Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Favourite scenes.

• 15-03-2003 7:32pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,838 ✭✭✭

I was watching Grosse Point Blank for about the hundreth time the other night and was marvelling at the last scene where John Cusack was professing his love to Minnie Driver while gunning down all the assassins running into the house. Fantastic. I got to thinking about the best scenes I'd ever watched.

My absolute favourite would be the opening bit of Full Metal Jacket with the drill sergeant intimidating all the new recruits, with strong mentions for the opening three stories in Magnolia, the end of the Usual Suspects, the Ferris Wheel bit in the Third Man, the opening scene of Saving Private Ryan and most of the Holy Grail.

Anyways what are your favourites?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭azezil

Apocalypse Now, helicopters flying up the beach ... nice :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,417 ✭✭✭Miguel_Sanchez

The opening of Goodfellas.
    The long tracking scene where the camera follows Henry Hill + Karen in through the back entrance to the restaurant.

The New Year's Eve scene in Godfather II (You broke my heart Fredo)

The manic chase scene in Raising Arizona (Son - you got a panty on yer head!)

All the war room scenes from Dr. Strangelove (But... but he'll see the big board!)

That's enough for now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,574 ✭✭✭✭Victor

The various shoot outs in "the Way of the Gun" (especially the last big one).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

Just as Edward Woodward sees The Wicker Man. 'Oh God!'

Gollum's chat with himself in The Two Towers.

Long shot of a completely desolated city in Day Of The Dead.

The 'Card Reading' scene from the original Evil Dead.

King Arthur's ride in Excalibur, with 'O Fortuna' thundering in the background.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,155 ✭✭✭ykt0di9url7bc3

"Son of Jackass"
    Anything in The Good, The Bad & The Ugly
    The ending of The Ring (jap version)
    the empty london sequence in 28 Days later

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,738 ✭✭✭Barry Aldwell

"Oh my god, I just shot marvin in the face!"

(Interesting Marvin from Pulp Fiction side note - The actor that played Marvin voiced Vamp in MGS2)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 726 ✭✭✭lamda

The scene in Magnolia where they're all singing.
    Final scene of Its a wonderful Life (attaboy Clarence!)
    The scene in the moloko bar in A Clockwork Orange

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,345 ✭✭✭Squall

Opening scene of Saving Private Ryan cause its so realistic

Scene form Special Edition "Aliens" with the Auto Turrets, those things kick ass

Battle sequence in LOTR FOTR, sets the story for the movie and looks bloody amazing

The scene in "Planet of the apes" (the original with Charlton Heston) where they find the statue of Liberty "Damn you, Damn you all to hell, You blew it up, you maniacs" Hillarious

The scene from "Meet Joe Black" where he gets hit by the van flys through the air then gets creamed by a taxi on the way down. Best jammy ever.

The scene where Bruce Willis finally realises hes dead in "The sixth sense". Very good twist. Was kind of expecting it though.

Theres a load more but i just cant think of them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭pro_gnostic_8

What makes a great scene transcend into one of those once-in-a-lifetime cinematic experiences? Is it the script, the actors, the director, that creates an unforgettable impression or a combination of all three?

If it was script/dialogue alone then IMHO the film/noir of the 40/50's (Dial M For Murder, Double Indemnity, etc) would take some beating. Then, stir in an inspired director and any scene from Fight Club is outstanding.

But for an outstanding and unbeatable example of where all 3 elements come together to weave a perfect end-product look no further than Apocalypse Now. All seven set-pieces in that film stick in the memory from the opening scene featuring a genuinely drunken Martin Sheen to the final "ritual slaughter of the cow" conclusion. Certainly, Azezil's sampling of the heli's coming onto the beach to the backdrop of a mad Robert Duvall barking demands that the surfing continue is amazing. As for script.........the same Duvall's one-liner "Gawd, I Love The Smell Of Napalm in The Morning" to the backdrop of a screen-wide landscape aflame is priceless and enduring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,997 ✭✭✭The_Bullman

A couple of scenes in Leon where pretty class in my opinion.

When Matilda comes back up from the shop with the milk as her family are being killed. She walks past the appartment and up to leon's door and knocks. The waiting. Then he opens the door and they way the light hits her. Sort of symbolic and meaningful and stuff.

Also at the end the way the camera pans out with the explosion and follows the fireball. Pretty memorable I thought.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

Originally posted by The_Bullman
    A couple of scenes in Leon where pretty class in my opinion.

