Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mt Paddys DAy, yours?

• 18-03-2003 1:19am
    Subscribers Posts: 9,716 ✭✭✭

MY St. Patricks Day...

11:00 AM: Woke up, watched tv, had breakfast.
    12:00 realized the time, stared getting ready to leave the house.
    12:15 had shower, sexified self up, sipikey hair etc.
    12:45 rang mant people trying to fing a terenure jersey to no avail.
    13:00 left for shops, got change, sat at bus stop with 10 skangers for 20 mins, then a load of terenure suppoters join me.
    13:35 get bus, laugh as bus passes every single stop after mine due to massive amount of people on bus after first two stops.
    14:00 meet up with SOL, Stwarberry and some poeple non boardsy.
    14:15 meet up with PHB , Sev and Provost.
    14:15 til 14:45 walk to landsdowne from rathmines.
    14:45 get lots of goodies on the way to the park, crisps etc.
    15:00 sitting in stands gettting afore mentioned crisped hurled in my general direction, (phb gets hit)
    15:30 kickoff.
    15:35?? half time, dismay at copmplete lack of points on either sside.
    (soon into second half) Terenure score a point, much rejoice had by all, nrarly killed in frenzy folllowing score.
    STRANGE TIME GAP
    17:00 - 17:35 After gloriouys 3-0 victory :P terenure wlak back to school, horrific ordeal after the first 20 mins.
    17:50 Have the sheer gawl to ask the guy driving the tayto monster truck to give us a lift back to the school.
    Surprisingly he says yes.
    Myself and three other terenure guys come back to school with fanfare of monster truck horn balring, and me waving my
    scarf frantically.
    18:00 Wait for team, enjoy multiple stare from sexeh ladies on our glorious journey.
    18:30 team arrives, much singing is had and I start home with my parents (after a while).
    18:45 get a phone call from friend asking if i wish to journey pubs with them. I did.
    19:15 Go home.
    19:45 Met up with friends outside chippers.
    19:46 They inform me that i need shoes to get into clubs.
    19:47 wave frantically at my dad before he leavfes for home, get lif home.
    19:55 Get home , make up lame excuse that I forgot my monry. Hastily put on shoes.
    20:00 Arrive back at chippers to discover friends have gone back to someones house.
    20:10 - 20:30 watch some crazy film with minnie driver in friends house.
    20:30 Depart for pub.
    20:30 - 20:50 guys wonder how the hell they're gonna get me into a pub when I am 17 and have no fake id.
    21:00 In groups we wander up to Bradys, myself and an already drunk friend being the last.
    21:01 We get into pub because for five seconds the bouncer walks to a bin to put rubbish in. Score.
    21:20 Friends decde that "this sux" cos theres not many people there.
    21:30 - 22:00 Go to various pubs in groups, which before even try to get in, the guyts have decided that they're crap.
    22:30(ish) after a pint in Bradys we head to sarah curran.
    22:35 I am informed that there is no chance in HELL that i will get in without id.
    22:40 I try my luck. Again.
    22:42 Sitting in pub with m8s after the bouncer lets me in saying "because you won the match" and my "I lost my id at the match" excuse.
    23:30 Thoroughly pissed inform my dad that he can pick me up. (via txt of course)
    23:45 Get lift home.
    23:00 Talk to mum on subject of irish alcohol abuse for 20 mins, telling her that i like being drunk. She accepts my opinion.
    23:25 Decide to write pointless articel on my paddy's day, still quite drunk, many typing errors are missing dude to re-re-re-re-reading.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,503 ✭✭✭Makaveli

Fair play, at least you could remember most of it. :)
    Much more eventful day than me anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,949 ✭✭✭SouperComputer

punched and shatterd glass door on shower

sliced hand and lost bout a half a pint of blood :)

no travel insurance (in us) so went to a free hospital for 5 hrs, got 8 stiches

yea, great paddies day :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

ytou gotta look on the positive side..

did you get to see any seckseh nurses?

i had a pretty crappy st. patricks weekend, but it's shaping up now :)

sleep deprivation makes me happy!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,478 ✭✭✭GoneShootin

I studied for Software Engineering exam that takes place at 10 AM this morning all day !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,602 ✭✭✭ShayK1

I got up at 11.30 to bring a friend to work!
    Then Changed a drive in my car then when for a drive in the Gorgeous sun well actually i took the car but it was still gorgeous!
    Picked up one of my beautiful lady friends and went to the pub for awhile!
    Then went to work at 7 finished at 1:30 and went to a mates house and got home around 4ish !
    Exciting eh??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,172 ✭✭✭Don1

Got up at 14:15! Had food. Played 9-holes. Had a drink at the 19th! Had more food. Stormed around the house in at thick mood for a while. Played the guitar at an insanley high volume. Stopped when the ringing in my ears atarted to get unbarable! Went to bed, couldn't sleep, so played the guitar unplugged til the wee small hours and collapsed asleep.

