source for more.
    Pardon me but I am delirious after climbing a large mountain today.

Anyway can Gails family go through any more trouble?For a middle class outwardly respectable family they get more police and ambulance visits than a halt.I mean think of everything that happened
    Her first husband was murdered
    Her thrid husband was a serial killer
    Her daughter gave birth at 13,immeadiately had her child kidnapped by a mental woman,got kidnapped herself by a paedo,was in a near fatal crash in a stolen car(in which miraciliously doctors managed to carry out brain surgery without shaving her hair off:confused: )was driven into a canal by an insane stepdad........all in the last 3 odd years!

Also has anyone else ever noticed that when they open a scene in that flower shop they are ALWAYS drinking tea?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37 CHRIS GREER

Anyone remember Brian Capron in "Grange Hill" when it was still good (i.e. 20 years ago?) I seem to remember his character was "Hoppy" Hopwood-something like that anyway!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,912 ✭✭✭Washout

Tv isnt the same anymore now that richard is gone....hopefully it will mean I will watch less and less of it now :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,608 ✭✭✭✭sceptre

Originally posted by CHRIS GREER
    Anyone remember Brian Capron in "Grange Hill" when it was still good (i.e. 20 years ago?) I seem to remember his character was "Hoppy" Hopwood-something like that anyway!!!!!!!
    Bah, I'm old enough to remember Brian Capron playing a social worker on Corrie in the very early 80s (as always, like on Dallas where none of the characters spotted that their mother's face had changed, I'm shocked that no-one recognised the guy, especially Rita the Klan shop woman)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,598 ✭✭✭ferdi

richard was the man
    the rest is toss

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,330 ✭✭✭✭Amz

The degree in English is finally paying off for ya Ferdi!
    good Shtuff!

:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

The climax of the Richard story was good but as was said drawn out too long overall, but more to the point if corrie started going for idiotic shock story-lines all the time it would end up "doing a brookie" and chase its own tail into oblivion. The mass audience that the Street gets wont put up with outlandish plots just for the sake of it.
    Even now its alot more hyped-up than it used to be, anyone who watches Classic Corrie on Granada Plus will tell you this.

Mike.

I think its fair to say that after Eastender's 'outlandish plots' (like Who Shot Phil), they were peeing all over Corrie in the ratings. Big stories = big ratings.

Eastenders is sure to enjoy a little boost after last nights twist (although they need to end the Barry/Pat/Roy story ASAP).

Compare both to Emmerdale, which is absolutely pedestrian in comparison (and boring because of it).

I'm worried.....:eek:
    Wheres Curly Watts??????

I haven't seen him in ages,was he one of Richards victims, and no one knows yet.
    Now that Hillman is dead, we'll never find the body.
    Or did I miss an episode?
    His wife doesn't look too worried:confused:
    mm

Nah, they found the body and Gail identified it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

one thing has always bugged me about these soap operas. how come everyone hasn't come down with a case of alcohol poisoning or a liver that is gone beyond repair. they are always in the pub

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

...and they almost never watch tv, listen to the radio,
    scratch thier arses, swear, wash up, hoover, or a million other normal things, and they claim to reflect real-life! :D

Mike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 832 ✭✭✭Sloth

Yeah I mean when was the last time you hear Ken Barlow say:
    "Oooh lovely dinner Deirdre, I think I'll go up to the john and take a dump"