When Matilda comes back up from the shop with the milk as her family are being killed. She walks past the appartment and up to leon's door and knocks. The waiting. Then he opens the door and they way the light hits her. Sort of symbolic and meaningful and stuff.

Also at the end the way the camera pans out with the explosion and follows the fireball. Pretty memorable I thought.

Oh yes, completely forgot about Leon!
    Definetly one of the greatest films ever.

I'd like to add Gary Oldman's completely sinister scenes, mainly these ones:

"I love the little quiet before the storm.''

"I take no pleasure in taking life from someone who does not enjoy it."

He completely stole the show, in fairness.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,698 Mod ✭✭✭✭Silverfish

Most of 28 Days Later. Right up to the part where Brendan Gleeson buys the farm, my tongue was stuck to the roof of my mouth. I could only make little 'nnnnghh' noises.

Especially the bit where he's in his parents house with the candle, and you just see it from outside from the zombies pont of view...and the bit in the church.....nnnghhh.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,698 Mod ✭✭✭✭Silverfish

Apologies.

The scene in 'The Third Man' where Orson Welles appears for the first time, and of course, the Ferris Wheel scene.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭Clintons Cat

Apocalypse Now,the scene with Roach in the bunker and lance tripping on acid in the middle of a firefight.
    "who's in command here?"
    "aint you?"

La Haine,in the underpass where Vinz shows off his stolen gun to Hubert and Sayid for the first time,
    Also the 6:00 and 6:01 scene.

One flew over the cuckoos nest the scene where nurse rachet destroys billy bibbets new found confidence,the scene where the patients vote on listening to the world series,and the final scene.

Guys, can ye not post spoilers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,136 ✭✭✭Pugsley

1st shoot out in aliens, chaos, utter chaos :)

And most of that film actually, pure brilliance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 janet

Some of my favourites:

1 - Seven: John Doe presents himself at the police station; the subsequent scenes involving his promise of other bodies; the masterful, disturbing opening and closing credits by Kyle Cooper with a brilliant end track by David Bowie;

2 - Alec Baldwin's "I am God" speech from Malice, and his "coffee is for closers" oration from Glengarry Glen Ross;

3 - Andy Dufresne's sweet revenge against the sadistic warden in The Shawshank Redemption.

Too many other classics to mention, the above are just some that sprung to mind!

janet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,982 ✭✭✭ObeyGiant

* Any scene in Patton where George C Scott is uh.. inspiring his troops
    * The dog in the Omen, breathing gregorian chants while Gregory Peck hides in the Shadows
    * The battle of wits in the Princess Bride
    * The mine cart chase in Indiana Jones and the Temple of Doom
    * Christopher Walken and Dennis Hopper in True Romance ("You're part eggplant")

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 459 ✭✭Sesudra

the scene in the original "The Haunting",not the Catherine Zeta Jones disaster,where Elanoer is holding Theos hand and listening to the ghosts whispering in the wall,until she realises that its not Theos hand she's holding....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭davej

Roy's (Rutger Hauer's) soliloquy towards the end of Bladerunner, which was ad-libbed.

"I've seen things you people wouldn't believe. Attack ships on fire off the shoulder of Orion. I watched C-beams glitter in the dark near the Tannhauser gate. All those moments will be lost in time, like tears in rain. Time to die."

davej

• Closed Accounts Posts: 536 ✭✭✭Spiffing

The 'Last Supper' in Alien

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,219 ✭✭✭plastic membrane

The wonderfully brilliant climatic battle in Wing Commander.

God I love Freddie Prinze Jnr.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,555 ✭✭✭Wook

Bladerunner : end scene
    saving private ryan : the beach landing
    reservoir dogs : the tipping scene + madonna

• Closed Accounts Posts: 933 ✭✭✭mooman_00

Fear and lothing in las vegas : the ether scene

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,958 ✭✭✭Chad ghostal

the main gun fight in heat
    lobby shootout in the matrix
    any scene in apocolypse now
    car chases in ronin
    end battle in the seven samurai
    any of the jack & loyd scenes in the shinning.

end of full metal jacket

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,552 ✭✭✭✭GuanYin

Originally posted by Sesudra
    the scene in the original "The Haunting",not the Catherine Zeta Jones disaster,where Elanoer is holding Theos hand and listening to the ghosts whispering in the wall,until she realises that its not Theos hand she's holding....

Have to say that is the best horror scene of all time.

Also

Star Wars: "you're all clear kid, lets blow this thing...." 20 years since I first saw it and I still get a kickout of watching that.