Fantastic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,683 ✭✭✭daveg

In bed until 6pm with a Virus. Worst Paddies day ever :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,754 ✭✭✭Big Chief

went to parade, couldnt get parked for an hour. ended up parking in some loading bay..

got round, couldnt see a thing, ended up watching the live music at stephens green till about 4:30 or something.

while in town laughed at some silly little girls/guys puking on the streets at about 3 pm (if your gonna drink all day make sure to pace yourself, idoits.)

came home after watching live music, cooked dinner and sat about watching tv/playing tfc on pc. Watched Speed for about the 400th time, fell asleep after watching some repeats of jackass on mtv.

Really wanted to join in on the street drinking while i was in town though (my first paddys day in ireland) but due to only having about €5 to my name to last me rest of month that pretty much ruled that out.

Wish i had kept money for paddys weekend now instead of getting canned so much early in the month. Lesson learned etc.. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,478 ✭✭✭GoneShootin

I studied for Software Engineering exam that takes place at 10 AM this morning all day !

w00t !

just out of exam, some hot passing action. a worthwhile paddys day after all :D

• Subscribers Posts: 9,716 ✭✭✭CuLT

Hehe, the only reason I could remember all of that is because I didn't fall asleep for the interim between starting my day and writing the article :)

I'm only after gettting up now and most of what I wrote is news to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

Hey Cultellus were you one of the guys in the hoard of people that ended up sitting in the middle of the road stopping the traffic from moving?!

Ye mad feckers ye!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,634 ✭✭✭Kolodny

Stayed in bed all day, sick. On the plus side, there was no trace of a hangover this morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,817 ✭✭✭✭po0k

My Paddy's day starts not on Monday, but on Sunday.
    Awoke at 11am to the sound of me mother asking if I'm coming home for the weekend/day/dinner. I answer yes. Dinner's at 2pm.
    I get up, have a shower, make a cup of tea and watch a bit of boom-boom-war-bangy-bang-damn-germans documentary on discovery.
    Or something. Somehow it's now 1:15pm.
    Answer phone. It's the mother. Must now run down to a shop to get a head of lettuce for the prawn cocktails.
    Eejit of a brother must've eaten it all. Bloody rabbit.
    I scoot down the road, lovely day outside, perfect bushing weather. Get lettuce.
    Admire some arse. Get back to the house, pickup bag.
    Spend the next 45min hitching for a lift.
    Finally arrive back in the home village (~10miles away from Galway) at ~2:35pm. Ring the mother for lift.
    Have dinner. Roast beef. A blast of different vegetables, gravey, wine. No desert.
    Get lift up to village to meet mates.
    Find them up in some guy's apartment panned out on the couches.
    I have a few notes thrust into my hand.
    I go to the local and purchase a crate of bulmers @ €1.50 a can :)
    The day is now looking up.
    We proceed to get ossified to the sound of a lad knocking boots with another (massive musclely) lad's bird.
    We continue quaffing our cans and talking bollocks.
    A neighbour of mine arrives up and offers us all a lift down to a house near enough to me house. We accept.
    ~10mins later we're sitting in a conservatory listening to music, with yet more cans, people sitting on what ever near-horizontal surface they can find, talking bollocks.
    A few lads roll.
    At ~5:30pm someone gets the bright idea to fire on a bit of porn which the big-lad's bird has kindly brought along with her.
    Totally spontaneous.
    After letting them fiddle with stuff and fark-up the tuning on the telly, I kneel down, plug in the scart cable and hit AV.
    Am greeted with much cheering and a honti.
    Much piss is taken out of the pron vid.
    A few ad decide to head off to a pub. I decline and head home, a tad inebriated but none-the-worse-for-wear.
    It's freezing and I'm only wearing a t-shirt.Ring the mother for lift.
    Get home, go online, end up watching mikill's Ring0 on mistakill's dvd player.
    Go to sleep around 3am.