Fight Club: The first reading of rules

Blade: The opening nightclub scene.

My favourite all time is:

The Usual Suspects: When Agent Kujan takes a casual glance at the noticeboard......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,093 ✭✭✭woosaysdan

the start of blade1 excellent

• Closed Accounts Posts: 204 ✭✭artvandelay

the lawn mower scene in brain bead.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 483 ✭✭banbutcher

my fav scene ever is in true romance: its the one with christopher walkin and dennis hopper, imo the best scene ever!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 144 ✭✭frood4t2

The end of "It's A Wonderful Life"

A number of scenes in Trainspotting -- particularly Spud's interview, and then the scene involving his girlfriend's bedsheets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,838 ✭✭✭DapperGent

Originally posted by ObeyGiant
    * Christopher Walken and Dennis Hopper in True Romance ("You're part eggplant")
    Originally posted by banbutcher
    my fav scene ever is in true romance: its the one with christopher walkin and dennis hopper!
    Would have to agree there one of the best ever.

"They did so much ****ing with Italian women...."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,967 ✭✭✭✭Sarky

The last swordfight in Blade was mighty impressive.
    For sheer "epic-ness" the opening battle in Fellowship Of The Ring is hard to beat, and the scene where you first get to see the Balrog in the flesh, as it were, is awesome in every sense of the word.

Originally posted by frood4t2
    A number of scenes in Trainspotting -- particularly Spud's interview, and then the scene involving his girlfriend's bedsheets.
    And the morning after in Diane's house, then again, just about any scene with Diane in it. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,136 ✭✭✭Pugsley

Originally posted by sykeirl
    The Usual Suspects: When Agent Kujan takes a casual glance at the noticeboard......
    I agree here defo, thats the point where you smack your head, sigh in awe and realise how great of film this is.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 3,816 Mod ✭✭✭✭LFCFan

Lobby Shootout in The Matrix

The start of Die Hard 3 with 'In the Summertime' playing and then suddenly the building explodes.

When the Warden in The Shawshank Redemption realises he's been screwed by Andy.

Pulp Fiction in the Restaraunt

Denis Hopper and Christopher Walken in True Romance

The introduction to the Highschool in Donnie Darko

Jack Nicholson's face through the broken door in The Shining

William Wallaces Execution in Braveheart and any of the battle scenes

Opening sequence in Saving Private Ryan

There's loads more of course!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,263 ✭✭✭Caesar_Bojangle

The russian roulette scene in The Deer Hunter.

The gun shop scene in Pulp Fiction. Wallace being sodomised by the gun shop owners friend.

Last scene in High Plains Difter where comeuppance is served

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

Braveheart - huge battle scene

SPR - Beach landing

RE - laser defence corridor

AP2 - Jim w/ the super glue :D

Matrix - Lobby and Neo's first fight with the Agent in subway.

Dr. No - Ursylla emerging from water.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 388 ✭✭da_deadman

The opening scene in Fellowship of the Ring. Just a few minutes into this trilogy and already Star Wars is a distant memory.

The Good the bad and the ugly - the final three way shoot out. So full of tension. Wonderful

The realisation at the end of The Usual Suspects. Class

So many moments of The Shining, specially with lloyd in the bar

Taxi Driver - when de niro tries to assassinate the mayor-elect

The Godfather - Pacino getting into the family business by killing the rival family leader and the cop

The Godfathers Part 1 and 2 - at the end of both films. Pacino consolidates his position.

The Godfather Part 2 - De Niro kills Don Fannucci at the parade

• Closed Accounts Posts: 161 ✭✭Wheeler

Godfather part 2 when they do the flashback scenes with De Niro

Vin Diesel in Fast and the Furious.."It doesnt matter whether you win by an inch or a mile"

Final scene of gladiator

American History X..."Bite the kirb bitch"

Pulp Fiction marcel wallace getting raped

Just a few i can think of

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 383 ✭✭Nemici

the last battle scene in platoon.

The scene from the Breakfast club when Bender goes head to head with Dick Vernon (great dialogue).

the scene in Pulp fiction in the pawn shop when Bruce Willis is deciding on which weapon to kill Z with.

the motorcycle chase in the end of the Great Escape.

the beginning and the end of the Italian Job

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 286 ✭✭Brerrabbit

The Final battle scene in The Last of the Mohicans (You know; the chase + final battle with Magua...)

Battle over Endor in the Return of the Jedi. (Especially that bloke who crashes his burning a wing into the super star destroyers bridge)

introduction of the Balrog in the Fellowship of the Ring.

Most of Leon

Much of Aliens.

Dozens of scenes from the Godfather trilogy.

Introduction to wolverine in X-men.

The penultimate scene in Trading places (Frozen Concentrated Orange Juice)

The pillow scene in Planes Trains and Automobiles

The sequence in the Last crusade beggining on the zeppilin ("No ticket")
    Good bad + ugly final shoot out

and a personal one is near the start of Yojimbo a dog appears at the end of the dusty street of a tiny village and runs towards the camera holding something in its jaws; "Wouldn't it be cool if that was a hand?... It IS a hand!!!"

Church bit in 28 days later

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,912 ✭✭✭Washout

Elias and Barnes in the woods platoon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,149 ✭✭✭✭Lemming

Seven Samurai - the bit with where they discover a young child has been orphaned and one of the samurai confronts that this was what happened to him as a young child. Also the final battle.

The Matrix - "I know kung-fu" and the lobby scene

Leon Matilda at the door whilst her family has been slaughtered, and the siege scene.

The Great Escape - the tunnel escape & the motorcycle scene on the swiss border.

Aliens - the first contact scene - utter utter chaos, and the final marine battle including the airducts

The Longest Day - "Those 3000 ships you say the allies don't have?? Ja?? Well ... they have them!!!

Platoon - the ambush, Elias' death, and the final battle

Full Metal Jacket - boot camp ... all of it :D

Pulp Fiction - Marvin in the car

The Usual Suspects - the ending

Apocalypse Now - just about the whole damn film

Unbreakable - Willis emerging from the swimming pool looking like a classic superhero with his cowl, whilst the two kids look up at him in awe.

Dog Soldiers - the running battle through the forest and "Come and 'ave a go if you think yer 'ard enough!!"

Dazed & Confused the "I want to dance!" dialogue in the car and the bowling ball scene

Excalibur - the knights of the round table ride forth for the final time to the sounds of Orf's "O Fortuna"

Devil's Advocate - the final scene with Al Pacino revealing himself

Blade Runner - Rutger Hauher's soliloquay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 604 ✭✭✭Kai

Leon:
    After the slaughter, oldman comes out and "is out of it", nice old lady comes out and says why dont you leave those poor people alone, henchman says go back inside maam. old woman continues to moan. old pulls out a gun and blows the window out from behind the old woman. and in the coolest manner ever says "He said go back inside"
    Best scene ever.
    bit where he tells yer man he didnt kill him was because he got bored of beethoven he was listening to in his head was pretty good too.
    "Thats why i stopped".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 990 ✭✭✭lili

the last scene of "les 400 coups" of truffaut.
    when the kid decides to not be a sheap and run away depiste the consequences.

also the last scene of "thelma and louise" when they prefere dying free and together. very emotional.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 958 ✭✭✭Mark

Im not going to try and name all of them so heres some that come to mind:

Braveheart
    - Wallace's execution
    -Longshanks "....Are you?" right before he ****s your man off the window (I rate it up there with Alan Rickmans legendary 'spoon' threat in Robin Hood)

Leon
    -The "Get Everybody" line
    -The siege

The Usual Suspects
    - As stated above that miraculous moment when everything all comes together at the end. Cinema genius :)

Heat
    - The main shoot out
    - De Niro's and Pacinos tense cat and mouse chase at the airport, did more than bullets could ever do
    - The above's chat in the cafe

Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon and The Matrix
    - The fight scenes. You know which ;)

Lord of the Rings
    - Intro of FOTR
    - Build up and unveiling of the Balrog
    - Gollum
    - Battle of Helms Deep
    - Ents :D

Full Metal Jacket
    - Boot Camp (YOU CLIMB OBSTACLES LIKE OLD PEOPLE FÚCK!)

Memento and The Shawshank Redemption
    - The endings. Class conclusions to class films

Scarface
    - Tonys downfall

Hundreds tbh, never enough time to remember them all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,472 ✭✭✭echomadman

The scene in Dead Man where Johnny Depp walks into Iggy Pop & Billy Bob Thorntons campsite

One film I make everybody watch,

[edit:] spelling

• Closed Accounts Posts: 278 ✭✭aine

Originally posted by ObeyGiant
    * The battle of wits in the Princess Bride

Ah man...I love that movie!! I used to talk about it all the time so my friends just thought that Id watched it as a kid and was only remembering how much it made me laugh then, so they made me watch it again! Bad move I laughed myself silly and then REALLY wouldnt shut up about it!!!