Monday (Paddy's Day): Chief you nit-picking smart arse.... ;)
    Am rudely awakened at ~9:30 by my sister and her cartoons.
    After much verbal exchange she decides it's wiser to turn off the telly.
    I get up, have a shower, and it's now ~11am. Time to head into town for the parade.
    Catch a lift with the mother, leaving the brother and cousin at home.
    After briefly stopping off at my gaff to deposit a bottle of contact lens fluid and a copy of National Geographic on my bed, I stroll down town, enjoying the beautiful weather.
    While waiting for the parade to start, head into the college on a quest for a computer suite.
    I fail, and meet up with a mate on a similar quest instead.
    By now the parade is about to start, we indulge our voyeuristic tendencies and stand on the footpath.
    An all-female drum section passes by. It is the highlight of my parade viewing this year (until the GAF parade in the summer).
    At ~1pm I get a text from the girlfriend stating that she is now finished work.
    Meet up with her, grab a drink in the shop and head down town to the Claddagh, avoiding the crowds by taking the canal walk.
    Bump into my brother and cousin who finally saw sense and decided that
    (good weather + Paddy's Day)*(chance of scantily clad chicks) >> (sitting in a dark room at home)*(playing games over a lan)

Myself and gf resume heading down to the Claddagh, find a bench and spend some quality time betting each other which child will fall into the water first or how many swans does it take to carry a 2 year old away.
    Around 4pm Sinéad has to head back to work (triple time :)).
    I do something for an hour or so (can't remember what - possibly food shopping), end up at home.
    Brush my teeth for 15minutes while sitting on a wall in a field behind our house overlooking the main road and Corrib Village talking to a housemate about getting DSL into the house by the summer and finding people willing to pay for a bit of it.
    Get some strange looks off people walking down below.
    End up down in college again for a bit, on the way out we encounter a few mates playing ball. We join in.
    Inevitably the ball lands ontop of a glass overhang of the Arts Millenium building.
    It takes 5 engineering students to get it down.
    One standing on my shoulders with a branch and 3 giving directions and moral support.
    My collar bones now hurt, but ball is retrieved.
    End up back at home ~8pm.
    Make tea and watch some Star-trek. It's now 10.
    I head up to bed and resume watching Aliens Xvid.
    Had a very enjoyable alcohol-free Paddy's Day. Score.
    The End.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,127 ✭✭✭STaN

Had a tame 1!

I wanted to pub it and drink green beer.. but not we had to go see "maid in manhatten" ... hehe ... it was quite good actually *ahem*

This was after a sun soaking session in the pheonix park

• Subscribers Posts: 9,716 ✭✭✭CuLT

thats one hell of a weekend syx :)
    LOL, answered the old question "how many galwaymen does it take... etc"

Gordon, I resisted the temptation, plus they were all drunk 4th years :).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,754 ✭✭✭Big Chief

originally by Syxpak
    Sunday (Paddy's Day):
    Am rudely awakened at ~9:30 by my sister and her cartoons.
    After much verbal exchange she decides it's wiser to turn off the telly.
    I get up, have a shower, and it's now ~11am. Time to head into town for the parade.

didnt know there was a parade on sunday to, i caught the monday one :rolleyes: :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,817 ✭✭✭✭po0k

Originally posted by Cultellus
    thats one hell of a weekend syx :)

That's only from Sunday morning to Monday night.
    I could post a few more posts on what happened last Sunday, wednesday, thursday, Friday and Saturday.
    That was by far one of the best weeks of my life.

out again tonight (Ronan|Raven's 21st in Monroes Pub, Lwr. Dominic St., Galway - 8pm), wednesday night (Rock night in Sally Long's), Thursday night ( a follow up to last week with DJ Gugaí playing some decent music (big mix of indy, metal, guitars, old skool etc.) Warrick 9pm onwards, Friday night out with the gf, Saturday up to dublin for the boards beer and then sunday the cure before the trip home :)
    Twill have been almost a straight fortnight of being out. Then come monday it's the maaaad study buzz before Linux World, GalwayLAN5, Megalan/Beers (beer mainly, not lanning myself) and then exams in April.

So far 2003 has rocked meh casbah.